White Peugeot RCZ snapped on trailer in Putrajaya

Malaysian Peugeot distributor Nasim is gearing up to launch their latest model the Peugeot RCZ at the Bangsar Shopping Center this week (May 20-22) and reader Shahrul Hamdan has spotted it prior to the launch.

This white unit with black wheels will most probably make its way to the BSC display. I wonder if this one has a manual or an automatic transmission. Nasim has announce pre-launch that both a manual and an automatic transmission will be made available.

The auto transmission is paired with a 1.6 litre turbocharged PSA-BMW Prince engine making 156hp and 240Nm, a similar tune to that found in the Peugeot 308.

The manual version is mated to a more powerful version, making 200 horses and 275Nm of torque. You can click on the images above for hi-res versions.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• binko on May 15, 2011 at 7:33 pm

flat?..no bubble roof?

• sagatron on May 15, 2011 at 7:39 pm

how much??

• vw_fan on May 15, 2011 at 9:28 pm

not sure why ppl thumb u down but the bubble roof is not very clear from the side shot. i think its clearest when we view from the back.

• If you check paultan facebook, then you will see bubble

• Malaysia
      Harga Petrol : RM 2.90
      Malaysia pengeluar ke-27 di dunia.

Qatar
      ……Harga Petrol : RM 0.75
      Qatar pengeluar ke-22 di dunia.

Oman
      Harga Petrol : RM1.00
      Oman pengeluar ke-28 di dunia.

Egypt @ Mesir
      Harga Petrol : RM 1.06
      Egypt pengeluar ke-29 di dunia.

Iran
      Harga Petrol : RM 0.35
      Iran pengeluar ke-8 di dunia..

=__________=’

• wonder how much will it be? hope it will be around RM 130k for the 156hp

• vince on May 15, 2011 at 10:55 pm

i think 156hp auto around 180k

• looking-good on May 16, 2011 at 2:20 pm

I know NASIM selling PUG cheap, but it not cheap as 130k for 2 door coupe ok?
      dun simply said…

• do you know the meaning of ‘ hope’? pls read carefully no noob!

• nice to hope for a replacement of a cheap sports car like the putra, the citroen zx, the tx3, the escort sport but i think your hopes could be dashed soon.

i also hope that someone makes a replacement boy racer that everybody can afford but from the looks of it, there’s not going to be anything remotely interesting below rm100k. to fulfill it, the car has to have 2 doors, coupe shape is my choice over hatch, powerful enough (120bhp – 140bhp will be good enough depending on weight and size), tunable, and most important in his segment, good looks. the worst thing is, the car company that builds such a car (low price, good performance, looks good) will not sell many… and that’s why this will only be a dream for the masses while those with deeper pockets will have their pick of toys out there.

• kevin lee on May 15, 2011 at 7:39 pm

cant wait for this

• azlan on May 15, 2011 at 7:45 pm

From the photo it looks flat :|

• S#$%^&*!!!

hensem nak mam;pos

• niceone on May 15, 2011 at 8:04 pm

This machine is a beauty!

• Naz@AE111 on May 15, 2011 at 8:09 pm

fuiyooo.. the RCZ its coming already ya.. 1.6 can produce 156hp n 200hp oooooo…

• Jimmy on May 15, 2011 at 8:11 pm

Price of Camry range will be good.

• harris murad on May 15, 2011 at 11:33 pm

let is be cheaper la if possible bro..
      hehehehehe:p
      my god isnt it beautiful…

• Renault Megane RS on May 15, 2011 at 8:14 pm

Fuhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh , beautiful !!! What a car!!!

• pedobear on May 15, 2011 at 8:39 pm

wow ~ look veli nice. i like it.
    maybe price around 160k? or more?

• anand on May 15, 2011 at 8:40 pm

if u cant affort lotus evora than this is the car, really like 2+1 type car, very sporty

• keemo on May 15, 2011 at 8:40 pm

ya la, no famous bubble ass shape roof

• Damn nice. Seriously want one.

• WOW, with black wheels, mirrors, gloss black front grille, and those aluminium top sills just like the ones from the Audi A1..ooohhhh soooo sexyyy!!! Please be priced below 200k!!!!!

• droll on May 15, 2011 at 8:44 pm

got bubble roof. just can’t see from that angle. not too bad. 1.6L 200bhp 0-100 in 7.5. not bad at all. a chip and some minor mods might bring it down to 6.9s.

• Murray Walker on May 15, 2011 at 9:03 pm

Will look better with white wheels

• any expectations on price?

• woah. irresistable white!!
    I want one so much

• Angrybirds on May 15, 2011 at 9:34 pm

Sexy car …

• Out of Luck on May 15, 2011 at 9:39 pm

You can only see the bubble roof if you view from the back of the car. Both photos above are from the side and front, so obviously you won’t be able to see it. I can’t believe how gorgeous she is in pearl white! Surely will turn a lot of heads when driven around. Although this car has plenty ‘Wow!’ factor, sadly it is not the car for those thinking of fetching more than 1 passenger because the cramped back seats almost useless.

