Volkswagen Eos facelift now available – RM257,888

We’ve just noticed the new facelifted Volkswagen Eos has appeared on Volkswagen Group Malaysia’s website. For the facelift, Volkswagen has updated the Eos with Volkswagen’s latest family looks, clearly linking the Eos to its solid roofed Mk6 Golf stablemate, while the pre-facelift looked like a convertible Mk5 Golf.

The Eos is a “coupe-cabriolet” in the sense that it has a convertible metal roof and not a cloth roof like the other Golf-based open top in the Volkswagen family, the Golf Cabriolet. The metal roof folds down in 25 seconds and is operated by a switch in the center console. The roof incorporates a tilt/slide sunroof, so there’s an option to just use that or go completely topless. VW says that this arrangement is a world’s first.

Peak power for the 2.0 litre TSI direct injection turbo 4-cylinder engine is now 210 PS between 5,300 to 6,200rpm, compared to 200 PS between 5,100rpm to 6,000rpm in the pre-facelift Eos. Peak torque remains at 280Nm, but kicks in 100rpm lower at 1,700rpm and stays steady up to 5,200rpm – 200rpm longer than before. This engine is mated to a 6-speed DSG twin clutch transmission.

The updated front end also now features integrated LED daytime running lights to complement the bi-xenon headlamps.

Other changes to the equipment level include an RNS510 Navigation system with TFT display, touch screen, 30-GB hard disk, SD card reader, DVD drive (previously only RCD510 radio/CD player), 18-inch “Chicago” alloy wheels from Volkswagen Exclusive (previously 17in “Westwood” alloys), 235/40 R18 self-sealing Mobility tires (previously 235/45 R17s), Napa heat reflective “cool leather” upholstery (especially useful for a convertible in sunny Malaysia), and a multi-function display “Premium” with multi-color display (previously white backlit). The price has gone up abit – now available for RM257,888, up from the pre-facelift price tag of RM249,888.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the Eos facelift. There’s also a brochure with a specs sheet embedded so perhaps sharp eyed readers can tell us what equipment has changed from the pre-facelift Eos.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1604]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1709]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azlan on Jul 17, 2011 at 7:10 pm

US Market dont have those LED DRL’s right? I never say them in review videos..

• LULIAN JEE on Jul 17, 2011 at 7:13 pm

Does this compete against the Peugeot 308 CC? Big price difference. Probably because this is 2.0 while the Peugeot is 1.6 liter.

• kenso on Jul 17, 2011 at 7:39 pm

Can you say the Peugeot 308 is a competitor of the Golf TSi? Also a huge price difference for the same category

• I thought it was launched like a month ago? Been seeing it around VW showroom Jalan Ipoh since like 2 weeks ago. Nice car btw.

• Alex Khoo on Jul 17, 2011 at 7:36 pm

Paul, I think the facelifted Eos has the RNS510 head unit with navigation while the pre-facelift Eos had the RCD310 head unit without navigation and touch screen capabilities.

• K K Chen on Jul 17, 2011 at 8:11 pm

at one glance, it comes with KESSY keyless entry system & central MDI display is colour instead of the mono-tone found in current VW models.

my speculation for the models brought into Malaysia with darker interiors instead of the beige ones.

• Alex Khoo on Jul 18, 2011 at 12:00 am

Had a look and a test drive for the Eos at VW at Juru yesterday, I didn’t see KESSY on the car at all, only the traditional key start. And yea, there is now navigation on the Eos.

And for the interiors, I was told there is a choice of black or a reddish brown hue.

• benyeap on Jul 18, 2011 at 12:43 am

Sadly there is no KESSY integrated & the roof remote control is also missing. I just tested driven the car yesterday. The main difference over pre-facelift is addition of DRL, new rear tail light, RNS510, 18″ rims & the sun roof can now be totally slide open.

• BeemerFreak on Jul 17, 2011 at 8:37 pm

Hi Paul,

the specs are available on VGM’s website. However have you heard anything on the price revision for the Passat cc? It has been on hold for a long time with no clear answer.

• Paul Tan on Jul 17, 2011 at 8:45 pm

I know the specs are available there, in fact the specs are on this post as well.

Just that I don’t have detailed specs of the pre-facelift with me right now so I can’t compare what’s changed.

Passat CC – about 30k last I heard, no official numbers yet.

• Passat CC will be discontinued once next-generation Passat is announced for production.

• Paul Tan on Jul 18, 2011 at 12:47 am

Why would they do that? Passat CC is a different car. Like E Class and CLS Class.

