Infiniti arrives in ASEAN – first stop, Indonesia

Infiniti arrives in ASEAN – first stop, IndonesiaNissan has made Indonesia the first market in Asean to introduce the Infiniti brand, with the opening of a dedicated showroom in Jakarta and the launching of three models into the market last week. Four variants are currently being sold in the country – the FX50 and FX37 crossovers, the M37 sedan and the G37 coupe.

According to a report in The Jakarta Post, the Indonesian operation aims to sell 200 cars in 2011, and in the process obtain a 5% market share of the premium segment, which was worth 5,327 units in 2010 (out of a total industry volume of 745,000 last year). It’s all going well, by the looks of it – the company has thus far sold between 40-50 examples of the three models since its arrival.

Indonesia is the first of 25 markets where the brand will be launched globally until next year, all part of the brand’s plan to expand its global presence. The report adds that the company is studying plans to introduce the Infiniti Performance Line in Indonesia, though there are no plans to launch diesel variants into the market.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• redboy on Mar 21, 2011 at 11:43 am

Indonesia got a bigger market potential in the region…and less restriction for the cronies…i felt like we are heading to 3rd world country instead of moving up as seen the policies implementing nowadays…building infrastructure is not improve, building up human thinking, and social culture is improve….monday blues..

• i agree with their bigger market potential, but cannot say the same with their cronism. i think their cronism is much more worse than us.

• Cowabunga! on Mar 21, 2011 at 7:56 pm

there is a difference between greedy and endless greed…and i believe Nissan could differentiate that when they chose which country to build their operations.

• vincent on Mar 21, 2011 at 11:59 am

We got better buying power compare to Indonesia, yet, Infiniti chose to land on Indonesia. Thanks to Proton, and those BN Cronies!

• buntuot on Mar 21, 2011 at 1:57 pm

welcome

• change la gov if you can…better you try what libyan do to their gov(i like to watch tomahawk live action) or choose like Egyptian do to their gov

• Hafiz on Mar 21, 2011 at 5:14 pm

Car buying power? or 9 year loan power?

• armang on Mar 21, 2011 at 11:41 pm

ha ha, for gov servant, up to 15 years..can u imagine using “crap models” for 15 years? you loan 70k for a car for 15 years at 3.5% interest and you have to pay 600 permonth for 15 years. can u imagine using the ‘crap models’ for 15 years. like a malay proverb “kandar biawak hidup”.

• im quite sure the Msian having the talent and the skill.. why cannot attract them to invest here???
    the G keep saying more and more new investor come over to Msia, but this not included sutomobil industry???

• carlocaraddict on Mar 21, 2011 at 12:15 pm

10 years ago, the Infiniti brand was sold in the Philippines, though only the Q45 was the sole model that was sold.

• squawk on Mar 21, 2011 at 12:26 pm

Hey, are we not the most important passenger car market in Asean?

• Alpha on Mar 21, 2011 at 12:57 pm

G37!!!!I want one!!Any ideas if it’ll come to Malaysia??will it be under TCM then??

• xenith on Mar 21, 2011 at 12:59 pm

Infiniti was in Indonesia since the 90’s. They even had the Nissan President.

• Fluid on Mar 21, 2011 at 2:11 pm

President is Nissan range la…

• xenith on Mar 21, 2011 at 2:26 pm

I am aware of that. That is why I said Nissan President. My point is that Nissan had launched “luxurier” models in the past compared to the Nissan Cefiro Brougham VIP whatever they have launched here.

• my boss use blue Nissan president

• sproc45 on Mar 21, 2011 at 1:00 pm

Good job done to our G!

• Richard on Mar 21, 2011 at 1:01 pm

Dear Paul, Nothing for Malaysia market or because we are still stuck with the AP? I was planning to purchase a Estima, I went to a well known recon car dealer and was told that the car comes with one month warranty only! It doesn’t make any sense at all coz the price of the car is more than 250K! Can anyone advice…

• squawk on Mar 21, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Please check for flood stains.

• Try Naza Motor.

I got my Wish with 50k km or 6 months warranty.

• matey on Mar 22, 2011 at 11:02 am

matey, you are buying a 2nd hand (or could be multiple hands) hand from unofficial 2nd hand car dealers; you are lucky to have any warranty honoured at all.

