Kia Picanto previewed in Malaysia, launch next month

Kia Picanto preview-19

The second-generation Kia Picanto is now in Malaysia, with an official launch scheduled for the first half of next month. The A-segment five-door hatch was previewed at Naza Kia’s roadshow in Sunway Pyramid over the weekend, and we were there for a closer look and to dig for some info from the sales personnel.

UPDATE: Pricing for the Picanto has been confirmed – RM54,888 for the M/T and RM59,888 for the A/T, OTR with insurance. Test drive report here.

According to a friendly SA, the car you see here is the exact local spec car, which is officially classified as a locally-assembled model. Like big brother Rio, the Picanto will be delivered with Kia badges. The TA Picanto is powered by a 1.25 litre Kappa engine, which has 87 hp/120 Nm in the current and next-gen Hyundai i10.

This four-cylinder CVVT engine is paired to either a five-speed manual or four-speed automatic gearbox – yes, Naza Kia will be offering a manual here as well, which is pretty surprising given the traditionally low take up rate for stick shift variants. We’re not complaining.

Kia Picanto preview-23

Perhaps more surprising is the standard safety kit list, which includes ABS, Electronic Stability Control (ESC) and six airbags for BOTH the manual and the automatic, we were told, in addition to all-round disc brakes, which is uncommon in this segment.

As you can see from the cabin shots below (display car was locked), the Picanto will also come with steering wheel controls for the factory audio system. Phone buttons sit on the right steering spoke, hinting at the availability of Bluetooth pairing. We zoomed in and spotted manual air con and auto headlamps, too. LED DRLs and distinctive claw-style LED rear signature lighting add some pizzazz.

According to the SA, the estimated price range is from below RM60,000 to around RM64,000 for the auto. The cheaper manual is expected to lose out on some toys such as keyless entry with push start button. An ad of the new Picanto has appeared on our sister classifieds site oto.my, and you can view it here.

It all sounds pretty good for a small car, and the Picanto looks rather cute as well. What do you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• anti sam loo on Sep 23, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Too late, bought Myvi facelift. :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 56
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 168
    • kadajawa on Sep 23, 2013 at 5:57 pm

RM60K-64K price? Naza listen to market survey or MITI advice???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 3
    • luckily you act earlier.
      What is this, toy look alike car, kia is hiring small kid as designer…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
  • Mat WeyhBer on Sep 23, 2013 at 4:14 pm

For sure it will tapau Dugong!hahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 67
    • CHS PJ Confession on Sep 23, 2013 at 5:30 pm

It wouldn’t tapau dugong for sure…dugong is a different segment car.

This Kia Picanto would not sell due to people’s perception on Korean brand let alone its pricing.
      -RM10K makes more sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 39
      • Wrong,this car will sell well.You see,even an A-segment car have 6 airbags and ESP.Whereas that useless junk Vios?Nothing!!Well done Naza Kia,the most successful car distributor in Malaysia!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 87
        • _xXx_ on Sep 24, 2013 at 1:30 am

The 2 drum brakes in the new Vios J told me stay away from it. Even my mum’s 1964 China made bicycle has drum brakes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
      • Low Budget on Sep 24, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Only stupid Malaysians believe Korean cars are of bad quality. Times have change and Koreans made cars are now World beaters except in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 8
      • niuhje on Sep 25, 2013 at 12:21 pm

fast fwd to now la bro… Korean cars now not the same like 20 yrs ago

• How to tapau?! both r high quality import car so don’t fight!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • chrono on Sep 23, 2013 at 7:07 pm

what import? even camry is assembled here. assembled in Thai means nothing to “import”. it ‘s just like any other CKD cars assembled here.

• Sorry, i mean the badge ^^ don’t u love import badge? i freaking love it!

• frenzyaustin on Sep 23, 2013 at 4:18 pm

6 airbags with toys and good look under 60K? Damn! It seriously kill Myvi sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 49
    • I am more worried of The Mitsubishi Mirage/Attrage…MMM is depending on that car for their success.
      Almera is too big of a car to compare with this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • Mirage??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • dude, picanto is A segment..you can’t compare it with Almera..comparable comparison would be Nissan March but TC does not sell it locally..

• Obviously on Sep 25, 2013 at 11:03 am

You obviously didn’t understand his comment before commenting.

