Team Proton R3 dominates Round 2 of the MSS

It was a successful weekend for Team Proton R3 at Sepang, with its two entries finishing first and second in the two races in Round 2 of the Malaysian Super Series (MSS). Faidzil Alang and his team-mate Syafiq Ali dominated the field to win both races in their Satria Neo and GEN.2 R3 race cars, each driver topping the podium once.

In Race 1, Faidzil made the most of his pole position and led the race from start to finish, with the only serious challenge coming from Syafiq. Syafiq, who qualified in fourth place due to a problem during qualifying, made a great start to overtake the second and third-placed cars to slot in behind team-mate Faidzil by the end of the first turn, and both drivers maintained their positions to the chequered flag.

In Race 2, heavy rain delayed the start by almost an hour and it eventually started as a wet race. Faidzil led the race from the start, trailed by Syafiq. A mechanical problem on the third lap saw Faidzil forced to relinquish his lead to Syafiq, and he ran the rest of the race fending off eventual third-placed finisher, Siah W Pyng, who also finished third in Race 1.

“We are thrilled with the results this weekend. Despite the stiff competition and challenging weather conditions, our team were well prepared to face anything. This is a testimonial of all the development work and testing we’ve done in preparation for this season as well as our experiences from previous races,” said Datuk Abdul Razak Dawood, Head of Proton Motorsports Division.

Round 3 of the Malaysian Super Series 2011 will take place on July 2-3, while Round 4 runs on Oct 1-2, and the final round is on Nov 26-27.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• mnazri.tan on May 23, 2011 at 10:51 am

Been driving a manual Gen2 for about six years now. I know everybody would say it is a crappy car. Especially those who dont like Proton…But for me, It is what i could afford 6 years ago, and the best option available…And i would say i enjoy the ride, i love the look…some quality issues here and there…fixed it..and it is ok….and i think it is reasonable car, that i really love. Good handling for sure, lack of grunt but if you used to driving it, it has enough punch for daily use. I know not all would agree, but i would say i like the fuel consumption…it is good enough for me…. Happy that the Gen2 R3 showing strong perfomance…and i still think to date, Gen2 still proton’s best looking (self made)….

I can sell it nowadays and get better car…but i think i love the car deep enough, i may not sell it…maybe i want to keep it for live…and buy another car without selling this one…hahaha…..

• Dr. M on May 23, 2011 at 11:16 am

Congratulations!

• Confused on May 23, 2011 at 12:14 pm

Sorry I do not know much about this race, but are not all the cars Proton anyways? Looking at the picture provided, they are all Proton cars racing, so what does it matter what make of car makes it first? If you get what I mean…just wondering!

• ya la Anthony, u just cover the team but not the race?i’d be interested in local scene racing news and i’m confident many of malaysian also interested,tq

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 23, 2011 at 2:02 pm

Unfortunately, that’s all the info we were given in the news release, which came from Proton.

• rally_fan on May 23, 2011 at 1:02 pm

just found the regulations on the sepang website..

it states any car produced in Asia (at least 2,500 cars produced) from 2006 and after can be used in this category.. which is Malaysian Touring Car – Class 2.. up to 1600cc.

so if everyone decides they want to use a proton.. that is perfectly fine.

• fthis on May 23, 2011 at 12:32 pm

why no coverage of other teams?

• alfie60 on May 23, 2011 at 12:38 pm

I think someone forgot to mention that the LAST car in the race is also a shitty PROTON and also 2nd last car is also a shitty Proton and so is the 3rd last car is also a shitty PROTON. ;-)

• awg1031 on May 23, 2011 at 11:45 pm

you are so childish..what’s wrong with PROTON when u should blame the TEAM or DRIVER instead…u knew less in modding/driving cars compared to others and you want to blame the car for that?

• MrDDR on May 23, 2011 at 12:59 pm

From picture above All top 6 is Proton. Congratulation :) Bye bye honda toyota hyundai etc hahrhahra

• Scratching head on May 23, 2011 at 1:53 pm

Err, isn’t it safe to say it’s a Proton one-make race…

• rally_fan on May 23, 2011 at 3:53 pm

just downloaded the regulations from sepang website..

any car with at least 2,500 manufactured after the year 2006, and from asia, is eligible to participate in the Malaysian Touring Car class.

since proton dont control who enters the race and with what cars.. i suppose we need to ask the other competitors why they using satria neo, and not vios.. or city.. or chevrolet..etc.

