Honda CR-Z: Live pictures from Detroit

As reported earlier the CR-Z hybrid coupe by Honda was revealed at the 2010 Detroit Auto Show. On top of some official high-res images that were shown to you, we now have live images of the new vehicle that were taken at the event. The two-seater 2011 Honda CR-Z is powered by a hybrid system that is made up a 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine and an IMA electric motor. Potential buyers can also select a CVT or a 6-speed manual cog box.

Total power output is rated at 122hp at 6,000 revs and 173Nm of torque available between 1,000 revs and 1,500 revs, which sounds pretty good. Other technologies that will enable you to reduce precious consumption of fuel include brake energy regeneration as well as auto start-stop for the engine. You can also choose between three driving modes: Economy, Normal and Sport where the third mode is more suited for spirited driving.

Look for an image gallery filled with live pictures after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=762]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Herminem on Jan 14, 2010 at 8:49 am

1st…I like

• jimbet on Jan 14, 2010 at 8:53 am

i hope they will make the type R version for this

• sugoi on Jan 14, 2010 at 9:01 am

i like the rear curve and design but the front head need some time to get used to it.

• Kevin Lee on Jan 14, 2010 at 9:12 am

what happened to the 1 litre per 100hp philosophy of honda? this cr-z doesnt even match the cr-x to begin with. its a shame

• Neutral on Jan 14, 2010 at 9:16 am

wow…

• jeffvip on Jan 14, 2010 at 9:41 am

@Bruce, that is a great point of view that coming from a wide prospective. thumbs up.

@others, Don’t just bash and bash, we need to think… personally I like this concept too, environment friendly sport car, since all the sports car in the world is not environment friendly at all with those high consumption rate n CO2 emission. why not giving this car a try

• droll on Jan 14, 2010 at 9:48 am

manufacturers should include a more detailed game in the dashboard that rewards drivers for saving fuel while driving. that would fit this car perfectly.

• chun (Member) on Jan 14, 2010 at 10:27 am

The CR-Z is such a disappointment compared with the concept car shown earlier. The design is so watered down and the performance is just so lame for a coupe like this. Honda is struggling at the moment and with cars like this coming out I expect them to not fare so well moving forward.

• Bruce Ban on Jan 14, 2010 at 11:24 am

Actually this car does make sense if we think of the future concept as being explain by the ceo of Honda Mr. Takanobu Ito during the launching of this car. To truly understand the motive of this car we have to look back. During the 60’s and 70’s, it’s the peak of sport cars development, as well as the development of the engine, such as the first ever Nissan Skyline GT-R PGC-10. The Nissan GT-R has only 160hp form it’s S20I6 engine and was consider the one of the best sport car and best engine ever made at that time, and to think of it the horsepower figure is nothing nowadays. To make sense this is what actually happening to the development of hybrid Technology. Honda is trying to make a fast engine using hybrid technology. The hp figure of this cr-z engine might be puny right now but with further development we might see 300hp hybrid cr-z in the next future. If Honda does not produce this car, then we will never see further development of hybrid engine into sport cars. Besides, this car will allows tuners company such as spoon, mugen and also amuse further gain knowledge and experience on tuning hybrids engine for the future if the future is all about hybrid cars.

• vailance on Jan 14, 2010 at 11:50 am

its so much diff compare to the concept ones. no more stylish side mirror, ugly gear stick, headlights seems dull., and abit plasticky for me.

• put everything aside.. from the front it's a joyful car.. lol

• mystvearn on Jan 14, 2010 at 3:15 pm

My only concern now is the rear view from the driver's side. The overhang is quite high. Is it worse than the eurocivic in terms of view?

• Bruce Ban on Jan 14, 2010 at 3:18 pm

Paul, please embed these link on your page :D
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SCEsGLwimKY http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bv0fijHC05E

• Kazim Denit on Jan 14, 2010 at 3:34 pm

I love it, probably gona exchange my 2008 HCH for this one.

• mitlanevo on Jan 14, 2010 at 4:04 pm

gotta be the best Honda of 2010 !!!

• Foong on Jan 14, 2010 at 5:04 pm

Agreed with Bruce Ban, save the environment….

• gangully on Jan 14, 2010 at 5:48 pm

Hmmm… Volvo S40 and a bit of the BMW Z4 in the front… don you think?

• pulltea on Jan 14, 2010 at 5:50 pm

The original car was called CRX.

Why they missed out naming this car CRY instead of CRZ?

• Jacky Yong on Jan 14, 2010 at 6:23 pm

Nice, if only Honda could bring it to Malaysia. But then again, no point selling here. The restrictive tax and our hybrid-unfriendly policies will only mean that this car will remain an unreachable dream for me. :(

• Looks nice without plate no. :-)

• Bruce Ban:

I'm really sorry, I'm going to be offensive.

Like the bloviators who introduced this thing, you hide the fact that this car is a HUGE disappointment.

In 18 minutes of rambling about nothing, Mr Mendel and Mr Ito said not one word about actual performance. Who introduces and brand new 'sports' car and fails to talk numbers??

The facts are that Honda has had TWENTY YEARS since the CRX. And this is the result of their smartest people's best innovation???

The CR-Z is a *massive* anti-climax. The front is a Civic with an open mouth, the back is an Insight. Performance? So close to the Prius it's no wonder the suits didn't go there.

Just wait until Jeremy Clarkson gets hold of this thing and drag races it next to a Prius.

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Jan 14, 2010 at 7:29 pm

how much about its fuel consumption, better than prius??

• 1malaysia on Jan 14, 2010 at 7:32 pm

each time i see all nice cars launched, i feel i wanna "tiao" our dovernment!

by imposed such a high tax on car makes we all "see-only-talk-only!" i agree to hv toll on private high-way, agree not to subsidize petrol, but pls reduce tax on car! other country selling expensive petrol but cheap on car price.

