Volvo S60 to be launched in March – CBU T6 for RM350k

As we’ve told you before, the all new Volvo S60 is coming to town, and now we know that it will be officially launched next month (March 2011). Typical for Volvo Car Malaysia, new models initially arrive as a top-spec CBU, before local assembly kicks in to offer smaller engines and more affordable pricetags.

The same goes for the S60, which will be available at launch in T6 and T5 guises. Local assembly is scheduled to start in the third quarter of this year, and cars that roll out of Shah Alam will likely come with Volvo’s turbocharged direct injection 1.6-litre GTDi engine. This downsized motor will be badged T3 or T4. Bear in mind that in Volvo’s new naming scheme, the number after the T doesn’t denote the cylinder count – the bigger the number, the higher it sits in the particular family.

The T6 is powered by a 3.0L in-line six turbo engine with 304 hp and 440 Nm of torque from 2,100 to 4,200 rpm. This all aluminium engine is paired to a six-speed Geartronic auto. The T5 meanwhile is a 2.0L four-pot turbo model with 203 hp and 300 Nm (overboost to 320 Nm). The T6 comes with Volvo’s self adjusting FOUR-C active chassis. For the new S60, Volvo has two suspension settings – Dynamic and Comfort, with the difference in shock absorbers and anti-roll bar thickness – and Malaysia will get Dynamic.

Both cars are fully loaded CBUs and safety kit includes Pedestrian Detection with full auto brake, City Safety, Rollover Protection System, Collision Warning with Auto Brake, Driver Alert Control, Blind Spot Info System (BLIS) and Advanced Stability Control. Full specs will be revealed at the launch.

Estimated pricing is RM350k for the T6 and RM290k for the T5.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Volvo940 on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:02 pm

Volvo For Life!

• mohsin on Feb 01, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Better wait for locally assembled with turbocharged engine: 1.6-litre GTDi engine!
      Sounds interesting!

• Lim Kwan Seng on Feb 02, 2011 at 10:52 am

Locally assembled or CBU from Sweden, I think half way driving this car, the gear handle will come out. Anything from China or China owned, definitely has some quality issues. You may trust Volvo, but do you trust China, the new owners of Volvo?

Mattel is a bigger company than Volvo and yet,after trusting China, they got into big problems with law suits cause their toys that were made in China had toxic colouring coming out thant posioned children

Fronterra, a huge producer of Milk and Formula Milk from New Zealand also trusted China but later got into big problems worldwide with the toxic milk issue that killed hundreds of children. Fronterra was and is a highly reputable company, most of our milk powder made by them.

So, what is so different with Volvo and their China owners? Who knows, while driving, even the leather seat may emit some toxic material due to the heat in Malaysia. Quality is definitely going down hill cause we all know, China companies want to maximise profits no matter what the consequence is.

It will be a big joke to see someone spend RM350k for a China owned car.

• SaveTheEarth on Feb 02, 2011 at 11:13 am

Do you know how many Audi assembled in China and number of car sold? I see you are commenting the non-motor industry, kindly do the comparison in motor industry (apple to apple), I think this will be fair to everyone of us.

• in case u did’nt realise,alot of local car distributors are doing the same,toyota and honda have reduced their product quality n still charge a higher price compared to other cars.sorry to say ur blind.check out the interior of the current bmw 3 series,the dashboard feels cheap.wonder why nobody complains bout dat…oh yeah cuz bmw mah,brand ma,glamour ma.so sick dumb critics.never drove or own the car before then dun talk.last time when hyundai and kia came up,everybody oso say no quality la this la that la,now all praise.whenever an underdog car maker comes with sumthing fresh its hard for malaysians to accept cuz we are brand conscious.we dun see what value we get for our money,oni think how other people will be impressed by what we drive.so we choose cars like bmw,merc,n now audi n vw.a couple of years ago nobody wud look at audi(has the worse resale value n very expensive parts) or vw(except for golf gti)…..nowadays its all great bout these cars.try the car first before talking.

• Richard Manjulathan on Feb 07, 2011 at 9:38 am

Huh? What you talking about? And who is praising Hyundai and Kia?

The fact that you say people are praising Hyundai and Kia itself has discredited the whole essay you wrote. You are talking about Kia lah, you sure you sober?

