Jianghuai Automobile to build assembly plant in Brazil

Some news about Anhui Jianghuai Automobile Co, or JAC. The Chinese automaker is looking at expanding its presence in Brazil by building a production plant there, reports say. The Hefei-based company, which made more than 450,000 cars domestically and was placed eight last year in terms of output for Chinese auto manufacturers, is already present in Brazil.

It began sales in the country in March this year, and by June had sold more than 20,000 units of its J5 sedan in Brazil. The J6 MPV is due to be introduced into the Brazilain market this month. The new plant is slated to begin production in 2014 and will have an annual production capacity of 100,000 vehicles.

JAC isn’t the only Chinese automaker with grand plans for Brazil – Chery has begun work on its own assembly plant there, and earlier this year, Chonqing Lifan Industry Group stated plans to build a JV assembly plant with Brazilian auto dealer EFFA Motors, the reports add.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Proton.
    When you want to penetrate the South American market?

• Plotong on Aug 05, 2011 at 2:16 pm

Errr… Can we get the protection (like in Malaysia) there or not???

• VoidDance on Aug 05, 2011 at 2:56 pm

Good question. It may be down to the fact that Proton is essentially a right-hand drive car manufacturer which produce small amount left-hand drive car. It might be down to the cost…

• GoWae on Aug 05, 2011 at 3:02 pm

Dont forget about Perodua – only sells here. Worst than Proton

• littlefire on Aug 07, 2011 at 8:29 am

Even it only sells here, but they manage to beat P1 sales…

• Expatriate VN on Aug 05, 2011 at 4:13 pm

“Waite for Dr. M to be appointed as UN secretary, then ask Brazil implement NAP to protect P1” – so waite until the cow come home.

• Mask Ryder on Aug 05, 2011 at 1:23 pm

China car is getting beter & beter by day, this would penetrate low price market & slaughter Hyundai & Kia for sure.

• Black Dog on Aug 05, 2011 at 1:29 pm

Anthony, how many Chinese car manufacturers are there in China?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Aug 05, 2011 at 1:37 pm

Dunno the exact numbers – the ones I know of besides Jianghuai are BAIC, FAW, BYD, ChangAn, Dongfeng, Geely, Chery, Youngman, Great Wall, Chongqing Lifan and Nanjing MG, but with all the sub-brands coming about (like Baojun) and new JVs mushrooming, there should be more than that above. Anyone out there wanna hazard a guess?

• Black Dog on Aug 05, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Just imagine with that quantity of manufacturers coming up, they’ll be more than all the Toyotas, Ford, VW, BMW etc combined in the near future!

A rough calculation in 20 years time: 3 billion people with just 0.5 billion owing cars. 50 major car companies with average 1 million cars each produced annually. And this is just for local consumption. Add in exports….

In China, everything is numbers, because it’s really huge…

• LatukBandar on Aug 05, 2011 at 11:28 pm

3 billion people? With the one child policy, where do u get the 3 billion figure? it is more like 1.5 billion in 20 years.

• squawk on Aug 07, 2011 at 10:21 pm

One child policy already outdated. Certain people are allowed to have more than 1 child. :-)

• blackjkx on Aug 05, 2011 at 2:21 pm

wow…what a market..god bless china. I cant believe one day my children and grand2 children will drive a Chongqing Lifan brand of car..haha

• Wooo.wooo.. hold on2x!!

• china dolls 2 on Aug 07, 2011 at 2:29 am

FAW(Changchun based), BAW(Beijing), SAIC(shanghai), Dongfeng(wuhan), Chana(Chongqing), Lifan(Chongqing), GAIG(Guangdong), BYD(Guangdong), Chery(Anhui), JAC(Anhui), Briilance(Liaoning), Geely(Zhejiang), Zotye(Zhejiang), Greatwall(Hebei).

The commercial vehicle manufacturers are not on the list.

Youngman doesn’t make passenger cars until a couple of years ago and isn’t now a major player in this regard.

• kamaji on Aug 05, 2011 at 2:05 pm

Hey..this car look familar lah.Like a little here & there from Altis / Civic.Anyway if assemble & sell locally below 55k….then ada banyak orang ta pow lol.

• China cars very plasticky …….dont want to be in one of those fake thingy…..all things in china are fake accept Amoi…..

• RedBeanBun on Aug 05, 2011 at 2:07 pm

well, the Proton supporter will bash said made in china milo tin….oh wait, isnt that we shout about Protong 25 years ago, but they still remain the same after all this years?…oh my fault, they got CVT lately…

• Just me on Aug 05, 2011 at 4:47 pm

I remember few years ago when I visited proton showroom to take a look on newly launch Savvy, the salesman told me this car do not need air beg, because the bonet is very tough. He forgot that tough bonet will kill the driver faster. Later when I visited another Proton showroom to place booking for the BLM. The salesman told me BLM is a safety car. At first I thought it is going to be use as safety car in Sepang F1. After clarify with him, he said safe because rear window is manual. Kid will have dificulty to wind down the window.

• ah_lock on Aug 05, 2011 at 4:07 pm

even though, it is a china brand, but overall, from my perspective, the exterior is not bad at all.. hmmm…

• bongek on Aug 05, 2011 at 4:25 pm

i would love to see proton try to enter india first…reason: nearer to our shore…at least to chennai….but it make no progress at all….. it make me very sad,,, please proton,,i beleive u can …

• MoFaz on Aug 06, 2011 at 2:29 am

yes, India makes more sense than going all the way to american region in first try. India is right-hand drive like many other commonwealth countries. converting their cars to left-hand drive for american region might incur higher cost to proton.

• Forestcat on Aug 05, 2011 at 11:54 pm

Proton shoul ensure it protects our industrial base, dun end up like US car makers who guzzle tax payer funds and open plants in china and cause unemployment back home.

China has strong domestic market to propel it auto industry.Hope proton expand it’s niche in it’s international markets with its persona replacement model next year.

• littlefire on Aug 07, 2011 at 8:33 am

Sadly P1 used a lot of out tax money to survive in the past.. Compare to other car manufacturers…

• Have anyone drive China car? Boleh caye ke?

• ujumpijump on Aug 06, 2011 at 1:40 pm

wah…believe me… its stylo than inspira…buckle up guys!!!

• Unforgiven on Aug 08, 2011 at 11:38 am

Those cars are still better than ‘it’ in M’sia right?