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 23, 2013 at 4:20 pm

If you are used to being bullied and laughed at by your peers while growing up, this car fits perfectly for you.

Go ahead and drive this.

Then observe the amount of funny stares and smirks from other drivers when you maneuver this vomit inducing vehicle on the streets.

Naza should throw in a full face helmet for potential buyers to avoid being recognized in this car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 241 Thumb down 142
    • VWSuck on Sep 23, 2013 at 6:27 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 168
  • Previous Kia picanto only cost rm38k – rm43k !
    now this gen rm60k – rm64k just bcoz add on ABS, ESC and six airbag ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 10
    • AlBeCh on Sep 23, 2013 at 5:03 pm

Hehey,that price hike for this 3 things is well worth it,and also for the other stuffs too =D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 39
    • My wife brought a Picanto at RM46K in year 2005, with only 1 airbag and basic accessories. At one time it was selling quite well worldwide and in Malaysia, with a waiting period of up to 6 months.
      Subsequently due to complains from certain parties, the price shoot up to RM67K without any change to the car spec. The sales quickly went down to 0.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
      • Vader on Sep 24, 2013 at 7:58 am

The quality of Picanto (CBU) is great, then Naza bring it to CKD become Suria, then it become suck!

• Lol at least not like fiesta price hike up to 86k but airbag reduce to only 2.
      what they think malaysian life is not valuable?
      give excuse like almera that chassis is tough enough to absorb impact?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Chris on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:30 pm

I’d like to think that it’s because Ringgit no more value… how sad.

• “The cheaper manual is expected to lose out on some toys such as keyless entry with push start button”….I ain’t even mad

The fact it has 6-airbags, all round disc and VSC IN A MANUAL, only 3 I can think of has this, the old Fiesta 1.4, CRZ and the Swift Sport. In fact this has boosted high up in my consider list. And I’am sure the Jay Leno chin will grow on me.

PS: I just walked out of Pyramid a moment ago(parked my car there) and I didn’t see this, may take a look as I go back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Not bad brooo..

• sudonano on Sep 23, 2013 at 4:45 pm

that is it. Myvi is doomed at that price. 6 airbags, ESC, all disc brakes?

Shut up and take my $$$. Well done Kia. Ford, take notes on your new Fiesta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 21
  • Drive Your Way on Sep 23, 2013 at 4:54 pm

Although it appears dearer than most P1/P2 offerings given its class, but I must admit it’s reasonably priced for its rather complete safety kit list as standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • AlBeCh on Sep 23, 2013 at 5:05 pm

Six airbags? SIX AIRBAGS!
    SIX!
    SIX!
    SIX!
    The power of 6 on this A-segment hatch is just awesome =D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 34
  • bolehbuyer on Sep 23, 2013 at 5:19 pm

Aside from people reading auto blog, the general people on street have different criteria on how to spend the rest of their life paying loan:
    – price above 55k will be too high for small car like this. They would go for myvi instead
    – 2 air bag is enuf, they would prefer to have free high quality tinted instead of extra 4 airbags
    – buttons on streering wheel n touch screen gps more important than esc
    – push start button would give them more temptation

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 9
    • Good comment.

I noticed that almost all of the new Kias and Hyundais are more expensive (but also better on paper) than the ASEAN-made Japanese cars.

I think Naza/Kia/Hyundai know this, so they’re aiming for the niche & chic market. They know they’ll never be able to compete with the ASEAN Japanese cars because they don’t have the brand image and resale value, which is sad, but true. The only people who would consider a new and expensive Kia are teenagers and young adults (who come from a well-to-do background) because they want something fun and refreshing, and they don’t care about brand image or resale value. The average rakyat just won’t be able to take the price seriously; they still expect Kia and Hyundai to be cheap like the Forte, Atos etc..

I’d still buy this Picanto over a Vios/Almera any day. To me, safety is more important than brand image and resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 10
      • Aerro on Sep 24, 2013 at 8:10 am

So you don’t buy Proton anymore? Pathetic hypocrite lah you! Ha Ha Ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
        • Obviously on Sep 25, 2013 at 11:10 am

He did not actually say he doesn’t buy Proton anymore. Read carefully. He was just saying that given the choice, he would rather choose the Picanto over a Vios or Almera (note the conspicuous lack of the word Proton).