• i was simply giving an example by taking Hyundai and Kia to show how perception dictates the response to a car from consumers in Malaysia.Sorry if my essay was too complicated for u,I shall write it in a more simple manner for your understanding next time

• Orion on Feb 13, 2011 at 10:37 pm

Lim Kwan Seng,

I think you are a rather SICK , NAIVE and illogical typical MENTALITY China Man .

Anything coming out from malaysia got no quality too .
          Products from malaysia are even much worst than China Make .

Most mobile phones and computers are produce from China . Till todate nothing is wrong when compare to Sony Vaios. I had been to Sony service centre , see many people bringing spoilt SONY VAIOS for repair .

So Japanese products also got no quality too !! RIGHT !!@. Made in japan = shoddy goods too!!

If you cannot afford to buy any New expensive Volvos , please piss off & disappear yourself from this site immediately.

• Unforgiven on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:07 pm

That’s an interesting price…

• Jimmy on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:13 pm

Volvo S60 goes against C-class/3-series or E-class/5-series? Anybody?

• She live in her own CLASS!!!

• generally competes with E class and 5 series. C class/ 3 series against S40.

• Jimmy on Feb 01, 2011 at 6:25 pm

S40 is really small, even smaller than C-class, more like lexus IS range, but the S40 pricing looks similar to C-class/5-series. But the previous generation of S60 is bigger, I think…

• No. The S40 competes against BMW 1 series, Audi A3, Merc B Class. S60 competes with 3 series, Audi A4, C Class. Have not seen the new S60 in person yet but RM290k for the T5 I would rather go for an Audi A4 2.0T S-Line Quattro.

• The S40 is on the C-segment, so it is a Swedish rival to BMW 1-series, Honda Civic, Ford Focus and Volkswagen Golf. The S60 is on larger D-segment compact executive car class so it fights BMW 3 series, Audi A4 and Mercedes C-class.

• volvo already restructuring the lineup. s60 will be competing among 3 series c-class and a4

• Bobby on Feb 07, 2011 at 5:46 pm

The first gen S40 (chassis sharing with Mitsubishi Carisma and Proton Waja) used to compete with the E46 BMW 3 Series and A4 B6, S60 used to compete with E39 BMW 5 Series and A6 C5 (Mercedes W codes confuses me so not gonna use it)

This was back in the early 2000s when Volvo was rather late to the party after restructuring their lineups. Their take on these players were rather successful.

When the current (2nd gen) S40 debuts, the S60 was not updated amidst Ford’s annual losses, same goes with the delay on the S80. By then, the new, larger E90 BMW 3 Series was launched, where Audi heavily updated the B6 and debuted the B7 (still within sizes of the 2nd gen S40). By then, Volvo realizes that to compete straight on with the luxury German trio as something that’s not viable, and thus slotted the S40 slightly below the 3/A4/C, the S60 slightly between the 3/A4/C and 5/A6/E; whereas the new S80 to be a ‘money-well-spent’ model competing in the leagues of the 5/A6/E.

This strategy led to the down-grading of all Volvo’s models, coupled with the delay in new models and the upsizing of all competitors, they dropped straight into categories that used to be one segment below.

Today, the S60 competes with the current 3/A4/C, larger than both 3 and C significantly, and the S40’s replacement was no where in sight while all the chaos of handing over to Geely takes place.

• Paul Tan on Feb 07, 2011 at 6:00 pm

The Merc E was W210 while the Merc C was W203. The C is now W204 and Merc W is W212.

• hamham on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:36 pm

Selling at 5 series price? thats why i said under few companies monopolized the brand, they wont kill each other.

• muryadi on Feb 01, 2011 at 4:03 pm

can pair with my antic Volvo 240..huhuhu

• ezracopters on Feb 01, 2011 at 4:03 pm

option..

• vw supporter on Feb 01, 2011 at 4:22 pm

Stupid pricing… They will never be able to grab the market if they still maintain high maintenance cost and keep telling people they are using genuine parts.Mercedez Benz and BMW maintenance cost is lower compare to volvo. Stupid distributor!!!

• hukaka on Feb 01, 2011 at 4:29 pm

too expensive!

• rapidshifter on Feb 01, 2011 at 4:37 pm

Wow.. pedestrian detection with full auto brake… who wants to test crossing the road in front of this Volvo… see whether can survive or not,….

• Excellence car to drive.

• is d wagon version of S60 will b intro as well?

kind of like its “fusion” looks…..

