Honda CR-Z Mugen unveiled – supercharged for 197 hp!

These are the first pics of the Honda CR-Z Mugen, which will make its public debut at the Goodwood Festival of Speed end of June in UK. It’s the work of Mugen’s UK performance division and features a big boost in power as well as upgrades in suspension and brakes.

Mugen’s CR-Z retains the regular coupe’s 1.5-litre petrol motor, but they’ve supercharged it to produce 50% more power and torque. The claimed overall figure is 197 hp and 245 Nm just for the engine. Overall figures will be higher thanks to a recalibrated version of the CR-Z’s Integrated Motor Assist (IMA) electric motor. Overall figures for the standard CR-Z are 122 hp and 173 Nm, so we’re looking at a huge jump.

Chassis mods include a wider rear track, larger brakes with four-pot calipers and five-step adjustable dampers. There will also be quite a bit of reduction in weight, contributed in part by the carbon fibre bonnet we see here. Other visible changes are the addition of a big rear wing, bodykit, Mugen rims, a triangle muffler and gauges on the dash top.

Honda is considering an official hot CR-Z – let’s hope that an encouraging response to this one-off will convince them! Hi-res pics after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2248]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Uncle Honda on May 19, 2011 at 12:56 pm

thats i called honda

• Choprak Cawat Besiwat on May 19, 2011 at 1:02 pm

Hope Honda Malaysia will bring this monster here..

ambo setuju..

jange plawok, plawok plawok lagi

• unfortunately i don’t think honda will bring this in. we’ll have to wait for grey importers recon units.

• RamuNik on May 19, 2011 at 1:08 pm

– bring it here – bring it here – bring it here – bring it here – bring it here – bring it here – bring it here – bring it here – bring it here – bring it here – bring it here – bring it here – bring it here – bring it here – bring it here – bring it here – bring it here – bring it here – NOW!

Faster-lah Hondi. heheheh

• 122hp CRZ is a cruel mean joke..

its a hybrid, but its not that fuel saving

its handles well, but it does not have the power to back it up… hmm kinda reminds me of a Satria Neo (non RS version)..

this version however is what a CRZ should be

• omega on May 19, 2011 at 1:15 pm

tak perlu sembang byk.. bwk masuk malaysia laaaaaaaa

• Standard cr-z is not even imported to Malaysia. How come we can have these sick car?

• oMZG….my deamzz Cr-Z is here……200hp,light weight….damn is fun

• Andrew on May 19, 2011 at 1:23 pm

Won’t come to my~ 1% possibility~ Y malaysia like this 1…… ><

• Droooools. Kudos to Mugen.

@ Comments section: You guys have shit for english.

• springroll on May 19, 2011 at 2:15 pm

I completely agree! The only reason I scrolled down all the way to your comment is because I was giving the engRish speakers a thumbs down each. Funny how the standard of english rises from your comment onwards though

• Choprak Cawat Besiwat on May 19, 2011 at 3:42 pm

as long as Malaysian understand, no need to use proper English..

coz when we speak also, the grammar is like……u know i know la..

**asal ore ramai pehey, x dok hal bagi kawe..hok mano ado gaot, sakit jantung, kecing manis, jgn lepok sini..kelik kelik kelik

• springroll on May 20, 2011 at 2:39 pm

& that’s why the public sector is so inefficient, because it’s full of ‘your people’ that think ‘we don’t have to do a good job, as long as the job is sort of done it’s good enough”. With you people it’s all about reaching the minimum standard.

• toksera on May 21, 2011 at 7:16 pm

and your people is…..blood sucking opportunist who just want everything for themselves. you are just a typical racist & hypocrite. just sad to have people like you here.

• Choprak Cawat Besiwat on May 21, 2011 at 10:36 pm

i think, because of person like you that makes the public sector too slow when doing something..

need to follow unnecessary procedures/bureaucracies, even though others already understood the meaning/flow of the task given..

** sumbak parok demo..bajet hebat la tu terer speaking..ambo pon A1 EngRish time SPM dulu..parok parok

• maserati on May 19, 2011 at 4:33 pm

Then where is your agree’s D ?

• springroll on May 20, 2011 at 2:37 pm

It doesn’t need a ‘d’, if I said ‘agreed’ it means I used to agree but no longer agree. I still agree with him, hence why I said ‘agree’. Fail comeback.

• LatukBandar on May 19, 2011 at 7:42 pm

Haiya, like that u go lepak at angmoh motorcar blog lah, why come here? Our standard not good for you, yet u wanna come here and read then look down on us.

Go, go look for your white colonial master.

• springroll on May 20, 2011 at 2:43 pm

We visit this website because we’re in Malaysia, so we look for news relevant to the Malaysian car industry. Duh, isn’t it obvious? We don’t come here to look down upon you, but unfortunately your poor english encourages it.

In case you haven’t noticed, this site operates with the English language. You don’t like it, go look for automotive news in a language that better suits you.

Go, go back to working in the rice fields where poor communication skills doesn’t matter in the workplace

• toksera on May 20, 2011 at 5:12 pm

and you think all of those ‘towkeh’ in the urban area can speak proper english?

“We visit this website because we’re in Malaysia, so we look for news relevant to the Malaysian car industry.”

so, is it wrong if we can communicate with other Malaysians even though if they’re not using proper english. Don’t be a show off & a hypocrite laaaa……we are talking about automotive industry laa… this is not an english exam laa….. relax la bangg……

• ramai orang nak kereta ni masuk Malaysia, tapi, ramai ke yang nak beli?

