BMW M5 teaser video reveals instrumentation panel

BMW has released another set of teaser videos for the new BMW M5, showing engineers/test drivers testing the car in Austria. Not only do you get to see the M5 sliding around in the snow, but the video reveals some details about the M5’s interior as well.

The image above shows the M5’s instrumentation panel. The steering wheel in this car is not the final one – you can see the “M” button on the left spoke is a generic square white button with the letter M on it instead of it being nicely integrated into the steering wheel controls.

The instrumentation panel is unique though – it’s got its M logos, red needles, and the usual variable redline that you get in M cars. In this car, the engine must have warmed up already – the yellow zone is already at its minimum starting from 6,800rpm and the redline starts from 7,200rpm – not as high as the E60 M5 so you won’t get a screamer in the engine bay but turbo V8 power will make up for that.

Look after the jump for one more screenshot as well as two videos.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 17, 2011 at 10:50 am

Wah Lau Yeah!!!

• Reeza on Mar 17, 2011 at 11:03 am

Damn awesome!!

• kington on Mar 17, 2011 at 11:56 am

The launch of an M5 is always a cause to celebrate.. especially when you consider how capable the E60 M5 was in keeping touch with the F430 during Autocar UK’s test a couple of years back.

And the price when it was first launched in Malaysia was RM888,888-88.. a real deal than what you have to pay for a Fezza F430 or 911 turbo. Of course, these 2 are supercars with more agility.

But for those who would want the entire family the experience the speed and power and save a bit more dough.. the M5 and M6 were just as what the doc prescribed.

• justice on Mar 17, 2011 at 1:55 pm

wow..awesome machine.

i wonder,how much the difference between this M5 and Evo X..(performance)

as most malaysians cant afford this M5, (including me.hehe)

• wat the F on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:11 pm

WAH!!! nice 1 but too expensive…

• Speed Racer on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:20 pm

nice. but an irrelevant test to malaysians. eagerly waiting for some dry testing videos.

• Suren69 on Mar 17, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Sexy instrument panel and paddle shift

• i love bmw on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:17 pm

God, please give me some money to buy this car. I will be the happiest man alive. I am willing to let go my condo investment plan if you let me have this car. Please!!!

• Honda Civic on Mar 18, 2011 at 2:09 am

Aw…I will miss that 5L V10 screamer engine. Lets hope this new engine is as good as its dad!