Peugeot 308 updated with new grille and LED DRL

Peugeot has given the C-segment Peugeot 308 a makeover featuring a significantly revamped front end that showcases a new ‘floating’ style for the front grille as well as boomerang-shaped LED daytime running lights to complement the foglamps.

This new look will premiere in the metal at the Geneva Motor Show and will go on sale from April 2011 internationally – who knows, Nasim may already be preparing for this facelift’s Malaysian introduction.

Something new for the 308 is the addition of an auto start-stop system for the 1.6 litre HDi Euro 5 turobodiesel engine. This promises a 15% reduction in diesel consumption for urban traffic, 40% faster restarting in 400 milliseconds, as well as engine shut off capability from 20km/h for the manual gearbox. This means that the turbodiesel engine can shut off when you are coasting to a stop when your speed reduces to 20km/h, instead of waiting for a complete stop. The alternator-start is designed for up to 600,000 restarts in its lifespan.

The diesel isn’t available in Malaysia though, and while we are waiting for Euro 4 which still looks like it’s sometime away, this Pug uses Euro 5 diesels.

Look after the jump for a set of photos that Peugeot have released.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1937]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ttooyoot on Feb 08, 2011 at 2:23 am

wow.. hope can upgrade current 308..

• mystvearn on Feb 08, 2011 at 2:42 am

That grille reminds me a trip to the dentist where the dentists uses this plastic mouth openers to open your mouth wide on both sides for dental surgery etc :P haha

• mspfaz on Feb 08, 2011 at 2:44 am

Beautiful exterior though the backlight looks similar to the existing model. The interior is simple and looks sophisticated… very nice…

• gangully on Feb 08, 2011 at 11:22 am

dude… its a facelift, what is current and relevant need not change… its a 308, not yet a 309…

i like the front… its very very current…

• shawal on Feb 08, 2011 at 2:49 am

The Pug is getting all serious now..

• Jules on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:54 am

Looks more sedate than the existing we have now. No changes from interior albeit the diff of colours which in euro already has. Just changing to follow new theme.

• laluan sehala on Feb 08, 2011 at 8:16 am

looks much neater and up to date now. only thing left to change is the transmission.

• asgard on Feb 08, 2011 at 10:44 pm

6speed auto already have in malaysia,
      would be very interesting between 308, FORTE 2.0SX, INSPIRA 2.0

• steam_man on Nov 10, 2011 at 7:15 pm

no, 308 pwn them all.

since when peugoet is as cheap as p1 and korean car here?

• Jonling on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:07 am

more sophisticated and elegant look overall. can’t help but feel that the front reminds me of Mazda2 hatchback, though.

• pultat on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:31 am

All going the LED DRL way now…only one original though..Audi!

• anti-first on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:31 am

aahh, one of our favorite euro marque has done a remarkable facelift – well done peugeot!

• toroto on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:55 am

Front looks slimer n softer wif less aggressive look. I notice there’s a chrome line on de rear door..

• ok..why do we need daytime running LED ?? anyone can give logic answer? :O

• Paul Tan on Feb 08, 2011 at 11:23 am

Because DRL is required in Europe. Reduces daytime accident rates because people notice your car more.

• squawk on Feb 08, 2011 at 11:32 am

Back in the 90s, cars in the US had daytime running lights albeit non-LED ones.

• bolehland already made DRL compulsory for all motorbike long time ago..

• mata2 on Feb 08, 2011 at 2:31 pm

Correct Paul, day time visibility will be more obvious with lights. our country has ruled this on motorbike for more than 10 years.

• owh okay…thanks paul,,hehe :D

• 4G63t DSM on Feb 08, 2011 at 11:43 am

Not only in Europe.

Its required in a lot of western countries.

Same reason why we make it mandatory for motocycles to have thier headlights on. Volvos and Saabs had them in the 1980s…. I suppose some people still don’t get the importance of being seen.

• retro on Feb 08, 2011 at 12:01 pm

many still don’t know that the rear fog lights can be used during malaysia’s heavy downpours too.

• it’s very annoying to see people using their hazard light during heavy downpour when their vehicles are running on the road..

• retro on Feb 08, 2011 at 2:21 pm

maybe they don’t have rear fog lights? should be a rule to have rear fog lights as a compulsory safety item in all cars considering how much rain we get over here.

maybe if car manufacturers call it rain lights people will know how to use them!

• anti-first on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:10 pm

the hazard lights must be annoying the hell out of people for like you.

how else do you suggest, without rear fog lights, motorists use to make themselves visible in heavy downpour?

• Raymond on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:34 pm

If you dont have rear fogs, then just on your light :) a lot of not so bright people turns on their hazard light without the lights..

• 4G63TDSM on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:05 pm

Rear fog lights are my pet peeves.

