Dongfeng looking to buy 30% of gearbox maker Getrag

Dongfeng Motor Group is said to be in talks to acquire a 30% stake in German auto parts supplier Getrag. The stake is said to be worth about 500 million Euros. Getrag is one of the world’s biggest manufacturers of transmissions. Both the dry and wet dual clutch transmissions you’ll find in Ford and Volvo cars in Malaysia are supplied by Getrag.

This 30% stake is basically shares that US auto supplier Dana used to hold from the year 2000, but when it filed for bankruptcy, it sold the 30% back to Getrag’s majority shareholder the Hagenmeyer family in 2007. The Hagenmeyer family has since been trying to offload the 30% to a few potentials including Canadian auto part supplier Magna, but negotiations have failed so far. Dongfeng is the latest company to look into the 30% stake.

There are plenty of Chinese automakers but most of them do not really possess any technology. Engines, transmissions, and even platforms are often sourced from other more established car companies, with the Chinese company usually just piecing things together and putting their own skin over it.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wtf911 on Mar 30, 2011 at 1:58 pm

gonna be worse!
    CHINA made gb… ouchhh

• mate yr statement smacks so much of naivetivity and ignorance….pls do not generalise w/o analysing the situation in greater depth…..just take a look around us….there are a good many products which we use and rely on a day-to-day basis that are MADE IN CHINA……

• tiadaid on Mar 30, 2011 at 2:33 pm

To do that you must exclude products that are assembled in China but designed somewhere else. Don’t confuse your assembled in China Apple iPhone with a Chinese designed xPhone.

Real Chinese-made & designed products have yet to achieve a quality level on par with goods from the West.

• squawk on Mar 30, 2011 at 3:15 pm

Are you sure? Let me tell the guys at Huawei. :-)

• Anonymous on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:27 pm

Totally agreed with tiadaid. Heard Huawei pays the workers peanuts. Sometimes can;t blame the poor quality products. Low wages = low motivation = no reason to put effort in final pruduct

• albert on Mar 31, 2011 at 1:10 pm

What are you saying is ignorance. Huawei is world class. It is already 2nd biggest telecommunication gear provider in the world . In fact, all our telecommunication/internet provider companies are using Huawei/ZTE products. You may not see them so much in consumer products but they are behind what makes mobile telecommunication and Internet surfing works in Malaysia !

• Annihilated on Apr 02, 2011 at 12:07 am

@albert, Huawei may be one of the big players in telco.. by volume. Also it’s famous by its notorious resemblance in another big player with much lower cost. But it’s still China-made, China-designed thus inherit the China reliability.

I work in the industry, I’ll be happy to deploy and manage non-Huawei any day!

• industry watcher on Apr 02, 2011 at 1:39 pm

Huawei supplies equipment to 45 of the world’s 50 largest telecoms operators and counts European telecom and mobile companies such as BT Group PLC, Vodafone Group PLC, Telefonica SA, Deutsche Telecom and France Telecom SA among its customers. Do you think it would have won customers in Western countries if its products are not good and reliable? The only country that it has some difficulty making inroads is the US and that is because of politics and not the capability of its equipment. And it has R & D centres in many countries of the world including Germany, France, US, India, Russia and Canada. In terms of patent filings, it was the top international (WIPO) patent applicant in 2008, second in 2009 and fourth in 2010. ( ZTE, the other world class China telecommunication vendor was 2nd in 2010.) Huawei may be 2nd largest telecommunication provider now but in terms of mobile telecommunication, it already ranks first (55% world market share).

• Anonymous on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Totally Agreed.

• sivam on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Yes but the fact is the quality level still leaves a lot to be desired. I am in the pharmecutical industry, many shortcuts are taken by chinese manufacturers that have long term detriments to both their reputation and the health of their customers(if they ever get any they probably wont live long to complain anyway)

• Leong Junior on Mar 30, 2011 at 2:22 pm

only 30% shares & Getrag wouldn’t let it happen.
      if happen also Getrag maybe will lets them produce few parts only.

• yeah, you’re probably connected to the internet via a huawei modem and post that comment, if not Huawei, than some components are from Huawei.

that makes ur comment a ‘gb’ (garbage)

• rallyfan00 on Mar 30, 2011 at 9:37 pm

Plenty of “famous brand” gearboxes are already made in china..
      Many of the large global gearbox companies already have factories in china. this is just a ‘china company’ planning to buy into one of these companies.

• the mind set that the china product is poor and currently we all rely on china product very much!!!
      recommend to read the book – A Year Without “Made In China”.. then one will understand how good and important ofr the china product in our life..

• i’m not surprise if China slowly taking over the car manufacturer part company.

but first they will take over those company where they are going to be bankrupt or in need of help to offload their credits.

since they are in need of technology which need to implement in their China made cars and they are cash rich as well.

• beatnik on Mar 30, 2011 at 2:23 pm

Beware.. getreag gearboxes quality will go down the drain! :P

• husin lempoyang on Mar 30, 2011 at 3:58 pm

Errmm… why did you say that?
      I dont think it’s funny.
      China can make nuclear weapon you know.
      They are really competent.
      Not to forget they have awesome ChinaDoll too! :)

• beatnik on Mar 31, 2011 at 8:35 am

so what if they can make nuclear weapon or not.. whether it is reliable or not is whole different story altogether. LOL.
        yes, they are competent.. competent for copycats. LOL.

• I say they are the best copycats ever. But copycats sometimes do make great stuff which are cheaper too.

