2011 Perodua Myvi – first five buyers receive cars

The new Perodua Myvi is chugging along merrily; to date, 12,000 orders have been placed for the car since bookings began on June 4, and today, a week after the car was officially launched, the first five owners – Siva Rajan Subramaniam, Mullai Arunasalam, Tan Soo Hong, Yusainianir Mohd Yassin and Kok Zhien Wei – received their vehicles at a simple handing over ceremony in Subang.

“The first five owners here are the first among thousands to receive their cars in the coming weeks and we could not be happier with the response from the public for our new model,” said Perodua’s MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh.

Aminar said that Perodua will also ensure that customers get their vehicle in the shortest possible time, compared to the previous experience of six to nine months when the previous Myvi was launched in 2005. He said that those who booked their cars before the launch can expect their cars to be delivered anytime between now and end-July.

In terms of exports, Aminar said that the company was on track to ship the first 500 Myvis, under the Daihatsu Sirion badge, to Indonesia this month. “On average, we expect to export 350 units per month of the model to Indonesia within a 12-month timeframe,” he said, adding that the company is looking to export the new Myvi under the Perodua brand to five of its seven export markets, including Mauritius, Singapore, Nepal, Fiji and Sri Lanka.

Domestically, Perodua expects to achieve its year-end target of 195,000 units, with another milestone coming about before the year is out – the two millionth vehicle production mark should be achieved sometime in the fourth quarter.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• PeYn0 Fanz on Jun 23, 2011 at 3:17 pm

one they need more boot space and more seat for passanger.. they wil REGRET…

• jgn jeales

• Cucukman on Jun 23, 2011 at 4:57 pm

Myvi 1.3 Standard still cannot beat New Saga 1.3 on the highway… and during sharp corner…

surely at that time.. as per said by peyno fanz.. Myvi owner regret again.. hehe

• Sunny Jaafar on Jun 23, 2011 at 8:00 pm

dear friend, both saga and myvi are road car.
          no body encourage road racing, that is very dangerous!
          and you dont be childish.

pandu cermat, nyawa selamat.

• if cannot afford sportscar, forget about racing

• Cucukman on Jun 24, 2011 at 7:46 am

Even Lamborghini.. a superb sportcar also crash like HELL somewhere at Sepang after Sepang Japan GT.. last sunday if i’m not mistaken..

if it is Myvi, i think the car become few pieces already…

come on man.. if we have a Lotus tuned car, why kenot we test the function at the highway…

p/s: dimana ada kemahuan, disitu ada highway.. hahaha

• encik cucukman, dah enjin pun 1.3..yg kau nk sgt compare laju kat highway buat apa…dah tuh nk lawan sharp corner lagi, masa corner bawak slow sudah lah.. jangan jadi bodoh ye.

• Cucukman on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:07 pm

so, from your statement you agree that Myvi’s handling is TOTALLY RUBBISH at the sharp corner road.. haha…

setakat tekan minyak kat jalan lurus, budak sekolah memandu pun terer… tu jela kehebatan penggguna Myvi.. asal ada corner skit kena tekan brek takut kereta membuang berguling-guling… tak caya try le buat..hehe

• myvi corner suck…. but kelisa can smoke ur 1.3 FL at S corner & low rpm… straight line confirm kelisa under power…. but whats the point who Won???? same both just a national car….. use a 1.3 to smoke a 1.0??? Very happy?? Ver proud??? Joke~

• JPJ another speeding ppl spotted….

• Sunny Jaafar on Jun 24, 2011 at 1:15 pm

degil btul le kamu nie….
            nak handling bagus kat sharp corner main le game racing!
            bknnye atas jalan!

• Myvi User on Jun 23, 2011 at 10:45 pm

Uuiiyooo…. beat ngan PAKCIK jual sayur naik saga can laa….. sapa kata saga can beat myvi.. can saga speed at 216KM/H at highway?? 140 dah kne tinggal.. Puii~!

• albag on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:03 pm

lulzzz bodohnya cucukman thinking these cars are for race LOL!

• Cucukman on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:11 pm

that’s why Myvee failed to join rally…. Handling is rubbish..

