Kia Picanto – second-gen to debut in Malaysia in Q4

picanto-move

Naza Kia is scheduled to launch the second-generation Kia Picanto – which made its debut in Geneva back in 2011 – sometime in the fourth quarter, according to a Bernama report.

“We can launch it the earliest in mid-October. We are still studying the prices, which are expected to be between RM55,000 and RM65,000,” company COO Datuk Hafiz Syed Abu Bakar told the news agency.

The report indicates that the five-door TA – spied on Malaysian roads a few months back – will arrive in its 1.25 litre Kappa form, and will be available in both automatic and manual transmission versions, with the company believing there is still a strong demand for manual variants, especially outside the Klang Valley.

Naza is targeting a sales volume of about 400 units per month of the Picanto – known as the Morning in its domestic market – for a start, the report adds.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• frenzyaustin on Aug 13, 2013 at 3:19 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 169
    • frenzyaustin on Aug 13, 2013 at 4:03 pm

What, 65K? I thought it’s 50K. Sorry, I look somewhere else now. 65K for small car is absolute pathethic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawa on Aug 13, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Looks like any fuel efficient cars must be RM10K more expensive here

Eg. Mirage thailand RM40-50K, here RM60K

Proton very lucky govt always keep others more expensive! HA HA HA BRAVO PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • ex-protonstaf on Aug 14, 2013 at 12:05 am

this is a killer..preve hatchback better watchout!

• for this pricing, it will hardly hit the target of 400units/mth……price it cheaper for more competitive to Myvi, i10, persona etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • RM55K – 65K would be too high for this small car with 1.0 liter engine. The sales volume going to be very low

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • _xXx_ on Aug 13, 2013 at 3:52 pm

Anthony, plz use font size 72, bold, blinking (if possible) on the number 1.25 in your article…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • Terry Lee on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:27 pm

People always assume

• kadajawa on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:02 am

I’ll cut my didi if it’s true the price below RM50K

If not you’ll cut yours, OK

Deal or no deal?

• Sparcov on Aug 13, 2013 at 3:29 pm

No hard feeling…I found it too expensive!

Top of the range RM 65K can get Proton Preve C-Segment. Top up little bit more can get Suzuki Swift.

Picanto is like Hyundai I10 size…

It looks cute, small and practical. But baseline model is expensive for this car.

• Beetle Nut on Aug 13, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Cute? It looks like ikan hantu, just missing some sharp teeth…I’ll pass, tqvm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • kadajawa on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:00 am

You’re so ignorant and stupid.

It’ll become more expensive because MITI told Naza to price it higher and to make Proton appear cheaper. HA HA HA

• powershot on Aug 13, 2013 at 3:47 pm

does it share the same platform with hyundai i10?

• frenzyaustin on Aug 13, 2013 at 4:03 pm

KIA = better looking, worse performer Hyundai.
      No matter which car you buy, Hyundai still profit.

• omanjedi on Aug 13, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Datuk hafiz.since you taken over naza kia, the pricing for new cars are shit. The last competitively priced car before you took over is the forte and it was a success. I hope the Naza family will realise that ur apptmn was a mistake. Kia is no overpriced P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • _xXx_ on Aug 13, 2013 at 3:56 pm

I like this. Unlike some retards in certain distributors thought the world wants auto Transmission cars only…

“with the company believing there is still a strong demand for manual variants, especially outside the Klang Valley.”

• lonelyobserve on Aug 14, 2013 at 10:49 am

Naza just now realizing it after expanding vigorously outside Klang Valley. When it starts selling cars, the mindset is people in Boleh Land drive car with automatic gearbox, period. However, this is only applicable in urban areas.

• Hmmmm, new i10 2014 or picanto 2013, which 1 better…

• Norman on Aug 13, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Agreed pricing should be around RM38-45k range if not no point even with 4 airbags/Esc and whatever gadgets.Its still Korean unless its a 1.0 turbo with 80hp/150nm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Terry Lee on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:22 pm

Previous Picanto already 54k, I mean picanto not suria here. so do you think new car will be price 38k-45k plus using 1.25 kappa……..

• common sense on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:15 am

Kia Rio 1.4 already RM70k so Picanto 1.2 should be RM10k-15k less.

• roxas on Aug 13, 2013 at 4:45 pm

lol, the i10 is a bigger car with bigger engine n better refinement. and the 2nd-gen i10 is alot bigger too, almost swift size.

