Malaysian GP: Gov’t to decide if to continue after 2015

Malaysia’s contract to host a Formula 1 race comes to an end in 2015, and a report states that the Government will decide in the future whether to extend the running of the GP in the race calendar.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak told journalists after the 2011 Formula 1 Petronas Malaysia GP yesterday that the Cabinet will decide on the matter.

It does look good though, given that the PM himself thinks that the GP serves more than just racing action. “I believe this championship can increase Malaysia’s profile internationally,” he said.

He did add that as far as Malaysian participation in F1 goes, the current involvement is more than enough, when asked if there should be more. “Got three enough lah. What more you want? That’s the maximum” was his light-hearted response.

Besides Mercedes GP Petronas, Lotus Renault GP and Team Lotus, which are all directly involved in F1 teams, there’s also QNet, which is a sponsor with the Marussia Virgin Racing F1 team.

What do you think? Should Malaysia continue its GP run past 2015?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments generally support the continuation of the Malaysian GP at Sepang post-2015, highlighting its significance for local motorsport, tourism, and national pride. Many emphasize the need for upgrades and renovation of the circuit to maintain its competitiveness, with some suggesting night races or additional event series. There is concern about potential political and financial reasons that might lead to its discontinuation, especially with Singapore building its own circuit. Several posts praise Sepang's challenging layout and its contribution beyond F1, such as MotoGP. Overall, sentiments are largely in favor of keeping the race, viewing it as vital for Malaysia's international image, motorsport development, and economic benefits, with calls for management improvements and strategic planning to ensure its sustainability.

• T4VR-Ralph on Apr 11, 2011 at 11:54 am

of course continue… can’t find any reason for not to

• Paul Tan on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:02 pm

Not four meh?

• squawk on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:09 pm

Q Net not important to him. :-)

But I think Sepang is under serious threat directly from Singapore & Shanghai as well as the new upcoming tracks.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:11 pm

Dunno, maybe QNet’s sponsorship not of enough substance to be considered “one”.

• 98tecknik89 on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:43 pm

Qnet is a Philipine-based co

• bourne on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:54 pm

there is a different between “sponsor” and “premium sponsor”.

• Sure The G will continue the contract, if not where got money go in their pocket? 100% will renew. Host the GP with no live or delay telecast, is really disappointed from the G.

• Dissappointed Ted on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:39 pm

if he and the cronies don’t get duit kopi, 100% will not renew

• C~two on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:05 pm

Which 4?
    petronas, lotus, air-asia then?

• race_fan on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:07 pm

should continue, without F1 race, what for the Sepang Circuit will be? btw, the circuit itself need to be revamp to be on par with newer circuit nowadays.. can see a lot of things need to be maintain properly and some enhancement as well..

the giant flagpole at the turn 15 tower can be seen rusty from the helicopter view on live telecast last Sunday.. the roof also lots of leaking.. i think SIC has submitted an upgrading plan to government but no feedback so far maybe

to be more sustainable, bring more championship series and please bring more ‘live’ to its surrounding..

current event such as MSS, track day and so on not really bring the crowd to Sepang Circuit, perhaps set up permanent motorsport carnival / theme park there too

we don’t want Sepang Circuit become white elephant if say no more F1 after 2015

• trav_da_man on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:09 pm

If there a reason for F1 to remain in Mysia, as the Sepang circuit still provides plenty of track action to F1 fans, as shown in yesterday’s superb race. Viewers worldwide will still wanna tune in and maybe a night race will be spectacular. Of cause foreign tourist will come provided if the tickets here are dirt cheap.

The presence of Mysia linked companies like Air Asia, Petronas and Proton (via Group Lotus) does increase fanfare among local crowd. You will be happy if any of the drivers got into the podium. We have a few young Mysians like Jazeman Jaafar trying hard to break into F1, so as many more young talents in the making like Nabil Jeffry or so. The continuity to produce future Mysian drivers is already built up although there still a long way to go compared to Europe.

If there a reason for F1 not to stay in Mysia, i believe there are 2 reasons. Politics and Bernie himself. We can’t predict what is beyond 2015 and if say the PR gov wins, they dont see a good future to F1 as hosting an F1 race is too expensive (as what Melbourne shows), hence they would want it to be scraped and saved for other developments.