• who cares….. myvi is for city driving… bring u from A to B…. is this a joke use a myvi or saga FL to rush here & there when both r just slow…… If u say u got GTR, or whatever baru get a head turn….. myvi or saga… ppl wont look at it at all…..

• who care myvi join rally or not…. u look at it…. since when P2 got said R3 lah, lotus ride lah~ this is just a slow car for u to save fuel & daily use…..

• p2 in rally?? puhhhhhhhhhhh!!LOL..err…no offence…play along kid..cucuk2

• cutepuggy on Jun 24, 2011 at 7:14 am

cheap mentality….forcing family saloon to be a sportscar…..no wonder more fatal accidents on the highway….all these supercar wannabe,with their loud annoying exhausts and funny lights on almost every part of the car….no wonder these ah beng accessory shops flourishing…..as long as fools live,they will flourish……

• come on, saga is a good car, everyone know, but Myvi is the best in its category. We should not fight, both cars are for Malaysians, made in Malaysia. By the way, new Myvi has eliminated all the negative points of the older MyVi, related to consumption, gear box, stability and equipment.

• Wisdom on Jun 28, 2011 at 2:00 pm

Are u sure they have settle all these problem from old myvi?
            1. Faulty power window switch
            2. Warped front disk after few months
            3. Petrol fume entering the cabin
            4. Bumpy ride
            5. Lower arm noise after 2 years
            6. Noisy ride (tyres, suspension)
            7. Poor sound system (’0? bass)
            8. Poor midrange power
            9. Vertical/ lack of rest for rear seats
            10. Outside smell even when the aircond set to recirculate.

• Myvi owner will regret becoz cannot beat Saga on highway? u sure got ‘high’ IQ

• if some1 really need more seat, then go for 7 seater MPV loh..
      dont always regret once do decision!!!

• Yeah “right”, the way you do comparison is also illogical. How can you compare the term “more space” between MyVi and Saga? Both cars in comparison are small cars, unless you treat your “superior” Saga like a MPV Alphard Toyota?

As for cornering, whether its the MyVi or Saga, both cars shouldn’t negotiate corners at high speed cause both cars are NOT supposed to do that in the first place.

Even both cars are equipped with ABS but those are NOT racing brakes to begin with. Both have the standard shock absorbers and NOT performance absorbers, thus body roll is way higher. No front/rear stabilizer bars to distribute forces, both cars in fact are meant for normal drive.

I can’t see your point when comparing a Saga with a MyVi, unless it is driven by an idiot, Sagalancer or MyVilution wannabe.

Save enough money and get yourself a better car than Protong (or Perodua) for that matter.

• Aiya,ppl buy this car,they already know it has smaller boot & more expensive compared to Saga. But….the fact is ppl still like it more than saga. WHY?Will they regret?then we can see it from the qty of 2nd car…hehehe.

• bcos they got more than 1 car….. this is just additional/ 2nd car for going to work…. better car put a home….

• Yalah Yalah just said Saga paling Best, Paling Laju, Corner even can Beat R35…. Myvi is useless, slow at corner “Confirm”, many problem, very expensive, Cucukman Happy now??? ur Saga paling Best!!!! U Won…..

• mizzuddin on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:10 am

whatever laa…

just don’t forget to use your rearview n sidemirrors when driving at the right-most lane…

myvi drivers… please… n vios owners too…

• so no gift for the first 5 meh? why so stingy? those people come all the way to be used by P2 to promote the car wor?

• how did u know there are no gift? u also there? The big key also a gift what…heheh~

• Hahahaha…oh malaysian…sometimes make a joke fun meh…. dont take it so serious…

• Wisdom on Jun 28, 2011 at 2:04 pm

I thought that is the actual key to start the car….. :p
        *Sometimes they take jokes seriously….

• Matchy on Jun 23, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Got free gift la… see the bags in the second photo.

• Let me guess on the free gift: perodua pen, perodua notebook, perodua calendar, perodua promotion flyer, perodua cap or perodua bottle? sigh…..=__=

• Barium on Jun 23, 2011 at 3:28 pm

they got biiigggggg mockup key :D

• gutss on Jun 23, 2011 at 5:06 pm

They got their face in paultan…hahaha

• Sunny Jaafar on Jun 23, 2011 at 8:01 pm

free big key

• wohooo….12,000 booking. Another a nice move from perodua.