• WOW!!! With those black wheels, mirrors, front grille, and those aluminium top pillars sills just like the Audi A1…ooohhhh soooo sexyyy!!! Please cost under 200k!!!

• How much.?!
    Car body like Audi tt

• walwauwei…sui sui…. terbaik… :)

• shawal on May 15, 2011 at 10:23 pm

A new and slightly affordable chic magnet , cuz the Z4 is blardy too expensive!

• Out of Luck on May 15, 2011 at 10:33 pm

Looks like everyone agreed that this is a damn gorgeous car! I read somewhere that the price will be close to RM200k but not too sure where. Nasim needs to price this car carefully because another beautiful car is coming as well…the Honda CR-Z. Finally affordable pseudo-race car for the masses! Huhu!

• Food_lover on May 15, 2011 at 10:40 pm

I went to test drive 308t yesterday @ shah alam.. Chit chat with the salesman.. 220k for auto and 250k for manual.. Dont know thru or not..

• ilovesmallcar on May 15, 2011 at 11:13 pm

156hp only, still not yet a sports car…

• anand on May 15, 2011 at 11:31 pm

cbu tax for passanger car below 1800cc is 95%,
    uk price from 19900pounds(rm98000) – 24900 pounds(rm122000)
    rm98k+95% = rm191k
    rm122k+95% = rm238k

• In uk selling 23k gbp, so in malaysia it should be around RM 230k

• alxand@ttdi_peugeot on May 16, 2011 at 12:12 am

beauty it is, no need speculate… price just let paul announce when time comes…

• 200 horsepower manual brings the price up to £24,500, or a 156hp auto will go for £23,300. That would mean a potential price difference of perhaps RM20k when converted to Malaysian ringgit, BEFORE taxes!

Peugeot RCZ UK prices announced!

http://paultan.org/2009/09/13/peugeot-rcz-uk-prices-announced/

—————————-

Malaysia Automotive Association (MAA)

DUTIES & TAXES ON MOTOR VEHICLES

A) Motor Cars (Including Station Wagons, Sports Cars and Racing Cars)

Engine
      Capacity (cc)

< 1,800 cc

http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm

Now we could do speculate – isn't it ???…

• Matrix on May 16, 2011 at 2:21 am

RCZ Manufacturer’s Recommended Retail Prices

http://www.peugeot.co.uk/Resources/Content/brochures/technical/peugeot-rcz-prices-and-specifications.pdf?model=rcz

peugeot uk

• kataksedih on May 16, 2011 at 12:15 am

badass, i hope i won’t get a Depollution sensor faulty warning message..

• helmi on May 16, 2011 at 12:35 am

Sadly I dont see steering audio button control and paddle shifter.

• alxand@ttdi_peugeot on May 16, 2011 at 7:20 am

all pug dun have steering audio ctrl button, they got 4 stick behind the wheel, signal + light, wiper, cruise ctrl n audio stick :)
      no paddle but still got gear stick/lever for u to play :)

• kenny on May 16, 2011 at 8:43 am

peugeot normally have their audio controls on the stalk on the right side of the steering wheel. it should be there.

• maserati on May 16, 2011 at 12:35 am

Awesome car!

200k for 1.6 and 240k for 2.0

• alxand@ttdi_peugeot on May 16, 2011 at 7:21 am

both r 1.6 prince engine as seen in 308,3008,5008 n soon 408 n 508, just diff tune n make the hp diff from 156 – 200hp :)

• asking too much for a kettle.

• There is no 2.0 only 1.6 in standard tune and sport tune to 200hp.
      Car is from France why need to quote UK pound?

France factory price to Nasim is not going to be the same as nett selling price of UK as well.

How it priced in Europe will not directly reflects the price over here, still depend of how bigger margin Nasim wish to squeeze Malaysian, example like VW squeezed Malaysian with the Scirrocco. As a smart customer, you decide whether you wish to pay so much for it.

• Mr. Kentang on May 16, 2011 at 11:31 am

No difference that apparent if refer Peugeot price in France or UK. The price is still same if currency value exchange in MYR figure..

Price differential merely dependent vehicle specification. Peugeot price in UK can be made as our guide basis to speculate.

Isn’t it ??

• Mr. Kentang on May 16, 2011 at 12:00 pm

There is no 2.0 only 1.6 in standard tune and sport tune to 200hp ???

I sense you should google:

2.0 HDi163 Manual

– see the results..

Perhaps for Malaysian market – this model will not be introduced, but certainly 2.0 engine (DIESEL) displacement capacity is exist for these model.

• Hello Mr Potato,

Both model came in here are 1.6, are you working for NASIM or you working so hard now to convince yourself in buying one this? and hope it will be cheaper than 150K?

From France is using Euro, otr road price in UK is with different tax structure in Pound. So, if you still don’t get it, please don’t patronise me. Don’t open your mouth makes people would think you are smart; talk more people know you are dumb.

• Mr. Kentang on May 16, 2011 at 11:06 pm

Hrmmmmmm wild guess… Why do you make such allegation towards me ?

Whereas you itself never know me personally.

