Proton Tuah (Persona R) prototype spied again in KL

This production sedan based on the Proton Tuah Concept was spied somewhere in KL by reader Quintus. He didn’t say where it was snapped but looking at the building in the background it looks like Berjaya Times Square.

This production Proton Tuah, also sometimes called the Persona R Replacement still has a lot of disguise on it – we can’t even see what kind of tail lamps it has as some decoy lenses similar to what we usually see on BMW prototypes (before they reverted to using psychedelic stickers) have been used as part of the disguise.

But perhaps there’s not to much guesswork to be done since we’ve seen the concept version of the car – it might not be very far off. Look after the jump for a collection of Proton Tuah Concept photos as well as previous spyshots.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2055]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1754]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1755]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Francis on May 03, 2011 at 5:53 pm

1st. Wow that is on fine design !

• beyotch. on May 03, 2011 at 6:30 pm

Look like a Chevrolet Cruze.

• littlefire on May 03, 2011 at 7:57 pm

Sorry to say.. a bit like Kia Forte…

• jl@ipl on May 04, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Kia Forte? No way……………….

• Ir. akops on Oct 18, 2011 at 3:58 pm

hey bro… are u engineer??? hehehe..
          in mechanical engineering we call it reverse and concurrent engineering…
          go back home and study bout it more….

• Han!h on May 04, 2011 at 2:19 pm

Chevrolet Cruze?…so No…sorry…haha

• I saw this disguised vehicle drive down Genting last Friday lunchtime. It was followed by a maroon exora with a disguised lower half doing testing as well.

• the maroon exora on troubleshooting process.

• caseyc on May 03, 2011 at 9:52 pm

This one is from Lancer, not Tuah as rumoured.
        Please observe this car door and the Lancer door on the A pillar and C pillar

Haiii yaaa

• patron on May 03, 2011 at 10:57 pm

lain je aku tgk…

• Ronaldo on May 04, 2011 at 10:05 am

The car look different bumper design is different too especially the rear bumper is much higher n uglier. looks shorter too and junk

• stutong on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:28 am

ntah….merapu je mamat bengap kat atas tu….if it is lancer…so what…?? just like Ford Ranger and Mazda Fighter BT50….why nobody asking that….?? MORON!!

• The Dentist on May 04, 2011 at 1:05 am

i used to come out with the opinion like u r giving now. but looking at the pict this time a round, i think it is Persona R…

• squawk on May 03, 2011 at 11:01 pm

I saw an Exora go up and down Genting also. Looked like there was an intercooler vent on the side of the front bumper.

• jemikboiler on May 10, 2011 at 4:14 pm

just waiting for lounching

• ugly

• nabill on May 03, 2011 at 5:59 pm

looks more like a hatchback rather than a sedan…like a ford focus size…

• vw_fan on May 03, 2011 at 6:00 pm

I wonder which segment this model fits in? If its a direct persona replacement it will be an attractive model. The R denotes performance?

• jebat on May 03, 2011 at 6:02 pm

hope interior improved too

• The Presiden on May 07, 2011 at 12:24 am

Interior improve, price surely up to 70k-80k.. Proton ma.. Mitsubishi lancer at Japan just RM40k with Mivec engine.. Proton always cekik darah.. Tp xuntung2..

• jengong on May 03, 2011 at 6:02 pm

still not interested to this model.. no wow factor

• Protong for life on May 03, 2011 at 6:03 pm

No need to disguise, eventually it will be just another junk by Protong. Well, anyway, Protong might give a lifetime warranty for all the parts for this car perhaps and the buyers can start calling Protong SC 2nd home whereby every months or even weeks, “unlucky” buyers will stop by to fix their parts. Buyers can even set up tent in the SC to stay there.

• I just saw a black persona WUP plate with an embarassed owner because his alarm module encountered a problem, which results in the horn being blared every second.

better, undoubtedly? hmmm…

• Protong for life on May 03, 2011 at 7:23 pm

Btw, I think I can figure out what the “R” stand for ( at least in my term :P). if you see the nickname which is Protong and once you take out the R, voila, it become Potong as in Kereta potong. This is indeed a clever disguise in order to cheat the rakyat money, the R is just to make sure rakyat does not notice that the actual code name is kereta potong, … be warned, do not be cheated….