• Scratching head on May 23, 2011 at 1:58 pm

Err, isn’t it safe to say that it is a Proton one make race…

• rally_fan00 on May 23, 2011 at 9:01 pm

rules state cars manufactured in Asia (at least 2,500 units) from 2006 onwards, are eligible to enter. this is for Malaysian Touring Car or MTC, class 1 (1600cc-1800cc) and class 2 (up to 1600cc)

since you can pretty much enter any car you want for this race as long as its from asia, i suppose you’ll need to ask those other teams/drivers why they also chose a proton to race.

• bobdbilder on May 23, 2011 at 2:00 pm

I think they fall under MTC (Malaysian Touring Cars) Class 2 which is 1600cc and below. Same like Sepang 1000km. Been reading the regulations, some sore points; spoiler cannot be higher than roof, rims must be 15″. No turbos/blowers. But you get a varied list of possibilities including Minis, Mitos to Polos and Golfs. Engines must be made from 2007 onwards.

• bobdbilder on May 23, 2011 at 2:08 pm

If you look at the Regulations, it would refer to the same as Sepang 1000km race. For MTC there’s 2 class; Below 1.6 and above. But all NA. There’s also a minimum weight of 1000kg for Class 2. SIC is a bit slow in updating the news.

• ericmaxman on May 23, 2011 at 3:38 pm

so what secrets did R3 did to the car that made it win the race? hmm

• loveproton on May 23, 2011 at 6:10 pm

bashers will say : proton r3 team paid other team to loose :P

• bobdbilder on May 24, 2011 at 10:32 am

A real race is about skills. The reason why there’s classes is to even out the playing field. Its a two race game; so reliability is a factor. R3 is a works team, meaning they have experienced people to do it. I’ve met a guy whose been with R3 for 5 years but with Proton for 20.

Both drivers are young but experienced people and low body mass index! Its a sum of various competencies. Any good organization will pull in the best that they could and retain them.

• Norman on May 23, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Honestly say,Campro engine got European characteristic..Imagine 100% mod car become crappy but with only 70% mod car can be monstrous.My friends keep his Persona for track car..And at first glance i would think how d hell he wanna compete with those Civics,Avantes,Optras etc?But he proved me wrong when he hit the track with his car..Amazing i should say with only less than 80% modification

• bakorje on May 23, 2011 at 5:43 pm

i saw at their fb got integra and type-r

• The Gen 2 1.3 A is the only 1.3 car with all round disk brakes. Also when you switch off the engine the fans will still be on to cool the engine, a feature only found in expensive cars.

• This feature is always “in an overkill manner” misunderstood as an “advanced feature” in Protong cars. Nothing great, even older 1980’s continental cars has this features too. Nothing fancy.

For your knowledge this is a sure symptom of “overheating engine”. I had similar problem with my Gen.2 Cps last time. The fan wouldn’t stop for 10 minutes (after turning off the engine). Turns out the engine was really hot due to the water pump failure. Pump fail so water inside the radiator was not circulating. So the fan has to work overtime to cool it down. Eventually it was all in vain as the car failed halfway on the highway. Top overhaul that cost almost RM3k another few hundred bucks for the tow truck. Loss of productivity. Had most of the upper part of the engine and piston changed. Sad part it the car is less than 1 year 6 months old only.

What advance feature? I say crappy.

• autojohndoe on May 24, 2011 at 7:50 am

aik… your Gen2 become a gen2 cps?

sure you are a rich man… have waja, persona, gen2 cps and a grandis…

dont spread lies can you?

after you cannot bring up power window thing…

you come up with overheating issue…

• I have mentioned many times before, that I own a Gen.2 Cps, a Persona Iafm and a Grandis. Currently in the process of phasing out both Protong cars to any unlucky buyers (due to bad experience). Please do not manipulate those facts (which is based on my personal experience) in favour of your self-masturbatin* and self-delusional Protong worshipping fanboys’ club. My advice Mr. Autojohndoe, refrain yourself from self-masturbatin* and get yourself a real girl. For god sake!

