2012 Volvo S60 R-Design to get more power – 325 hp!

The 2012 Volvo S60 R-Design will get a significant horsepower and torque increase when it goes on sale later this year. Volvo’s T6 engine, a turbocharged inline six, will now produce 325 hp and 480 Nm, up from the standard 304 hp/440 Nm.

Volvo’s most dynamic model ever will also get a strut brace under the hood to stiffen up the body structure and improve steering response. At the rear, the R-Design features monotube dampers. Unlike the twin-tube dampers used in the T6, the monotube system features compression and return damping via the same valve, giving shorter and faster fluid flow. This translates to quicker response.

The springs have been shortened by 15 mm to give the car more visual attitude. Spring stiffness is 15% higher compared to the dynamic chassis in the S60 T6, while the bushings with which the rear dampers are attached to the body are 20% stiffer. The front tie-blade bushing is a massive 400% stiffer than before to counteract wheel bouncing and shaking.

As with the T6, the R-Design will have Volvo’s electronically controlled AWD system with Instant Traction and Corner Traction Control with torque vectoring, as well as safety highlights such as Pedestrian Detection with Full Auto Brake.

Looks wise, the R-Design will get a redesigned lower front fascia with a grille painted in glossy black, 90 mm twin pipes, exclusive 18-inch diamond cut wheels, rear trunk spoiler, standard Dual Xenons with Active Bending Lights and a special colour – Passion Red.

Inside, a number of new features help to further differentiate the R-Design. The front sports seats get new seat cushion with deeper side bolsters. The upholstery will be offered in off-black leather with contrasting stitch and a textured leather accent with embossed R-Design logo across the backrests. The dash also features a sport steering wheel with R-Design logo, gear selector, sports pedals, floor mats and a blue instruments.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• LP560-4 on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:18 am

Beautiful…

• droll on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:39 am

wow, kuatnya! probably land in m’sia for >rm400k?!?!?!

• awesomeeeeeee~

• venven81 on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:46 am

when is volvo gonna improve on its interior?! aiyoo *shake head*

• clutch basah on Apr 27, 2011 at 1:00 pm

I thought that interior just won the Ward’s auto Best interior, it bagged the best engine as well.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 27, 2011 at 1:40 pm

whose interior do you want to compare volvo’s to? Rolls Royce, Bentley or Maybach?

The make more comfortable seats than the germans. Test drive one first, then comment again. The pictures do volvo no justice.

• is quite subjective..
      but for me, the interior look nice, neat and great..
      although the thin panel design been use for all its range of car, but still nice and up to date.. =)

• Annoy-nimal on Apr 27, 2011 at 4:14 pm

Interior? I thought Volvo’s interiors are fine… The floating console is cooool.

• deftones on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:48 am

no wonder many ppl saying price for the T6 here is expensive.. it actually competing with 535i, 335i..
    marvelous car indeed..its getting more naughtier and sexier..
    the look of this car i think is more appealing than german marques except B8 A4

• mamakman on Apr 27, 2011 at 12:40 pm

GOSH! A real monster! with alot of Power. Most likely the car is going to cost more then 400k IFF there are bringing it in! Volvo price in malaysia is way beyond it actual value. Hopefully someone will “dispose” the S60 T6 for 1/2 the price after 2 years. Then it will become more affordable! :-)

• Gemder on Apr 27, 2011 at 1:01 pm

The Chinese is damn aggressive, but it still hard to compete with Merc and BMW at this moment, the first casualty will be Audi because of its position and pricing or may be not because Audi is behind Volvo in Malaysia.

• merc fan on Apr 27, 2011 at 2:09 pm

Follow the front of the Merc, can’t they design their own?

• eeeriz on Apr 27, 2011 at 4:46 pm

My S60 T5 wasn’t that really smooth compared to mercs or even BMW, but nothing beat its straight line dragging at highway and not so much backache when arrived at the destination. One thing hopefully new S60 can be improved is the suspension set up and the gearbox. The gearbox response is quite slow unless u act on it really hard. Wish had a strong autotranny like Beemer.

• agreed.my previous model S60(2001) had good straightline acceleration and highway cruising was really smooth(was better than my friend’s e39 530) but the auto is slower to react and you will lose out at corners compared to the beemers

• Kumar san on Apr 28, 2011 at 10:36 am

Should be a beast on the highway to pelt hard in a straight line,not too sure about it’s handling when the curvies start to show up..this ride will go like a freight train..if the previous 850 R which i owned briefly those days was any indication of it’s turobcharged grunt though..

Looks pretty aggresise and it should be expensive considering how much the current Volvo’s cost..as eeeriz and p.ho said,i hope the tranny issue has been sorted with this ride..i too drove my buddy’s S60-T5 and the tranny was indeed slow to respond..but not it’s grunt-it wasted my modded 530i daily driver easily when me and my buddy had a small friendly traffic light drag..he was laughing all the way.Ass..

Then again,i strongly believe that they would sorted this small issue with this ride by now.

Cheers.

• ms.escort on Apr 28, 2011 at 3:36 pm

damm , how could a chinese owned car munufacturer selling at german rival price ? ridiculous , simply make no sense at all .

• Faddd on May 02, 2011 at 10:08 pm

You don’t make sense at all, what’s with the Chinese own company? so what? who gives a damn? For all we care, it’s still a Volvo, design and built in Sweden, the performance is super, the Safety is world class, why do you want to look up to German cars so much? Volvos are awesome then and still are today..!

• Volvo supporter on Aug 14, 2012 at 9:41 pm

Danny, what is the price for this car?