• fredo on Sep 24, 2013 at 10:06 am

errmm.. i tend to agree with u…the trend is slowly moving this way, more safety features..
        looking back at the old picanto, this new model has improved a lot and deserve some recognition.
        having said that tho, i would think most of malaysian still will go for a japanese make with less features and proudly driving them..sad but true

• ChinPeng on Sep 24, 2013 at 5:31 pm

I guess people taste may change. My company staffs, i am seeing more folks upgrading their vios to cerato, focus or even optima. Those who got more money to splurge, they are looking at vw golf/passat. This are working employees, not director or gm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
        • Obviously on Sep 25, 2013 at 11:10 am

Resale value is king, erh? Sigh…

• lithium on Sep 24, 2013 at 12:27 pm

hmm i always thought the size/weight of the vehicle actually matter a lot in safety (crashes) due to additional crumple zones and airbags are supplement to the safety provided by the car structure. so a bigger car like vios with 2 airbags might actually be safer than a 6 airbags picanto.

BUT got to give credit for picanto paving the way to better safety level at the a-segment. myvi should also move in this direction WITHOUT much price increase – add safety kit instead of spoilers and blings. we know the myvi can be better equip as it is based on similar daihatsu/toyota models which have all these features. as usual we are shortchanged :(

• huehuehue on Sep 23, 2013 at 5:46 pm

I think Hyundai Malaysia should follow Kia’s step of adding safety features to their cars.. A CBU veloster only have 2 airbags… Apalagi CKD Sanata fe the badge already buruk.. Only 2 airbags…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
  • hilmy81 on Sep 23, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Been seeing this car running around Taman Melati area for months now. It’s a yellow color unit with registration numbers and all. Thought that I was the one who missed the launching but then there aren’t any units at the showroom either. :)

• Hope this will create more healthy competition to car market in Malaysia with better spec espcially those CKD Jap car. Cheers !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • AntiMaserati on Sep 23, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 203
    • don’t play play. mazda according to him can beat bmw specs and quality, LOL.

similar to vios that can fly, it does fly! LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • _xXx_ on Sep 23, 2013 at 6:43 pm

hats off to Naza. At least they respect manual buyers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Jilbaber on Sep 23, 2013 at 6:51 pm

I know people gonna bash me on comparing different segment but to me for premium price better go few grants and get Preve, apart from missing only 2 airbags (but for a big car, its relatively safe as well) got all the toys packed plus more spacious. In this beloved country,
    most who buy Kia usually torn between buying the brand or go for Proton anyway..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
    • fredo on Sep 24, 2013 at 10:08 am

errmm… this is a city car bro, preve is not…
      so get both, picanto for city/daily driver and preve for balik kampung…hihihi

• Jilbaber on Sep 24, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Yeah…but in this time economy, demographically most targeted users in this beloved country prefer to own single car and use it on multipurpose basis..

• ChinPeng on Sep 24, 2013 at 5:28 pm

If people are into proton brand, no matter what price or airbags or even no airbags, people will buy proton.

But looking at the trend, if there’s a budget for people to own non-national brand (yeah people aint patriotic nowadays), they will bite it else why you see even vios with 2 airbags can sell so well knowing it’s a milo tin on 4 wheels when you could have bought other much better safety spec car.

• Cerato on Sep 23, 2013 at 6:55 pm

Six airbag? Well done KIA. Whoever is saying that this car with all the safety features is expensive, then i think your life itself is not worth more than 60k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • Jilbaber on Sep 24, 2013 at 5:35 pm

Sadly, had arguments with my uncles and aunties and most them opt on Resale Value more than ‘Life Value’

• Cerato on Sep 23, 2013 at 6:58 pm

Just test drive the new Cerato yesterday and already make a booking. KIA today is not like 5 or 10 years ago. Their quality improve by leaps and bounds. Dun believe? Go test drive yourselve…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 122
    • Thats why I am one of the new Rio owner.
      Lifestyle Rio-lution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 23
    • Sam Loo on Sep 25, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Another Hailat face heading down the low RV path

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Sep 26, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Their quality may have improved.