• BlowJo on Mar 21, 2011 at 1:12 pm

Love the exhaust note of FX Series but ride is hard.:)

• untouchable on Mar 21, 2011 at 1:21 pm

ini kereta cap ayam…. velly expensive..

• RFong88 on Mar 21, 2011 at 1:29 pm

Dear Paul, When will it comes to Malaysia? Is it still because of the AP issue?

• From the 25 countries that have been earmarked for launch, Malaysia IS NOT in the list. Apparently we, Malaysian, earn less money then the our Indonesian neighbour.

• kwing on Mar 21, 2011 at 1:31 pm

cant wait for the G…

• carfan on Mar 21, 2011 at 2:01 pm

Isn’t the Infiniti M37 the same as Nissan Fuga which will replace the minister proton perdana executive? Either 2.5litre or 3.7litre engine.

Should ask proton to import more at proton prices.

• jimteecm on Mar 21, 2011 at 2:19 pm

thanks to mahathir let us using money $ to buy cheapest car..

• BlowJo on Mar 21, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Yoohoo! is not that i can afford with the taxes. FRAP!

• The Dentist on Mar 21, 2011 at 2:39 pm

well, the car price in indonesia is cheaper by +-10-20% compared to what we have in malaysia. not that cheap i guess huh?

and don’t get the indonesians wrong, they r rich. and they hv a bigger market.

though the car price might be cheaper in indonesia, their fuel is expensive.
    RON92/95 = Rp8000+ = RM2.96

• vincent on Mar 21, 2011 at 3:27 pm

You pay more if you drive more, that is fair. But in Malaysia, fuel price high as a oil exporter country, car price also high. Even though Indon fuel price is RM1.06 higher, imagine the tax you pay for a Honda Accord for example, that can get you more than 40k litre of petrol for a RM50k additional u pay for a Honda Accord.

• it’s only a matter how the G want us to spend. The G slash car tax, then increase oil price OR maintain car tax and maintain oil price. We just cannot afford having both (or can we?).
      Btw, Indonesia market is much bigger than us. from the population almost 240mil, lets just say their people who can afford car is only 10%, they have 24 million car buyers. No wonder they are competing with Thailand as lubuk in ASEAN region.

• ezracopters on Mar 21, 2011 at 3:55 pm

plus if im not mistake, they only had 4 year loan tenure, max.. was it???

• car price in malaysia and indonesia moreless the same eg malaysia camry v 2.4 RM174k indon Rp493.1 juta(RM171k), malaysia Vios 1.5 G M/T RM87k indon bout RM82K but they have 8% interest and monthly payment so high sake for max 5yrs..here in malaysia oso if u want 3 year oso can with high downpayment but can you afford to pay high monthly installment? car in indonesia might be little bit cheaper but they have even more to pay interest

• plus if not mistaken.one bank in indonesia i check who can apply for car loan-

-must be 21 yrs mature and older
      -professional at least 3 yrs experience in same field
      -employer need at least 2 yrs experiance

• Why is it that everyone must find a political reason for Infinity not coming into Malaysia?

• bluetravler on Mar 22, 2011 at 11:28 am

because it is the truth for Malaysia. Umno, the Octopuses has their blood sucking arms in around everything, to squelches dry of any protensive further.

• I remember an ad for Infinity in the magazine in the US about 20-30 years ago which goes something like ” at 100mph you hear nothing except your heart beats”… so silent ma!

• Speed Racer on Mar 21, 2011 at 4:36 pm

so my maid gets to buy an infiniti

• bongek on Mar 21, 2011 at 4:56 pm

i am waiting somebody to write: ” i wish i could be born in indonesia…so i can enjoy cheap car….. nothing is good enough in malaysia…. , my life should be better in indonesia “

• Hafiz on Mar 21, 2011 at 5:31 pm

I love my boleh land, but what’s wrong if i am demanding, I just demanding at par with our neigbouring country, is that too much?

• armang on Mar 22, 2011 at 7:33 am

this is a matter of give and take between G and rakyat. Either too much take or give, it will affect the whole country. that why when you elect for reps, make it wisely. dont just a look for RM500 given during campaign and later when they elected, they slashed you by squezzing RM50K from your income. in the same time, dont swallow any promises chanting by the other side as they can promise heaven and earth to you, but you think they are able to deliver. they maybe just talk the walk. however, still wonder where is the “cerdik pandai” people who can give some good idea/advise.