• i went to perodua sc once every week, the sc is near the office.

• john die on May 03, 2011 at 9:21 pm

did the person above says perodua is gd??did he compare protong with perodua..???blind defender la lu

• happyone on May 03, 2011 at 6:04 pm

hope it unmask now haha :P

• Come on lah ! How many round we still have to recycle Gen 2 Body :-(

• this is not based on gen2 platform
      persona r uses exora platform

• jtiongwl78 on May 07, 2011 at 9:50 am

They are proud that Gen 2 is their produce. It is actually shall be known as degraded genetic reproduction.

• Presiden Obama on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:02 am

You kutuk2 kelete ploton mcm smph mcm lu suda kaya mau angkat kelete mahal2…..ap la…kalo mau kete luar malaysia…lu duduk sna la..ap olang malaysia kutuk kete malaysia sendili….tala smgt patliotik langsung….

• ooi jun hong on May 03, 2011 at 6:06 pm

The side reminds me Audi A6 C6

• ooi jun hong on May 03, 2011 at 6:06 pm

The side reminds me Audi A6 C6

• tommyali on May 03, 2011 at 6:06 pm

2011 satria neo cusco for japan rally. nice anime sticker there

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3VV1INAJRUo&w=250

• wah, now can embed videos already? ala jalopnik comment boxes?

our replies now can also attach pictures hah?

• patron on May 03, 2011 at 11:11 pm

japs likes proton, bt some malaysianS?? say protong lah, kreta potong lah… proton is on its step to improve kan? biar lah dia. tak payah nk kondem2 je, ape salah bagi support??

• patron on May 03, 2011 at 11:12 pm

thanks to tommyali for posting this vid here…

• somesay on May 04, 2011 at 2:55 am

tak lama lagi, gambar anime tu akan jadi trend among Satria Neo owners.

• eimsperfume on May 03, 2011 at 6:08 pm

erm..sumtime i doubt persona r is based on tuah concept… :-|

• SparC on May 03, 2011 at 6:16 pm

The car really looks good from side view…I think the size like Mazda 3

• agree.. the pillars, size n door shape exactly look like my mazda3 sedan.

• Ya..looked like MAzda 3 sedan, but is the previous old model (7-8yrs), not the existing nice design….P1 go backward.

• shawal on May 03, 2011 at 6:17 pm

I’m one of the many (or few) that has high hopes for this car , c’mon proton, chop chop! make it or break it!

• Jebat on May 03, 2011 at 6:18 pm

Hmm…that’s why they have lots of advertisement so to stock clear Persona.

• Elarejim on May 03, 2011 at 6:20 pm

Nice proton..but all the same not the best design especially on the side and front looked so plane must be proton were using cheap metal for the bodywork..

• hm…finally,a vy good looking sedan from P1….well done…

• engdau on May 03, 2011 at 6:21 pm

From the design of its rear passenger doors, it looks similarly to Mazda 3 (previous generation 2007 till 2009). The rear boot also looks like Mazda 3’s.

• Matchy on May 03, 2011 at 6:23 pm

The back is a bit too Gen2-like. (Which IMHO is bad) Probably due to the heavy disguise.

• pomen_gtr on May 03, 2011 at 6:24 pm

5lug wheel nut…..big chance using same knucle from Exora…..

and most probably using chasis platform from Exora

BUT…

its just my wild-guess

• R= replacement

• James Adra on May 03, 2011 at 6:40 pm

Guys be realistic Persona next generation never ever beat Ford Fiesta in term of exterior and performance. So I think this another failed Proton car.

• Protong for life on May 03, 2011 at 7:25 pm

hmm, even I am bashing Protong but I don’t support Fiesta either..at least not the thailand made Fiesta…its quality is lousy and deserve to be in the same category as Protong.. ah lian and ah pek’s car

• MoFaz on May 03, 2011 at 8:33 pm

for you, maybe vios is the best quality car, made in thailand also…

• Vios made in Malaysia la. Mana lu dapat info made in Thailand?

• Ash Menon on May 03, 2011 at 10:15 pm

I just checked the Vios wiki page. Assembled in Thailand. In Chachoengsao, to be precise.