• Saya kasi gempak…12k, habuk pun tarak

• Putin on Jun 26, 2011 at 10:46 pm

Ya lah…P2 salesmen act like AirAsia promo gimmick ler. Booking Fee RM100 X 12,000 bookings (if that is true) equals RM1.2 Million in the bank first and role the money for a good 3 to 4 months. Haiya, I think it’s a scam lah. Let’s see how fast is the delivery for those 12,000 so called confirmed bookings turn to actual buyers.

• bongok on Jun 23, 2011 at 3:26 pm

i saw 3 “girl wannabe” getting the sissy car

• gutss on Jun 23, 2011 at 5:07 pm

Dont kutuk2 org lo…they use their money ape…

• Irony on Jun 23, 2011 at 7:57 pm

u mean BANK’s money?

• gutss on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:28 pm

hahaha…i think you comment without thinking….sorry to say :P…. did you pay your monthly car or house loan to the bank with BANK money??? no offence but please…think before post, or you just wasting your time making other people mad :P

• Prismo on Jun 23, 2011 at 5:39 pm

ya… pity them…

• not_ah_ beng on Jun 23, 2011 at 5:55 pm

At least they are not foolish enough to buy Saga FL!!! Hehehe! Sure regret if you do…

• This car is beyond fug. I never thought my hatred towards the previous generation Myvi would be superceded by this crap.

• that’s because u got problem. number of peoples who love this car supercedes the number that love your proton.

• really? lets see … i visitor = 1 vote..

• Ah Kim on Jun 23, 2011 at 7:44 pm

Wrong! can proxy for 2nd vote!

• u think most of them visit paultan to thumb down P2 only? haha..
            Dey..u go to cybercafe and vote as much as u want la dey…

i read every single comment, if it is not true i put thumb down liao..

• don’t be dumb. anyone can vote. in the end, its the sales that is matter. how many cars proton sold?

• altecs on Jun 23, 2011 at 5:49 pm

The number of people who don’t know about cars is definitely a lot more than people who do.

I don’t hate the new myvi, but these people bought a car without even looking at it’s specs sheet. Very smart consumer. A++

• agree..I bet most of the buyer for this car is wives, makcik2 and office ladies

• spec sheet? talk about spec.. proton cars always look good on paper but the performance said otherwise.

• why only 5, this is not enzo..why not first 100? that would be better, throw in more goodies also lah..

• limited edition mar…even more rare than bugatti or enzo!!! fui yoh!

• pual tan on Jun 23, 2011 at 3:44 pm

They refused to sell me one with the Daihatsu Sirion badge.

• Vincent on Jun 23, 2011 at 3:53 pm

Dropped a P2 showroom yesterday evening, was impressed with overall visual & its improved seat quality. Though smaller visually, but interior space surprised.

Hope to see similar improvement in other fittings too.

Like it.

• jurutera perodua yang jujur on Jun 23, 2011 at 9:20 pm

My advice is don’t be cheated by cosmetic thingy…go for the test drive…you will learn some ergonomic issues happen on this new Myvi…=)

• kamal on Jun 24, 2011 at 9:33 am

yes, i saw one…the rr seat belt for the centre…fix at top right at roof….very, very bad design issue….need to fix it quickly or someone will chocked especially kids.

• Angrybirds on Jun 23, 2011 at 4:03 pm

poor five… they need backpack to carry their car key ;p

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Jun 23, 2011 at 4:05 pm

First Five white tikus for testing defect perodua!!

• I bought the alza in june 2010 , guess what ? I had to visit the sc twice a month for 5 months , wind noise never get fix for several times , rattling sound , petrol fuel smell in the car after refueled , muffler have weird noise , leaf drop also have sound , had to change the roof insulator , being a test bed for this parliar car … shit p2

• Last time, I used to visit Protong Service Center average 15 times per year (or roughly 7.5 times every 6 months). Try to beat that record and you’ll get my thumbs up.

Hahaha.