For that greedy twat like Bernie, he will continue to find new venues for F1 and the Sepang may be scrapped since Singapore is stealing our spotlight. The race calender is expanding until its too much and i doubt they can go beyond 20 races per year.

I would think to stay beyond 2015, more money (in millions)is needed to maintain and upgrade the circuit, or installing new spotlights if we want to host a night race. I don’t want Sepang to go away but seeing political reasons and Bernie himself, its a 50-50.

• tokmoh on Apr 11, 2011 at 4:10 pm

Aye. Heidfeld’s podium surely brings happiness to Proton fans, and I’m sure when he did the same in 2009 for Petronas fans.

Agreed on both reasons too. Aside from cost, I suppose PR politicians have strong grudge to make sure anything DrM-related projects fail, including Sepang.

Meanwhile, Bernie hinted about his losing interest when he called Sepang “shabby”. Of course that’s more to SIC management’s fault, but it can affect that old fart’s interest. Singapore GP is boring as hell, but he loves it because it’s night race, and it attracts crowds who mostly have no idea about F1, but go there as if it’s a party. Sigh.

• tiadaid on Apr 11, 2011 at 11:23 pm

Singapore’s the Monaco of the east apparently. No matter if the race’s boring, as long as glamourous. Anyway, it’s high time for Bernie to get the hell out of F1. Heck, even F1 fans overseas are bemoaning the fact that he’s ruining the sport by going to all those Tilkedromes, boring circuits like Singapore, Bahrain, Abu Dhabi etc, only because they can afford to pay Bernie’s exorbitant prices.

Anyway, if PR chooses to clamp down on F1, that just goes to show how voters got swindled by politicians who can’t see the bigger picture. F1 is more than just a race, it’s a tourist attraction that can bring an influx of foreign money into the country. The cost can be easily recouped that way.

• SeriuosSAM on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:14 pm

Sepang circuit is the best Tilke design circuit around
    It’s a shame if sepang didn’t continue beyond 2015

• Xand Ting on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:16 pm

1 Malaysia, 2 Lotus, 3 Home Teams

• insperut on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:16 pm

stop F1 and start hosting WRC :D

• endre on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:54 pm

why not both?

• insperut on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:55 pm

i mean if they’ve decided to stop f1 lar hehe

• Ford_GT on Apr 11, 2011 at 7:05 pm

Look at Toyota. They were left WRC in ’99 for Formula 1 and in early year 2000 they have start premature development to compete in F1 races but in the end, they didn’t make to the top while tussling with the big boys like Ferrari and Mclaren.

• anti-first on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:48 pm

Yesssssssssssss- we should be hosting rallies – the REAL car race!

I guess we focus too much on money, pretty driver boys and WAGs = F1 to actually hold rallies which is more exciting to watch.

why is it more exciting you might ask? the very least, all cars used in rallies are the very cars that you drive, albeit a soup-up one – namely proton, peugeot, skoda, citroen etc – now that what i call real racing credentials!

• udasalleh on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:22 pm

After 2015… Sepang circuit must make itself relevant. With one of the best tracks for overtaking then they must bring in more races… but again not many races have a huge following like F1.

F1 itself must make itself relevant with the times… could we be seeing EV or hibrid racing by then?

Like Master Yoda says…’Unclear the future is with this one hmmmm… ‘

• Already burn so much to promote a few companies, the country profile and benefit some people, why not continue having the race to the mass?

• Mr-S BOey on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:29 pm

RULE OF THUMB : if ‘some parties’ dun make money out of F1, then it’s of no interest. PERIOD.

• Putra on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:38 pm

Better stop..becoz my 11 year old son says (not me)… “better watch moto gp than this”…jomlah balik.

• Alifz on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:50 pm

I think the best is to close Sepang F1 track for one year, so the cost or organizing 2016 can be use to upgrade facility for 2017 race, just like Nurburig did last time.

• Anak Malaysia on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:53 pm

Ask G to use money from their kroni n tax payer money to buy the F1 license from Bernie.. bernie already old and he knew that he will die sooner.. so can buy a cheap one maa… hahahahahahha

• F1 forever at Sepang! But rednecks still don’t know who or where we are. They’re sportsfans too.. why is that? F1 too complex for them?

• Hensa on Apr 11, 2011 at 1:14 pm

Go Malaysia..Pls continue hosting f1 for 2050. I think Sepang is one of true F1 track unlike other tracks. Singapore, Monaco? boredom beyond all recognition.

