Free IM4U number plates for first 1,000 Kia Picantos

Kia Picanto Malaysia-24

The second-generation Kia Picanto is now in showrooms nationwide, available for booking at an estimated price of under RM60k for the manual and below RM64k for the automatic variant. The prices are not final as Naza Kia is waiting for approval by the government.

UPDATE: Pricing for the Picanto has been confirmed – RM54,888 for the M/T and RM59,888 for the A/T, OTR with insurance

Both five-speed manual and four-speed auto transmissions are paired to a 87 PS/120 Nm 1.25 litre Kappa engine with CVVT. Naza Kia says that the first 1,000 customers to “book or register” the new Picanto will be entitled to a complimentary IM4U number plate.

Introduced by the PM in March this year, the IM4U plate was rolled out in conjuction with the 1Malaysia For Youth movement, with the objective of it helping to raise funds to support the movement’s activities. The special series has the usual run of 9,999 numbers, but cannot be registered in tax-free islands Langkawi and Labuan, unlike with the G1M series commonly seen on mega-buck supercars.

Available in six colours, the new Picanto comes standard with six airbags, ESP and all-round disc brakes. The high-spec automatic variant features things like keyless entry with push start, Supervision meter plus Bluetooth and steering buttons for the factory audio. Warranty is for five years with unlimited mileage. Full local spec list and test drive report here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• abuya123 on Oct 21, 2013 at 1:58 pm

Yeay… grab 1 now before stock lasts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
    • Leehanvoon on Oct 21, 2013 at 2:54 pm

*while stock last..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • abuya123 on Oct 21, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Tq for correct me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
        • carlies on Oct 21, 2013 at 10:33 pm

This strategy by Kia is totally out! This Picanto wasn’t sales well in the past, and now even worse using the “IM4U” number plate (a slogan from certain party for youth). I don’t know how many sales they able to hit. Pity Kia.

• Leehanvoon on Oct 21, 2013 at 3:00 pm

*while stocks last

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Yeay.. enrich a crony while stock lasts

• I say yes to the car but hell no to the freebie registration plate! It’s so disgusting even to type on my keyboard.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
    • Chris on Oct 21, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Maybe they’re expecting demand will be too high so they come up with such plate to “cool” it off so people won’t complain they take a long time to deliver… hahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Ryan.C on Oct 21, 2013 at 2:27 pm

get IM4U, then your car value will raised 2x !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
  • downsys on Oct 21, 2013 at 2:43 pm

This number plate, give free also people dowwan. Better wait until all 1,000 units are sold before buying one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • _xXx_ on Oct 21, 2013 at 2:51 pm

wow 1m4u…sorry, me not interested at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • Hahah,that must be a joke! Well thats an option rite..no? ._. . Hell it better be an option,trying to put people off the Picanto..damn.

• Denaihati on Oct 21, 2013 at 3:07 pm

nice number plates and have future great value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
    • Of course, the license plate actually appreciates although the car depreciates over time. So in effect, it balances out and your car will retain the original value in the first 10 years.

• Cheap, cheap, cheap, lelong lelong lelong….I m for you…who wAnts?

• keris lawak on Oct 21, 2013 at 3:39 pm

the car is nice. IM4U nombor plate? yuck….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano on Oct 21, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Normally, if you “book” a plate, you have to pay extra, on normal plates i.e. Wilayah plate, the minimum bid is RM300 I think.

If this im4u plate costs about the same, say RM 300, can the customer get the RM 300 as cash, and not take the im4u plate? Cause I rather spend the RM 300 on some nice food and a treat for my car than to put it on that number plate. Dowwan la this plate. W **** C plates look better.

• 1M4U number plate must be tak laku!! That why it is still under lelong after launching for 6 ~ 7 months

• Black Dog on Oct 21, 2013 at 4:26 pm

The G1M series makes a mockery of Langkawi’s tax free status. Buy expensive tax free car, register G1M plate, drive all over Malaysia nobody knows.

• Semanis Kurma on Oct 21, 2013 at 4:45 pm

The first 1000 sale will be freakin slow.

• 1M4U numbers should be put in auction, as the function is for the organisation’s fundraising. Not given free like this.

Hopefully Naza Kia will put a cash option for those 53% Malaysians who are not interested for 1M4U numbers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Hadi75 on Oct 21, 2013 at 5:03 pm

Maybe they were expecting sales will be like G1M but it was not to be….so give it away la…..or naza will bear the cost….as for me….free also dont want….

• for me, IM4U was read as “i’m for u”

• Typical Malaysian….

• number plate better be optional, or else i wonder when will the first 1k sale come to the end….