2012 Honda Civic images from Saudi Honda website

Here’s a fresh new photo gallery of the new 9th generation Honda Civic taken off Honda’s Saudi Arabian website, now featuring interior images to complement the front, side and rear angles that we featured last week.

We’ve already detailed the small differences between the US Civic sedan and this Asian/global version in our previous post – basically just the grille, bumper and tail lamps.

The interior looks pretty much the same as the US version too – just minor variances such as different colours used on the dash surfaces (a two tone dash seen here), and a completely red hazard warning button seen here as compared to the black and red one we saw on the US Civic. This image also lacks the full colour screen on the US Civic – here we see regular radio head unit buttons.

Look after the jump for a gallery and an embedded brochure of the 2012 Civic.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2519]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• anti vios on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:01 pm

…doesnt matter wheter it came from, saudi website.. malaysia website… or even JAPAN website.. its still fugLY!!!!!

• Daniel on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:15 pm

I think the designers have done a terrible job. The current civic was a real eye opener when it first came out.

This latest model seems a bit dated and unpleasant.

Disclaimer: I drive the current Civic. Not the best car in the world, but pleasant and reliable enough for me.

• We have different taste, for me the current civic looks like a stupid guy smiles very very wide. I hate it everytime I see one.

So, I like this 2012 more than the current one

Disclaimer – I dont have a civic but a close friend driving it.

• city_conscious on Aug 11, 2011 at 10:25 am

Yes, I totally agree with you. The current civic does look like a stupid guy smiling very very wide. Which is why I prefer this 2012 design than the current one also. After all, looking more futuristic does not necessarily mean that it looks nicer. It’s just too bad that the US Consumer Report didn’t recommend this car, because designwise, it’s nice as it is.

• khang on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:13 pm

err… the 2012 design also similar to a stupid guy smiling very wide with thick bottom lip.

no wonder the consumer report doesn’t recommend a civic. XD

Disclaimer – I dont have a civic and none of my friend driving a civic.

• Jonnypepper on Aug 11, 2011 at 5:12 pm

alot better looking than bmuu 3 series for sure!!

• theanswer on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:13 am

hows the performance? nvh? comfort? is it fd1 or fd2? tq.

• LatukBandar on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:52 pm

I don’t understand the way some people think. I mean, who cares if the exterior is ugly, as long as the engine is good and the interior is beautiful. Right? For me, the engine and interior matters the most, you can’t deny Civic has some really awesome dashboard.

Why people buy a car based on the exterior when most of the time we spend our time INSIDE the car, not OUTSIDE.

Just like a house renovation, people spend more money on their toilet per square feet while the least on their bedroom or living room. We spend like 20 – 30 minutes the most a day in our toilet, why not invest more in a place where we gonna spend most of the time in?

Just like a car, who cares the exterior, it is the interior that matters… it is the interior and the engine that makes a car comfortable and enjoyable to drive, not the exterior.

• Interior and exterior are all very important.House and women too.U still wash ur eyes when u see hot chicks but u dun even knw wats her character and personality inside.Civic is not cheap is abt 100k+ in this design i dun tink is worth tht much.

• civic got awesome dashboard u said?
        get in one and u’ll fell the plastic a lil bit cheap..

• LatukBandar on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:56 am

Well, i agree with u. It is plastic-ish. Then again, what choice do we have in Malaysia? BMW? VW? Not many can afford.

Given a choice, nobody like plastic stuff, unless they have lots of cash. Am not a rich person, so I have to settle for those cheap plastic found in Proton, Perodua, Honda, Toyota, Hyundai…

If you drive a not so plastic car, think of others, nobody wants to drive these plastic-ish car.

• Liverpool on Aug 11, 2011 at 10:32 am

For roughly the same price, why not consider a peugeot 308? You get more for your cash and you get the conti feel at Asian car price. Just a thought…

• Get yourself a brand new Ford focus.

