Sebastian Vettel puts Infiniti’s road-cars through their paces

Fresh from his win at the Malaysian Grand Prix, and ahead of this weekend’s Chinese Grand Prix, Formula One World Champion Sebastian Vettel had a different type of cameo run on track, test driving two Infiniti vehicles around a test track in Shanghai.

The Red Bull Racing driver took to the wheel of a 5.0 litre V8 Infiniti FX50, followed by a 3.7 litre V6 Infiniti G37 sedan, and amazed onlookers by lapping the circuit at high speed and demonstrating the handling capabilities of the luxury road cars.

The 23 year-old world champ thought the whole thing was a blast. “It was great fun to drive these Infiniti cars today. I was impressed; they have good handling and plenty of power – which is always a good mix – it was fun out on the track. I have been driving an FX50 myself recently, they’re nice cars and it’s great that more dealerships are opening in China.”

After the drive session, Vettel visited an Infiniti Center in Shanghai where he met fans and senior Infiniti executives, plus toured the showroom to take a closer look at the full Infiniti range available there. Ah, yes, the benefits of signing on as a major partner with a F1 team – lots of great publicity and PR, from a world champ at that. The brand is due to make its debut in Malaysia late this year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Tak suka B.N. on Apr 15, 2011 at 11:18 am

Young gut with lot of time for future achivement in F1 history. I bet Vettel achivement wil further brighter than Schumi in coming 10 years. Wonder why Germany driver all are so good in F1. Their country are mainly produce good F1 driver, hope to see another 8 times world champion leader beside schumi!! Keep up and good luck to Vettel!!

• They have no-speed limit autobahn over there where ordinary drivers can become excellent racing drivers within a few months. If we have a no-speed limit highway here, we can have plenty of world class racing drivers too.

• ,,,,and also plenty of road accidents

• mmmmmmm on Apr 17, 2011 at 9:57 pm

no speed limit in Malaysia???…….they will be more world class road bully and a**h**e

• Uncle car brand got an image boost with Vettel.

• anand on Apr 15, 2011 at 11:26 am

Luckily he didn’t test any of the Proton’s to that extend

• Tak suka B.N. on Apr 15, 2011 at 12:32 pm

When he drive proton, proton sales market will not boost, but ruin! Coz proton or lotus car technology wont make Vettel any champion winning. Probably vettel drives Inspira will make his carreer ruin immedaitely!!!

• Jon Ong on Apr 15, 2011 at 11:35 am

“…….followed by a 3.7 litre V6 Infiniti G37 coupe”

In the pics its a G37 sedan

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 15, 2011 at 7:50 pm

Yes it is (see below for contrite apology for the mistake!).

• Hafidz on Apr 15, 2011 at 12:34 pm

Please get a better car for this Vettel guy..he didn’t deserve to drive this crap!

• Is that a G37 coupe? It has 4 doors. Unless there is a G37 4-door coupe, like the CLS.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 15, 2011 at 7:26 pm

That’ll teach me to write without looking at the pix first, and cross-check the story. Yes, I’ve been a bad dog …

• kazai on Apr 15, 2011 at 3:53 pm

is infiniti and chery is same company? logo is almost same.

• mmmmmmm on Apr 17, 2011 at 10:02 pm

whose copy who u know the answer……….the build and drive-train definitely impressive……but looking at the exterior design u are not wrong for mistaking it for one another…..

• Anthony, the white car doesn’t look like a 3.7 litre V6 Infiniti G37 coupe, as it has four doors. It’s the sedan version.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 15, 2011 at 7:20 pm

Ah, my mistake, I was doing the news without looking at the photos first, and made the assumption without realising the error later! My bad!

• go bahar on Apr 15, 2011 at 9:51 pm

news by assumption? that’s dangerous..

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 15, 2011 at 11:32 pm

Ha ha, indeed it is. Somehow I had it in my head that when the G37 is mentioned, it’s a coupe. Like the Focus and Fiesta are hatchbacks, even if that train of thought is rather parochial. But, excuse not do I make for this one. Like I said, my bad, and learnt lesson have I to check photo first before assuming the position. :)