• Paul Tan on May 03, 2011 at 10:19 pm

Check Wiki? Come on lah bro! :)

Our local Vios is assembled here in Malaysia. In fact some of the body panels are stamped locally. Not just assembled here. Camry comes from Thailand.

• Holly Fish on May 03, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Failed.

• huiyoo on May 03, 2011 at 10:48 pm

hahahaha

• comrade on May 03, 2011 at 10:54 pm

as long as it’s in wiki , it’s 100% accurate??… read more plzz…

• patron on May 03, 2011 at 11:25 pm

vios stamped here? BUATAN MALAYSIA lah tu…. LOCAL CAR ALSO… tapi bangga pakai vios xingat dunia…

• I think he’s being sarcastic. Well, just for those who obviously don’t know much about this car business….

If you wanna see whether made in Malaysia or in Thailand you just need to check out your friend’s/relative’s Vios or go to the nearest Toyota showroom. See their chassis number: vehicles assembled in Malaysia starts with a PN…while vehicles assembled in Thailand starts with an MR.

Just thought I’d enlighten a poor soul before they start talking a lot about the industry but knows jack-s#@t.

• By the way, Vios is assembled in Selangor, Shah Alam to be precise. Name of company? Assembly Services Sdn Bhd (ASSB). This one no need check in Wiki, trust me on this one. LOL.

• HirumaKecil on May 04, 2011 at 9:23 am

No doubt that the best Toyota that assemble in Malaysia is Hiace…

And, Vios from Malaysia, but still overprice…. Still wanna bash the gov?

• anonymous on May 03, 2011 at 6:49 pm

it looks like a mums car, go to hell proton.. a totally differnt design from proton tuah.. still fucking hard to just produce the damn good design of the prototype.. really sucks though, the best thing to describe this car is a gen 2 with a inspra bodykit.. totally lame design, ugly high bumper with .. cheap metal look plastic grilled on the front, just some headlights change.. as usual proton will be proton, the same it will be for the next 100 years.. nothing change.. why the hell they still produce a car they call it sedan when it look like a hatchback.. expecting a big car size like the new hyundai sonata.. LAME proton LAME

• good1 on May 03, 2011 at 7:38 pm

i think u suck than this car

• Well, we don’t really know if the design is totally different from Proton Tuah. It is common in any carmaker that the production design is slightly different from the concept design. In addition to that, I think it is a sedan. The body proportion is similar to the new S60 (which is a sedan) If you follow Proton’s breakthrough, there are some significant changes. For example, Proton will introduce turbocharged engine soon. It is not wise to call proton lame. They are trying hard now :)

• alfie60 on May 03, 2011 at 9:07 pm

Right on bro.Not only it looks like a mums car,i am sure the quality and spec is also shitty!

Proton is like a person who is suffering from ‘BODY ODOUR’ and when people avoid them,they think the design of the shirt that is turning people off not their body smell!!

Just because we are Malaysian and Proton is Malaysian,they think we are unpatriotic to comment on their shitty quality.

The greatest unjust they are doing to Malaysian are churning out shitty quality car(power window excluded) and making us pay exobitant price for it shitty car.

• the_fighter on May 03, 2011 at 11:48 pm

no one force u to buy this car..grow up la …dont be so emotional ..ur comment just remind me a little boy who lost his/her parent at supermarket ..

• TerBaboo on May 04, 2011 at 9:14 am

hey kid!..look at the time…you’re late for school!!..

• patron on May 03, 2011 at 11:27 pm

if u want design like sonata, go buy sonata lah!! no need to bark here n there…

• oh ya ke on May 03, 2011 at 11:37 pm

u so pro huh… go apply be chief designer la… looking forward to see the pieces of art u come out with

• anonymous on May 04, 2011 at 7:58 pm

hey guys, for your information.. i work for bmw in bavaria german.. just finish my studies and offered a lifetime job with the jermans carmaker.. stop commenting shit about me u fools

• good for you and i work at ferrari designing their new car. anybody can say shit here lol…

• Wisdom on May 09, 2011 at 1:30 am

I work in VW.
            Guys lets all declare our job. Haha.

