Nasim picks up award from Automobiles Peugeot

Local Peugeot distributor Nasim has won an international award from Automobiles Peugeot for its efforts in growing the marque last year.

Automobiles Peugeot presented Nasim with the Successful Industrialisation and Commercial Launch of the 207 Award at the Peugeot 2011 Convention for Worldwide Distributors in Valencia, Spain.

“This award from Peugeot is a recognition of our efforts in manufacturing the 207 sedan in Malaysia for right-hand drive markets in the region. At present, we have had over 600 bookings for the new 207 and it is currently the most attainable European offering in the market,” Nasim’s CEO SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin said.

He added that the 207 sedan, which is produced at Naza’s plant in Gurun, Kedah, was already being exported to Thailand and exports to Indonesia, Brunei and Sri Lanka will commence in the first quarter of this year. The company is targeting to sell 7,000 Peugeots this year, of which some 5,000 will be of the 207 sedan.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• m4xspeed on Jan 27, 2011 at 8:20 pm

Well done Nasim !! Thanks making Malaysian dream come true of owning European marque i.e Peugeot at an affordable price. :)

• hamham on Jan 31, 2011 at 5:27 pm

they are one of the culprit Malaysia car at high price…the spelling and sounds like cronies.

• kalau boleh local assemble 5008 lagi best, 160k terlalu mahal. Kalau dengan harga 120k mesti boleh jadi best selling mpv

• toroto on Jan 27, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Peugeot cars are currently de most affordable and value for money European brand in M’sia. I’ll definitely put it on top of my list again in future if they maintain their quality, reliability n affordability yet very attractive still. I hope Nasim wil bring in 508sw in future so i can test drive. Mayb by de time i wanna upgrade, oredi 509 :-)

• No doubt peugeot is the one of the most affordable car. However having the car locally assemble is big big mistake. they just don care about quality control.
    I owe a peugeot 308 and it was driven by my wife. I was happy with the car for at least 1 year.
    the car was driven by my wife and is consider low mileage. after 14 mths of having the car, i sent the car in for 20,000km service. on the clock is only around 19,300km.
    They called me and inform about the faulty disc pad and disc rotor!!! i said i must change it. The worst part is I feel cheated after i found out that the spare part for this car is very very very expensive. Disc rotor RM890, Disc pad RM480. This prices was actuallly more expensive then volvo, BMW 3 series, Audi A4 and Merc C-Class. CAN U BELIEVE IT!!!
    Worst of disc rotor wear out less then 20,00km!!!!! and is not cover under the warranty!!!!!
    Apparently, going to the Peoguet forum, battery, disc rotor, and the air-cond is known problem for so called local assembled Peugoet! (i was lucky to change the battery when it is still under warranty)
    I called up to complaint, no one entertain wrote in no reply until 3 months later someone called up and said Nasim agreed to warranty he part. However, here i am waited for another 3 months called them they said the mangement approve the claim but still pending for the account to issue the cheque!
    HOW great can the company be if the company process flow is not in place.
    Btw windscreen cost RM4600! expensive? YES other part yet to find out!!!
    For those who do not believe please feel free to call them up check what does the 3 yrs warranty cover and may be quote them so part for price… you will be shocked!
    As for refund for warranty, i think the “promises” they made is just to please someone and hoping time will make them forget!!!!!!
    Welcome peugeot for being so fake and giving the award out!!!!

• makoi on Jan 28, 2011 at 7:57 am

you cant afford the car, just sell it.,

myvi also have disc rotor problem. so chill .

• We do understand that disc rotor sometime give problem. However if you do read my scenario correctly, disc rotor giving problem for less then 20,000 I’m milage is unacceptable. Afford to pay and willing to pay is 2 different issues. All I can say is you are or going to be a peugeot owner pls do prepare for the Hugh spare parts price you are paying…..

• Malik on Jan 30, 2011 at 11:21 am

CK

It is not that Peugeot Parts does not last.

The problem and short lived of your Rotor disc is due you sending your hard driving car immediately for washing at the car wash before the rotor disc had cooled down

This is the main cause of problem happen in every cars including MYVI using disc except drum if you are not careful.

My advise is next time , please wash your car AFTER THE ROTOR DISC had cooled down for 20 to 30 mins , as this will prolong the life of most car’s Rotor disc.

• Totally award of that! My Maid get to wash it in the morning. Is not a practice sending car to wash shop. The possibility that you suggest is out of the question for my scenario.

• wow…I know naza assembled Kia got QC issue (my fren’s Ria got roof and window leakage and other electronic malfunction issues since day one), but seems that peugeot brand also affected. Was thinking about getting a 3008 but now i have to start looking for other options…Naza got to do something about the quality and spare part price issues or it will gonna hurt them badly in the future.

• fishbuffdragonred on Jan 28, 2011 at 10:03 am

Pugs are still problematic cars and their Nasim service sucks!!!!!!!!!! From personal experience.

