Lada Granta – Europe’s cheapest car to debut end-2011

The title of Europe’s cheapest car will soon belong to the Lada Granta, which will make its debut sometime in late 2011. Built by Russia’s largest automaker, AvtoVAZ, the pricing could start as low as US$6,200, which would make it the cheapest car built in Europe.

The Granta, known internally as the VAZ 2190, will kick off things in sedan form, with plans for a hatchback and possibly even a wagon version to follow. The car, which is built on Lada’s Kalina platform, is anticipated to replace the latter as it goes along.

With an exterior designed by Ivan Lepeshkin and an interior done up by Valentina Novikova, the Granta has been brought up to 21st century standards. As AvtoVAZ president Igor Komarov puts it, the Granta “will be more safe, modern and comfortable than Kalina.” Three engine versions are planned, these being 80 hp, 90 hp and 98 hp variants.

The Granta will be built at the AvtoVAZ home plant in Tolyatti, and production of the older Lada models will be shifted to Izhevsk. The car has been designed domestic consumption, but AvtoVAZ bigwigs aren’t ruling out the possibility of exports to Western Europe. The car has already caught Renault’s attention – the French maker is keen on exploring development of its own version of the car, which would sit below the Logan range.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• They pow the front lights from proton saga.

• nolan on May 19, 2011 at 10:43 am

heheyy…SAGA look alike….

• Bob Tahar on May 19, 2011 at 10:44 am

SAGA BLM???

• Kumar san on May 19, 2011 at 10:47 am

Looks almost near indentical to our Proton Saga BLM.

Then again,it’s been sometime since i have seen any new products from LADA.The previous LADA that was running in Russia for donkey years was based on a Fiat 124 platform.

At least they are making strides to design and produce something new.

Cheers.

• howitzer on May 19, 2011 at 10:53 am

haha…even the europeans copy proton’s design..

• nazism on May 19, 2011 at 7:57 pm

Most Europeans don’t buy sedans, but Russians and Turkish can. Sedans are common in anywhere including Russia and Turkey, but very unpopular in Western Europe. The Lada Granta sedan can be a massive success in Russia and other Eastern European countries.

• sedan are common car almost anywhere dude…be spesific super compact sedan, compact sedan, midsize sedan, full size sedan

• RMTSM on May 19, 2011 at 11:01 pm

im sorry to say but your wrong the hatchback is the most sold catergory in Europe i know i live in Europe, i’ll be specific aswell the UK. you either buy a saloon yes i use the word saloon as i refuse to use a yank word, becuase your a bussiness man, tradesmen or its a cheaper alternative. take the vw jetta for example sells a few £ grand cheaper since there’s less demand for it, and i doubt those into top end luxury or performance saloons will go for a budget car. the whole big in ex soviet states and turkey proves my point cheap car so it sells in mass volume, most hte cars around in Turkey are the tofas a derivative of a lada that was based on a fiat 131

• 206+/207 sedan on May 21, 2011 at 11:47 am

Not super comapct sedan, but supermini sedan, which has been banned in some European countries.

• hantu on May 19, 2011 at 10:54 am

Why this car is more cheaper than our Saga?

• eekmall on May 19, 2011 at 12:13 pm

It’s cheaper because they copied! No need to waste too much money in R&D.

• hantu on May 19, 2011 at 2:11 pm

But why our rebadged Lancer into Inspira is more expensive than lancer in Langkawi?

Proton didn’t fork out any fund in R&D. Just simply rebadged and retune.

• ever heard of langkawi being tax-free?

• they need to pay mitsu royalty maa….

• bebek on May 19, 2011 at 4:40 pm

but why viva copied from daihatsu more expensive than a ‘fully developed from stretch’ saga???

• profiler on May 19, 2011 at 5:00 pm

well…. R&D of Mitsu Lancer was partly funded by proton. Now it is time to recover the cost

• amel8488 on May 19, 2011 at 10:55 am

really like saga BLM

• GreenFuel on May 19, 2011 at 11:02 am

Look like our Proton Saga, but the price is much cheaper than the Proton Saga. USD $ 6200 is not enough to buy a 660 Viva in Malaysia. Malaysia car is terribly over priced!!!