• fique d on Jul 17, 2011 at 12:40 am

heehehe good for u bro… since ur car scientist now… pls give ur carthingy comment… not just shitty stuff…. ohh late for work.. by the way im unpaid proton persona qc… the car still survive for almost 4 yrs harsh daily driving . 120km evry day.

• Deepbluesomething on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:29 pm

I work as a sales person at one of top 5 proton dealers…

Ok jeee……..guys, google la wiki tu sampai lebam, how many years bmw ke, vw ke, toyota ke or honda ke, just notice that how many years they r in the market….so what, we r still new…..we have to start as beginner la….this r a multi trilion $$$$$ business….takes time…and u wanna compete with an ‘old timer’ , memang la tak boleh….pelan2, like somebody said, if u can afford to buy bmw, merc, toyota, honda and bla bla bla model, just buy with ur guaran-fucking-teeeeee car model….hahaha

Kalau nak comments, kasi yg positive…not negetive….apa raaaaaaaaaa…..

• If they can make totall 100% the same with the white one, their sale sure go up A LOT! but now… Haih… hope its a good car. They really cant make it like the one they showed eh.. exhaust, rear lamp, all so sexy..

• Some might complain the front looks like a Volkswagen Passat.
    But hey, will you complain if you look like Brad Pitt? #just saying.. :D

• opppsss.. just found out the Inspira looks like Lancer… I want to complain to Proton… why you make your car looks like Lancer?….

• wow, you’re so smart. You’re probably the smartest kid with down syndrome. :D

• congratulations, you’ve gotta be the smartest guy with down syndrome. ;)

• Will somebody do the honors to explain to him why? This topic has been going on and on around and this guy never seem to learn. like they say. “Smart Guys Get It”.Obviously he’s not.

• Gavin on May 03, 2011 at 7:11 pm

Cool design needs a good engine though, a diesel would be grat but no hybrid please

• p1-p2 on May 03, 2011 at 7:38 pm

proton dh tak dapat adjust lg cantik dari model tuah tu ke?

• paparazi on May 03, 2011 at 7:43 pm

can’t really believe their technology and not even like their design….
    if to talk about their quality is totally out of topic la.

• manoq on May 03, 2011 at 7:47 pm

If you don’t like proton, it’s ok, but please keep the bad adjectives to your own family…. sister or even your mother. Please don’t try to influence people thinking that only your opinion and taste matter, and others don’t. Get a life.

• Jared Green on May 03, 2011 at 8:13 pm

That’s more like it Proton – Show em what you can do!

• akupunya on May 03, 2011 at 8:43 pm

ala..sampai bila Proton nk jaja keta ni utk spyshot..
    design tak la hebat mana pun…iklan je lebih..
    dah nak basi tgk spyshot yg org panggil persona R ni..
    nk kuar bulan 2 thn depan…kecoh tah apa2 konon2 testing..
    macam la elok sgt

• patron on May 03, 2011 at 11:19 pm

hang kalut apa? design hang elok sangat ka??

• bongek on May 04, 2011 at 12:09 pm

proton tak kecoh pun…. diorg wat keje test pun ko nak bising ke? takkan nak kuar product macam tu jek,,kang kalu rosak kang ko bising gak….. kalu dah test, esok kalu rosak gak, at least diorg ada data dah collect nak further study…… alaa..senang cakap protong buat mcam mana baik pon,,ko mmg tak puashati kan?

• akupunya on May 04, 2011 at 1:03 pm

dah design tak elok..cam na nk mengaku elok..
        ini gen2 botox..
        elok kodname letak persona Facelift ja cam saga fl tu..
        public pun tk expect lebih…
        kesian kat malaysian…pulun baca. ambik gambar, spyshot sana sini..
        bila launch…BORINGGG….apa yg beza? lampu ja…akakakaka

• apalah ko marah sgt ngan proton..proud to be malaysia..sekurang2nya proton buildup a own design n engine..ade negara asia lain yg bole buat..anak2 melayu maa..compare quality ngan perodua..now proton much better..aku ada saga blm n viva..punye la teruk viva bini aku..cam tin kosong..cam masalah ngan engin keta..bile antar warranty..senang jer perodua ckp..mmg design dia cam tu..cannot soft..FYI now we reliase..only proton is a national car..perodua ni xde apa..copy paste jer..bile jepun tsunami..dan panik .coz all a major part is from japan..apa yg perodua ada..enginner perdua cuma tukang pasang screw jer..idup proton

