Bull run! – Red Bull F1 car to be seen on Jln Bukit Bintang

Yup, the Petronas F1 Malaysian GP is up next on the cards on April 8-10, and you can be sure there’ll be plenty of related activities as the days count down. One such noisemaker is the Red Bull Speed Street event happening this coming weekend, right in the heart of the city.

Former Red Bull Racing F1 driver David Coulthard will entertain the shopping crowd on April 3 with a driving demonstration of a F1 car along the famous thoroughfare of Jalan Bukit Bintang, in this case along a 500 metre stretch starting from The Westin hotel and Pavillion to the Jalan Sultan Ismail junction after Lot 10.

Bull run! – Red Bull F1 car to be seen on Jln Bukit BintangThe public can expect manoeuvres such as short sprints, burnouts and donuts during the almost hour-long event, the stuff that doesn’t happen (by intent, anyway) in an actual F1 race.

It’s the first time that Austrian energy drink company Red Bull is organising a F1 show car event in Malaysia, and the event also marks the launch of the blue and silver Red Bull in Malaysia, previously unavailable for sale in the country.

The public will be able to get up close with the Red Bull Racing car from Sat, April 2, outside the Pavillion while it’s being set up. There’ll also be an Audi R8 LMS and a R8 Spyder on display, and Red Bull Racing and Puma motorsport merchandise will be on sale. If you fancy a spin of a different sort, Sony Computer Entertainment will have a gaming area featuring the Red Bull X2010 supercar in its PS3 game, GT5.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• How I wish I was in Malaysia! My favourite team doing a street demo for the first time, I’d love to be there!

• don't know on Mar 29, 2011 at 1:52 pm

Just a drinks company anyway…………….

• apa ini on Mar 29, 2011 at 1:53 pm

Yeah… just a drinks company………….

• Don’t know why Hamilton would say something so stupid like that. He just made himself and McLaren seem like bigger losers being beaten by “just a drinks company”, losing out in the championship last season and in Melbourne’s race the past weekend.

• squawk on Mar 29, 2011 at 7:40 pm

They’re ‘just a drinks company’ that has supported many teams and drivers in all forms of motor sports – 2-wheeled, 4-wheeled and those with wings. :-P

Lewis seems to be getting more sombong these past 2 years.

• tokmoh on Mar 30, 2011 at 10:48 am

Heheheh… “just a drinks company” we are. Takpe takpe… kata-kata orang yang tak dapat kalahkan drinks company yang tak reliable, oleh pemandu yang tak pernah lead the championship sampai Abu Dhabi. WELTMEISTER!!

• RamuNik on Mar 29, 2011 at 1:23 pm

April 3, 2011. RBR.. here i come… bot how about “our” team: Mercedes GP, Team Lotus? Lotus Renault perhaps?

• tiadaid on Mar 29, 2011 at 4:39 pm

DC in KL? I’ll be there!

BTW, the blue & silver Red Bull IS available in Malaysia unofficially, from Bangsar Groceries & Cold Storage in Jaya 33 if I’m not mistaken. I’ve drank it once, basically it’s the normal Thai Red Bull carbonated.

• tokmoh on Mar 30, 2011 at 10:39 am

Mmm yeah, I think I’ll visit them this Saturday :D

If only they’ll have autograph session with Vettel and Webber!! Hehehe

Anyway, there’s also blue and silver Red Bull sold at Herbs & Food in SS15 Subang Jaya. It’s around RM5.40 or something, hmm never tried it though. I should! :D

• Hey can you tell us the specific time and schedule for the event or do you have any link that have them? Thanks!

• this is most frustrated things in malaysia website, they never give the time in most sport events…..

• i found out the time is 3-4pm
      i called pavillion as well, they said the road will be close around 1pm

• aiks, mercedes-petronas no street event this year like last year? ^^

• ezracopters on Mar 30, 2011 at 11:02 am

there u go.. get ready for a massive traffic jam. instead of middle town, why can’t they held it at other place.. bangsar @ damandara @ hartamas… not cool la.

well, red bull had something to do with car as well, people drink it to stay awake during long some road travelling hehe.

since David Coulthard gonna drive this car, hmmm perhaps we can expect BBC F1 coverage here.. those who in the present might be on their video. so S.Vettel & M.Webber gonna be there as well???

• why cant give the time?
    i find out the malaysia events is really frustrated… when u go thru all the official site…. one things u wont get is the time!!!! be it ebvents like this, bicycle race etc…. when the time is paramount info…. u wont get it!!!
    what is the points of all this news in star etc…. but public are not feed with the details

• to everyone who doesn’t know the time, check this website
    http://www.redbull.sg/cs/Satellite/en_SG/Event/Red-Bull-Speed-Street-Malaysia-021242981036793