• 660 viva also cost USD 8000 already somemore claims to use 90% local content. berukdua must be paying higher labor in malaysia than the companies in europe.

• profiler on May 19, 2011 at 5:03 pm

ofcourse labour cost in malaysia much more higher than in Russia. If paid lower than there will be another issue – “Gaji Tak cukup”

• wanhaniff on May 19, 2011 at 11:06 am

Yah but P1 cannot copy their prices !!
    How to go global ? !!

• no money on May 19, 2011 at 11:15 am

I demand this car, so that i can pay cash. 6200 usd + 20k only. so there’s no need for me to pay a monthly 500+ . Bring it on if government is serious about making our life better.

• lol… This europe car is cheaper than our saga blm… Half price of saga blm? Malaysia cars why so exp har? High labour cost? Or high R&D cost? Lolxxx..

• CatmaN on May 19, 2011 at 4:14 pm

high price due to ‘makan tepi’ cost..i guess

• lonelyobserve on May 19, 2011 at 5:51 pm

USD6200 = RM18600 (1 USD = RM3). If the car is brought in, prices as follows (excluding profit margin earned by dealers here):

CBU: RM38130
        CKD: RM32550

• profiler on May 19, 2011 at 5:06 pm

USD 6200 exclude malaysian tax. If brought into malaysia it will be much more expensive because u need to pay tax

• r3 lotus on May 19, 2011 at 11:17 am

everyone seems to share the same sentiments….
    It’s a Proton Saga BLM!!!

• Chris on May 19, 2011 at 11:18 am

100% saga man…Hurray! we should be proud…we are Mercedes for Russian now…as previously Hyundai was Jaguar from Korea (Sonata)

• Having stayed in russia for 5 years I can assure you that Lada ain’t Mercedes for the Russians. When they drive a Mercedes it always has an AMG badge and a huge 6.2L in it. No wiraevolution stuff here.

• Speed Racer on May 19, 2011 at 2:24 pm

they are buying bugatti’s for their kids there

• Russia guy on May 19, 2011 at 11:32 pm

????????, ????! I was in Russia for 6.5 years and I witnessed the fast growth of Russia. The Russians are not poor, their merc always come with AMG, I remember the big shot I worked for used a S55 AMG. Btw, Lada is not a bad car started from their Kalina.

• lotus r3 on May 19, 2011 at 11:19 am

PROTON SAGA!!!

• ckurus on May 19, 2011 at 11:22 am

yup.. almost BLM

• Matchy on May 19, 2011 at 11:26 am

The front is a bit Proton Saga-ish (pre-face lift)…

• klaka seram on May 19, 2011 at 11:38 am

front end looks like our Saga BLM. any rear end shot?

• confused on May 19, 2011 at 11:43 am

Yezza…!! our Proton is internationally-recognized!

• Cucukman on May 19, 2011 at 11:59 am

i heard it is like Gen.2 becoming Youngman Europestar new model..

Then, this model is..

New SAGA becoming LADA Granta..

• they bought the design from proton, well done proton!

• BLM quite popular lately. few copycat already..haha

• x-vios on May 19, 2011 at 12:05 pm

haha… people still can’t get over the pricing of cars in Malaysia.

hmmm… I’m just thinking, dollar to dollar, ringgit to pound, office boys in UK would be driving Accord, Camry, etc around. But I don’t think so, why?

• because they get to choose what to drive.

ppl here, even making rm5000 cannot choose what to drive.

P1 P2, saga myvi viva you name it.

those office boy did not drive accord camry? u sure?

why not u go US factory? makcik soldering is driving accord 2.4, i saw it with my own eyes. are u in UK now?

• It’s because,
      1) There are plenty of cheaper options there, which are the smaller-sized cars.
      2) Congestion charge and insurance premium tier.
      3) Space constraint, which their roads are already too congested with cars.
      4) Efficient public transportation system.