• hi syoh, long time no see :-), he said twice a month, meaning that its already 10 times for 5 months, he already beats your record 7.5 times for 6 months. U shud give thumb up to him. Haiya,itupun xreti kira mr syoh, so mungkin yg u ckp 15 times per year pun xbetul, itu mgkin termasuk servis…xpayahlah nak gebang kalu kira pun x betul. Anyway, nicely done to perodua,hope they achieve their target. So proton, wake up, launch saga fl phase two with new iafm plus engine n cvt vt2 by punch motive. Let the war begin. If u launch later, u will loose the war.

• 2 times/month/P2 @ 5 months = 10 times/year
            As the gentleman do not declared anything more than 5 months so he has solved the problem.

15 times/year/P1 @ 12 months = 15 times/year
            As some of my problems has not been resolved, and I have sold the car to some unfortunate second hand user, the problem is still there.

So,

15 times/year/Protong > 10 times/year/Alzaz (solved).

Now, can I get a “thumbs up” from you for solving this mathemathical problem for free? I don’t mind sharing my equations to you.

Haha.

• Ah Kam on Jun 23, 2011 at 7:39 pm

True or not, my Alza no problem leh…. maybe the petro smell and the wind noise come from you

• yeah…. myAlza also no problem meh.. next time when u buy a car, try join a your car club.

• Ah Kim on Jun 23, 2011 at 7:41 pm

sn, true or not? my alza no problem leh…. maybe the petro smell and wind noise is due to your farting

• iskandar on Jun 23, 2011 at 8:04 pm

bro. i own honda and perodua. Both car have their own problem. My 2 old h.city got leaking of aircond water.. go to sc to get fix 2 times and now ok already. My kelisa also have some issue,. moral of the story, no car perfect la. dont so negative and you will be more please with your p2

• DarkAvenger on Jun 23, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Why got people face so happy when paid for overpriced sampan???

• PeYn0 Fanz on Jun 23, 2011 at 4:53 pm

because they know their face will be publish in paultan.org liao..

• So when everyone buy cars they will be sad because they paid for an overpriced car?

• gutss on Jun 23, 2011 at 5:08 pm

Bio ler…duit die :P

• because they never read the specs or compare…only thinking of “woww, new myvi! ada gps! must buy~! dont care about the price~~!”…that kind of mentality.. thats common lah, my mom also think like that when saw this on tv..

• ibex7 on Jun 28, 2011 at 2:35 pm

sorry to say but those a bit dumbo people already ate up the P2 marketing team bait…I wish the customers are a bit clever so they know what they’re paying for. Myvi —> Ultra expensive car in its segment. PERIOD.

• becoz they know, proton coe 2nd floor jeales

• This upgrade version Myvi nothing to shout about!!
    Let wait & see for the 1.5 version if really i gonna book 1 unit from P2.
    Make sure not other facelift version if not i will be very disappointed !!!

• yup 1.5….. the old 1.3 already got one at home…. so no Thanks…..

• nazgul on Jun 24, 2011 at 10:42 am

100% agree…this new myvi is like milking a dead cow already…susu basi serve to you with cream and cherry on top only…bring on the 1.5 cow now!!!

• mamak pund** on Jun 23, 2011 at 4:38 pm

why my friends choose myvai…daihatsu engine(japan ma)…dvvt(save fuel ma)..timing chain(save cost ma)…even the design like FROGGGG…their money…i dont care…

• PeYn0 Fanz on Jun 23, 2011 at 4:51 pm

my friend, my uncle, my mom, my dad, my neighbour, my sister, my parents, my mistress, my sugar daddy, my cat, myvi, my oh my, mudah.my….

what about u?

• gutss on Jun 23, 2011 at 5:10 pm

toootttally agrreed…… who got so many money than go buy honda or toyota or bmw la, dont kutuk2 org, hak pengguna k ;)

• soo big the key.. how to carry in pocket?

• fernando on Jun 23, 2011 at 5:09 pm

they will regret if already married and have a kids..TRUST ME!!

• naim jonn on Jun 23, 2011 at 5:09 pm

haters gonna hate…

12000 orders in less than 20 days? fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

• Clear mind person on Jun 23, 2011 at 8:00 pm

Marketing gimmick… Better get Fiesta than this frog face.