• unimpressed on May 24, 2011 at 2:30 pm

kalau Proton tu mangkuk sebab buat kereta takde kualiti, kau 10 kali lagi mangkuk sebab duk beli jugak kereta Proton one after another. boooooo.

“nampak benor nipunye”
            -Usop Wilcha

• Azizi on May 25, 2011 at 11:42 am

Saya dah pakai Gen.2 CPS selama 2 tahun (dh cecah 80,000km) dan masih belum ada apa-apa masalah.

• thats y proton put water temp gauge for us…but still meaningless if u didn’t pay attention,if the needle go more than half,theres must be something wrong sumwhere.first thing u should check is the fan either it is working,if the fan is ok,next is to check the water pump,even my wife know this,in the hand of oblivious guy like u even gtr35 will overheat in our climate.what i meant to say is the problem can be avoid if u pay more attention to ur ride.everything break down,even merc and ferrari,.cheers

• Keep an eye on the temperature? That’s the first thing my 6 years old kid told me to do when the Fan didn’t stop spinning. Turns out the gauge is at normal level. So what’s next?

Perhaps I didn’t fully explained what happened (so forgive me for being “lack of paying attention”). After a top overhaul carried out, the mechanic verified that the reason my temperature was not showing any signs of overheating warning because the “thermostat” failed too. So its a double jeopardy on me. Forgive me for not deserving to drive a GTR, Ferrari and don’t forget Maserati, but to have;
          1) Water Pump failure,
          2) Thermostat failure and
          3) No warning signs of overheating (other than the Fan non-stop to spin) is more than any “normal” car owner can handle.

I think I have done the best of my capability (during that time) to access the car’s health. Maintained properly, the best AM oil and money spent and still you get a shitty car?

So here comes the 1 Milllion Dollar question; blame the owner who maintains his car regularly but still get a lousy product OR the blame should fall to the Tin Milo Manufacturer who doesn’t know how to provide a reliable product for the past freaking 27 years? I’m sure Majority Malaysians will know the answer (exception to Protong BlindFanboys, Protong staff and Protong vendors who I have to thank a lot for providing that lousy thermostat and that lousy water pump).

Owh yeah, I have listed more than 20 problems previously, but I’m sure Mr. MoMo’s wife with her soothsayer ability can predict what will happen to the car in the near future. The mechanics may run out of jobs too.

• rilex bro i’m not a hater but it seems like u got very very unlucky coz this things happen, but only very very few experience it,i’m sure its the same at any manufacturer and some more this countrys hot climate meaning higher wear and tear,i’ve even heard story about mini cooper s overheat before…from my experience,theres one time my waja temperature skyrocketed due to the fan problem but luckily my DEFI water temp gauge was beeping and i didn’t even bother to look at the stock water temp gauge,so i feel u bro….moral of the story is; buy yourself some aftermarket gauge lol

• Lim Kopi on May 24, 2011 at 12:23 am

Oh look! A bunch of Protons thrashing each other out in a circuit …

How exciting!! Like we don’t have enough of them on our roads …. :)

• nazri on May 24, 2011 at 1:37 am

here hv a look guys.. i dont think proton only.. integra, corvette also there..
    http://www.facebook.com/ProtonMotorsports

• protonlover on May 24, 2011 at 5:27 pm

i have a german made lux car and bought 2 protong as a utility cars…cos protong is damn reliable n cheap to maintain…i can trash the car daily and the worse case ever happenned to me was the wira timing belt snap and cost me a top overhaul which is rm1k all in…that is damn cheap compared to even changing my other german made car wiper blade..rm450 per set…and not to mention the rft tyres cost almost 2k per piece as oppose to rm100 per piece on my protong car…so id say its a good reliable car!!!!!

• Eyesore on May 24, 2011 at 6:20 pm

Yes there were Ford, Porsche, BMW, Honda etc… in the race. But all of them competing in different categories…. The category which R3 compete was the Malaysia Touring Car (MTC) category… and all that compete in this category are Proton’s car… Have a look at the results here… http://www.sepangcircuit.com/story/mss-2011-results
    well have to agree with the bashers that it’s a proton battling proton cars… but then, what’s wrong with that?

• Anyway my Mum’s Gen2 1.3 A (2005), Dad’s Waja (2006) and Sister’s Saga (2008) has not got any problems since buying them. Love the handling.