• yup.. 200% agreed.. wait for the new 2012 Ford Focus

• HirumaKecil on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:36 am

Go for Peugeot la… My 405 already 14 yr and the dashboard still look like new… Just the design is classic but the dashboard still perfect.. the color still 10/10… material also still in perfect condition… Still soft… Not made from plastic..

With the price of civic u can even got a 407… Or u can go for 308t or 308vti…

U can also buy VW Polo…Ford also u can consider..

Conti car alway better than Japanese car…

• Carl Wong on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:26 am

I think both are important, you have to like both for most cases, but the interior is more important, you have a point.

• yes. but i spend most of the time with my eyes close in the bedroom. =)

• HirumaKecil on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:40 am

Hahaha…… Then u should get a Grand Starex Royale then hire a chauffeur.. So u can sleep while travel also..

• LatukBandar on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:55 pm

I spend most of my time with my eyes close in the bathroom too ;)

• yes the interior looks modern, but still plasticky and low rent compared to the new elantra!!!

and lets not even talk about the damn fugly exterior design that is already causing a pain to my eyes!!!

• Ken. T on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:12 am

Hi Latuk Bandar,

No offense but…would you buy and drive a Fiat Multipla because it has a roomy interior and comfortable ride?

• civicEK on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:21 am

i spend most of my time on the bed banging my chix haha! :D

• Airbob on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:48 am

agreed with you bro.. the interior really matters much.. but this civic is just plain ugly! theres just no word to describe it….but i bet it will still be as successful as the previous one… just because of the name – HONDA.

weird, everybody who praises civic gets thumbed down really bad.. lol…

• I hate hatchbacks on Aug 11, 2011 at 5:43 am

Honda should redesign Civic again!!! This’ still uglier than FT-86 sedan!!!

• sagatron on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:02 pm

arghhhh!!!!!my EYES!!!!!!!!!!!!! it burns!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Not fan of the new look. Looks more like a half cooked facelift to the FD (note: I’m an FD owner). Interior looks slightly improved but also feels a bit meshed with the Mazda3’s dash/LCD designs. Not sure if this is the best approach as now the passengers can’t see the audio display properly. The automatic transmission gear selectors looks old compared to even the FD’s interior. Only thing this has going for it interior-wise is it looks more high-tech (reminds me of an Insight).

• despite the disappointing exterior design, i still like the interior spaceship cabin

• CamPor on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:09 pm

owh man…

• Jimbo on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:11 pm

It already looks dated before its release. This “new” model looks like the predecessor of the current civic.

Looks like Honda’s slipping well behind the market leaders.

• alldisc on Aug 11, 2011 at 10:22 am

actually, they reached the limit of interior design. and they cannot go back.

• HirumaKecil on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:44 am

They should hired a korean designer… Seriously nowadays, exterior or interior… the most beautiful one come from korea……

• Carl Wong on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:14 pm

The ergonomics of the interior is much better compared to the previous version, the buttons of the central panel is slanted toward the driver for example, and the seats are comfortable and spacious as usual for a Honda. The extra display screen is also a good bonus, very useful especially for the hybrid version which you could see the energy flow between the engine, electric motor and the new lithium ion battery. And the ECON button even for normal versions..!!!

• FUGLY !!

• Phillip Zak on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:57 am

Sounds like u work for the honda product mktg team….

• Carl Wong on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:05 am

No, I’m just another normal citizen and hopefully can be a Honda owner soon, thank you.

• What’s wrong with your taste? And how did you know the seat is comfortable? U don’t even sit on it lol.

• Carl Wong on Aug 12, 2011 at 8:43 am

Assuming it’s at least the same with the current version. I drove the current version, I even did some fast cone slalom zig zag action with it (fantastic handling), some emergency brake evasion test with and without ABS, and fast cornering test with and without VSA. It was the Honda safety driving course. Only some customers get invited :].