• better buy fiesta?…when u sell it..not even a frog wanna buy from u

• when alza go out, they said also arounf 12,000 booking. That day i said, just marketing. But later i realize, that is not a marketing, it’s real so many booking that alza. So, im also sure perodua already got 12,000 booking for this myvi. just wait n see.

• last time when Alza launch..you appear.. then again when Myvi launch you appear..u think i’m blind? hahaha

• If everyone can afford Fiesta, Proton and Perodua can close shop d lor…

• gutss on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:32 pm

yesss you totally right…… proton/perodua vs ford….different class la bro…

• blackjkx on Jun 23, 2011 at 5:10 pm

After thousands of KM road test, lets see what they’ve solved and deliver.
    Alza is a crap car with lots of problems. Cabin noise, break problem, streering not centre and so on.

• “In terms of exports, Aminar said that the company was on track to ship the first 500 Myvis, under the Daihatsu Sirion badge, to Indonesia this month.”

hahahaha enough said..

• Ultrajo on Jun 23, 2011 at 6:40 pm

Can we in Bolehland ‘boleh’ buy that car in Sirion badge?

• exJAVANESE on Jun 24, 2011 at 12:58 pm

what?? come on laa…Daihatsu Sirion damn ugly!!! for aunty and sissy boleh laa…

• freeze on Jun 23, 2011 at 5:56 pm

Aiyooo only 5 ah? The rest got no parts from Japan is it?

• DKBOSS on Jun 23, 2011 at 7:06 pm

They should have given the first 5 special Perodua Number Plate’s or Special MYVI edition Number plate’s, that would have been a nice gesture from Perodua and who knows if the demand is there perhaps come up with a series of special number plate’s for MYVI 1 to 9999 for this new model.

Think out of the box Perodua for your loyal customers, it will go a long way !!!!

• DKBOSS on Jun 23, 2011 at 7:08 pm

They should have given the first 5 special Perodua Number Plate’s or Special MYVI edition Number plate’s, that would have been a nice gesture from Perodua and who knows if the demand is there perhaps coming up with a series of special number plate’s for MYVI 1 to 9999 for this new model.

Think out of the box Perodua for your loyal customers, it will go a long way !!!!

• JohnLennon on Jun 23, 2011 at 7:46 pm

I can see a lot of ‘Jealous Guy’ in this forum.

• Maserati on Jun 23, 2011 at 7:54 pm

At least Alza problems are all things like power window,rattling,wind noise.Minor minor problems which u wud expect in a budget car like this.

If Proton Saga FL,you will suffer multiple breakdowns by the road side,after repair,breakdown again,power window spoil within 1 month,radiator overheat and what not.

Comparing the both,I rather have some rattling sound than breakdowns by the roadside.Haha,what a bunch of jealous Proton fans here.Did I even mention how many Sagas I saw broke down by the roadside this month itself? At least 10

• saki77 on Jun 23, 2011 at 8:17 pm

maybe u saw the same car again and again….hehe

• budget car???

actually bro, it is OVER BUDGET car…

• nazri on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:07 pm

nk menipu agak2 la meserati

• taboogen on Jun 24, 2011 at 8:12 am

itu lah pasal .. dah pn kata org malaysia.. putar belit dia mmg pandai pun… aku blk kg takde pulak beratur saga kat tepi jalan rosak.. yg byk kat RNR ada lah berhenti makan…

• Mr Wancer on Jun 24, 2011 at 4:15 am

Come meet me in person..

Let’s put a BET of RM1k on how much broken down Saga you can see in one month. Pictures of the plate numbers and location must be provided.

If it’s true that you say that at least 10 saga FL will break down, then you won’t be afraid to take the challenge…

So what say you?

• This is the very thing I’ve been trying to explain all this time;

1) A rattling but reliable Perodua OR

2) A breakdown champion, a fuel guzzler champion and overpriced Tin Milo from Tanjung Malim?

The rest are self-explanatory.

• nazri on Jun 24, 2011 at 4:32 pm

ni tipu gak.. myvi takde rattling sound?? bnyi disc brake depan pn xde… hehe phuiii

• rocky on Jun 28, 2011 at 5:36 pm

maybe u live in the cave… u didn’t see the improvement of the proton car… so badly..