• areos on Mar 21, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Be patience. The model will surely landed on our shores next year..probably known as protoniti and exclusively for ministers.

• grounded on Mar 21, 2011 at 5:13 pm

I believe Infiniti was already in the Philippines 10 years ago. They just had to leave due to the Asian financial crisis.

• banggadgnproton on Mar 21, 2011 at 6:47 pm

infiniti fx – saw it during euro tour last year n straight away fell in love wit it….hope theyll come to malaysia soon!

• RFong88 on Mar 21, 2011 at 9:42 pm

Let’s hope that the AP issue will end as the G declared but I still doesn’t see any sign of the intention of lowering the car price in the market. Should 2015 is a reality, there should be some gradual movement in the car price… Any one? Comment?

• Malaysian heading to Burma’s way, a pariah in automotive market? Malaysians government is too much; easier money through excessive tax encourages inefficiencies, wasteful and senseless. No wonder they’re OK with Lynas in gebeng.

• yc.low on Mar 21, 2011 at 10:16 pm

It looks like we are losing to Indonesia and Thailand in our auto industry.We talk about being the auto hub for asia – but big names like Toyota and Nissan are by passing us. How can Malaysia be the hub for auto industries if big names are by passing us. Can our leaders wake up from their day dreaming and see the realities?

• mmmmmmm on Mar 22, 2011 at 12:29 pm

what la………….learn la economic a bit…….not everything in this m’sia due to G ……..it’s all about cheap labour la………toyota nissan are car for masses need a lot of labour to built more car………..u built factory here who want to work with low pay…………need the Siamese indon to work…might as well built factory in thai and indon plus got AFTA now……..dont lecture me about NAP we all know it’s crap and for cronies………so what bising2 elec new G la………

• bongek on Mar 22, 2011 at 12:51 pm

i dont think it necessary for us to become automotive hub in the region anymore… most of the manufacturer looking for place that they can make car, low wages without responsibility to give knowledge transfer… example: why singapore don’t become hub? cost? wages reason? low market potential? so we are at that level too..

but , yes, i agree that some policy is not that smart,,,, what i want to see is a smart policy in become hub for manufacture designer : …. my idea: why don’t goverment actively supply part to those manufacture? we have knowledge worker, if we design, the cost will be lower compare to japan or europe, but we need decision maker or political power to go to that level…

we are compete this with singapore. they have better enviroment for expert to come there, stay there and transfer knowledge… hope gov would create good enviroment in malaysia, first, throw all those illegal worker … yes, cost will be higher ,,, but over safety condition would become better… gov dont need to pay subsidy for them,,

• why so bising2.. is infiniti so damn good? of course its good. should you care if its not landed here. should i? should u?
    what their ride means to malaysian??

• patan on Mar 21, 2011 at 11:46 pm

will this coming to Malaysia and India and other asian country’s i’m living in Malaysia and i own a Proton Exora and the old Mercedes E-class and i have a house in India and i’m planning to go India and buy a luxury car there between 30-50 lakhs rupee which car is best ? in India

• SoMeOnE on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:50 am

infiniti has only been makin truly unique cars in the last model cycle ..so we didnt really miss much coz it were they were just rebadged nissan..this time around however they really have the right stuff….and they only can get better..its easily japan’s answer to bmw…i remember reading an article about 4 years ago when a bmw exec mentioned that the brand they truly fear to challenge their status as sporty /luxury cars was inifniti and i think his right…wit merc supplying the diesels( and they do have a good range) and nissan focusing on making better engines for the brand..their only way is up….we have seen ininfiti products in malaysia..but they are jap imports skyline /skyline coupes…and they look good to this eyes…..glad to have them around..

• nighttrain on Mar 22, 2011 at 7:59 pm

1% of the population can afford luxury items. that’s 1% of 250 million. it’s the same amount as the total malaysian population. that’s what Nissan thinks, that’s their calculation. It was Ferrari’s calculation some years back, but somehow backfired..

• Tiadaid on Mar 23, 2011 at 8:46 am

Luxury market in Malaysia’s conquered by Mercedes-Benz & BMW. Infiniti wouldn’t make a dent here in Malaysia. Just look at Lexus, have you ever seen many Lexus cars on the road?