• Hey Danny, based on the photos above I believe you already test driven it? Review coming soon? :)

• Speed Racer on Feb 01, 2011 at 5:38 pm

40k for 100hp seems like a good deal

• the front headlamps quite similar with the new e class

• TIMOTHY DALTON on Feb 01, 2011 at 6:21 pm

At 350K why would anyone get a Volvo….? Its wiser to spend on Mercedes marque, E200CGI or Lexus IS250…. Volvo is nearly rank as good as Cherry Cars!

• sick&tired on Feb 01, 2011 at 7:50 pm

cherry better then the volvo!? you my friend are delusional! btw RM350k is for the highest spec model, which should is comparable to the e90 330. sometimes its not a good idea to masturbate and write!

• go and test drive when it is in our shores..you’ll know where it ranks..

• dats like comparing u n a monkey and saying its the same cuz u share genes.look beyond brand la. this pricing is for top spec.comparing a scandinavian car to a china car,get a brain scan la.just because geely own the company dun mean the car is bad.toyota sell crappy cars here,people like u still buy just because of the brand.so wats the big deal

• obviously you never try a volvo before bro…
      Get a life !
      …. ya dont masturbate and write

• SimonH on Feb 01, 2011 at 6:33 pm

What do you get if you crossed a Merc W212 front and an Audi B7 back? A new Volvo S60! :p

• For 350k, you’d be crazy to take this over a C-Class, 3 Series or an A4. This is just wayyy overpriced. Just like Andy Carroll to Liverpool :)

• raybrig on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:13 pm

thats t6 la…

• SaveTheEarth on Feb 02, 2011 at 11:22 am

All Wheel Drive and CBU too. Since is CBU you already know how much it has gone to government tax. Beside raybrig already told it is T6. On track Volvo can’t beat all the above you mention but on the road, yes it is. From my personal view, I think Volvo car normally is good for street road and highway, powerful and can go very fast on straight line and of course suit for Malaysia road.

• the price is high as it is CBU. the CKD will be much cheaper.The S60 must undercut the C class and 3 series in price to be a reasonable alternative as the brand name is not in the same league, the driving dynamics can’t beat the BMW and luxury can’t beat the c class

• volvolovers on Feb 01, 2011 at 11:41 pm

Volvo cars are always siting top of my list..but everytime when I look at the pricetag for those really good performance/safety volvo…it makes me sit back a bit..then think about the resale value again…it makes me hold back my action…

A guy earning 15-20K/mth is still struggling to own it comfortably..man!

• wait for the the ckd la bro.this car is full spec,of cuz it wud come with such a price tag.when the xc60 launched as cbu it was oso 340k wat.

• wajarays on Feb 02, 2011 at 1:17 am

only who drive, own, and love volvo will appreciate volvo … VOLVO FOR LIFE

• VW_fans on Feb 02, 2011 at 1:36 am

Wooo…..Wooo…. way to expensive!!!! even their S40 downgrade price also having difficulty reaching volume targets.

• Lim Kopi on Feb 02, 2011 at 3:14 am

FEDERAL AUTO …

if you are reading, I believe alot of the feedback above are self explanatory ….

DON’T FOR A SECOND STILL THINK U ARE ON PAR WITH ZE GERMANS IE. MERC, BMW OR EVEN VW …. OK ??

WE DON’T CARE IF IT IS CBU ,
    WE DON’T CARE IF IT HAS HISTORY OF MAKING SAFEST CARS
    WE DON’T CARE IF IT LOOKS NICER THAN PREVIOUS MODELS ….

End of the day, its just a VOLVO (aka GEELEY) …. so rethink the pricing will u ?

• sounds like the frustartion of man who cant afford it.

• Lim Kopi on Feb 02, 2011 at 6:14 pm

Well I have a Q5, but was considering an XC60 before ….

Just think Volvo need to restrategise if they want to do well ….

RM290k for a T5 ??

just my 2 cents anyway

• SaveTheEarth on Feb 02, 2011 at 11:29 am

GEELY is a chinese company. Volvo previously own by Ford, does it go any better…… I dun think so. Then how about Aston Martin, Jaguar, Land Rover and so on….. check out all these info how much Ford bought and sold at, loss of money.

• forteman on Feb 05, 2011 at 1:58 am

Federal Auto is commited suicide for their pricing of S60.
      You must think thats a lot of water fish around

• gracke on Feb 02, 2011 at 11:00 am

What’s the price of T3 & T4??? It would be very interesting……

• Volvo Enthusiast on Feb 02, 2011 at 11:19 am

Ever wonder why even the Swedish embassy themselves are no more using Volvo as their DC cars?

