Infiniti confirmed for Malaysia – launching in 4th quarter

Infiniti is coming to Malaysia – the company announced today that it plans to introduce its range of vehicles here in the fourth quarter of 2011.

The announcement of the marque’s Malaysian introduction follows on the launch of the brand in Indonesia. In the last couple of months, it has also announced Mexico, Australia and Singapore as forthcoming markets. By 2013, Infiniti will have entered 25 new markets worldwide.

Plans are afoot to open an Infiniti Centre, which will be strategically located in Kuala Lumpur, within the year. The centre will be operated by Inspired Motor, a joint venture between Edaran Tan Chong Motor and Auto Dunia. Inspired Motor will be responsible for the retailing of Infiniti vehicles, while Auto Dunia is the franchise holder.

“As part of our worldwide expansion, we are very excited to launch Infiniti in Malaysia and welcome newly established joint venture Inspired Motor to our luxury brand fold,” said Toru Saito, Infiniti’s corporate vice president.

“Within the year, the promise of luxury vehicles with a unique combination of inspired performance, attentive hospitality and unparalleled quality will become a reality for Malaysian customers, who we know are receptive to exclusive brands,” he said.

Datuk Dr Ang Bon Beng, ETCM’s executive director, said that the impending arrival of Infiniti in Malaysia comes at a time when the luxury automotive market in Malaysia is experiencing tremendous growth. “Last year, the segment grew by 40%. Suffice to say, we are thrilled to be in the position to offer luxury car buyers in Malaysia a distinctive brand that epitomizes luxury performance,” he said.

The model line-up hasn’t been confirmed, but the word on the grapevine is that the launch point could possibly see a somewhat similar number of models as that found in Indonesia. Four variants are currently being sold there, these being the FX50 and FX37 crossovers, the M37 sedan and the G37 coupe.

The news comes just weeks after Infiniti announced a major partnership with the Red Bull Racing F1 team. On February 28, the company announced a marketing agreement with the Formula One world champions – covering the 2011 and 2012 F1 seasons – focusing on high-profile marketing and technical activities, so it’s strategically timed, the news of the brand’s impending arrival here; the announcement was made earlier today in Sepang.

Formula One World Champion and Red Bull Racing driver Sebastian Vettel, who is looking forward to competing in Infiniti’s latest market, had this to say: “It’s great to see that Infiniti will be bringing its unique style and driving luxury to this country – I think they will prove very popular with the Malaysian people.”

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2134]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• karthik on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:05 pm

price range anyone ?

• Black Dog on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:08 pm

Guess the tsunami can’t stop the Japs from advancing forward.

But it’s really good to have more brands & more choices in our very limited Malaysian market. Probably more American & Chinese brands coming this way in the future?

• Hafidz on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:54 pm

Agree..

Most likely the market they will share cakes here would probably 4-door sedans and SUV..are there any hybrids from Infiniti? that should come 1st so they can sell here to share anither hybrid cake markets in M’sia :)

• lan87 on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:08 pm

must be pricey just like lexus…
    but would really love to see them on the roads though ;)

• inline 6 on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:26 pm

ACURA anyone?

• najibest on Apr 07, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Amen to that…Lexus….check, Infiniti….check…..bring on Acura! now back to Infiniti can i have a G35 please!!!!!

• J@Ck LIM on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:28 pm

O yeah… infiniti … Finally…

• Gavin on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:29 pm

People say want want want then when it arrives, nobody buy, too expensive lah, t and h better lah bla bla

• “…when the luxury automotive market in Malaysia is experiencing tremendous growth. “Last year, the segment grew by 40%….”

lots of malaysians are rich…only paultan commentators are poor.

• hu hu hu, so sad.

• tiadaid on Apr 07, 2011 at 4:23 pm

If they spend less time blaming the G for their misfortune at kedai kopi/kopitiam/massage parlours and more time working hard, they’d be richer too.

• Joe tan on Apr 07, 2011 at 5:32 pm

We all msian facing the same problems as to how govt policies affect us. But some of us choose to talk about it in kopitiam whereas some others think of ways to bypass it or overcome it. Successful ppl are those later.

• Gavin on Apr 07, 2011 at 6:44 pm

Those that buy luxury cars will say bmw or merc better.

those that buy the Vw golfs watch too much Top Gear

• ezalian on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Will it come to Brunei??

• wow…what is the model for the second picture? freaking sick looking XD

• forteLover on Apr 07, 2011 at 2:11 pm

design looks like kia…

• untouchable on Apr 07, 2011 at 2:17 pm

anygood about this model? except luxury….. well not for me… looks ugly..

• VW_fans on Apr 07, 2011 at 2:18 pm

First LEXUS now Infiniti…….Acura when is your turn?

• blue ocean on Apr 07, 2011 at 2:24 pm

hmm.. design ok ok saje..