• pororo on Aug 13, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Naza, CKD this car in Kulim lah and change the name into Naza Suria or Naza Picanto and sell it murah… RM55K – RM65K mahal lah.. better angkat Rio low spec je kalau RM65K for hi-spec..

• Spark on Aug 13, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Everything looks ok except the price. where is the competitiveness? better get myvi lar at that range.

hmmm…naza kia keep overpricing their cars lately.

• then this car in korea get facelift in Q1 2014

• niceone on Aug 13, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Naza’s at it again. It seems to me that all recent car launches by this AP king are overpriced.

• Maserati on Aug 13, 2013 at 6:13 pm

The price is horrendous, and the brand KIA brings shame to anyone that drives it.

Whoever buys this car or any car from KIA is either a:

a) retard
    b) iq of less than 80
    c) retard

Even my late grandma’s bicycle is more manovoureable than a KIA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 45
    • pharos on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:20 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 165
    • Kuinosan on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:41 pm

It takes a BIGGER RETARD to call another person a retard and it takes a more seriously STUPID MORON to call others stupid!!! If can’t afford a Kia, just get a SV model lar, not the Lamborghini SV, but the PROTON SV (in this case, the SV stands for SUPER VALUE!).
      No point explaining to a STUPID MORON what is the definition of “One’s Freedom Of Choice”!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 118
  • kev413 on Aug 13, 2013 at 6:41 pm

65k? I’ll go for suzuki swift

• All these ppl bising. No money go buy saga la. Saga better buy

• Jilbaber on Aug 13, 2013 at 7:02 pm

RM55,000 and RM65,000 ! that’s preposterous… this COO though Kia is really people choice ke like T or H. Expecting too much

• niuhje on Aug 13, 2013 at 7:07 pm

aiyoh Naza…profit kurang sikit la bro… semua mau kasi max price… economy of scale can cover mah

• fofofo on Aug 13, 2013 at 7:09 pm

Come on la….bring in the ProCee’d GT. Or the normal ProCee’d. Or just the Cee’d. This little car with that price…..hmmm I’ll stick with my fiesta.

• please price at 20k , thanks

• Kuinosan on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:40 pm

This is the car that won the 2012 Top Gear supermini category. Imagine, a Korean mini car wining this coveted accolade from the all critical Jeremy Clarkson and his cynical mates. But for RM65k, it defeats the purpose of selling this model here in Malaysia. This car was build and design with one purpose in mind, to be affordable to own and maintain. But 65k??? For a 1.25l car, REALLY??? Hyundai have failed to secure its market for the i10 due to overpricing, so now you guys in Naza Kia wants to suffer the same consequences??? Are you guys just plain ignorant or are you guys insulting our intelligents? One thing I know for certain, if you insist to price this little car at RM65k, you can say bye bye to your sales target!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 45
  • Ko Lo on Aug 14, 2013 at 1:25 am

Many turn to KIA, when Forte a C-segment 1.6lit car loaded with all new tech stuff for only rm82k. But I doubt the new Cerato will follow the success of Forte due to its overpriced. Now Picanto a 1.25lit car also on the high price? Many other car manufacturer that would say thank you KIA for the new Picanto pricing.

• Norman on Aug 14, 2013 at 2:55 am

Whatever 1.25 its still overprice dude..Unless its turbo or continental make,Period

• kadajawa on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:04 am

It is overpriced because MITI controlled the price. Naza just Yes-Man.

Other cars must be more expensive than Proton.

Only that way Proton can become cheaper HA HA HA LOL!

• Kuinosan on Aug 14, 2013 at 10:16 pm

I personally feel that Hyundai Motor started their in roads into the automobile industry with the introduction of their 2006 1.4 Getz model which Top Gear critic Mr. Jeremy Clarkson had actually praised and liked the Getz for it’s overall ability and integrity. It was something rather rare at that time and Hyundai Motor have not looked back since. See where they are today, with their latest offerings things are really looking up indeed. Cheers!

• Sam Loo on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:18 am

Used Picanto is really difficult to sell.

I usually reject trade in for this model, even at fire sale price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
  • fendi on Aug 19, 2013 at 2:26 am

look like myvi

• SalSays... on Aug 20, 2013 at 2:44 pm

This is the twin of the Hyundai i10…everything is the same but the KIA wins in styling…Nice!

• johnny on Aug 31, 2013 at 10:48 am

Kappa engine? Heard it’s heavy drinker. I don’t know. May ask uncle google.

• Athene on Sep 07, 2013 at 6:33 pm

Seriusly ugly.. the front bumper looks retarded

• still overpriced, better look for other option