Chinese automakers actively hunting for foreign talent

They’re not only snapping up foreign brands, but the Chinese are out to get bright foreign talent as well. It has been reported that two state-owned Chinese automakers started recruiting talent in Germany last week to satisfy their expanding operations. They are BAIC and Dongfeng.

BAIC said that Han Yonggui, president of Beijing Automotive Industry Holding Corp, led a delegation to Germany on May 19. The team organised job fairs in cities such as Stuttgart, Munich and Aachen to recruit 60 to 100 engineers and engineering students.

The other company, Dongfeng Motor Group Co. held an event Friday in the home city of BMW to recruit ethnic Chinese engineers working in Germany. Led by Dongfeng’s passenger vehicle unit chief, Li Shaozhu, the drive attracted more than 50 ethnic Chinese engineers, according to the company.

This is the first time they’ve gone hunting in Germany, but companies like BAIC and Shanghai Automotive Industry Corp (SAIC) have organised similar events in Detroit, USA before. Besides their JV business with foreign brands, BAIC, Dongfeng and SAIC have launched their own brands and models, and are aggressively pursuing growth.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• The chinese car mfg is comming fast & strong,
    Their first target would be the “Korean” as currently Korean car main selling point as been “cheap”.
    Once the Chinese solve their ifty build quality & dated design, there is no way the korean can beat them interm of pricing.

• huhahulikaka on May 27, 2011 at 1:16 pm

They should take over bmw,merc n vag…i m waiting for tat day…

• tan e l on May 27, 2011 at 6:31 pm

I’m all for it as long as they don’t put fake airbags (sorry i’m still being traumatized by the fake egg/fake milk incident)……

• tamiyamundi on May 27, 2011 at 10:56 pm

Hei take care of yourself first, your drink may tainted with DEHP.

• Commoner on May 27, 2011 at 1:25 pm

I don’t think they can maintain low pricing in the future. Cost of labour in China is escalating and cost of living will definitely surge. This in turn will affect the economies of scale for many companies in doing business. Even many MNCs based in China will shift operations to other emerging economies (E.g. India, Vietnam etc.)

• squawk on May 27, 2011 at 7:47 pm

Only the cost of living is going bonkers in the main coastal cities and provinces. Many businesses are starting to move west where costs are still lower.

And yes, Vietnam is booming. We should start panicking.

• LatukBandar on May 27, 2011 at 8:39 pm

It is the supply chain that matters, what is the point of moving to Indian or Vietnam where most of the component suppliers are still in China?

Not to mention, purchasing power. China has a bigger PPP.

If low wages and lots of population are main pulling factor, then Nigeria and the entire continent of Africa are a better option.

MNC will be in China for a long time, just like how Toyota is in America because of their PPP, not because of their low wages or population or anything else.

• Oopus on May 29, 2011 at 7:54 pm

Generally speaking, the cost of human resourse including technical talents just accounts for 2-5% of the full cost in the auto industry in developed countries like Japan & Germany, I think that’s akin to the case in China.

• redboy on May 27, 2011 at 12:48 pm

hahahhahahahaa….now will see how those people who said chinese car is worst than Protong in 2 years time…
    Its simple, the more protection it is, the more Protong become uncompetitive in the world market…its all make-ownself-happy product in the bolehland…and those consumer will keep ripe of the rights, and the same time, some bolehland people said they are proud to have a bolehland product (which cant sell in the world market). It pure make-ownself-happy project by burning the money since they noneeed to worry about money.

• Andrew on May 27, 2011 at 4:23 pm

yeah, lets see how protong going to react when all those whom used to be behind us overtook us. lollll 25years of crap.

• jimmy on May 27, 2011 at 4:34 pm

proton is just too damn conservative and slow in this automotive business.. they did what they want at their own pace. Very like the frog under coconut shell.

• tan e l on May 27, 2011 at 6:28 pm

i’m not surprised if china auto become no 1…..not that difficult for them what….can copy what ever design then claim their own……hired some ‘ex staff’ from bmw, merc, ferrari just make sure this ‘ex staff” bring some old ‘paperworks’ from their previous office (as long not get caught just like that guy from ford)…..with cheap labor and cheap / fake material sure bet one…….beware now every auto cmpany outside china need protection hahaha

• squawk on May 27, 2011 at 7:49 pm

Yup. I agree. Just like how the Japanese copied the Europeans and Americans last time and then started dominating the market.

• As previously I’m based in Stuttgart…….I also encourage Proton to find those excellent automobiles student from Hoschule of Esslingen in Stuttgart as this Institute is quite famous with their automobile graduates..Esslingen is not far from Stuttgart and Bad Canstatt ( Mercs HQ)…some says it really hard studying in HOE and I knew that some malaysians currently study there (but don’t know how many) but I think most of the Malaysians study there target to work in Bosch, Mercs, Porsche (Stuttgart) or BMW (Munchen)…The best thing in HOE is that the students gain practical experiences from this big automobiles company ..and one of my friend (malaysian) also got through Audi human resources department after couple of interviews and hopefully he got work with Audi

• avcutie on May 27, 2011 at 8:10 pm

yeah sure. you can sure attract many potential automobile talent to come here with ketuanan malayu policy.

• MsiaBoleh! on May 28, 2011 at 12:24 am

Dude if i am Msian studying over there I am sure wouldnt be coming back here ! Too much racial politics in Msia. and the pay is another issue.

• Brain Gain!

• Lim Kopi on May 27, 2011 at 3:51 pm

Pick me Pick me!

I can speak good Mandarin and English …. very well :)

Hokkien and canto oso pass :)

• Prismo on May 27, 2011 at 4:01 pm

hire me as a screw, bolt and nut designer… :D

• Hire me pls!!

• autojohndoe on May 29, 2011 at 7:16 pm

i think those Chinese HR will read this Paultan and realize they can get much talent here…

they can see in all Proton entry… they can find designers, engine experts, suspension designer etc…