Well, it looks like March 21 will be the day that the naming row over Lotus goes into full trial. In a summary judgment application hearing at the High Court in London yesterday, the judge rejected Group Lotus’ application to prevent the case from going to a full trial.
At the hearing, Justice Peter Smith also felt that it was in everyone’s best interests to bring the hearing date for the full trial forward earlier, instead of allowing the situation to continue to simmer until sometime near the end of the year.
Fixing the date of the beginning of the trial at March 21, which is after the season opener in Bahrain, Justice Smith nonetheless urged both parties to attempt to settle the issue amicably before then.
Team Lotus boss Tony Fernandes was of course delighted by the initial outcome of the case. “Very very happy over the judgment today. And extremely happy that full trial brought forward to March 21. The good do always eventually win,” he wrote on his Twitter feed.
“Today’s case is Group’s desperate attempt to use their one-way unlawful termination of license agreement of Lotus Racing. Saying One Malaysia can’t use Lotus. Part of post-termination clauses. So nothing changes on Team Lotus,” Fernandes stated in another Twitter post.
So, while the “Battle of the Lotuses” continues to run, one thing’s for sure right now – there’ll be Group Lotus’ Lotus-Renault GP and Tony Fernandes’ Team Lotus on the starting grid for the 2011 F1 season.
Why is he crowing like he won the thing? The judge just decided it should go to a full hearing…
aiya… so that all of his little biased crony “journalists” like joe saward can selectively pick up his quotes and spin it like they’ve won the case
I’m sorry, Joe Saward is Tony’s crony? You’re either dumb or full of hatred against Tony. Joe Saward have been around F1 long before Tony can imagine that he would own AirAsia someday.
What is wrong when people like Joe Saward want to sided with Tony’s team instead of Lotus Group? You’re like some politician in Malaysia; “you’re either with me or against me!”
it means, there is still a hope in the case,
and also it means, he will not lose the prize money in 2010 season ‘yet’
this is what a remarkably optimistic person look at things and no doubt he is.
whether he lose the case on 21/3 is a different ball game.
Group wanted to get rid of Team by the season dawn, but that’s not the case now.
What laa… the court’s order doesn’t meat that Tony Fernandez had won already… so tak sedar diri… the court doesn’t want this case to spoil the entire F1 season and gives chance for both teams to settle on track fair and square, that’s all… moreover, the 2011 season will start very soon…
typical liar… desperado!
Don’t fight fight la… i will support both team….
Good Luck to Both! i prefer both shares the same lotus brand since i will support both anyways!
“The good do always eventually win.”
GTFO la TF… just hearing date is fixed…
true indeed…
his cars not gonna be in top ten either anyway…
nothing to shout about..
desperado wanna do magic in mass media so people will support him.
fairuz fauzy already moved to Lotus-Renault.. eat it TF!
fairuz fauzy did nothing!!!
milo tin is milo tin , parliar milo tin …
Why do all the conman have the same tactics? using media to influence the decision….2nd time Proton being conned after the ‘Saga’…and where do all the politicians promoting the 1MF1???? Najib- please speak up…
Where all the promises of establishing Sepang as F1 hub???empty promises/big lie by that fat man
sorry.. the 1st time is ‘TIARA’ by Citroen.
mistake – ‘TIARA’ Saga episode…..Proton Saga is always a good car
last time Tony Fernandes and Mike Gascoyne said want to make Sepang as the Malaysia F1 hub but later change mind..
at the beginning talk so sweet, but then.. haiyaaaa.
i wish PROTON win, at least that F1 technology can be apply to Malaysia automotive engineering benefit plus the research can be use in university for education purpose, rather than just fight to promote somebody else, better all that technology can be share among ordinary malaysian people.
obviously you didn’t watch havinder interview with gascoyne
go and search and watch that interview
Isn’t Malaysia benefiting already from Tony’s team by way of the 30 Malaysians already in the team according to Paultan’s feature story on them last month?
In addition to that, Its lucky that Hasan Merican -Ex Petronas Chief is smart enough to know TF’s tricks…National Pride is important, but serving a conman is as stupid as it gets
Holy crap Tony are u so desperate for attention that u call this a victory??
All he did was make the court date earlier. GL didn’t lose, the Judge just chose to merge both cases into one so the summary judgement wasnt considered on its own.
U trully are full of xxxx.
the real winner will be decided on the racing circuits, its no use winning the court case while you are three laps behind……
oh whatever guys..just go on the track and make us Malaysians proud..wish you guys luck :D
Only when we feel proud to see daring Malaysian teams at the high end & glamorous international arena , they are now quarelling right in the open for all the world to see and laugh at.
We have enough quarrelings at home here , never ending , day and night,
For sure the UK lawyers will be laughing to the bank , costly funds diverted unnecessarily. If the two teams are that good and regular podium prospects may be not that bad but for all we know , like in last season ,they wld be still at the tail end, driving leisurely while eating Italian pizza .
Can some wise men , like say our Tun M or perhaps Lee Kuan Yew, help to mediate between the two Lotuses ?
Haha. TF is very generous to give free advertising to lotus. nuff said.
