Team Proton R3 aims to extend lead in MSS this weekend

UPDATE: Team Proton R3’s Faidzil Alang is on pole position with a time of 2:41.941. Second fastest is Siah W Pyng (2:46.056) and Mark Darwin is third (2:51.897). Faidzil’s teammate Syafiq Ali is fourth with 2:53.342 after having engine misfiring problems.

Round 2 of the Malaysian Super Series 2011 happens this weekend in Sepang, and as we type, the teams are preparing for qualifying, which starts at 4pm. Team Proton R3’s aim this weekend is to extend its lead at the top of the MTC Class 2 standings.

In Round 1, which was a support race for the Formula 1 Malaysian GP, Team R3’s Faidzil Alang was second in Heat 1 and first in Heat 2. Faidzil is no stranger to the Malaysian motorsports scene and is widely regarded as one of the most successful circuit drivers around.

This weekend sees the addition of a second car in the form of a Proton R3 GEN.2, piloted by young driver Syafiq Ali. His achievements to-date include winning the 2008 Asian Touring Car Series Championship for the 1500Max class and a Class B win in the Merdeka Millenium Endurance race in the same year. Both were done in a Proton Satria Neo.

“In the short time Syafiq has been a racing driver, he has built up a reputation for being quick, disciplined and a team player. We are happy to have him aboard again as a driver for Team Proton R3. Together with Faidzil Alang, we can’t ask for a better team this weekend,” said Tengku Djan Ley, Head of Engineering, Proton Motorsports Division.

“The old adage, win on Sunday, sell on Monday still holds true today for Proton R3. Much of the lessons learnt on the race and rally tracks have found their way into our showroom limited edition R3 vehicles.

“Any Proton owner can also equip their vehicles with our accessories and parts that have been inspired and honed through rigorous testing and competition,” said Datuk Abdul Razak Dawood, Head of Proton Motorsports Division, who adds that the road going Proton R3 Satria Neo uses similar components found on the MSS race car.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• SoMeOnE on May 21, 2011 at 4:27 pm

they could use a better combination of motif and colours…the present one looks all over the place !…im sure they can come up with a better looking one….

• maserati on May 21, 2011 at 5:09 pm

Wtf the wheels are so freaking small? 13″?

• Prismo on May 21, 2011 at 6:56 pm

i thinks it is 15″… even a standard brake caliper are way too big to fit into 13″ alloy…

• just malaysian on May 21, 2011 at 8:31 pm

its 15″ R3 own design n manufacture rims..u can buy it at Proton COE..small?..u think u can go faster with 18″??..they know what to do~

• bobdbilder on May 23, 2011 at 9:38 am

Saw it at R3 prepping on Wednesday. Did a real close up. The only thing I didn’t see was the air intake. But it had 15″ wheels on Federal semi slicks. Dunno if those were race tyres though. It had Alcon calipers. Bodykits were like the old black Neo R3 (not the red) but it had a flat splitter. I didn’t realize the throttle body was that big!

For sure it had blue Cusco dampers all around. It looks like the one with remote reservoir. If they had the full option, they could adjust the dampers on the fly. One seat. One roll cage. Kenwood comms.

• maserati,

13″ small?
      Its bigger than 12″

• T4VR-Ralph on May 21, 2011 at 5:16 pm

the enkei rpf-1 looks so… small

• alldisc on May 21, 2011 at 7:38 pm

thank god you noticed that….14 inch, perhaps??

• linear_system on May 21, 2011 at 11:30 pm

no rim smaller than 15″ can fit in satria neo..even the standard satria neo one..even the 15″ rim u need to look at the design first to fit that wont touch the brake caliper..

• Prismo on May 21, 2011 at 5:20 pm

Another 30 units satria neo bought by cusco for rally…

http://www.bharian.com.my/bharian/articles/Cuscosahkanbeli30SatriaNeosebagaikeretaRali/Article/

• Panamera on May 21, 2011 at 5:38 pm

The Gen 2 uses Campro engine??

• are they using 1.6 cps?

• just an opinion, i think in racing all they will concentrate at upper range of the powerband. so they just can simply use normal campro with uprated cam and so on for higher end application.

• its a proud accomplishment then.. rather than the renault engine used in the neo s2000

• rally_fan on May 22, 2011 at 8:07 pm

for s2000, proton has no choice. rules say s2000 must be 2.0 litre and must have been or is available in proton family of cars. the only inline 4 (v6 not suitable) proton got suitable for the job is the 1.8 renault from the waja.. so they just bore and stroke it i think to 2.0 litres.

1.6 campro family of cars are already long stroke, and maxed out to 1.6.. cant even stroke or bore to 1.8.

• haha colour so 1990s but i like hahaha

• Menguap panjang… huwarrrrrrr (yawning-bored-to-death)…

• linear_system on May 21, 2011 at 11:32 pm

nak menguap kat atas katil la..bukan kat blog paultan..hahaha..aku rasa cam nak lempang je ko ni..hahaha

• virus on May 21, 2011 at 11:41 pm

and still u spend ur “precious” to read n comment… bijak2!!!

• e-man on May 22, 2011 at 12:32 am

see the update haters… huhuhuhu

• BadBET on May 22, 2011 at 8:21 am

Proton R3 Satria Neo – Sepang time : 2:41.941
    Renault Megane RS 250 – Sepang time: 2:43.02

• nizam80 on May 22, 2011 at 6:35 pm

Pergghh.. kete Megane RS250 pun kene tapau. haha. Just wondering…. how heavy and much horsepower and torque does this race spec Neo R3 make?

• rally_fan on May 22, 2011 at 8:05 pm

based on the specs of the cars in that class, definitely less than 170hp. they also run on semi-slicks for the MSS.. i remember the neo on slicks did a 2:39 something during the MME last time.

latest update is, the team finished 1st and 2nd for race 1 and 2.

• Dr. M on May 23, 2011 at 11:21 am

Is this true R3 Satria Neo clock faster lap time than Renault Megane RS in Sepang? If true, than for sure also better than Scirocco R!

Then we just buy R3 Satria Neo? How much?

• pomen_gtr on May 23, 2011 at 11:31 am

aiyyooo…pasal rim pun gaduh kaaaa???

it was 15″ laaaa…and because of race regulation requiring them to use sponsored FEDERAL TYRE’s semi slick comes in standard size 195/50-15….

and 15″ rim was the optimum for the car weight and power to ensure balance between nimbleness and grip….any bigger makes the car sluggish to accelerate and not much handling advantage despite the downside of heavier unsprung mass…

• steven on May 23, 2011 at 12:50 pm

guys, the megane RS is a road goin race car, no interior, better brakes,rol cage, tuned-track ECU……

get ur coments straight PLS!!!

• rally_fan on May 23, 2011 at 7:36 pm

as steven says, a track car is a track car.. but a sub 2:40 time for a track car with so little power is very impressive still.