I can’t stand people who forgets to switch them off. Its bloody anoying at night if you are behind one…

• retro on Feb 08, 2011 at 4:52 pm

yup i agree too. if a driver has the function, they should use it responsibly or it will also annoy others. but, most cars have indicators that light up in the instrument panel if they have the foggies on. wonder why they ignore that.

• tiadaid on Feb 08, 2011 at 12:15 pm

Same reason why years ago motorcyclist here in this country were ordered to turn on their headlights even while running in daylight. At least with the LED you won’t burn your light bulbs faster!

• jules on Feb 08, 2011 at 10:16 am

looks more sedate now. Making it look more to the current theme. Dashboard looks the same with diff colours. but then the euro one’s already have diff colours and not like ours. just black.

• BeemerFreak on Feb 08, 2011 at 10:20 am

Hope nazism gives the 308 projector lamps with xenon too

• squawk on Feb 08, 2011 at 10:49 am

The looks have softened a lot. Not so garang looking anymore.

A diesel that saves even more fuel. How uncool are we not to have the HDi?

• slekuzen on Feb 08, 2011 at 11:09 am

The new peugeot has a very German flair to it. It looks like the traits Peugeot is borrowing with this facelift is very VW/Audi-like.
    But yes, it does look a lot more sober and aggressive. I like!

• Now it looks like a Mazda 2,

Paul,
    current car already has DRL integrated into front lamp. Not fancy type like this.

• laluan sehala on Feb 08, 2011 at 12:03 pm

yup. current car already has DRL. just that it a normal buld type and not LED.

• Hukaka on Feb 08, 2011 at 12:46 pm

Nice…………………….

• ohmy308 on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:01 pm

here comes the LED…

btw, I wan to sell my 2009 308THP.. who is interested???

what do u guys think it worth now??

• lazyf on Feb 08, 2011 at 3:12 pm

nice car with proper facelift job…
    good one!!!

• zanggief on Feb 08, 2011 at 5:28 pm

the front design looks pretty similar to the new hyundai i20 fluidic design…

• should I cancel booking for my 308 CC and wait for the facelift?

• EW10A on Feb 09, 2011 at 12:42 am

don’t think the fl will come so fast. keep your booking and don’t regret it. they didn’t bring in the fl 207cc also. so, the 308cc fl may not even make it here.

• m4xspeed on Feb 08, 2011 at 7:38 pm

More masculine look compared to previous pre FL. Confirm a head-turner !!

• puggy on Feb 08, 2011 at 9:19 pm

front looks much better than the pre-facelift model. Very nice looking car.
    peugeot seems to be improving the car and adding on new features regularly.
    owners of the ‘old’ 308 will feel miserable.

• Tan Tee Lim on Feb 09, 2011 at 12:42 am

Is that paddle shifters I see? Nice. With this facelift (and some upgrades) this Pug will definitely give the Civic and the Altis a run for its money.

I just hope that the after sales service provided by Nasim gets an upgrade too.

• yeah it’s a paddle shift u can zoom it and u can see (+) on the right and (-) on the left side.

• intermilan on Feb 09, 2011 at 5:12 pm

The question now is when the facelift 308 will see our shores..

Lauch in Europe only in April 2011…
    Malaysia earliest by August 2011 or on 2012 onwards?

• I think Nasim will introduce this model this year due to new model coming from other competitor.(honda civic, forte, hyundai, ford focus etc…) If they introduce late people already buy other brand and once there already have a new car people will stick to that for another 5 to 9 years. so there is no point to bring it next year too late. some more its onle the exterior to be change and not difficult for Naza to bring it new front grill.

• It’s too late if coming to M’sia by next year. People already buy other brand. First come first serve.

• interested in the 1.6 litre THP version. Looking to buy 1 now but since a facelift is just launched might as well just wait for this. Anyone has an idea when this will reach malaysia?
    asked the salesman, he said surely next year and will be more expensive. I am thinking he is just pulling my leg to clear his current 308 stock before the facelift models arrive fr France.

• c14man on Apr 28, 2011 at 1:22 am

looks like Pug is going towards their new signature design. =)
    even the rear chrome bar is there.
    nice nice~
    Might seriously consider it.

(first appeared in Pug 508)

http://paultan.org/2010/07/13/peugeot-508-info-released-hybrid-model-has-200hp-awd/

• Paul,based on your professional experience,can u tell roughly when will this model arrive in malaysia?thank u.

• oh F**k!have u guys seen the malaysian version of this??it will be converted into ‘sedan’ codename T73 to be named either 308 sedan or 407.yet to know.but they are going to use the current 308 looks and convert it into a sedan.so looks like we’re are not getting this new facelift version.really disappointed.