• squawk on Mar 31, 2011 at 10:48 pm

Yes, just look at the Japanese who copied even Parker pens and see where they are now.

• Johnny on Mar 30, 2011 at 3:28 pm

why not proton? miss those days that they bought the likes of lotus n mv agusta. If only they want to buy getrag, pininfarina, bosch..

• husin lempoyang on Mar 30, 2011 at 3:59 pm

If Proton, sure gov kena hantam sama rakyat maaa…

• Naz@AE111 on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:02 pm

no wonder the ford ranger gearbox on the below year 2003 models are always have problem on they clutch system..

• Bapak_Hussein on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:51 pm

China is gonna take over the world soon. Any doubter beware. Your time is up. These decade will be all about China. Their scientific works will bear fruit soon. Remember, they’re not M’sian. They don’t sit around on their asses daydreaming & waiting for charity. They are real hardworker & their only reason in life is make a living!!

• husin lempoyang on Mar 30, 2011 at 5:22 pm

Sorry, bro.
      It is not ‘Make a living’.
      Suppose to be ‘Making lots of money’

• Khazanah or 1malaysa dev bhd should buy this stake. Best thing Naza buy it.

• skiborne on Mar 30, 2011 at 7:44 pm

oh god, soon all cars and etc will be run by fellas which are unethical!

• Vemal on Mar 30, 2011 at 10:53 pm

Hi Guys,

Well i am in Chengdu, China for Business Trip since 5 weeks. Coming back this weekend.

Made in China Product depends what brand ur getting it and where u purchase.

Thing Made in China available in Malaysia are is the cheap which is low quality. If want to feel the real quality, then must come to china and have a look. Previous my mentality also same Made is China not long lasting.

Example Car like Great Wall, Briliance and Chery, Chana having a great Quality as mention by local ppl. BYD F0 only cost 36000Yuan -> RM17000 looks similar to Myvi.

BYDF3 Altis Front and Honda City rear :)

Of Course i can see Youngman@Gen2 on the road also can feel Good different quality compare to local Gen2.

Sport Shoes… Li Ning , 361 , K-Bird have quality par with Nike. Price from 100yuan to 400yuan.

Dont buy things from Black Market where can found road side which always have Quality issue.

Base on my experience, Buy from Shopping mall or Authorised dealer is fine.

Their MP4 Player Brand ICOO also have a good Quality. Just bought 2 since each cost 280yuan.

• Unforgiven on Mar 31, 2011 at 10:01 am

I have a feeling that:

Made in China good quality products go to the US.
      Made in China low quality products come to M’sia.

Same goes to Proton, good quality Proton export to UK.
      Low quality Proton for rakyat M’sia.

• squawk on Mar 31, 2011 at 10:50 pm

That falls on those who import Made In China products to be sold in Malaysia.

• bangmo on Mar 31, 2011 at 10:24 am

Malaysian have been ripped off in buying China goods (in fact, we have been kelentong left-right-middle in most of things we buy). For those who can afford high end stuffs with superb quality, they will go shopping in the western countries, and of course, most of the high end stuffs with superb quality they buy in the west are made in China.

• ezracopters on Mar 31, 2011 at 3:19 pm

well, easy actually, since we all can’t escape china’s product in our daily life.. all we can do is only rip what u saw and let it be what u not.. as for me, if i knew the product made in china, nevermind the quality.. i rather not bought it if i got other option eventhou it’s lil bit expensive. defection risk is always higher on China made than others.

but i don’t judge people who choose to use it, it’s up to us as a consumer. at the end of the day everyone knew better what would be worth more on ur money spending..

as for Getrag, im pretty sure my cars are not using them product.. and maybe never will judging to my preference nowadays. but who knows, China is on the rise and don’t seem to stop anytime soon right now.

and Bangmo, i do not agree when u said Malaysian have been ripped off in buying China goods.. ur the one who choose if, even if ur super poor there’s always other imitates with lesser cost from Thailand, Kemboja @ India.

p/s : Proton dont need to bought Getrag, if i may recall, once i read next product from proton will be using their own made transmission, no more mitsu.. those in the light might clarified more..

• ezracopters on Mar 31, 2011 at 3:20 pm

well, easy actually, since we all can’t escape china’s product in our daily life.. all we can do is only rip what u saw and let it be what u not.. as for me, if i knew the product made in china, nevermind the quality.. i rather not bought it if i got other option eventhou it’s lil bit expensive. defection risk is always higher on China made than others.

but i don’t judge people who choose to use it, it’s up to us as a consumer. at the end of the day everyone knew better what would be worth more on ur money spending..

as for Getrag, im pretty sure my cars are not using them product.. and maybe never will judging to my preference nowadays. but who knows, China is on the rise and don’t seem to stop anytime soon right now.

and Bangmo, i do not agree when u said Malaysian have been ripped off in buying China goods.. ur the one who choose it, even if ur super poor there’s always other imitates with lesser cost from Thailand, Kemboja @ India.

p/s : Proton dont need to bought Getrag, if i may recall, once i read next product from proton will be using their own made transmission, no more mitsu.. those in the light might clarified more..

• tiadaid on Mar 31, 2011 at 8:15 pm

Proton is not using their own transmission. They’re going to use manual tranny from….Getrag.

Their CVT tranny is from Punch Motive

• Abang Fikri on Jun 07, 2011 at 5:14 pm

If I wanted to buy a GetRag Transmission, how and where can I buy it?
    Your quick responses will be appreciated…