While this court decision is pending, I suggest Tony, being a smart strategist he is , start coming up with Plan B . Start looking for alternative team’s new names, just in case the decision is not in Lotus Team’s favour but that new name should not be far off . Some names which come to mind are ;
1. LOTUS RESTORAN Team With catchy tagline >nasi kari daun pisang , Finger – licking
good” pasted on the side ;
2. LOTUS Seed Mooncake;
3. LOTONG or LONTONG , may also sound good, because it has that turbo sound ” tong”, tong “…
Jangan mare , joke , joke only lah
All the businessmen & women in the world know what TF trying to pull here… people say there’s no such thing as bad press…
TF knows he has no ground what so ever to hold on to the Lotus F1 legacy/heritage but TF will milks this sega to gain coverage/mileage as much…
As disgusted as some with TF cunning/glittery tactics… end of the day… money talks!
I really admire TF in AirAsia Now, Everyone Can Fly. Period. From the beginning l already sense this businessman not really into F1 sport. His intention solely financial motivation from selling “successful” Lotus name, especially when he acquire the ‘right’ through his business partner that given right to the Lotus moniker in F1.
Proton so naive to allow this fellow to use their Lotus brand at first place; how on earth they (Proton) can expect these businessmen can give them “free” ads and destroy the Lotus brand?
I guess, TF has upper hand since acquired the right through his Briton’s partner BUT if he’s a sort of conman, l rather see AirAsia can’t fly at all. He got no ethics at all if he at first place did against the agreement’s clause BUT just he got the right/title he can do everything on his favor which is at first place without proton consent he can’t used Lotus name whatsoever.
Logically, he can follow Sir Branson’s step, naming his own brand; like Tune Racing or TF Racing or AirAsia Racing.
Now, MAB should trying to get their rental from AirAsia without any discount from this savvy businessman.
I really don’t understand people who say that Tony is in it to take others for a ride or to benefit financially.
How does one benefit by venturing in a business that everyone knows is like a bottomless pit for money. Thus the argument that he is in it to ‘scam’ others is not logical. People that voice this stance are always thinking 1. all businessmen are crooks, 2.If i do business I too have to be a crook.
Most often these are people not in their own business and who are discontent about the position for working for a businessman. Quite sad.
Tony was planning to take the Malaysian taxpayers for a ride but thank god evrybody saw thru his charade and blatant attempt to kiss up to the big boss…..
1. Naming the holding co 1MRT…..good god how obvious can u be?
2. The whole pathetic whingeing and sour grapes when Petronas didnt sponsor them
3. All the bullxxxx about building cars, wind tunnels in Malaysia
4. Flying the sports minister everywhere in the first few weeks….
Tony so desperately wants to be like Branson but Branson pays his bills within 8 days, not by trying to con taxpayers or having 180 day terms…..
If he was really sincere about the whole love affair with Lotus and its glorious history, why didnt he buy the name from David Hunt right from the very beginning?
I could go on but he is rully an opportunist of the worst kind. I hope the Judge really slaps him hard for breaking the agreement terms with Proton for the Lotus Racing license……
I don’t know how he intends to take ‘taxpayers for a ride’ by funding the team with his and his partners’ own private money..
Did Virgin Racing pay suppliers within 8 days? Normally the ‘credit terms’ of companies is 30, 60, 90 even 120 days. I’ve honestly never heard of a company with 8-day credit terms. Hats off to Virgin Racing!
Please read my post. I said he “planned” to take taxpayers for a ride. Luckily for us no one fell for it.
As for virgin payment terms, it was in the recent article all ove the web on payment terms of f1 teams. I am sure ist very easy to search….
Short story, red bull on time, force india 2nd worse with 28 days. Team Lotus AVERAGE is 180 days.
I could have an f1 team if I didn’t have to pay anyone haha!
So you agree that he DID NOT take ‘taxpayers for a ride’? So you agree that what you stated was merely conjecture, innuendos, no? Thus no different to spreading an arbitrary comment that Mr pantsonfire is an idiot but it turns out you are not. So does that make you an idiot.. or not? :)
As I said, hats off to Virgin Racing for practicing 8 day credit terms. Quite a rarity in my marketplace or any other. Nothing wrong with being exceptionally wonderful paymasters.
Its not conjecture or innuendo. His whining and whingeing was all over the papers and twitter when they didnt get Petronas! U can twist and turn my words all u like but all that i wrote did happen…….no conjecture there.
People in the UK particular about being paid on time. If u base urself in Hingham then u jolly well ought to practice the culture there too.
Sont focus on Virgin being so great at 8 days. Look at the fact that the 2nd worst guy was 28 days and 1MRT was 180 days!!
Clearly Virgin lived within their means and didnt overspend as for 1MRT…….perhaps they should be looking for paying drivers to help with the bill!!
Only jesting mate……dont take it too seriously!
P/S how come there is no reply button underneath ur comments? is it coz u replied to urself?
Hear! Hear!
my “Hear! Hear!” dedicated to Karl… i sapot your statement.
maybe he could re-brand his team to:
Force Malaysia F1 Team
Now Everybody Can Race Team
No-Frills F1 Team
or
…Nasi Lemak Pak Nasser F1 Team.
TF syok sendiri!
cal it LOairTUSia = lotus+airasia
i do like both team. but somehow in this “saga” i really wish GL win in court. why la TF still want to use the Lotus name? from what i see, he is just taking advantage from it. not even any real Lotus car employee inside their team. lagi mau guna that name. what a shame…
dude, agree with u..
let hope the real Lotus be the Lotus..
what a shame on u tony…sigh~
TF syok sendiri lah!