• FUGLY !!
    while the korea are moving forvard in their development in terms of design n engineering…
    The japs are still stuck in the early 2000…

• Mat Rempit on Aug 11, 2011 at 5:47 am

Only Lexus is the best Japanese designers, other still worse. Look at Mazda 2 sedan’s ugly butt.

• Critique on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:00 am

Well, I wouldn’t say that.. IMHO Mazda did a great job with the current Mazda 6.

But yea, the Mazda2 sedan in my opinion is not much of a looker.

Cheers :)

• Carl Wong on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:25 pm

It’s called evolution rather than revolution. I say the new Hyundai Sonata or others looks like an alien, to each their own.

• Carl Wong on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:35 pm

I also don’t understand why while the Honda City + Insight is very popular (especially for younger people) and selling very well since it first came out until today, people keep giving negative comments to the new Civic, a better, more aggressive and bigger brother to the City. Similar to BMW with different series.

• Jesse James on Aug 11, 2011 at 10:42 am

I agree with your opinion. I like the current design of Civic and the new 2012 is not that bad either.

And yes, Sonata design is overkill. Not ugly. Like a pretty woman with heavily make-up. That’s the way I saw the Sonata.

• HirumaKecil on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:50 am

Whattttt????? How can this Civic look more beautiful than Sonata??????? I cannot accept this…….. U should go to Permata Hijrah…. Need to do some work with ur eyes..

• wow!
    myvi also have most of the features they offer there…
    pfft…honda~
    i bet malaysia honda will downgrade more features from what they offer there…

• shawal on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:33 pm

that is one ugly ICE unit…

• drMpower on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:38 pm

i am going to say something serious
    this is not at all bad

sure the last civic is a hell wonder
    but this 2012 isnt that all loose and going downward
    i mean yes the FD2 is a tough act to follow but with i reckon
    this 2012 will do the job just fine

it is pretty much bigger version of the city if i got to be honest
    and the wow factor isnt exactly there
    but with a second or third look
    it does caught my eyes

i hope they gonna have this blue color in the lineup
    and the 2.0 paddle shift-tronic thing

welcome on board, 2012 civic

• joule on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:41 pm

Totally agreed, it’s FUGLY..

• V-tec lover on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:59 pm

Nice design, current design look ugly shyt to me, looks sleek and streamline more sharp to eye.
    Good job Honda!

• Common bro..it dont look sleek and streamline to the eye…it actually look gay!! I can also see uncle driving this car

• skiborne on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:12 am

i bet it still uses the same ol’ 5 speed auto box like current one.., i mean how far can honda go from a model to its successor?! take for instance the current CRV from its predecessor, same ol’ boring 2.0 torque-less single cam

• Mr Wancer on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:38 am

SIngle cam torque-less? U damn funny

• HirumaKecil on Aug 11, 2011 at 7:09 am

Funny, but that’s the reality.. They still use single cam in their flagship model 2.0 Accord….

• Johndeep on Aug 11, 2011 at 3:44 pm

So more funny, the current polo is 8 valves

• skiborne on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:49 pm

BUT… current civic 2.0 and accord 2.0 is dual cam. CRV’s 2.0 isnt

• Paul Tan on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:17 pm

Accord is single cam

• Phillip Zak on Aug 12, 2011 at 12:47 am

Yup Accord is Single Cam.
            But this Single Cam is more advanced than the DOHC K engines found in the 2.4l Accord Engine and 2.0l Civic Engine. Its Honda’s way of balancing out new technology but no power and old engine with more power.
            One of the smart move they have done.

The single cam on the HOnda’s are quite advanced. It is able to regulate the air flow without the traditional butterfly valve when you cruise on the highway reducing pumping losses.

A case similar to Intel and AMD where MHz which were used by marketing as a way of indicating processing power became not relavant anymore when new technologies came in.

