New Pagani Huayra: Zonda successor finally revealed!

This is the Pagani Huayra, the successor to the Zonda, named after Aymara Huayra Tata, a South American Andean god of wind which supposedly commands the winds, hurricanes and blizzards. The design is easily identifiable as a Pagani, from the forward cab shape to the rear end which shows off its quad tailpipe design.

The Huayra’s monocoque is built of carbon-titanium, and to access the cockpit you lift up gill wing doors that take up quite a good portion of the roof. The whole vehicle weighs just 1,350kg dry, with the full exhaust system constructed with titanium weighing less than 10kg.

The 85 litre fuel tank is positioned in a protected reinforced area behind the “pilot”, and when you hear how much horsepower this baby makes you’ll understand why a total of 85 litres of fuel per tank is needed. Two microprocessor-controlled fuel pumps send fuel to the engine in precise amounts.

At the heart of the new Pagani Huayra is a Mercedes-Benz AMG 60 degree V12 with 5,930cc of displacement designated to M158, and thanks to two turbochargers it makes over 700 horsepower and torque of over 1,000Nm. That’s a huge torque upgrade over the Zonda R’s 710Nm, but that’s to be expected thanks to the forced induction.

Two radiators cool the motor down, and the turbos pump air through an intercooler mounted above the cylinder head. Pagani is especially proud of the fact that the cooling system can handle ambient temperatures as high as 50 degrees Celcius found in areas like Death Valley.

Power goes to the wheels via an Xtrac 7-speed sequential AMT gearbox weighing 96kg. Pagani says they experimented with a twin clutch system which is the trend nowadays but the idea was scrapped because the twin clutch system would lead to a weight gain of 70kg, negating the effects of the slightly faster shifts.

Look after the jump for a full hi-res gallery of the new Huayra.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1910]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• brianjgtc on Jan 27, 2011 at 1:59 am

This is a piece of art….

• what a beasttttt

• drMpower on Jan 27, 2011 at 2:44 am

that pair of side mirrors
    are they not interfering with whatever aerodynamic airflow bla bla bla?
    and
    are they not going to break
    when this catfish goes 200miles per hour?

i suppose the logic of having a new car
    is it suppose to be better than the last one
    it seems in term of side mirrors
    for me the last one a bit more stable
    and look good

i dont have any problem
    with the catfish image
    infact i wouldnt mind if
    it designed to look like elton john
    or
    linda lovelace

• hause on Jan 28, 2011 at 12:51 am

The wing mirrors are quite similar to those seen on the Zonda F.
      The original wing mirrors that were mounted to the top of the A-pillars in the first two Zonda variants the C12 and C12 S, were later found to be aerodynamically bad for the car.
      Thus the decision was to move it down and mount it on the front wheelarches in the F and R versions.
      Besides if the wing mirrors themselves are light-weight those tiny mounts should have no problems coping with the force of the wind.
      With little weight there wouldn’t be much inertia to flex the mounts.

• JULIAN_LEE on Jan 27, 2011 at 3:06 am

RM 162 for full tank T.T

• Alpha on Jan 27, 2011 at 8:00 am

That’s really cheap for a car like ths although it wun last that long.can afford the fuel,but the car and maintenance??sheesh~

• kungpow on Jan 27, 2011 at 10:36 am

Alpha is right.
        I just read about the bugatti veyron few days ago, you need more than RM900 for full tank.

• confused on Jan 27, 2011 at 8:21 am

nvm.. go petrol station isi rm20 only… ^_^

• And that’s just the total amount you’re paying if it’s RON95, right? With this Italian hypercar, it’s almost definite you gotta’ pump in some RON99 fuel.

• SeriuosSAM on Jan 27, 2011 at 3:24 am

oh boy the doors is way up high
    kena lompat-lompat on the seat if you want to shut it from inside after nicely sit and ready to burn some rubber; unless they provide an auto shut system

• shawal on Jan 27, 2011 at 4:23 am

It’ll cost more than khir toyo’s house thats for sure…. hahahahaha, just kidding..

Mitsuoka orochi comes to mind when it comes to the exterior styling, it is beastly, but acceptable because we know pagani makes really good cars…

The Interior is simply a magical place to be in , the level of detail is astonishing…
    Can’t wait for this car to make an appearance on Topgear ,

Hiratio Pagani is one awesome man!

• Huayra…is it chinese? Sounds like it.

• at first glance the front looks a bit like ferrari enzo ^^

• droll on Jan 27, 2011 at 9:12 am

wah, i actually find the interior quite sexy leh!

• frossonice on Jan 27, 2011 at 9:19 am

This is what a supercar should look like; weird and whacky. Well, that what Richard Hammond said about the Zonda. With this, he’ll go bonkers!

You know, that seat adjuster on the middle of the seat is a piece of sex toy. For the ladies, off course. Hahaha.

• putra_rider on Jan 27, 2011 at 9:24 am

fullaammaaaaKK!!!

giler la..

• longjaafar on Jan 27, 2011 at 10:04 am

One of those few brands whose creator is still around. Mr Pagani is from south america, and he still is very involved in the designing of his vehicles. He has visited malaysia before and went to have a look at Proton’s facilities.

• Paul, quick question, why is there a toyota in the photo gallery, does it come free with the pagani?

• Anonymous on Jan 27, 2011 at 10:17 am

Is that a AC ventilation to cool down driver’s (ball ball). lol

• frossonice on Jan 27, 2011 at 12:33 pm

No, that is seat adjuster. More like sex toy for ladies. Hehehe.

• blo0dy on Jan 27, 2011 at 12:35 pm

paul. if u but this u get toyota free?

• nothing much changes compare to the zonda in exterior…wonder why they dont name it pagani tata..lol

• the side mirror reminds me of motorbike side mirror..lol

• apen80 on Jan 27, 2011 at 1:52 pm

the interior makes me orgasm…. >L<

• cintaSatay on Jan 27, 2011 at 3:48 pm

still look like Zonda, like a Gen2 been refurbish as Persona.

• Toy'ota Avensis on Jan 27, 2011 at 7:15 pm

There is a BTCC Toyota Avensis in the gallery, Paul. Perhaps it’s due to the mid-night effect …

• Simply ugly. Well, at least in my opinion. But the iinterior is damn sexy though.

• i think the interior is overdone with all those colours… metal, brown leather, and black… that’s too much…

• Brenda on Mar 17, 2011 at 8:41 pm

hey whats that thing on the seats