• Malaysian students drive Mercedes Benz which they bought with hard cash. Believe me!

• UK dun have camry… u surely aren’t in UK… i fact whole Europe dun have camry… and their accord aren’t the same as well…

• Paul Tan on May 19, 2011 at 7:27 pm

Yup, Europe D-segment is Avensis.

• Russia guy on May 19, 2011 at 11:34 pm

Paul, for me I think that Avensis is in between C- & D-segment.

• it is European D segment. Their segment is smaller to americans. Their C is also smaller. That’s y ther world has european civic and the us/asia civic.

• 206+/207 sedan on May 21, 2011 at 11:51 am

Civics now go regional lockouts, just like Camrys and Accords. Japan also gets 8th gen Civic sedan, not hatchabcks, give me reasons why Japan also get Asian Civic sedans instead of Euro Civic hatch??? Are Civic hatch not sell well in JDM and Asian markets???

• european civic is made in england. yes england and not in japan. they are designed to suit the european market just like golf and megane, which clearly doesn’t do their best in us/asia market. european loves their car small while other loves it big. that’s y we always hear old folks say camry good coz big, and mondeo which is european D did badly here. the new jetta is however engineered to suit usa best.

• mfahd_88 on May 19, 2011 at 12:06 pm

did you guys noticed that mostly new small-sedan cars model followed our saga design?

• my God the russian copied Msian proton saga!

• samyyd on May 19, 2011 at 12:24 pm

then p1 can stop producing saga now. just import this 20k something car and sell as saga for double of its price. yeayyyy

1proton 1malaysia 1kalimampus.

• izack04 on May 19, 2011 at 12:33 pm

Really look like Proton saga BLM pervious version…….

• ericten on May 19, 2011 at 12:34 pm

It is the cheapest car in Europe.. and i’m sure it still will have more features compared to our beloved BLM

• oleoresin on May 19, 2011 at 12:37 pm

In old days, Lada is the bad car more than kancil 1st generation 660bx. This is because they try to me super cheap car. The only proven super cheap car only Tata Nano. Thanks to fussy Malaysian, P1 and P2 can make cheap and better car nowdays compare at beginning. Hope this new Lada also OK!

But why it looks many similarity with BLM?

• just watch the video…….putin couldn’t start it…….

• i think the people who prepared the car for him maybe have been poison and dead by now…..

• just watch the launch ceremory video at youtube…….putin couldn’t start the lada……..

• macaruda on May 19, 2011 at 12:50 pm

definitely SAGA wanna be!

“80 hp, 90 hp and 98 hp variants”. …. how is this compared to SAGA?

• Uncle Honda on May 19, 2011 at 12:54 pm

hahahaha..same from me…it is SAGA!

• you can tell this model is poorly assembled from the last picture (with lights on).

• swoosh3553 on May 19, 2011 at 6:24 pm

How can you tell? Lights dimmer that xenon HIDs? No projector fogs? duhh…

• mana pergi basher2 yg slalu kata P1 hanya tau KOPY ja????? LADA pown KOPY dri P1… those who always bash P1 about KOPY…they’re the 1st shall GO & buy that LADA GRANTA….then post their comment / disgruntled over here….

• Kruel on May 19, 2011 at 7:04 pm

yes they copied P1
      now lets see if P1 can copy their price ?
      P1 boleh ka ?

• power by Renault, gearbox by Nissan, and some funny thing about this car.. :
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fxAMRzwRSxQ&feature=player_embedded

• CamPor on May 19, 2011 at 1:56 pm

haha…almost look like BLM…and the quality maybe the same or even worst…the bonnet cannot been close with a little push…so sad…

• MrDDR on May 19, 2011 at 3:08 pm

My civic fd1 is same. Cannot close with little push exacly like video above. Is it normal or should i send back to SC before my warranty expired on this november?
        Someone please advice…

• lol.. i agree with everyone.. it does look like a BLM

• bmpower on May 19, 2011 at 1:16 pm

Indeed, it’s SAGA BLM.
    I think this is the hidden project by Proton – Lada.