• agreed,the design language is nothing to shout about.nissans are boring.cant beat the koreans in design nowadays

• vince on Apr 07, 2011 at 2:37 pm

can i ask about the price range? above 200k ?

• the ones in the pictures definately over RM200K range ..

• insider on Apr 08, 2011 at 2:14 am

the price of the M model is 210k RM in russia..and cars here are v cheap..so expect it to be 300k

• tiadaid on Apr 07, 2011 at 3:14 pm

After all the brouhaha over the fact that Infiniti chose Indonesia to launch their cars first, all I can say is – HAPPY NOW?

• seancorr on Apr 07, 2011 at 3:32 pm

How many of u would get this over say a BMW or a Merc? Lexus did experience growth but not as rapid as the usual 2.

While its nice to see another luxury brand coming into our markets, I for one am worried about how they would do here. Acura might do better as everyone knows its ties with Honda and Lexus…well u know who’s the dad.

Apart from that was in Dubai and Doha and managed to see these babies on the road and I have to say they look mighty awesome in the flesh! The FX37 and FX50 caught my eye over there…yum~

• I expect the extreme looking FX50 to be priced slightly cheaper than a Range Rover if sold here. 500k maybe?

• Can you guys design an iPad app for paultan.org? I’d really, really appreciate it.. coz using safari sucks.

• normal_user on Apr 07, 2011 at 5:01 pm

You can use greader RSS reader for paultan. Not sure if its available on Mac platform (iPhone iPAd)

• I thought proton will rebadge the infiniti m37 as new perdana?

• toyota = lexus
    ifiniti = nissan

• lan87 on Apr 07, 2011 at 5:11 pm

acura = honda ….

here in m’sia ;
      proton = mitsubishi
      perodua = daihatsu

• normal_user on Apr 07, 2011 at 5:15 pm

Dear Paul,

Recently, a manager from Proton HQ confirmed me a few things:

1. Perdana replacement is confirmed based on Nissan Fuga platform, only for government officials.
    2. Persona replacement coming out on August 2012. CPS engine standard!
    3. Saga replacement is on the cards & expected to launch 2-3 years time
    4. Exora turbo is confirmed, still under testing
    5. Proton may scrap its EMAS project with Giugaro due to ‘invisible hands’ from MITI which argued EMAS could jeopardize Perodua’s compact car business.
    6. Proton’s venture into India by not using the Proton brand. The business model will be similar to the Youngman-Proton collaboration in China.

I’m not making these things up. Just want to share with other people.

• waimak on Apr 07, 2011 at 5:36 pm

waa… very good la your insider.. all bocor already..

• Proton needs compact car segment. It is the future of automobiles 40,50 years ahead other than alternative,hybrid type vehicles.Fuel will be pricier each year and automakers do need small,efficient,compact car to survive.
      Go for EMAS and export them all over the planet.
      As for P2, dont bow to them or any Miti fellows Proton.Your survival is more important than Daihatsu-backed P2. Daihatsu can always packed up and leave the country to find other low-cost pastures.

• atan senget on Apr 07, 2011 at 9:43 pm

No EMAS??? WTH!!…I don’t like P2 cars and i need a good small car below 50k…huuu~~

• Commoner on Apr 07, 2011 at 10:30 pm

Too bad, I’m seriously looking forward to Persona Replacement by end of this year. Proton, please launch Persona Replacement and make available for booking before year end (2011).

• puipui on Apr 07, 2011 at 10:48 pm

but yet still lose to the competitors….if its not of the tax in malaysia .proton will bankrupt oredi…come on!! i dare proton 2 challenge

• paranoid on Apr 08, 2011 at 10:30 am

wait till 2012 persona replacement still using standard CPS engine only when we can get waja, gen2 cps now… yawn….

• TC: pls dun waste time on Infiniti.

Give us the official GT-R !!

• Maserati on Apr 07, 2011 at 8:19 pm

This Infiniti is gonna be another failed brand.Gonna be priced too high for any of the normal people to afford them.

Even the ones with money wont want to buy an Infiniti cause there are so many other better choices around.

• altimasss on Apr 07, 2011 at 8:50 pm

tan chong again ?..
    i give up !

for a start, i think TC will bring this one in :
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Infiniti_J30.jpg

• Auto Dunia… still around?

• Rafiq on Apr 08, 2011 at 6:57 pm

For those who have not seen infiniti on the road, don’t under estimate it. It is comparable to lexus. Most of the models are appealing to the younger crowd who prefer sportier look.

But my question is how many young people can afford it? And if they can afford it, why they would choose infiniti whereas they can buy real sport car.

• dunno on Apr 17, 2011 at 10:16 am

hmm…i think infiniti may have problem since alot of people mistaken or confuse that it was cherry. may have problem selling it

• Hanielhf on Nov 02, 2011 at 12:28 pm

Dream on for average people.. Only guys with good bucks will buy it.. better buy national cars and modified it..