Italdesign Giugiaro’s Tex coupe concept for Volkswagen

Alongside the Go! MPV concept we showed you earlier, Volkswagen owned Italdesign Giugiaro also showed off the Tex concept at Geneva. A two-door coupe sitting on VW’s flexible MQB platform, the Tex is named after Italian comics hero, ranger Tex Willer, which Giorgetto Giugiaro and VW design boss Walter de’ Silva both love.

“We designed the Tex in actual fact thinking to the Volkswagen sports cars of the years to come. We intentionally kept a family feeling that would immediately identify it as a Wolfsburg product close to production. No visionary or futuristic choice was made, but it is rather a natural evolution of today’s cars with the addition of a few technologies that will shortly become available on the market,” said Fabrizio Giugiaro, deputy chairman and style manager of Italdesign.

The Tex sits very low at 1,355 mm, which is 49 mm lower than the Scirocco. It is however less wide than the Golf based coupe at 1,750 mm. The concept wears large 19-inch wheels that fill the wheel arches nicely.

Under the hood is VW’s Twin Drive plug-in hybrid system, which couples a 1.4-litre turbo internal combustion engine with a battery powered 85 kW electric motor. 400 Nm is available when both power sources combine. With a 7-speed DSG channeling power to the front wheels, the Tex is able to reach 100 km/h from standstill in about six seconds and reach a top speed of 220 km/h.

“As a full member of the global Volkswagen Group, Italdesign, now more than ever, is a creative center for fresh ideas and new concepts for our brands. The integration of Italdesign is a building block in our effort to take Volkswagen to the top of the automotive industry by 2018,” Martin Winterkorn, VW Group Chairman said of his company’s new family member.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2001]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• endre on Mar 01, 2011 at 6:41 pm

cool… !

• shawal on Mar 01, 2011 at 7:09 pm

Concept car…? really…? how uninspiring…..

• front look familiar..first glance like alfa, no wonder design by Italdesign..

• VeyronEB16.4 on Mar 01, 2011 at 10:10 pm

brand slaughterhouse. what are you guys in VW thinking? stick to the GERMAN design, please. yeah giugiaro is capable to pull-off some fantastic looking alfas, but i just can;t bear to have the same design cues pasted to all VW future cars.

OMG, i just wanna puke myself. phoowwarrrrrr………………….

• bogaboga on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:18 am

“As a full member of the global Volkswagen Group, Italdesign, now more than ever, is a creative center for fresh ideas and new concepts for our brands”

lol yeah? by making the entire vw cars to look like emas is it? lame

proton, u what fr what else? go sue them, at least later u dun have to beg to big mama to fund ur rnd :P

• Jaybond on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:00 am

This car look nice, but it doesn’t really fall in the coupe/sportscar category. To be honest this is a 2-door hatch, albeit a hot hatch.

• khaix19a on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:33 am

front design almost like honda odyssey design

• Ash Menon on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:15 am

Somehow very unimpressed with Italdesign. It doesn’t say much that all your concept designs, for various brands, all look the same. Please, VW, you’re better than this.

• confused on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:27 am

this is outrage mang…. VW is showing its ugly side by bullying smaller car company… VW plz GTFO..

• tokmoh on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:41 pm

Now VW copy our Proton Satria Neo hybrided with EMAS

God, where is the justice?

• Welcome to the real business world.

This is the ‘culture shock’ for Protong which has been protected for the past 25 years.

Protong are technological-wise and business-wise? Think again.

Haha.

• focus tdci on Mar 04, 2011 at 11:10 am

so are the protong fanboys gonna claim this one also? face facts! proton hired guigaro to design emas. if proton designed it in-house then it would be right to say vw stole the design. but GUIGARO DESIGNED IT! i always thought it was strange that proton would talk to nissan about getting a platform and engine for emas, you would not need to do that if emas was really yours, would you?
    and has anyone seen mitsu rebadge the exora yet? again why would they when they have the award winning Grandis?
    typical ugly malaysian company, talk big and cannot deliver.

• VW needs Italian design because their cars look bland and boring already.