• yeap…the 2.0 crv is torqueless ….they shud bring in the more torque laden 2.2 diesel as sold in UK & Euro instead for these heavy CRV

• drMpower on Aug 11, 2011 at 5:30 am

thats not a big issue although it would be very good if it has more than 5 cogs
      we both know there are cars sharing the same engine for 2-3 generations
      which is fine if it still can does the job

• jalan54 on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:16 am

Design of the interior not bad, but then, very plastic!!!

• I rather spend my money on a recond TOYOTA MARK X. Civic is damn boring. Zzzzzzzzzzzz

• Lol, I won’t take both. And why the hell are you comparing these two cars? Different range right?

• Yes diff range, But price ard the same. So which is more value for money?

• Uncle, where did u get the price from?

• Base on the old one auntie!!!! 1.8 is 118k 2.0 is 12+K…..MARK X recond 120-130k. Auntie!!!! stop gossiping in wet market.

• Even used car Mark x also cost around 2hundred k, you tell me that same price? Okay uncle, plz help me book one ;)

• WilsonLy on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:30 am

i always admire honda civic, this new civic exterior, especially the rear part, is like those cincai put in and then put into production

• Super ugly inside and outside!yuck!!!

• RedBeanBun on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:07 am

infact, i like the Civic 2 version back where the tail light is triangle design. I think that looks solid and impressive. however, maybe i m too old to look for something long lasting as compare…but this civic looks…not my cup of tea for sure..

• wow a sun freaking roof.. and.. er.. hurm thats it? damn..
    (moving on with my life..)

• rajoo on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:55 am

What’s under the hood? 1.8 and 2.0 ?

• Esbedon Esbebet on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:58 am

Well, this thing is ugly for sure. Not surprise to see some Honda salesman / marketing man doing their best to convince people that the new Civic is actually a very good design, better in every aspects compare to the current model bla bla bla.. My take is only 1 out of 5 comments that praise the new design is really honest person with ‘unique’ taste on car’s design. The other 4 are Honda salesmen. Of course..we can understand your fear looking forward to the new Civic’s sale’s chart ;-)

• research on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:55 pm

HONDA salesman like the one I’ve been dealing with is so helpful and attentive to your needs. I’m grateful.

• OMG…. Time to think again to book civic if this model is available in MY

• After nsx and s2000, honda died

• Simon Sez on Aug 11, 2011 at 2:27 am

Nothing to shout about the design but also not the worst looking civics.

• Cateyes on Aug 11, 2011 at 5:36 am

Except for Civic Ferio and the current FDs, all the Civic are not that good looking to think of it. Its the same feeling I had when the launched the Ferio replacement, I was utterly disappointed. I do agree the interior’s quality has dropped tremendously, no need to compare with Contis, just compare it with previous models. I guess they use too much recyclable materials that it becomes too plasticky, whether its good or not depends on which viewpoint you look from. I think the design team should also come with a better solution to maintain the premium feel in the interior and support the recyclabe motives at the same time.
    Notice the red button near the steering wheel? I thought it’s the start stop button, it’s not! It’s just the hazard light switch button, cheeky Honda!
    Disclaimer: Used to own FD2, sold it off- boring ride.

• asreh on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:26 pm

how come fd2 is a boring ride car it’s the king of car with powerful ivtech engine!

• Phillip Zak on Aug 12, 2011 at 12:51 am

Just try a Hyundai i30… you will then know what’s the difference.
        But then again it depends what you compare it with .. compare it with a Toyota Altis .. and suddenly the tables get turned again.

• HirumaKecil on Aug 14, 2011 at 9:07 pm

Bet u never drive a Peugeot 405…. If u drive 405, then u will realize how boring is was….

• It’s a nice car! I am going to book now if can. When can start booking?

• loveit on Aug 11, 2011 at 7:17 am

still using the primitive 5 speed gearbox? suge kakko waruina honda-san wa..

