LATAR Expressway enters final stage of development – 33km KL-Kuala Selangor route to be ready by around mid-year

If everything goes to plan, sometime around mid-year will see the opening of the KL-Kuala Selangor Expressway, which links Kuala Lumpur at Templer’s Park to the township of Ijok, in Kuala Selangor.

The 33 km dual carriageway route, known as the LATAR Expressway, will be an alternative link road to the present Jalan Sungai Buloh–Kuala Selangor (Federal Road 54) when open for service, and will effectively link the townships of Kuala Selangor, Assam Jawa, Ijok, Batang Berjuntai, Kota Puteri, Puncak Alam, Shah Alam, Bukit Jelutong, Sungai Buloh, Kundang, Rawang and Selayang.

With a drive time of 18 minutes from end-to-end, the expressway features four interchanges and three toll plazas as well as R&R service areas on each side of the route – the four interchanges provide faster and easy access into the existing Guthrie Corridor Expressway, PLUS North-South Expressway and the future West Coast Highway.

The expressway forms the North West portion of the Government’s larger plan for a KL Outer Ring Road (KLORR), which begins from the Templer’s Park Interchange along Federal Route 1 (KL-Rawang) to the Guthrie Corridor Expressway. KLORR is a planned orbital ring road within the greater KL area that will be an alternative to the presently congested Middle Ring Road 2 (MRR2).

Currently, the completed sections of KLORR include the Guthrie Corridor Expressway linking to Elite Expressway from Bukit Jelutong, Shah Alam to Saujana Putra, and the South Klang Valley Expressway from Saujana Putra to Kajang. In addition, KLORR connects Kajang to Hulu Langat via the SILK Highway. With the impending completion of the LATAR Expressway, 75% of the KLORR network will be formed.

The concession was awarded to KL-Kuala Selangor Expressway Berhad for a period of 40 years; Mudajaya Holdings Berhad is the turnkey contractor and was awarded the job for a contract value amounting to RM958 million. Construction began in October 2008, and the work is expected to be completed soon, with inspections by the Malaysian Highway Authority (MHA) to follow; no specific date for the opening has been set, but it is hoped that motorists can enjoy the new expressway by the middle of this year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Mohammad Suhaimi on Apr 21, 2011 at 6:55 pm

loooooonnnggg pending highway, and it is about to be reality..

• another toll to pay..hihi =D

• ibex7 on Apr 21, 2011 at 7:18 pm

if u dont want to pay, it’s ok. use federal road lor~

• hantu on Apr 25, 2011 at 4:04 am

what the reason we are paying road tax when federal road condition are suckx!

• Shaekey on Apr 21, 2011 at 7:30 pm

18 minutes stretch with 3 toll plazas, that’s paying toll on average of every 6 minutes.

• rawanger on Apr 21, 2011 at 7:20 pm

This highway…i dont mind paying the toll…very time saving and short cut…hope this will also reduce congestion at templer park and rawang toll

• Black Dog on Apr 21, 2011 at 7:25 pm

Once opened, less traffic, great way to test drive our machines!

• squall_shinoda on Apr 21, 2011 at 10:37 pm

Even though its name is KL-K S’gor Expressway E25, this expressway doesn’t really start from KL but actually from Rawang – and you still need to drive another 30 km to KL via Federal Route 1. But anyway that’s the reason why the old faithful FT1 section from Selayang to Rawang has been upgraded to a 4-lane divided highway.

• kecohlebih on Apr 21, 2011 at 11:31 pm

why build so many hiways….. and increase the petrol price.

p/s – chaos theory…. when demand exceeds supply….

• why buy car if you dont want to drive and why you want your increment for the job you are doing?….is it chaos theory as well?…

• FINALLY!

• khairul on Apr 22, 2011 at 12:36 am

finally!
      the rock has come back to wrestlemania 27 after 7 long years absent…

hahaha… just to cool down the people who are making noise of paying toll again…

• lestat on Apr 22, 2011 at 8:57 am

This reminded me something, there were ruckus before when KLORR is to cut thru forest and dam area in gombak/melawati (near current KL-Karak hiway entrance). Hopefully they find alternative route for this part.

• boss coffee on Apr 22, 2011 at 9:49 am

There’s a place where we shouldn’t touch the forest and there’s a place where we should be building. The area around KL is where we should be building. The area out of KL is where we should keep the forest. Those who want to keep the forest please move out of KL.

• PakAbu on Apr 22, 2011 at 9:21 am

Anybody has a link to a map or something of this new hi-way? Being someone living outside KL, I need a mental picture of how it’s linked to other major roads.

Thanks in advance.

• beeeeep on Apr 22, 2011 at 9:50 am

how i wish flying mobile will be invented soon… and these bloody bloodsuckers can cry till the end of their concession period

• there’is no exit from this hi-way to kundang…i dont’ know why…..

• intermilan on Apr 22, 2011 at 7:53 pm

ya ka? sure? i’m sure they have entry point .. near kundang lakes golf club.. very near to kundang new village. so quite ridiculous if they dont make an exit there.

• Eichikatsu on Apr 26, 2011 at 9:51 am

Sure has interchange at kundang because I have pass that road last month :)

• squall_shinoda on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:02 pm

If not mistaken, there is a stub interchange at Guthrie Corridor Expressway E35 near Lagong, and hopefully it will be opened as well when KL-K S’gor Expressway opens. That means you’ll need to enter E35 from E25 at Kuang System Interchange (Shah Alam direction) and exit the expressway at Lagong Interchange. There you can go to Kundang.

• mark wu on Apr 22, 2011 at 3:40 pm

at least the govt has provided the alternative. if u dont want to pay, u can call it bloodsucker or whateva, just use the federal road. but bear with the jammed n wat not.
    if u want faster n more comfort just pay the toll. fair enough what?
    better still if u want faster without jam n dont want to pay any single sen, just ride a bike or live in kampung would do.

• mark wu on Apr 22, 2011 at 3:44 pm

i remember years before, there were some people who protested and bashed PLUS project. they even vow not to use it forever…

• squall_shinoda on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:40 pm

I remember that too. The motorists protested the toll hike and boycotted the PLUS expressway. The Federal Route 1 became very badly congested because the protesters chose to use federal roads instead. On the other hand, PLUS expressway became so quiet and empty, and you could play drag with your machines at your hearts’ contents. As a result, PLUS desperately put ads in newspapers to persuade the drivers to use the expressway.

• Thiru on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:17 am

Rawang has transformed rapidly in the last 5 years.. Wow – FT1 Selayang – Rawang road upgraded, New Market, Bus Terminal, Hypermarket, Departmental Store (Jusco), Specialist Hospital, Affordable Homes, Growing Franchisse stores, New generation Shop lots and Now Latar Expressway in rawang. This are opening up great opportunities for the Developement of future rawang and our neighbours along Latar Expressway.

Rawang will become a great success story like Puchong, Shah Alam etc in Notime.

Syabas ! Malaysia.

• rawangertoo on Apr 25, 2011 at 2:04 am

humm its will not solve rawang congestion. but it will be add it up more, because the highway meant to be easier the kuala selangor people to reach kuala lumpur via the highway through rawang. sooo jamm jamm lah lepas nih!

• alien on Jun 25, 2011 at 4:49 am

he get blame for talking too much…he get blame for talking in moderation…he get blams for being silent…..no one is left unblame in this world…..stop whining like a baby and concntrate the present and thou shall live happily..