Lotus (proton) Renault f1 team >> noticed, there’s also a LADA sponsor logo there!

so this might be… LADA brand, proton platform + renault engine!

good for proton..

• Arcane on May 19, 2011 at 1:17 pm

Even though Malaysia’s car prices (both local and foreign makes alike) are overly expensive, the roads are still jammed up.

Ever thought what would happen if cars are cheaper until EVERYONE can afford one?

We’ll have Mat Rempits on four wheels this time. Roads will be jammed up far worst – it’s not like our public transportation are that great.

Consider also average and typical Malaysians’ level of Driver’s Education, mentality and road ethics. Still want cheap cars?

• hazab on May 19, 2011 at 1:24 pm

looks alike proton saga..huhuhu

• LatukBandar on May 19, 2011 at 1:44 pm

Russians… they can build MIG fighter, IBCM, Nuclears and many of these high tech weapons… but cars? They need to focus, I bet they can give the world the most ‘badass’ car we’ve ever seen.

• hantu on May 19, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Yeah.
      What about Malaysia?
      We are still lacking of technologies.
      We are not inventor but consumer.

We are brilliant in construction only.

• sukasuki on May 19, 2011 at 6:10 pm

u cannot become perfect in all segments. because we are human.

• who say we lacking technology? most you see in the world nowadays are innovation not invention..eg iphone that innovation from graham bell phone, MIG is innovation, wright brother plane is invention, ICBM is innovation from V3 rocket made by german in WW2..nuclear you now who…….but we lacking support and fund the technology..most tersadai at university

• septzz on May 19, 2011 at 6:23 pm

i bet you never heard of MARUSSIA. their own Lamborghini.

• patron on May 20, 2011 at 12:15 am

correction, ICBM Inter Continental Ballistic Missile. cheers!

• supersona on May 19, 2011 at 1:51 pm

mcm BLM je…

• It’s a Saga rip off design!

• afeef on May 19, 2011 at 2:00 pm

LOL SAGA BLM LADA!!!!

• Macam Proton Saga BLM je nie..:) Siapa Tiru Siapa Ini?

• Siapa Tiru Siapa nie? BLM sebiji nie!

• VoidDance on May 19, 2011 at 3:15 pm

This is Saga, really. If you watch closely on the video, even the back passenger door mirror wind down the same as Saga. But the most interesting bit is the head lamp. They can’t fool anyone, that was Saga’s head lamp!

By the way, There are more than 100 millions Russian. Lada could afford to sell this car cheaper as the market is bigger.

• Elwin on May 19, 2011 at 3:27 pm

wow…..this car = proton saga + new bodykit..

• design acceptable for cheap sedan

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j2bJupLODJ0 at the launch in Russia, it took almost 6 times to start it up! Oh Russia…

• autojohndoe on May 19, 2011 at 5:09 pm

buah SAGA, biji LADA…

• septzz on May 19, 2011 at 6:20 pm

i’m not trying to be spastic, but living in Russia for 4 years (still in St. Petersburg rite now), they have totally different automotive world compared to us.

If you said that that Granta copying our BLM’s headlamp, i would say that our BLM will most probably copying 07-08 Hyundai Accent.

Cars here are half the price than in our Bolehland because:
    – high insurance
    -hard to find spare-parts (they even put on plastic sheet if their mirrors/windshield shattered to cover from water/dust entering the cabin)
    -if parts are available, it is extremely expensive (almost all imported goods here are double the price compared to Malaysia
    -terrible roads and harsh weather. people asked for better and safer car with ABS, ESP and so on coz of snow and Russia didn’t make cars with such systems on board.
    -high fuel cost. (1 litre approx. RM4) updated everyday, not monthly like us. their oil & gas pricing shown at the fuel pump station is ‘live’ from world’s market on that day.
    -high living cost (3 room standard apartment rent cost you RM4k/month)

for those who know about Russian cars/ship/plane/bus/lorry, u’ll know that they are not the most beautiful nor modern, but it will work and should work for centuries. That’s Russia.