• stutong on Oct 14, 2011 at 6:33 pm

dalam dunia ni….ada 10 negara pembuat kereta….Malaysia ditangga yg ke-10….tp berbangga lah sebab dalam kesemua negara tersebut….cuma Malaysia saja negara yg membangun….yg lain semua negara maju….aku ni staff proton…kalau korang x suka dgn design proton ni…beli la kereta lain yg korang mampu….senang je kan….x yah nak susah2 komen sana sini…..

• x ke patut hang marah kat mamat yg amik picture ni kalo die x amik xde la spyshot..n hang marah la skali kat writer article ni sapa suruh letak kat paultan…sbb hang xskew

• orion on May 03, 2011 at 9:14 pm

This is nice yo… to those who bash proton, pls la… if you got money y u still wanna look at proton… go buy ur toyota, BMW and merc la…

• 5 screw like current Japanese cars and most Conti. BUT, Proton terribly need decent engine as Proton’s engine not economical enough for AT especially.

• blabla on May 04, 2011 at 12:39 am

don’t worry, in very near future, P1 will introduce phoenix (improved IAFM) and new family Y engine..
      i got this info from P1 designer when i pay a visit to p1 tnjung malim last month.

• Fast5 on May 04, 2011 at 8:28 am

yaya.. in the near future, besides the phoenix, there are Professor Xavier, Cyclops, Wolverine abd blablabla…

• LE_buruk on May 03, 2011 at 9:25 pm

yes…please come out next year….please put a reasonable price tag….need to buy new car for my wife….

• Rakyat Biasa on May 03, 2011 at 9:35 pm

come on proton.. jgn kecewakan kami.. i know u can do it!!

• kataksedih on May 03, 2011 at 9:45 pm

Proton hauT – refer 2nd picture

• bebek on May 04, 2011 at 8:23 am

i think it’s a mirror image. can be done in any graphic software e.g photoshop :)

• Honestly, I would love to give THIS proton a shot. Although I’ve been telling my friends and families “never another Proton”, I would happily return my stoopid Saga BLM to Proton for a better-designed “Tuah”. Proton just needs to move their QC up a notch, and it’s never too late to start now. If priced “competitively” it would definitely swing buyers back to Proton. Come on Proton, 1.6L for this thing with an upgraded Campro + IAFM system would make this a looker AND a sipper!

• Another disaster like the Proton Gen 2 .

The coupe C pillar design once again reiterated .

Coupe C pillar design again will lead to

1) Lack rear headroom for tall passengers

2) NEED to lower the rear seat just to cater for rear passenger headroom causing lack of comfortable HIP height that will cause tireness to passenger back posture over a long journey .

Way to save this disaster

1) try to increase to the rear passenger headroom by NOT HAVING TOO RAKISH OR TOO COUPE C PILLAR DESIGN ( meaning more upright C pillar design ) then only this proton can sell otherwise do not hope further

Proton designers engaging european designers please wake up for once.

• why not u become their designer..looks like u have so many idea~lol

• rallyfan00 on May 04, 2011 at 8:16 am

hey alan, im just curious how you can speculate in such a way when you dont even know the actual proportions or size of the car. only a brave man will speculate on something he has no other information on. im certainly not brave enough to do so…

i’ll just say “darn hard to actually tell whats the car looks like exactly, coz the camo is pretty heavy.”

they even stick bits of stuff on the rear boot and c pillar. but generally, im ‘ok’ with the design.. reminds me of the mazda 3’s overall shape.

• farghmee on May 04, 2011 at 9:39 am

hm..these are gen2 presumed “problems”?
      has persona encountered with these also?

• Holly Fish on May 03, 2011 at 10:21 pm

I’m a Honda owner but I’m always a supporter of Proton.