• Wilsbrother on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:04 am

A: Hey hey, look is a city facelift !!!!!!!
    B: look carefully is the “NEW” civic, you dump.
    A: ……………………………………………………..

• this is persona wannabe lol

• joe20 on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:37 am

Looks like a glorified Honda City to me. (With Civic dashboard and interior).
    Whatever it is, Honda’s interior is waaaaay better than super plastic cheapo Toyota.

• Cowabunga! on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:46 am

hell with the exterior…that can be altered soon with Mugen or what’s not aftermart, to personal taste.

I just care about spacious interior, and not clustered with some cheap , downgraded sense of Malaysia currency depreciating value….

and the engine/gearbox….make it worth my charm to get somewhat better compare to korean’s specs and charm. I ain’t saying korean engines are great here, but the techs are much better…ie: 6 speed, instead of an old 5.

139hp ain’t gonna make me walk in the showroom to drive since the exterior is already lame…. makes it even appetizing for me to walk into Toyota ,Nissan,Kia, Hyundai showroom more often.

• nabill on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:54 am

honda is jus losing it,bland design,i bet same 1.8cc engine with the same 5 speed auto…
    they are going the same way as toyota….so predictable and so boring…
    maybe here stil have relevence since competition is not that varied…bt overseas in totally open markets ppl are losing interest….

• plastic-ish?well,said it b4,but dunno y ppl stll said it hav high quality not like korean,malaysia car…my dad’s civic FD(which proved to be uncle’s car) vent at the small front triangle mirror got pop out easily la bro,cheapo plastic,only the one that u put u hands on it r al lil bit better,n good quality,the gear console,dashboard n door trim(below,cream color) all r cheap plastic..even lots of cheap stuff,talking bout finishing here,hello..even hyundai getz got illuminated power window button while civic got cheap black plastic(myvi like) power window button…plus with lower spec than competitor,no leather n tinted window even rm110k++?what the heel?my dad got to topup another rm2k++ for leather seat…not to mention another rm1k++ fot tint…what r we ppl really pay for this civic?coz its the most expansve in its class..n so called high quality..is it just bcoz of its VTEC only?ppfffttt~

• Phillip Zak on Aug 12, 2011 at 1:03 am

Your Triangle plastic is common problem. Had it on mine as well. Make complaint and submit a complaint to the customer care line on this. They replaced mine after I made over 5 complaints on my defective civic.

1. Deformed plastic on front air vent near A pillar.
      2. Air Cond ventilation leaking when placed to recirculating mode and drive above 110km/h.
      3. Door panel flimsy. Some clips might have been broken inside.
      4. Seat belt height adjustment Jamm.
      5. front suspension knocking sound.

Later my CD player jammed. Service centre said they will remove it for warranty claim but wants me to drive around with a hole in my dash board.

Rusty disc brakes were another common problem of civic.
      Ironic why people still think Japanese qualty is superior. I think it only applies to toyota in general. But honest to god ..that’s alot of defects during delivery and no way that this can slip through QC team .. it was obviously a deliberate allowance to market .. then hope that the customer does not complain.

Or only fix it when customer complains.

• fadzil on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:27 am

i thnk honda is playing with their design cycle for each generation.. they design their car nicely for one generation n for the next generation they just make it simple. so for the other new generation, they design back the model nicely..
    just like what they have done with the civic esp at 6th until current generation that is 8th. to me, the 6th generation civic is nicer in term of design compared to the 7th generation one which is just a simple to me. and they come back with 8th generation civic with a vry eyes catching look..
    its also happen to honda city as well.. first generation is quit nice for the time it was launched and once they come out with second generation, its something a turn down with its design. but when the 3rd generation out, the design is back in a nice way..
    so, to me, honda is playing with their own design language n they gamble with it as they have their own fan out there.. huhu. just my 2 cents
    p/s: im not an owner of any hondas. i just can affort a forte 2.0..
    p/s2: hope the 10th generation civic will come back with the right design as i can thnk back to own a honda someday :)

• good choice, forte is anytime better looking and much better equipped than this fugly civic!!!