• afeef on May 19, 2011 at 1:47 pm

ok now prius is my second dream hybrid….drooolzzzzz

• sixtythree on May 19, 2011 at 1:53 pm

yup…its a very…very…very niche market in Msia for 2 seater car

• i have a question about hybrid engines; does supercharged the engine increase its Co2 emission?

• Wisdom on May 19, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Toyota should have an answer to this high perf hybrid. TRD Prius maybe?
    *hope it wont be as pathetic as TRD Sportivo Vios.

• ilikecrz on May 19, 2011 at 2:25 pm

I can’t wait to see it on the road in Malaysia. C’mon Honda . Bring it in !!!

• 100 X better looking than Hyundai Veloster & Kia Forte Koup.

• redboy on May 19, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Owned a CRX in 1992! :)

• Standard CRZ rumoured to be brought in by June but no sign of it yet! Been waiting to book it since Jan. Performance not as bad as figures suggest since torque from electric motor kicks in at very low revs – so performace equivalent to 1.8l engine in a lighter body. Saw it in flesh recently in S Africa and very nice indeed!

• Mr Teoh on May 19, 2011 at 2:58 pm

This is what the Koreans can never achieve lor. Soul, passion and excitement.

• BeemerFreak on May 19, 2011 at 6:33 pm

Erm Japanese are still some way behind the Europeans after decades and the Koreans only after a few years are sniffing at the Japanese ass

• HotSoup on May 19, 2011 at 2:59 pm

As if the people who seemingly craves the car to be brought in would buy it.

• Ahkow. on May 19, 2011 at 3:36 pm

I’ll buy one for sure.

• droll on May 19, 2011 at 3:49 pm

the future of motorsports is in the hybrid – not the electric car.

• this will make Honda fans in Msia desperately own 1. . .

• But…. not my taste sorry…

• sorry Mr, you sound so fake… like a HonTa fanboy.

• woah what’s wrong with the comment section for this entry? almost evry1 is getting more thumbs down.

paul should come out with a moderating system

• Paul Tan on May 19, 2011 at 5:59 pm

So now you want people to moderate the votes as well?

• torque on May 19, 2011 at 6:56 pm

Only him gets the thumbs up…no one mess with the godfather! To the rest, come on…this is Mugen project. Do u see any Honda dealer selling the Mugen RR? This car will come, don’t worry…through the bloodsucking grey importer with hefty price tag and still there’s people gonna buy!

• Ugly.

• Don’t be so harsh on yourself.

Hanguk Toady Crawler cannot take it when Nippon come out with such Superb Machine compare those mutated Velociraptor, opps i mean Veloster.

• La Cremeria on May 19, 2011 at 8:16 pm

I’m Fiesta owner, this car really awesome if I have more money to spend surely I will grab it. Those Forte and Veloster really ugly, people who don’t have great taste of car can buy Forte and Veloster.

• chrislove proton on May 19, 2011 at 8:50 pm

great car for the boy racers. no wonder you get so many not so intelligent comments. If this topic is about cars for the mature ones, you wont be getting ‘bad english’, go back to colonial masters remark (and they themselves worship Japaneses shit).

Honda is very happy to have Malaysian market buying its overpriced products. Some idiotic comments about Hyundai’s new offering, that is uncalled for.

I look at the dashboard pic and i already want to puke. its so fancy,and ugly.
    Car looks nice, power will be thr- but giving this car to idiots to drive will make a lot of ppl die on the road!

• OMG…when i see the interior pic, i found out dont have push start and stop button….No perfect in this world.

• Carl Wong on May 20, 2011 at 3:10 am

Most Protons (Inspira not counted) or Peroduas won’t ever see or catch the tail/rear lights of the CRZ. And they would get stuck on the road trying (out of fuel) LOL. Powerful and efficient. If you want to save fuel just use the Eco assist mode :).

• ezracopters on May 23, 2011 at 10:35 pm

haha.. dude walk the talk.. wanna try ur standard crz with my standard neo??

• unimpressed on May 20, 2011 at 7:40 am

reading RCZ and CRZ news back to back. ekekeke.

• wow i like this.. but the rear end still look weird to me..haha

• mat koboi on May 20, 2011 at 7:45 pm

honda powerrr….

• snowfrog on May 21, 2011 at 10:45 pm

Where IS crz leh… ..say bring bring bring.. can book book book.. but the car still not yet in msia ..zzzz~~~~..
    Say june-september… CANOT WAIT JORRRRR .. weii.. honda~~~

• CRZ RCZ DSZ all neither here nor there.

• ezracopters on May 23, 2011 at 10:43 pm

well overall.. considering the age of powerful old skool honda engine had gone, this new gen not that disappointing.

i wonder how the hybrid work in this, will it be the same value for the monies as people said? i never drove any hybrid before coz mostly the car itself was pretty bored and lame on the power, outlook and interior.. but this one.. hmm not that good, still a little ah beng but okay la.. 197 hp and 245 Nm .. pretty close to upcoming Satria Neo supercharge..

all the best Honda, maybe there will be second wave of ur cult!!

• likehondanotsomuch on May 24, 2011 at 12:48 am

damn,this car kacau my sleep

• sorry… the car looks a bit short.

• Victor on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:23 am

Honda R, Mugen, Spoon: Get rid of that hybrid please !!