• HirumaKecil on May 04, 2011 at 9:32 am

I’m Puegeot owner and always obsess with Peugeot… But I always respect Proton and very proud with Proton…

• i do like ferrari(not own 1) yot…but i do support proton(i own 1)….i hate them in F1 though..im TL fan..kipas susah mati ferrari but i dont like monkey aka alonso…

• fornette on May 03, 2011 at 10:23 pm

woi no need to condemn the design la.. u may like honda, toyota or even Ssyangyong better but surely they’re not to everyone else’s liking.. pening la with these kind of people. Btw, i dont own any proton but i’d love them to be competitive amongst major player..

• almostthere on May 03, 2011 at 10:36 pm

wow…..someone’s a real car design expert…can be better then the guy who designed the MK 1 Golf, Miura, BMW M1, Lotus Espirit, and many more…awesome

• P1tak boleh pakai on May 03, 2011 at 10:40 pm

Proton Tuah with Campro 1.6 again ??
    Pls lah this engine spec sucks big time and should be retired.
    What happened to the proposed JV with Nissan which was
    supposed to be completed by end April ?
    Why the silence ?
    Saw a Inspira at showroom , tried to open
    back door and it had a “kreeeeK” sound ,
    salesman just smiled and was “speechless”!!
    Bravo !!

• Rusli on May 03, 2011 at 10:53 pm

BMW pun bunyi…..tu pun pelik ke.

• patron on May 03, 2011 at 11:15 pm

bro rusli, maybe kereta dier xde bunyik kot. sebab DIER TAKDE KERETA PON!!!

• squawk on May 03, 2011 at 11:05 pm

It should be at least the Campro CPS on this.

• squawk on May 05, 2011 at 8:53 pm

I guess there are 6 people who want nothing more than a non-CPS Campro? :-P

• alfie60 on May 03, 2011 at 11:07 pm

There is a saying ‘ if its not broken dont fix it’ and its true for Proton. Every good japanese car given to them to produce,after Proton localise the parts to their vendors here the car end up as a shitty car.

• the saying belongs to Apple for their products. so, takde kaitan dengan kereta. sekian.

• i think u the same guy who say test drive neo and neo has prob with p.window in other article rite ur comment seem similar….i think u either lied or just plain unlucky…i think if u go to BMW dealer they will throw u away since u very unlucky..the car u try will has same fate as protons n heboh2 in paultan

• Rusli on May 03, 2011 at 10:51 pm

They need at least one year time for the endurance test in order to ensure that their car can stand for 200 years.

It is not easy to make a new car oh.

• Good..Let’s wait what happen to the design

• BadBET on May 04, 2011 at 12:19 am

I never know that we had so many fortune teller here in Paultan. Just from a glance at the spy shot, they already know most everything about the Persona R.

• alfie60 on May 04, 2011 at 1:09 am

Not fortune teller but rather historians. 27 years for carrying a national burden we dont forget easily.

When we first started we rebadge the Lancer and after hype of the home grown model sarvy with the most fuel efficient engine by THE MALAYSIAN BOOKS OF RECORDS with the TUV garranttee still nobody BUY. Now 2011 after 27 years the INSPIRA

• alfie60 on May 04, 2011 at 1:26 am

Not fortune tellers but historian who never forget. When Proton announce we are going to make our own car it was a rebadge Lancer.

After the much hype of the Sarvy as the most fuel efficient engine by THE MALAYSIAN BOOK OF RECORD and TUV guarranttee(by Tengku Mahaleel but not lifetime warranty) still nobody bought the cars.

Now 2011 and 27 years in business Proton has another inspiration and that is to go back to rebadge the INSPIRA.and now throw a life time warrantty for the power window.

History repeats its to those who dont remember!

Anyway does anyone knows who the f@#k is this company call ‘Frost & Sullivan’ that is endorsing shitty Proton cars???

• autojohndoe on May 04, 2011 at 9:02 am

by analogy of being a historian…

then i believe, the Germans are still Nazis who wants to attack Polish…

• tiadaid on May 04, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Frost & Sullivan, founded in 1961, has more than 40 global offices with more than 1,800 industry consultants, market research analysts, technology analysts and economists. Our mission is to research and analyze new market opportunities for corporate growth. We are the world leader in growth consulting and the integrated areas of technology research, market research, economic research, corporate best practices, training, customer research, competitive intelligence, and corporate strategy.

Amazing what a few seconds of using Google can do.