• Hunter on Aug 11, 2011 at 2:54 pm

Been thinking the same way bro.. its obvious, the EK range (circa 96-01) of civics were somewhat of a crowd pleaser with its compact sedan design with hints of sportiness while the following ES range (01-06) were more ‘uncle/auntie’ oriented so-so looks. The same trend is repeating here with the the curren civic FD (crowd pleaser) and the 2012 Civic (uncle/auntie design).

• honta on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:42 am

ermm i’m driving current civic… yes this gen 9 design are not so nice to me.. just like toyota influence.. however, if u guys think to spend for reliable engine, responsive, fuel economy, nice after sales service, than go ahead, buy this civic… if you guys thinking of getting cosmetically handsome exterior and design but dunno how the engine is, dunno how the after sales is, go buy Kia Forte or hyundai… no offense…
    Cosmetically you can change, alot of bodykit available for honda, either Mugen, RR, Ings or those ugly modulo or ahbeng bodykit.. your choice, just choose to make it beautiful in ur eye. But the engine, seriously…can u change that? i’m driving fd2, anytime can smoke any 2.5 car, just tweak a bit on the engine, and there u go…can forte do that?

• fadzil on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:42 pm

no harm, im not against ur opinion, but in my experience, forte has overcome all of my skeptics bout kia before. i’v done some research oso before deciding to purchase a forte n its all including the posibility of its value etc n even i make a small comparison with other model in its segment ie civic, corolla.. but end up, i still decided to go for forte even in my mind on that time, so much things of negative points haunted me.
      it was a year back n now its already more than a year forte served me the best most of the time n untill now im still proud to own one.. to me, forte gave me a very good package as whole. as it has a lot of specs which hard to find from another car ie keyless entry, startstop button, autodim mirror, 6 airbags etc…
      yes, it might not be able to catch civic when accelerating side by side, but as a whole package, forte could give the best n the most important is, it gives a value for my money+the looks oso just nice la.. :)
      anyway, to be honest, im still a fan of 8th generation civic. im always admire it. but when it comes to my valuable money, i must go for the most ‘value for money’ car. tq

• deftones on Aug 11, 2011 at 2:41 pm

bro, your civic is not meant to smoke 2.5L car..just drive carefully on our road..i see enough road fatality everyday in newspaper..so drive safely..love your family

• sure can change bodykit,but gonna look like ah beng n interior?can u CHANGE that?hyundai kia interior r superb,plus ford too…dats what we talk bout,not go to brothers then plug in bodykit…damn~so slow la u….n btw,not as fast as honda?of course n coz not their main expertise n what they offer is totally different than honda,design n feel..they way u see things..dffrent perspectve,new ideas..talk bout smoke?did u smoke on every 2.5l car each day on your trip to office?lawak la u..can u drive 22okmph at jalan tun razak?sure not..n most civic buyer r citizen lines in kl,remember that,traffic jammed,spend time in a car must be pleasant..dats where good design,comfort kicks in..bout performance between korean n japan,just like u r talking bout performance between volvo n bmw..sure bmw win,y? coz volvo,they dont bother,same segment but different league,different offer~lets think a lil bit more..

• honta on Aug 12, 2011 at 9:29 am

Thank God i’m not in KL and driving freely fast at south hehe

• Phillip Zak on Aug 12, 2011 at 1:09 am

Sorry sad to say you won’t even be able to keep up to a 2.2l diesel SUV from Hyundai let alone smoke any 2.5l car…

Do your homework .. most honda engines start to have engine oil leaks after 100k of mileage .. So don’t think HOnda is more reliable than korean vehicles unless you have owned one.

• HirumaKecil on Aug 14, 2011 at 9:17 pm

so why did fd2 always get smoked by old 405 sri?