• farizY on Apr 11, 2011 at 1:54 pm

I agree, thought street circuits seem exciting, they’re not, because the only place possible for overtaking, is during the pit stop, not much wheel-to-wheel action….

• time to renovate the whole sepang circuit.. current track getting boring…

• squall_shinoda on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:07 pm

The gov’t should continue the F1 in Sepang after 2015. If not, then the Sepang Circuit will be nothing more than just a white elephant project. Plus, there’s no other (proper) motor racing circuit in the Klang Valley than Sepang. Even to rent to ordinary motorists to race for fun also not possible, as the rent rate of Sepang Circuit is very high. Previously we used to have the Batu Tiga Circuit, but that circuit is no longer exist, thanks to the corrupt Khir Toyo for demolishing it to be a housing area at Sect 13. No wonder why there are so many mat rempits in the Klang Valley.

• nonce on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:20 pm

so what was total attendence for this year’s event??figures are declining ever since.

• squawk on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:56 pm

And now that Singapore is building their own motorsports circuit, there may be fewer Singaporean supercar convoys coming up.

• nonce on Apr 11, 2011 at 8:26 pm

i doubt so.convoy is best driven on open roads and malaysia has better driving roads than singapore.no speed camera.xD

• squawk on Apr 12, 2011 at 9:41 am

They convoy up here to go to Sepang because there’s no proper racing circuit in S’pore. Now that they’re building one, convoys will probably be a less frequent thing. Unless their new circuit is really below par.

• bravo on Apr 11, 2011 at 4:37 pm

remember the Canadian Avro story?

• Of course renew la, if not Sepang will become like batu tiga and all the Ah Beng will go there and race.

• dannyl77 on Apr 11, 2011 at 5:40 pm

I agree that F1 @ Sepang should continue after 2015 …… Not only F1 but all kind of Motorsport : eg, MotoGP , Japan Gt, etc…

& also agree that it Should have Plans to Change / Modify / Add on / Renovate / Upgrade Some Part of the Track / facilities to make the Track More Challenging , More competitive & More Exciting in the Future Years ( after 2015 ) …

• shawal on Apr 11, 2011 at 6:26 pm

no point discussing now, we dunno whos running the government in 2015…

• mmmmmmm on Apr 12, 2011 at 8:30 am

hahahaha.nice joke…….we all knew already………just imagine……..we got F1 RACE IN MALAYSIA WITH 3 HOME TEAMS BUT NO LIVE COVERAGE FOR FREE………AND WE GOT ELECTION COMING IN SARAWAK WHO KNOWS WHEN BUT THERE IS DAILY LIVE COVERAGE ON TV3……..PLUS the camera more interested in other ‘LIVE COVERAGE’ in a hotel room rather than in F1 Sepang……….oh Malaysia ku cinta….

• Vincent Choo on Apr 11, 2011 at 9:37 pm

We have spent so much money. We should not just let it die. Make it interesting again by having a night race. It is true that when we go to the track, we only hear and see the cars zooming pass us and we cannot see the 3rd car cahsed by the 4th car . And in the afternoon sun, the big screen is hopeless. But at night, when the sun is gone, we can see the big screens. So it will be good.

ANYWAY, what is so nice about these cars racing. It is a waste of a lot of money. I am just supporting it because Malaysia have spent so much money, it will be a waste of money to let it die.

• i think sepang is still one of the best circuits around, and its not just for f1.

it also brings unique challenges to racing – rain, humidity, high temps, changeable weather etc – all the makings of a good race and challenging conditions for the drivers/cars/engineers.

i think the teams want to come, drivers want to come, bernie wants to come; so why are we still 50-50?

we need to seize the opportunity, and package sepang as part of our other attributes (tourism etc, business etc..) that’s the real challenge. get the spillovers to multiply the benefits.

of course, good, transparent, fair and objective management goes hand-in-hand with making it a succces. that goes without saying !

• azahari on Apr 12, 2011 at 7:46 am

Sepang F1 must be continue. We need it more than the Australia.

• If it improved our national cars quality in terms of ride, handling, performance, function, fitting and styling, then sure. Why not? If the other way around, then need to revise our plan.

• Sepang need improvement..upgrade the facilities..renovate the mall area..its kinda bad actually..