Reliability, Durability is more or less the same as before

Resale Value – even lower than 5 years back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
  • Ionlaw on Sep 23, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Months back saw this car online, it was WOW. Now, it looks tired and outdated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
  • yoolang on Sep 23, 2013 at 7:42 pm

so small the car. after airbag all come out make feel squash like sandwich

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
    • Percy on Sep 24, 2013 at 10:07 am

Squash by airbag or squash by metal and glass. You choose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • IronMan on Sep 30, 2013 at 2:17 pm

I was thinking..such a small car with so many airbags…does it really helps?? When kena squash kaw-kaw in accident (touch wood, wish all of you well!), whatever airbag also burst liao…Got use???

• Kuinosan on Sep 23, 2013 at 8:35 pm

This Picanto won the Top Gear Super Mini category for 2012. Imagine, Clarkson and his boys singing praise to a Korean car. This is almost unheard of, but then again, they are expert car critics that only reports the truth about any cars. Unlike some car critics that hold back due to sponsorship obligations. Well, the Top Gear guys feed back was very positive about this Picanto, and I totally agree with them. But not with Naza’s pricing though. Way toooooo overpriced. If priced in the region of RM52k for the top spec model, that would be fair. Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
    • fredo on Sep 24, 2013 at 10:10 am

top gear is rubbish la…even the E60 M5 aso kena bash kaw2… it may suits the brits, but not global market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • kucing on Sep 23, 2013 at 9:54 pm

4AT?
    mirage still better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • Mirage only have 2 airbags lor,not save.
      Kia Picanto better,or Rio.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • ChinPeng on Sep 24, 2013 at 5:24 pm

If you have budget for less than rm80k, then rio lor. If your budget only 60k++ then get a picanto.

Of course this doesn’t apply if you want proton. Proton Suprima S is not bad for it’s price rm80k if you are into proton brand.

• sepul on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:25 pm

Good. Now make the Rio SX a manual as well. I will buy it.

• This picanto is 2012 model which has been on the market in other Asia countries long ago, while the next gen i10 is truly the new ones. Anyway, six air bags for a small car really kills myvi

• norman on Sep 24, 2013 at 12:55 am

It wouldnt even touch proton sales let aside myvi..60-64k for tiny korean 1.25cc engine?So what if have 10 airbags still prone to crushes.I rather buy myvi 1.5 rather than this overprice midget.The pricing shoud range between 50-53k if theyre serious about sales,60k might as well i top up another 12k go for swift 1.4 much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 60
    • ultraman on Sep 24, 2013 at 7:38 am

you can topup go ahead.
      this is for people have money for RM60k range

swift is no much better. better topup 5k for vios

p/s:This is a sarcasm if you get what i mean

• ChinPeng on Sep 24, 2013 at 5:22 pm

1.4 swift ??? better buy rio then. More features than bland looking swift.

• Obviously on Sep 25, 2013 at 11:16 am

Way to show the world you judge the book by the cover. How do you even know that it is prone to crushes?

• Denaihati on Sep 24, 2013 at 1:10 am

yes, cute car. in terms of price, I believe kia have their target buyers. with 6 airbags seem safer.

• budlee on Sep 24, 2013 at 1:48 am

i like it, i seen a lot of these in korea (no shit)

• Too cute on Sep 24, 2013 at 2:59 am

The standard equipments certainly is tempting but i have a feeling this is designed for females because damn how much cuter can it gets! I meant it as a compliment but i bet guys gets a bit embarassed being seen driving one of these.

• Bravo Naza-Kia, ady released two years ago, now only want to bring here.

• nanami on Sep 24, 2013 at 2:42 pm

ngok!!!.. kecik mcm ni 60k

• keretata on Sep 24, 2013 at 5:46 pm

I found here a lot ppl like to compare safety. Nothing wrong. But… Why don’t compare driving experience? This is the thing everyday I can feel.

• RoKiee on Sep 24, 2013 at 11:21 pm

Wow ! I never thought that I’ll live to see the day that a A-seg car has the same safety features as in developed countries.

Kudos Naza. You guys aren’t that bad after all …

Proton is heading the right direction starting with Subprima S. Let’s hope that it will be replicated to all their models.

T & H will have to buck up. A whole new generation of buyers that place more importance on safety is coming, and they WILL place safety first over resale and brand.

Disclosure. I drive a T, and the only reason I bought it, is because it is the only model with all safety features in all them. 7 airbags and the works.

• huehuehue on Sep 25, 2013 at 5:40 am

Let me guess.. A prius?