• Aiya.. get real la! name me a car manufacturer or dealer that is perfect, give you every farking thing u demand for? No such thing! Are there manufacturers that put warranty on disc brakes and pads? They are wear and tear items and also very much depends on how a person drives.

As for the part being expensive, its a conti, what do u expect!? OK maybe beemer discs and pads are slightly less expensive, but u’ll get slaughtered on others parts which can also be farking expensive. Same as A4, have you seen the price of its electro magnetic absorbers?? Go find out!

• The car mentioned is conti as in German car. You are right some parts are freaking expensive. Absorb is one of them, DSG gear another. Hello friend, this are special part. Do some study, do you think Peugeot can change to so called sports mode, dynamic or Eco mode for suspension?? Does it come with double clutch?
        May be to give you a better picture on comparing the ‘common parts’ .
        308 price is around 110k disc rotor pls disc pad is 1.25% of the car value where by you need to change at every 20k interval.
        Assuming you travel for 100k km change 5times?
        It come out to be around 7.25% of your car value
        BMW 3 Series for 240k entry level. Disc plus pad around 0.5% of your car value.
        Over 100k km you might need to change 2 times rotor and 4 times pad which is only less then 1.5% of your car value.
        Clearer picture now. If not sorry I can’t really help you… :-(
        Btw are you working for them?

• Every brand and make will have some cars that have a little more problem than others. Nothing is perfect in this world. Nasim started Peugeot not many years ago and they have improved through time, although still not perfect and established like Toyota or Honda.
    All my warranties on my car have been handled by them. I won’t deny that it may take them a little longer than it should, but they do honour the warranties.
    However, driving the car is another fantastic experience that cannot be explained in words. You need to drive it to know….

• Driving and finding is a pain. And this is just some of my finding. For more you should visit the peugoet club site for more information. For being not ready the forum this is the cost I am paying.
      However, I use to own a 407 with no problem. The different is CBU and CKD I guess. Honestly speaking, Hicom made some good quality car. Give them some time I guess. But definitely not near future looking at how they handle problem. Too bad….

• kuching on Jan 28, 2011 at 2:39 pm

I own eye-catching peugeot 206cc and so far no major problem. The price of the spareparts slighty higher compared to my Japanese Prado but almost the same with my Korean coupe. No car is perfect, just take care the car like you care your family and u will save more $ for maintenance.

• I am also in kuching, just bought a 308. Where are you in kuching?/

• paparazi on Jan 28, 2011 at 7:02 pm

neither new cars nor old cars got problems also, minor or major.
    its unlucky or painful to own a problematic new car, better pray guys.

• nolan on Jan 29, 2011 at 12:43 am

Pug had to give the award to Nasim because of their good job recycle the 207….

• This story of CK I have read on other websites only. The part he is not telling is, i think, is that his wife may be using brakes much more than usual. As the auto gearbox oblige to use breaks all the time. You have to bring the car to neutral when it is standing on a red light or waiting for someone, or else breaks are always in use, as the auto clutch too. I dont see any other reason for the change of pads at 20,000 kms. Carbon composite break pads of european cars are better in use but do wear out a little fast. This mean, 40,000 compared to 50,000 kms for other cars, using conventional pads, for my driving style I would say. Here also we need to consider the performance of these pads too.

• The chances of setting the gear to neutral when stopping the car is very unlikely. Simply because she travel to office using highway. No jam! How great! With my wife driving style the disc rotor and disc pad last for 20,000km….. Honestly, will my type of driving style, I would wonder if the pad and rotor can even last for 10,000km?? I use to be kind of ‘aggressive’ driver, Honda civic pad original from japan, soft compound type, RM 330, only last me for 8000km before the next change…. Well I think that’s fair enough if you do drive madly. Anyway the thing I like to point out is with that kind of driving style, the pad does not last but the rotor last me for 60,000km before I need to consider for a chance.
      Again, may be Peugeot website with give you a better picture and different comment from other owner. It is totally a waste for such a nice car manufactured by such a lousy plant. Not to mentioned the service then offering.

• I dont think much difference between CKD and CBU, except CKD is more suitable for Malaysia. The changes brought in the sound system and also small changes in suspension may be more suitable for the local market. the warranty is the same and price is low. Now I paid RM 100 k for a car which would be RM 140 k if fully imported.

• hamham on Jan 31, 2011 at 5:37 pm

as Naza is earning more money in the AP trading parallel import car, do you think they seriously or spending $$ to create good quality and service hub for the KIA/PUG ? This is just a show! That is conflict of the interest, and selling 1 unit of AP Alphard earn them more money than 10 units of 207. So go figure out. They just want to controlled the market! so the brand wont go into other serious people. Forget to mention, Naza also into property development! so you think they are serious about the PUG/KIA? go figure out.

• Proton lover on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:45 pm

But I think they are serious of monopolize the car industry in Malaysia. Just imagine if they took over proton. Malaysia car industry will be in dooms day…. All local car price up up up. Buy it or naik motor!!!!!