By acting emotional like that – so you’ll hope to be seen intelligent by other visitors ??

Heheheheh…

What I have missed ??

I only said: Peugeot ‘basic price’ in UK can be made as our guide basis to speculate.

After getting that model base price, newly added with DUTIES & TAXES in Malaysia – Through that method we could assume the real cost to that vehicle in MALAYSIA.

Are you understand me or not ???

What’s wrong with that statement ????

If you’re really brilliant – prove that – with euro currency value compared with pounds – the basic price will be different if compared with MYR by neglect DUTIES & TAXES over here and there.

Just prove it…

No need to babbling..

• Fully support you! Why got such wild guest given such a rubbish comment ah?

• Too bad Peugeot brand doesn’t have the “Sporty” image.

RCZ is like a cost down copy version of Audi TT Coupe.

• HirumaKecil on May 16, 2011 at 5:19 pm

But peugeot reputation in motorsports cannot be deny… They win rally with 205… They also win 2 paris dakar with 405, win the pike peak also with 405… Then they conquered wrc with 206… now they are the fastest and the leading car in irc with 207.. not to forget the 908 in le mans… Not a sporty brand but familiar brand in podiums around the world for a long time… And they are still one of the great car maker… u drive one then u will know the diff with jap car…. Audi tt for sure a good car.. Audi always in a diff class with peugeot…

• Unforgiven on May 16, 2011 at 8:20 am

I like the white and black combination… black rims are awesome…

• mujahid on May 16, 2011 at 9:08 am

I see this car alive at Jalan Kapar behind Wisma Hai-O…. wonderful…

• bloodsucker on May 16, 2011 at 9:54 am

naza only bring 2 type…. 1.6 auto which 156hp and 1.6 manual 200hp wth VTL…price range around RM215k for auto and 230k for manual….booking rm1k to 5k and 10% deposit…monthly around RM2200 for 9 years….. that 2.0 diesel not sure when they will bring in…

• Fritz on May 16, 2011 at 9:56 am

Will be another overpriced car. Nice looking but if 2.0 selling 200+, I would get a Megane RS Cup..:p

• Henry on May 16, 2011 at 10:07 am

Obviously a car like this is not meant for boy racers. Therefore it’ll be priced as such.

• bloodsucker on May 16, 2011 at 10:18 am

yup me too..better get Megane RS250..but dunno this renault good resale value or not hehehe..btw i think this RCZ better for chicks esp…to datok2 who want to give present to his girlfrens…hehehe..better get Audi TTs…

• 200k+ is cheap enough to buy coz Peugeot r good cars!

• Pug are good cars, hahahahaha, good for its ‘sui kwan’ character.

• pug cars these days not hot tempered oredilah. very cool oredi. maybe your grandfather’s time they were a little short tempered lah ;)

• Vincent on May 16, 2011 at 10:31 am

215K? too high ler..

• go saga on May 16, 2011 at 10:36 am

nice! but not my pocket…..

• arrif86 on May 16, 2011 at 10:37 am

i also found this in port klang last few weeks~ awesome looking car~

• tyang on May 16, 2011 at 11:26 am

Nice but if more than RM150k then I’ll opt for Golf 1.4 instead :)

• kenny on May 16, 2011 at 12:50 pm

bro, go for the golf, this is definitely out of your price range.

• Paul ….. you have no idea on the indicaive pricing ? c’mon you are the car guru in Malaysia. Mana bleh tak tau ??

• Vincent on May 16, 2011 at 12:23 pm

I rather take RENAULT Megane RS 250 Cup … at RM220K

• laluan sehala on May 16, 2011 at 12:54 pm

different bias. megane optimised for track so for daily use could be a bit bumpy and may not be that easy to drive smoothly. rcz optimised for road use. well, if the megane takes your fancy, then go for it!

• Very nice. If the price was below 200K, still ok. But if the price was above 200K, i better choose VW Golf GTi. So NASIM, pls give nice pricing.

• if u think this car is not good enough to stand shoulder to shoulder with the golf in price, then perhaps the golf would be a better choice for you. real pug fans probably have a higher regard for the rcz.

• Chuck Jordan on May 16, 2011 at 3:46 pm

Yes I think you’d better go for the Golf if the RCZ is not good enough to pay more than a Golf’s price for.

• TIMOTHY DALTON on May 16, 2011 at 2:21 pm

looks like another audi design on malaysian road, obviously tt looks much better.

• SEAN CONNERY on May 16, 2011 at 3:24 pm

hmmm, looks are subjectivelah. some may say the rcz looks more aggressive and more modern than the tt, hence, better looking overall. there was a picture last 2 weekends ago in cbt where there was a tt and rcz in the same picture. it was a continental tyre article. can see both cars in action.

• ROGER MOORE on May 16, 2011 at 6:32 pm

Come to think of it, it does have a hint of the Cayman in it too. Not bad I’d say old chap.

• town of dreams on May 16, 2011 at 8:20 pm

no matter how sui this car also no use, better you spend time getting to know your mechanic and workshop, you are gonna spend a lot of time there.

• Nice machine..