• alfie60 on May 04, 2011 at 7:17 pm

“Our mission is to research and analyze new market……”,the fact that the Proton Saga got the Frost & Sullivan award and still couldnt sell much cars tell you something is not right. Why isnt other people all over the world rushing to buy it.

Under Tengku Mahaleel he got the TUV people to hoodwink and lie to the public for him to say the car is good.

Under Syed Zainal he got Frost & sullivan people to hoodwink and lie to the public for him to say the car is good. DEJA VU

I wonder how much spend to F&S to do the shitty technology research,shitty market research.shitty economic research,shitty corporate best practices,shitty training,shitty customer research,shitty competitive intelligence,and shitty corporate strategy. Obviously some got paid piles of money to do this shitty project.

Its like hiring a fashion consultant to solve your “BODY ODOUR” problem and hope their can recommend a new shirt design so people dont avoid. Bodoh punya kerja.

If we the rakyat dont put a stop to this,I can assure you its a matter of time the Proton CEO blame the service station that we pump our ‘air’ into our tires is to be blame for Proton handling. ;-)

• Wisdom on May 09, 2011 at 1:52 am

Come on alfie. Im tired with your comments.

I believe u are Malaysian. Telling these kinda stories on the net wouldn even help to promote our product. If a foreigner interested on a proton model, surf the net for info and ended up reading your comment, 1 prospect buyer down the drain…

And u will continue comment proton sucks on export market…

Regret to have fellow countrymen like u…..

Even you have bad history with proton, even if u hate it, please keep it to urself coz we all know and aware that proton is indeed improving.

• stutong on Oct 17, 2011 at 11:45 am

go find a new sedan car price under RM45k……proton saga is only 1 of them….if you want better car….go buy camry or civic type R……( kalau mampu la…hehehe)

• BadBET on May 04, 2011 at 8:42 am

Historian? Most people are satisfied with proton in the early days, only when they start cutting cost to feed their kroni vendor, thats the point where they taint their reputation.
      It amuse me when people criticizing the Inspira, heck, even the mighty nissan can do rebadging, even the awesome Audi R8 is based on Lamborghini Gallardo. That is the way car maker doing bussiness now days. What is the big issues with Inspira? you are reading the article (read: new proton in testing) and still acting like all proton line up is only Inspira?
      Historian? no sir you are not. But I agree that Proton need to improve their QC.

• Nizam80 on May 04, 2011 at 11:21 am

“It amuse me when people criticizing the Inspira…”

Butt hurt lancer owners maybe. :D

• R stands for ROJAK!

• James Adra on May 04, 2011 at 5:17 am

R=Rasuah

Either way Fiesta far worthy than this Proton Persona car. Fiesta The Best!

• autojohndoe on May 04, 2011 at 2:36 pm

you already buy fiesta?

it is common for a person to criticize others, because of self satisfaction… nothing more, nothing less…

• TFazuin on May 04, 2011 at 4:36 pm

Sorry la, I wont touch the Fiesta, its a girl’s car. A man’s car is a Focus Hatch. Preferably a manual or a TDCi unit.

• ong chin aun on May 04, 2011 at 9:31 am

Well, It seem quite nice the look. Howevcer, there is still room for improvement. Maybe the front grill redesign make it more catching with smile . Also, the back booth does not look sporty like Dollna duck tail. Also how is the interior ? , No mention of C.C. and transmission . Hope with option of either auto and manual with all stardards like ABS,EDB. All other luxury can be omitted like too many air begs, required 2 airbegs enough. Radio CD With usb ok with 4 L/speakers

• Tengokje.. on May 04, 2011 at 9:58 am

Hope P1 will success in their upcoming replacement model.

Salam…

• Melow on May 04, 2011 at 10:59 am

Looks good!

• Melow on May 04, 2011 at 10:59 am

Looks promising!