• buskerhatesTnH on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:44 am

the interior is overdo… it placed and designed in a very weird way. That’s not creative… that’s plain ugly.

• I think we will be getting the current 1.8L i-VTEC SOHC (perhaps the engine will improved a bit), 5-speed auto transmission. Honda has been getting lazy!

• vw_fan on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:49 am

I dont think the car is ugly. It just doesnt look new for a new car. Beauty is very subjective. But with the new suspension tuning, I am interested to see how well this model rides.

• tattoo sleeves on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:54 am

i’m very disappointed with honda.

• ayo…honda ran out idea/design….fugly!!

• I wonder why the wheelbase is significantly shorter than the outgoing Civic FD2. My guess is cost cutting and using a cheaper Body in White (BIW) platform for the new Civic. Bad news to driving enthusiasts. Because of this the FD2 Type R will likely be a legend on the track. Unlikely this Civic can live up to it’s reputation as a giant killer on the track.

• Unforgiven on Aug 11, 2011 at 10:19 am

I don’t understand why so many ppl don’t like Civic, whereas on the road, mostly we see Civic.

If you have driven a Civic 2.0, I’m sure you’ll like the power, and you only have 130k.
    Not forgetting it’s about 2k a month installment if you may within 5 years.

Your 5 years loan is going to those tax, etc and protectionism.

Mitsubishi Lancer is also a very nice car when it first launch, but what happen to M’sia?
    Sigh…

• Not recommended..

• After see and test drive the real car, then only comment will be more justified. :)

• HirumaKecil on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:28 am

Before this, Civic always look much more expensive and classy than City, but now it look like City… Just a bit bigger… For me the dashboard look fungly… Since i like oldskool thing , this new dashboard is something that i extremly don’t want in my car… Exterior not ugly but the current one look much better… For me Peugeot 405 and Accord sm4 is more beautiful than this….

About performance i dunno what to say because i not drive it yet..

But usually for Malaysian market they will make some changes to the headlight and tail lamp… May be we should wait till everything is confirm..

THAT WAS MY OPINION FROM MY POINT OF VIEW… Since i like the old design car(bluebird u12, accord sm4 and i drive Peugeot 405 & 406) maybe this is just not my type….. May be u like it, but for me , no.. i don’t like it…

• kenny on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:31 am

actually i quite this design n i like the rear parts….i know others like the current 1…but duno y i prefer tis batch…the current accord looks alike rear lights does make the car more garang…an add on bodykit will do the rest of the job i guess…

• hmm proton cars are much more high quality and hi resale value and hi technology and hi demand over the world and faster and prestigious and very very hi quality than the civic..hehehe

why many people still buy civic?..where u can buy 2 protons??…i cannot understand

• last time people complain on waja dashboard that being “senget “and the centre panel pointed to the driver end instead of being centred like other “normal” car…

so.. how bout this one ? same oso….!

• draftboy on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:38 pm

This is not a new model…It’s seem looks like FACELIFT model!!!!! Honda has ran out an idea & design…The body casis just taken from current civic…. Proton doing better than honda…Just look what they have doing with upcoming persona R. Honda, please hire new designer with young guy & fresh idea… Your current designer just getting old… Can’t thinking better design…

• Dreamglass on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:44 pm

I’ve been a great fan of civic but for some reason this all new civic is not impressive, a little disappointing actually . The exterior presents a simple sedan look – The Civic feel / wow factor is just not there anymore. As for the interior it looks very much similar to the current FD. Will have to wait and see how the performance features turns out to be.

• asgard on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:46 pm

IMHO the design became too generic, even proton can hv the same design

• Supertram on Aug 11, 2011 at 2:01 pm

The interrior look like it fitted with some switch that control long range dual beam guns .. with tactitcal satellite mapping system. I might be not a fan on the exterrior but that interrior might made me fall in love with civic.. yet again! If only honda would make the exterrior which compliment that futura designed interrior.. sigh.. guess we can have it all eh?