• BeemerFreak on Jul 18, 2011 at 9:59 am

This guy has no clear idea what is the difference between the passat and the passat cc……. BTW Paul, I dropped by Federal Auto in Glenmarie and they confirmed with me about the increment for the CC which is RM 20 000. However I will let you do the verification as it is always better to trust your website than vague salesmen’s statements.

• Paul Tan on Jul 18, 2011 at 11:32 am

Will definitely update you once we have official numbers… all these unofficial numbers are open to flip flop.

• Lim Kopi on Jul 18, 2011 at 12:22 am

They’ve just started releasing those stranded at port …. Old price still apply for some old buyers, for new buyers its apparently now :

– 250k++ for Standard spec

– 270k ++ for High spec

Thanks to Kastam Malaysia of course.

• pinhed on Jul 19, 2011 at 2:14 pm

additional 20k++ “as related by KDRM’s source” appear to be on the lower-side. i was half-expecting it to be nearer to an additional 30k++… anyway, we’ll know soon enough!

but, not sure how will this impact m’sian sales of passat cc, though… most may just want to wait it out for the updated version scheduled for this september/october-launch in europe…

vwm must be really in crunch about this whole episode…

• Isn’t the Golf GTI the better choise for Malaysia?

I frequently see some EOS in Penang, but I never saw a EOS with the roof openend?

Why to pay for a convertible, if I never use the folding roof?

• SHxx… Every Eos are hardtop convertibles, so you are confused.

• Even worse, as a hardtop is more expensive: Why shall I pay for a hardtop that I’ll never open?

• benyeap on Jul 18, 2011 at 12:46 am

How about open top during holiday get-aways like at Genting?? By the way, the Eos has sunroof as well, not necessary to open top all the while.

• kenny on Jul 17, 2011 at 8:47 pm

it is a lost opportunity for peugeot for not having more 308cc for malaysia.

• sutheshkumar on Jul 17, 2011 at 9:02 pm

Check the brochure. The car now comes with navigation as standard but I am not sure whether it gets the keyless entry.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 17, 2011 at 9:02 pm

Save your money and get a pre-own 3 series convertible instead.

• kenny on Jul 17, 2011 at 9:54 pm

sometimes, NEW is more important than a pre-owned… regardless of the brand.

• I’ll wait for the R version of the facelifted Eos, and also the new Jetta.

• VW R fans on Jul 17, 2011 at 10:30 pm

Any R-models confirmed by VW beside Golf R, Scirocco R and Polo R?

• the previous price is RM249,888 instead of RM248,888

• Eos facelift + price facelift?it’s too expensive and it looks like the Golf TSI!i think my Polo looks like the new Jetta,Passat and…VW is so boring but the performance and handling is super!

• When the VW wanna to release the Polo Sedan..

• maybe G already rejected the car because of proton protection…

• So sad pity. When the rakyat needs affordable, hassle free car at the same time gov rejected this car for protecting proton.

• one major change….first convertible with sunroof!

• benyeap on Jul 18, 2011 at 12:51 am

Previously it has a sunroof too but only able to tilt. But now this new facelift can slide open.

• kcyang on Jul 18, 2011 at 9:07 am

The previous version can either be tilted or slide it to open

• johnson on Jul 18, 2011 at 12:02 am

i just dont beieve that car price in malaysia is so damm expensive.
    thanks to mahathir the great clown and naza who produce produce low quality cars yet protect them,protect bumi company then rakyat has to pay more to enjoy luxury.
    bloody cibai!!!

• Lim Kopi on Jul 18, 2011 at 12:27 am

WHY is it that VGM always leaves out BLUETOOTH in their cars ??

Apart from maybe the new Toureg, notice all their cars DO NOT HAVE BLUETOOTH connectivity ??

Even Kia Forte or Ford Fiesta has it now ….. what a shame!!

• gavin on Jul 18, 2011 at 2:30 am

Convertible in Malaysia is as useful as ice is to an Eskimo and sand to an arab

• Is goverment reluctant to approve any reasonable priced VW sedan or VW has no plan to launch any? All these hatchback and luxury cars are just for the minority…

• junaidi on Jul 18, 2011 at 11:10 am

have they climatised the rubber seals of the folding roof to suit malaysian weather?
    nabeh, almost all EOS’s leaking if the rain is really heavy.

• all vw s have that same boring front….no character at all…..

but i guess its ok to pay for these over priced cars since its German….

might as well get a BMW or Merc… more prestige anytime… no convincing required…

• tan choi lee on Jul 19, 2011 at 10:08 am

all of this is just worldly. you die and everything is left behind.