Honda CR-Z Mugen RR – no current plans for production

Remember the Honda CR-Z Mugen? That orange machine wore plenty of go faster bits and is supercharged to produce 50% more power and torque, 197 hp and 245 Nm to be exact. Here’s a more extreme version of the same concept – the Honda CR-Z Mugen RR, produced by M-TEC in Japan for show purposes only, and there are currently no plans for further production. Currently.

The CR-Z Mugen RR has been created with plenty of bespoke prototype parts, some of which are in carbon fibre, including the bonnet, doors and tailgate. Other features unique to the RR include a full length carbon-fibre underbody, a twin central-exit exhaust, vented front bumpers and race-developed suspension. Orange four-piston monobloc brake calipers and forged 18-inch alloys complement the Valencia Orange Pearl paint work.

Inside, the seats are in colour-coded leather/Alcantara. A “race-developed information screen” has the ability to record chassis and engine data as well as house a sat nav and audio system. This high tech kit will monitor the car over two laps to “learn” a circuit and then record lap data and vehicle tracking using GPS. No engine details and figures were released.

The Mugen RR was first seen early last month at the Moving Motor Show area of Goodwood Festival of Speed, which the Honda CR-Z Mugen, designed and built by UK-based Mugen Euro, also attended.

Hi res pics after the jump. We have a feeling this will be a popular wallpaper.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2496]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• VW_fans on Aug 02, 2011 at 12:28 pm

Damn cool looking car, wish all future type-R will be this spec & outlook.

• poolie on Aug 02, 2011 at 2:03 pm

the whole package extremely unrefined looking… ter jus tried too hard…

• Aaron Isaac on Aug 02, 2011 at 12:31 pm

Now that’s what I’d call Fast Orange!!! ‘Like’ if you know what I’m referring to!! *it’s a detergent :p*

• gunigugu on Aug 02, 2011 at 12:31 pm

looks bloody awesome from the front..but the back is a bit sloppy if you ask me..with the spoiler and the bumper..i would change them to something a bit more subtle and i think it would look better overall

• Looks so ‘Ah Beng’,yuck! The power train and tech is good though.

• RedBoys on Aug 02, 2011 at 1:42 pm

wow.. very nice and amazing cool car.. the design so hot..

• donadoni on Aug 02, 2011 at 2:15 pm

get the standard first here lah! aigoo..

• kwing on Aug 02, 2011 at 2:54 pm

usually Honda don’t wait around for “from showroom to production”…. hope this get produced so there’s hot hatch from the land of the rising sun to compete against european

• Moktharan on Aug 02, 2011 at 3:03 pm

For goodness sake.

Only the Lambos looks good in that orange.

Honda… honda ….

• Expatriate VN on Aug 02, 2011 at 3:45 pm

The back look, is simply “outrageous”.

• Egnaro on Aug 02, 2011 at 6:38 pm

Is that black looking thing at the rear for drying wet clothing and socks?

• Wah. Very nice. i like it. faster come to bolehland.

• BOYRACER on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:41 pm

Cool looking car.Why no production version?Wonder what’s next?Honda CR-Z Mugen RRR?

• ONEcountry?? on Aug 03, 2011 at 1:03 am

wah!!

• Rosmah on Aug 03, 2011 at 5:41 am

My son luvs it, i don’t know what he has been smoking, but he thinks it’s a chick magnet aiyoh.

• Victor on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:14 am

No hybrid for honda R please…!

• V_power on Aug 04, 2011 at 1:03 pm

The CR-Z is already a sleek, sculpted piece of sheet metal – in standard trim. This is an animal! Yes, it’s in your face, but it’s wearing the Mugen RR moniker – there’s always the CR-Z Mugen option for the less adventurous…

The standard 1.5 lump is not my definition of garang! So a supercharged, 197 bhp CR-Z Mugen RR is perhaps the best we can hope for to bring the CRX’s reputation back to life. Enough with the tree-hugging – we need more road-hugging specials, Honda!!