• Alpha on Jan 14, 2010 at 7:33 pm

whoa!!a Honda CR-Z Type-R sure sounds nice!!with a turbocharged/supercharged hybrid engine!!lolz!!!cool!!

• Day deSIANG on Jan 14, 2010 at 8:04 pm

I wan 3.0L NSX engine with hybrid in it!!!

• mynuszero on Jan 14, 2010 at 8:23 pm

wah front copy Audi/Golf rear copy Prius nobody complaint oso…..if Persona FL sure tembak kaw2…..oh ya rite….its Honda mah.

• Nice but then does it realy suit into a sports car category its more like a coupe to me

• behind looks like gen2, honda copy proton?

• Fantastic car!! Well designed for the future…

• toyacar on Jan 14, 2010 at 10:49 pm

it looks sleepy to me…

• got to see with my own eyes before giving any comment. how about the asian spec?

• Gajen on Jan 14, 2010 at 11:21 pm

ive got to admit despite looking weird…i actually like this car..the back looks rugged..wonder when will it come here

• Peter on Jan 14, 2010 at 11:22 pm

No matter wad, i wont buy a hybrid car yet. I am unsure about the reliability and the whole overall manufacturing and spare parts costs like the hybrid motor. This is alot of uncertainty. Furthermore, i love the toyota-subaru FT-86 concept. That car is much better.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 15, 2010 at 3:28 am

very very sexy. if only they put in type r engine and not this.

• kopi-man on Jan 15, 2010 at 10:07 am

First car i bought, CRX 1989/90 (cant remember) Nice and small car to drive that time. I would sure like to check out CRZ when it is available in Malaysia.

• Bruce Ban on Jan 15, 2010 at 3:04 pm

@ Neil,

I do understand what you mean… even the latest prius has net hp of 135hp. But what I do not agree is that neither cr-x or cr-z is intended to be a very fast sport car. cr-x was intended to be high fuel economical sport car but yet very fun to drive and also very versatile at the same time. And also it was not a failure… if you are around it's time, you will know that it's popular among poor petrol-head (like me), and it has been awarded many times.

The point is that honda is trying to make cr-z to live up to it's father reputation as high fuel economical sport car. like what i want for my son to be :P . And to stack this up with prius? i bet this car is much more faster due to it's manual option.

I want people to see this as the modern cr-x and also the ae86. they weren't intend to be very fast on the straight but rather very fun to drive. but i cant say it's that fun until i test drive it. people like jeremy clarkson don't know what is the true meaning of sport car. sport car is just like you and me, we play football even we aren't good at it, because? it is fun! :D jeremy is born to drive supercars.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 15, 2010 at 7:13 pm

kopi-man said,

January 15, 2010 @ 2:07 am

First car i bought, CRX 1989/90 (cant remember) Nice and small car to drive that time. I would sure like to check out CRZ when it is available in Malaysia.

——————————-

dont be disappointed to not find a normal engine inside it.

• Peng Wong on Jan 16, 2010 at 5:40 am

I have owned 4 CRXs, and still have a 2nd gen powered by a B18C engine (200hp 8500rpm redline) from the Integra Type R.

The original CRX was designed to be an economical car for the city and initially has a puny 1.3L 60hp engine. It was very light (less than 850kg). Soon petrol heads and Honda found that with just a mild boost in power, the car has pace.

Then in 1988 the 2nd generation cars came along, This car has looks and ability to die for till this day. The Si model was powered by the very smooth and high reving (8100rpm redline) twin cam VTEC 160hp B16A engines. (Honda has not build a sweeter or better 1.6L engine since). With a limited diff and close ratio gerabox it was great fun to drive and economical too. This pocket rocket has surprisingly a very comfortable ride with great handling able to absorb bumps and thumps better than the Civic of the same generation. The 1988 CRX Si was even named one of Road & Track's 10 Best Cars of All Time

3rd Gen was a big disappointment. It was expansive and less fun. It did not move the game forward but was instead a big step backwards. So with disappointing sales the CRX was discontinued after the 3rd Gen.

So what makes a good CRX. It has to be light with good handling and ride without getting harsh. Gearshift has to be creamy smooth. The engine must be smooth all the way to the redline. And it has to be economical. And it must be reasonably affordable.

I believe the CRZ has all those attributes. The big question is how much Honda wants for it.

• ignas on Jan 16, 2010 at 7:16 am

forget honda city, im getting this! if only it manages to make its way to our shore.

• Bruce Ban on Jan 16, 2010 at 8:21 am

@ peng wong

I believe that this car might be priced around 2.5 million yen, which is about RM92000.00 (japanese price in rm)

• bystander on Jan 17, 2010 at 11:12 pm

@ bruce, very good description with the ae-86 & crx, but neither one of us has yet driven a crz, so cannot simply jump into conclusion just because it's a honda… 86 & crx was not even developed as a sporty or fun car but it just accidentally happened so due to light weight & basic suspension set up. They might not even be the best car available that time, but cult followings would have naturally manifested due to its affordability, economical qualities, and raw numbers on the road. Those were very good cars indeed but those were the days. Personally, i think what u have described as the honda effort is a fairy tale, automobile industry is all about profit and profit only. This crz is just a show car to proof that insight is not a toyota prius copycat failure. i believe it is a bold achievement, but rather pointless to us as the consumer.

• Dear Honda Malaysia,

we are waiting for Honda CR-Z that price around RM65k to rm75k outside of Malaysia. thus, the price in here would be +- da same.

Please launch it in Malaysia ASAP

TQR