• yahoo on May 04, 2011 at 1:24 pm

typo error paul?

persona R replacement? a replacement for a replacement? it just persona R (replacement) only la paul…aduhyai… (u type so fast i think)

• Which company can produce a best value money of car then i will buy it. I sure will give Proton a chance if they can produce a nice car that meet my requirement. I’m a rational & open minded with car. Why not we wait until the final product out then only we justify it. Everyone of us have a history right, having a bad history doesn’t mean it will fail. Only the will of change will decide it faith. What can i say is be rational & open minded my friends, just wait & see ……. la

• cleaner skolah on May 04, 2011 at 4:15 pm

best value for money ONLY for oversea market…for local market…sure we will get worst value for money car…SUPER entry level car with 9 years loan

• well if u has money 1yr loan is oso can less interest..y the hell u choose 9yrs loan for?

• If Persona Saudi Arabia RM35K then Proton Tuah price Saudi Arabia est. RM41,577.68

Proton Tuah…”Takkan Proton Hilang Di Dunia?” / “Pastikan Proton Hilang Di Dunia!”

• autojohndoe on May 04, 2011 at 4:50 pm

wow…

so, after proton gone… what you get?

still expensive car… because perodua and naza still around…

• Sonic Boomz on May 04, 2011 at 3:55 pm

looks like a piece of turd

• R = GTR?omg…

• driver: watch out for the bump
    back passenger : OUCh!

too bad campro is in the engine bay,

• Whatever it is, I wish this all new Proton model should at least comply with the following specification:

1) New aluminium engine c/w V V T technology & new 5 speed AT gearbox.
    2) Total kerb weight less than 1250kg.
    3) Comply to Euro NCAP standard.
    4) Equipped with ABS, EBD, BA & airbag.

I believe the above requirements are much more important than Proton’s recent commitment to provide life time warranty for its power window system.

• Norman on May 06, 2011 at 11:09 am

More like GEN2 replacement

• makeitmine on May 06, 2011 at 2:23 pm

Why can’t Proton just simply improve the present Persona by adding 267 Degree Street Performance High Cam Shaft (1 Pair) & T7 Aluminum Billet Cam Pulley (1 Pair) for Campro Engine? I heard this will improve Horse Power: 30 – 40hp, average Dyno HP: 165 – 171bhp, and improve pickup toque: 30%.

• jtiongwl78 on May 07, 2011 at 9:47 am

If they can comply with this, they can urge the G to open up the car market for Malaysia, and prepare to take the challenge and face it. I believe till then NAP will be null and void..

• Wisdom on May 09, 2011 at 2:00 am

Two problem for typical NA engine to make use of your proposal.

1. Higher output = low reliability
      2. Higher HP = lower torque

• diy traveller on May 11, 2011 at 12:07 pm

New Proton model should be CHEAP and below competitive price..
    And comply with the following specification:
    1) New aluminium engine c/w V V T technology & new 5 speed AT gearbox.
    2) Total kerb weight less than 1250kg.
    3) Comply to Euro NCAP standard.
    4) Equipped with ABS, EBD, BA & airbag.

Is it too sarcastic? Cmon, be real… If not, go buy Hyundai, heheh…

• azuan on Jul 01, 2011 at 11:42 pm

cantik proton ni

• azuan on Jul 01, 2011 at 11:43 pm

look like naza car,,,

• i think the concept cars more nice…than the real model…why they did not retain the original form…

• Helo Proton on Oct 06, 2011 at 11:28 am

Helooo..Its still not in the production yet..The spy shot also not showing the exact feature of the model. I already saw the complete trial unit. For me, its improve a lot, the dashboard, the design. Just wait it to be launch. If U want it U can buy it, if U don’t want. then up to U to buy other car. Anyway its your money..

• stutong on Oct 17, 2011 at 11:53 am

i agree with him….hehehe…..if you dun want…just shut up and buy a car that you want and satisfied….

• Kitolo on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:58 pm

for the first time i see proton improving in their design.. thumbs up.

• Jo_N9er on Dec 03, 2011 at 11:02 am

if its the black one captured by your spies…i think its bloody rubbish! I cant believe this is the best that proton can come up with after nearly 3 decades of so-called car manufacturing experience. Its more like recycling experience, ‘kebas’ somebody else idea and put a proton badge on it. I’m soooo NOT impressed! Try harder Proton

• malaysian on Dec 03, 2011 at 11:54 am

Proton Tuah exterior design was more attractive isn’t? hehe any plan to make it a production car? :-)

Hmm.. but spy shoot image a bit different.. Anyway, cheer up Proton..