Anyhoo, why can they at least give us optional dash monitor like the US? even myvi got optional in dash monitor nowdays!

btw FD1 owner here..

• Hunter on Aug 11, 2011 at 2:59 pm

This is my take on the 2012 Civic:

For me, the exterior design will need aftermarket parts (bk? spoilers?) for it to at least have a chance with other competitors in terms of looks. But still it will far be outclassed by the upcoming Elantra. It has some nice curves and might look good at certain angles, but at first sight, it wont catch any praise. U gotta have a certain acquired taste to accept the design whole-heartedly. I used to own a 2nd Gen City i-dsi and i never complained and loved the design, my family on the other side hated it to its guts. Yes, Honda did a mistake gambling on this too-conventional and fugly design, but in the end, there will still be loads of blind buyers / supporters for the H brand.

Expect a lower quality interior (with reference to reviews on the net, and what made it fall from grace) compared to current FD’s. Im betting current City like hard-dry plastics, and not the plastics in current FD which do feel cheap, but not as cheap as current City’s. Just speculating ya!

As for the dash, in design wise, it looks very ergonomic, with ease of reach buttons and a curving central space for the driver. This somehow makes the interior less streamlined and very cluttered with a sudden bulge on the front passenger side. The whole layout makes it look like a RapidKL bus cockpit.

As for electronics, it seems honda did improve a bit when compared to current FD. Blutooth, i-mid, stock reverse cam, and an ECON mode for all models. Hope there will be more tech other than the ones stated, at least to compensate for the lame exterior.

• civicEK on Aug 11, 2011 at 3:18 pm

you disappointed me Honda..

• Wisdom on Aug 11, 2011 at 3:25 pm

Not bad.

The recent king of fugly cars is Nissan Latio…. looks like peci/turban on wheel. Almost vomit when see one….

• bongek on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:04 pm

ahhh,,as malaysian….. we have to buy only honda and toyota,,,,
    so i am very dissapointed with this civic…. why they did this to us…waaaaaa

• Hunter on Aug 18, 2011 at 1:24 pm

hahah.. good one bro.. its the reality… booo hoo to the ones who disliked ur comment!

• kamaji on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:24 pm

Good day guys, I’m born fugly & poorly dress but my name is civic lah who cares.

• sick&tired on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:24 pm

whats up with honda!? is this the best they can come up with?

• PokokCerryMechanic on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:48 pm

omg ….rm100k+ for a enlonged honda city?….

• Rambo on Aug 12, 2011 at 12:15 am

From the side,looks abit like 1st generation Vios…

• Rosmah on Aug 12, 2011 at 2:01 am

Eww more awful than my hair. Really no eyes see.

• Cheng on Aug 12, 2011 at 8:34 am

The dashboard looks like “melted”. cheers.

• tattoo sleeves on Aug 12, 2011 at 5:17 pm

the centre panel is ‘senget’ like proton waja!!

• HONDA NEW i-DTEC…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zBg_vk6OGE8

• putera2012 on Aug 18, 2011 at 4:58 am

no matter how ugly this new car, people still buy a car just to show they can afford 130K++

even, ppl can get cheaper car from Langkawi (low taxes), they still dont want to buy from there..

The car that u own is to show who u are, your status, your pride..etc

buy car below 100k compare 130k above (even same spec) is totally different in term of pride.

• Gunalan on Jul 22, 2012 at 2:01 am

I am totally wonder whether our HONDA had changed their designer? At First, how and in what opinion they released this car on the market? Accord got his own style, City got his own look and definitely HONDA CIVIC (The Old Model), got the Gorgeous Image which would grab peoples eye and mind and make them to STOP and look without close their eyes, Such as a perfect 99% model. But, The new honda civic had loses his image, i mean the angry look, hmm, yet this will definitely give a very big imapact on the market. Come on lah, come up with something brilliant idea!