• Driver Part Time on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:19 pm

Drove my boss’s Prius from office back home for the first time. Verdict, Toyota don’t make cars like they used to. The whole interior rattles and the cheap plastics all over the car, even my own Waja feels much more classier. The audio/radio system sucks, tried pushing the bass up, the whole door rattles. Shit! And the driving experience, hah confirm like driving a lemon. Comparing the car on battery mode, my son’s China made play car got more torque. Dunno why people so dumb, still think Toyota is that great and good resale value. I won’t buy this lemon when the warranty expires. Now i know why most Prius drivers love to hide their face.

• Been long waiting for this model but the price certainly high to us. I thought around myvi pricing.

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:13 am

6 airbags? HAHAHAHAHA! but still this car will struggle to reach 110km/h and drives like a boat on highway .

They put 6 airbags in a KOREAN car and all the fools kena con thinking its a damn good car. After buy the car, then regret cuz drives and handles like crap . That time , the 6 airbags oso havent even use yet cuz the car is too damn slow.

Then when u want to change anything in service centre,they ask you to wait for 1 month for your spare part. Got LONG warranty but whats the point when u keep sending in the car to SC? KOREAN reliability is crap.Trust me on this. Alot of people here JUST see number of airbags lah,number of speakers lah, keyless entry lah . All this are useless things which after a while become forgotten items.

Then 5 years down the road, u try to trade in for a bigger car and 2nd hand dealer values ur car at a pathetic 15k. Reason? CUz nobody is going to ever buy this kinda KOREAN car 2nd hand.

You all can say whatever u want about TOYOTA and HONDA but lets face it, these two always produce cars that is fun and nice to drive with outstanding reliability. They have a long track record unlike KIA & HYUNDAI .

Besides, korean cars dont last that long! So stop being silly and fooled by 6 airbags cuz its a silly marketing tactic that is used to fool silly people like some KOREAN fans here.

Wake up people! Yes KOREAN cars have come a long way,but dont forget ! Japanese cars have progressed even further away from Korean cars.

Stop buying KOREAN cars for the love of GOD!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 33
    • samlok on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:52 pm

Korean car does handle like crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
      • Sam Loo on Oct 02, 2013 at 12:07 am

Handling is a technical aspect which the Koreans can improve.

They will never be able to improve their RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • IronMan on Sep 30, 2013 at 2:20 pm

I don’t want to argue….Except VIOS is not fun to drive is only meant for Auntie go pasar buy vege. I don’t know which side of your brain came to conclusion Japanese car got good handling…Without prejudice, Proton cars beats the crap out of them in terms of R&H. It’s a fact. Live with it.

• Driver Part Time on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:29 pm

Yes, I couldn’t believe it that my Waja still drives better than a Prius. I will never consider Vios, cause its a tin can on 4 wheels. You wont find Vios in Japan, they wont qualify that as a car, more like a toy. Now this Proton Suprima maybe a good buy, if I can still still tolerate any potential power window failure. As for Picanto, for kids only lah, not family car.

• ............. on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:35 pm

Above….. Did you drive picanto before? are you sure it not able to reach 110km/h? previous old module only 1.1 the new one 1.23… you still dreaming? Time to wake yourself up!

• samlok on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:53 pm

too expensive!

• prefer this picanto..6 airbags!yeah..suprima s?preve?hello..vios?all this model doesn’t get any euroncap star..even our road transport prefer the euro regulations before licensing the cars..asianncap?haha..

• I dont know much about car, can anyone tell me if this car is bigger than the old Hyundai Getz? Or the size similar to MyVi? Or it is bigger than i10?

Thanks ;)

• mentality on Oct 08, 2013 at 1:16 pm

wat so fuzz bout 6 airbag..? like u excident everyday.. my 5 year old perdana dunno got airbag or not yet still fine til today… dun think airbag can always save ur life cuz death can happen everywhere.. like u open car door without alerting then got bike collide with u yet u are dead although got 15 airbag in the car

• samlok on Oct 12, 2013 at 6:27 pm

if price around 50K, i will trade in my myvi

• potential buyers on Oct 16, 2013 at 8:20 am

fuel consumption? anybody know

• madule on Oct 29, 2013 at 3:38 pm

market strategy by the korean examples the samsung handphone which is now widely accepted by most people in the world slowly the car market will be dominant and accept by most people. from japanese car people will drive and travel with korean cars.