Even the UN in Malaysia also stop using Volvo cars as their DC cars. Last time, so many Volvo S60 and S80 are used as diplomatic cars. Wonder why no more using Volvo?

All commentators here talk so big about Volvo but their own Swedish embassy also don’t support their so called national brand by using it as their DC cars? Or is it now China’s national brand?

I guess they know the truth. The real truth about quality.

• Storm on Feb 02, 2011 at 12:44 pm

I think it should be priced around RM190-210K. If so, then it would be pretty competitive. Will give 3 series and C-Class a run for their money.

Though Volvo is not in the same league with Merc or BMW, but the overall drivability and performance is not that far apart. The current S40/60/80 are all quite good.

For those who think Volvo is not as fast, they have the T5 version that will take your breath away. Sat in one before, the car managed to hit 250km/h. In the 90s, even Merc & BMW gives way to a 850T5 wagon despite its big boxy size. How’s that !

• Easwaran on Feb 02, 2011 at 1:46 pm

Ha Ha Ha Ha I have never seen anything so funny. How can you pay so much of money for a Geely?

Its like going to buy a plasma and instead of paying RM10,000 for a Samsung or Panasonic plasma or LED, you pay RM10,000 for an Akira. I can’t stop laughing….ha ha ha ha

Mercedes E200 CGi and BMW 523i are going to have ZERO sales with the launch of this RM350,000 car. Who wants to pay RM368,000 and RM383,000 when you can get a Geely for RM350,000?

• Mytechnie on Feb 03, 2011 at 6:01 am

If you really take the spec, this is far more better than 3-series or C-class.

• obviosly u dont think when u speak.. geely owned Volvo but volvo technician from scandinavia is surely there to maintain quality control. dont be too naive. owned a brand doesnt mean u can fully control a brand’s production.. lol.. narrow minded.

• Richard Manjulathan on Feb 07, 2011 at 9:42 am

You sound like a Volvo owner scared that his already falling car value will fall futher. Its ok lah, sometimes its like that. You can’t win all the time lah.

• wajarays on Feb 02, 2011 at 8:47 pm

drive volvo 1st, especialy with T5 or T6 version … then you will know the hidden Xfactor about volvo .. its not only just about safety …. try it 1st , hehhehehehe … im sure when this car arrive here soon, it can sell well …. just look at xc60 T6 and previous volvo with T5 engine…

• hei guys, use ur brain la before speak.. how can s60 compare with chinese cars? and 350k is okay for a top specced 3.0 car. similar to 3series 335i 3.0 and c300. how bout audi? audi is even worst when its a4 2.0 is priced at 310K..

• zanggief on Feb 05, 2011 at 10:37 am

Can local fuel quality support the diesel engine? Just wonder would that be special tweak to suit lower grade fuel…

• eeeriz on Feb 05, 2011 at 7:17 pm

I hope the new S60 will be more reliable and trouble free. I’ve had bad experience with S60 T5, though i love the it drives (no match for even 330i for long straight bends), it really haunts me in terms of maintenance. Spent thousands of RM to repair my car, to the extent i wanted to sell off my car each time the car was in the workshop. It was really frustrating. Seemed that each time after any hard drive, i will have more trouble, especially with the ignition coils (i’ve replaced new sets of ignition coils several times oredi).

The only thing that stop me from doing that is the drive and performance. It is really intoxicating!! And also not forgetting Volvo’s stereo. Marvellous..

• BeemerFreak on Feb 07, 2011 at 1:41 am

Hope fully they retain the T5 for ckd, that is a sweet motor. Price it at anywhere between 190k to 220k it will give c classes and 3 series a big run for their money not to mention killing of sales of Alfa’s 159

• You got to be kidding me!! Just slash the RM 200,000 price tag and you’ll get more people to buy it! For RM 350k I’d rather buy an Audi instead! Plus, it will be better if I just get the older version of S60 T5 and convert it into a Heico-Sportiv version..Get real Volvo Malaysia? It seems you’re just killing the Volvo by encouraging more and more people buying those Beemer and Mercs instead!
    Lihat seterusnya..

• when is the s 40 launching?

• Jacqui on Jul 17, 2011 at 11:57 pm

By the logid of some… a Lotus Evora is just another Proton and we shouldn’t pay more than RM50k for one.