• Annoynimal on Jun 23, 2011 at 8:06 pm

Nothing very interesting about the car…

• satria on Jun 23, 2011 at 8:43 pm

Not interesting about this car.But I am interested in readers comment here..haha…
    New myvi front view like katak lor!!!

• Yah..and you know what..Satria front view do look like a lizard..

• Rosmah bakal TPM on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:59 pm

i think its more like ultraman…better the old one..and 4 this produa maibai..a nonsense car with overprice to cekik customer for 9 years loan…from approve loan shark (all bank in Malaysia are ah long bukan nak tolong pun).FCUK

• i still struggle to see difference between old and new myvi. but i know they’ll be everywhere you look.

p1 car ka, p2 car ka. please please please dont drive like a psycho.

• lagi best. wo oh
    lagi best wo oh
    lagi best wo oh..

;)

• First five unlucky buyers receive cars lolx

• Kambing Gurun on Jun 24, 2011 at 8:25 am

My wife asked me “Why this Myvi looks similar to the previous one?”

• the first 5 suckers… followed by 12k more…

• Kantoi on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:10 am

Both Myvi and Fiesta are B segment, same class. the difference is that one is a local car with “cheaper price tag”, while the other is a continental car with a much more expensive price tag thanks to our 1Malaysia taxation policy. Fiesta in Langkawi and Labuan is selling for 59k which is only 2 k extra compare to the current top of the spec Myvi and this means without the stupid tax, Ford can still make money by selling a car at 59k but with a much more advance engine, gear box , not to mention sexier design ( IMHO) and can offer much more safety features then Myvi. So I wonder how much P2 ripped off from this. ( not to mention P1 Saga as well). Cheers

• thedoghouse on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:19 am

myvi and saga should naturally be the best sellers in malaysia because its among the cheapest on the road, but i think it is still not cheap enough. if the fiesta or mazda2 or city or vios cost around rm30k or cost like the myvi and saga, then they will naturally become the best sellers on the road.

although many haters of p1 and p2 in this forum, but they are easily out numbered by the actual buyers out there who needs cars as transportation, and they dont read or participate in any car forums.

• Unforgiven on Jun 24, 2011 at 12:09 pm

The Indon are so lucky to enjoy the original badge, so many unfortunate M’sian who are forced to accept the P2 badge.

• Calvin Foo on Jun 24, 2011 at 12:43 pm

The first five victims. Good luck

• waimak on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:07 pm

Think about this, in Japan most of the cars sold are japanese makes, Merc and BMW are a handful. In Germany most of the cars sold are German makes, Japanese so few. In Malaysia, Malaysian makes are struggling to sell their cars and yet you guys still complaining..

• Dear Waimak, this is because of the opposition parties in Malaysia, these party of craps are no constructive but teach people to complain about everything..

• Raingers143 on Jun 25, 2011 at 2:52 am

Dun like perodua’s car dun leave your comment here laa..high iQ kunun..
    For racinglah corner lah..nonsense..car is for comfortness,delightful feel of driving..
    Dats why perodua car is awesome!!.wondering when Perodua will came out with it own Sedan…and when the times come…dat will bring out the new & real SAGA!! :D

• rocky on Jun 28, 2011 at 5:33 pm

better buy savvy…. for fuel save, for best handling, and for safety… :) it’s complete car! hehe..

• saw the car last week and i changed my mind. before i said this new myvi is just another kodok by perodua. now i say this myvi is a nice city car.

major improvement by perodua. its like myvi now has a its own identity and we can expect in next five years or so perodua will come up with a better myvi for malaysia.

it is expensive for a small car though. i think woman would love this car more than she loves her husband..

• myvi saga on Jul 02, 2011 at 9:59 am

proton myvi! perodua saga!

• hope these buyers are not getting poorly made, low quality cars from perodua like me!

• bobo13 on Jul 08, 2011 at 11:45 am

adaa jugak yang bengong nak beli savvy kat forum nih..weii beli sawi lah lagi bagus, 600k buyer cannot be wrong meh!!