Yes, Ford Fiesta is just RM53k++, VW Scirocco RM90k++….tempting aite!

• i would say that our BLM will most probably copying 07-08 Hyundai Accent.??

yes i agree, it b’cos BLM was design by Koren c’pny, LG-design.

• but the prob is that saga come out in 2008…and the spyshot of saga came around as early as march 2007 or earlier

• alxand@ttdi_peugeot on May 19, 2011 at 6:46 pm

i think every miss 1 point… it’s G2G deal, we give saga n get sukhoi :)

• Lim Kopi on May 19, 2011 at 7:22 pm

So Dr M … your Proton Sage is actually same category as a low grade Lada ….

Aren’t you so proud after all these years?

• donno on May 20, 2011 at 8:17 am

What is the fuss? Malaysia has alot of low income people who needs an affordable transport. the Proton saga fulfils those needs. What is there to be proud of if proton just builds car after car that is so advanced and expensive that it is out of reach of most malaysian’s?

• panglima garang on May 19, 2011 at 8:53 pm

haha patutla proton kuarkan saga FL..
    patut mcm pelik, saga blm bru je kua, tetibe bru nk 3 4 thn da kua FL..
    tp bgs gak.. good job

• septzz on May 19, 2011 at 10:19 pm

what’s your point dude? ever heard of product cycle??? mmg dah smpi masa utk blm tu buat facelift dia.

• panglima garang on May 20, 2011 at 10:09 pm

aku tau la bro.. aku pun sokong..
        aku cakap kalo betul tu design blm, bgs la.. n bila lada dah copy, mang ptt la proton kua design baru.. terbaek.. x mcm myvi.. haha

• Probably a rebadge Proton Saga.

• subhero on May 19, 2011 at 11:30 pm

lampu belakang LADA copy BLM ni macam lampu bas.

• donno on May 20, 2011 at 8:14 am

It really looks like a Hyundai i10 sedan… Which it probably is…

• Netsoft on May 20, 2011 at 9:14 am

Low income people doesn’t translate to that they should get low quality cars. For the price paid for Protons, you can get a decent CBU model that is of good quality.

• Eyesore on May 20, 2011 at 3:47 pm

Define “decent quality”………….. if by decent you mean buying a 40K car with quality of a 60K car…. then….dream on…. and pray a lot…

• autojohndoe on May 20, 2011 at 8:37 pm

just say, you want imported car…. simple…

• Jeremie on May 20, 2011 at 9:45 am

Agree, looks like current Proton Saga.

• dude07 on May 20, 2011 at 10:29 am

at first glance, I thought it was saga!….haihhh….

• dude07 on May 20, 2011 at 10:34 am

rakyat malaysia masih ade jiwa patriotik, tiap kali kereta yang keluar seakan-akan proton, pasti ramai yang komen.

• be cool on May 20, 2011 at 11:46 am

proton’s design is already global standard.. but if somehow proton can be cheaper here in our country, then the sales will go up (i’m gonna buy saga n exora), profit up, then they can explore more overseas.. hehe..

• fikichan on May 20, 2011 at 4:28 pm

difficult to say who copied who because if u look saga fl backlight look alike lada kalina and new lada headlamp look alike saga blm….well after 6 years in moscow i think cheap lada just to serve poorer non oligarch russian..while proton doesnt goes cheap for malaysian

• mat koboi on May 20, 2011 at 7:47 pm

macam saga blm….

• US$6,200 is cheap yo! less than MYR 20k ….damn!!

• Proton and p2 feel threatened already…use to b them whom were the cheapest…subsiidize by the m’sian people..thank you..

• skidmark on May 21, 2011 at 8:51 pm

after this russians can also make their LADA become SUBARU like saga BLM what….LOL

• Lada Granta is Lada Kalina facelift from 2005 year.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KWmusNqfmxE
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7dmWbg1OAK4
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bRHIAUj8-o
    yellow lada Kalina and Putin