2012 Honda Civic – first studio shots appear on the net

While Honda UK teases the European Civic hatchback, we now have our first studio photos of the next generation Honda Civic sedan that will be introduced in Malaysia. Our version of the sedan sports minor styling differences from the Civic range that has already been launched in the US. We first saw blur photos of the non-US version back in March this year.

Curiously bucking the trend of increasingly long wheelbases, Honda has actually reduced the wheelbase of the new Civic by 30mm down to 2,670mm.

The front end stying is a little different, featuring a unique grille and bumper design, and the head lamps also have clear turn indicators instead of the amber indicator lights that are a result of a legal requirement in the US.

The rear is largely the same except there are additional extensions of the tail lamp onto the boot lid, which is missing on the US Civic. This treatment mirrors what Honda did with our Accord versus the US Accord.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:42 pm

I was just reading the yahoo page that this Civic drop so drastic points from the consumer reports that it DOES NOT recommend!! it is only above VW Jetta in the range!
    OMG, what happened??? guess who is top of the range. Ya right, its Hyundai Elantra! Holy cow!
    Its a change of automobile landscape now!!! I cant believe its so fast that the Japanese Camry and Civic the once proclaim king on their class unseated by the Korean so fast!!

http://autos.yahoo.com/news/consumer-reports-says-redesigned-honda-civic-scores-too-low-to-be-recommended.html

• Honda must have missed their payment to Consumer Reports!

• Duke Nukem on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:19 pm

Obviously this is the result of the nuclear reaction…

• Friction on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:34 pm

Well, in Malaysia is different… If u drive T or H… u got class… but if you opt for a korean brand… eh leh cannot afford to drive Honda.. Hyundai also can lah… Kang Neh!
      Tht’s the reaction i get when i booked a Kia Sportage… but who cares… i drive a latest model.. HAHAHA!

• RedBeanBun on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:06 am

That Sportage looks cool.

If korean is giving out 5 years warranty, why worry about the resale value, it sure better after 3 years compare to 3 years warranty car offer by others..

That is the VW and Hyundai/Kia strategy to unseat the Merc/BMW/H&T.

Go! Go! Go! make the market more interesting!

• drMpower on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:55 am

no no no no
        its not the affordability that concerns me when it comes to korea brand
        but more of it cant fullfill the complete package i.e the safe package
        which consist of the best overall value

cheap is only the matter of cost. price
        but value is determined with what u got in return instead
        sportage is a good car but i dont want to be saddled with bad FC and bad resale value thats why sportage is only a not so costly car
        not in anyway i am suggesting the kia is bad
        i know u like that car and i think – despite whatever people say about certain products etc etc – thats the most important thing.
        u like what u are buying

but what u bought
        doesnt mean is the best value
        out there

ps- the koreans screwed malaysian kaw kaw last time. so it is their duty to rectify that. they can try any strategy whatever they think fit to entice us to buy their product. last time it was unchecked discount but still the spectra suck big time. and the carnival suck petrol like nobody bisnes.

ps2- it has nothing to do with the japanese. they didnt screw up of course we malaysians look up for their products. its simple arithmetic to be honest.

• cynical on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:01 am

OMG, there’s an uncle in the house

• Unforgiven on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:05 am

The 2001 Elantra/Sonata also created a lot of problem… from service to resale value…
          Maybe something to do with NAP/politics? Or KahBintang/SimeDarby? Dunno…

• no wonder jap cars have good 2nd hand value. their new models are worse than the old. really moving backwards. so ppl ( at least in malaysia) prefer to buy the old model, hence the older model have good resale value.

where else for the conti and koreans, each new generation has vast improvements over the old, making the older model less desirable. hence they have lower resale value.

I’d rather put my money on better value. nothing is more precious than time. so i wouldn’t want to waste 7 yrs of my life paying and driving an overpriced empty vessel just to get good resale value.

• drMpower on Aug 03, 2011 at 5:53 pm

of course value is the best bargain
            i mean who wanna buy a 70k forteh
            if u got the full blown vtec EK awaits for less than 50k?
            i think i summed up your points quite well

definitely nothing can top that, aye?

• Donthateme on Aug 04, 2011 at 8:57 pm

Do you really need to bring proton in……………………………

• RedBeanBun on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:26 pm

well, the protong screwed the whole nation kau kau for 25 years and u no complain?

• buskerhatesTnH on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:16 am

but i look at different ways,
        people who drive TnH is actually lacked of taste and soul. Living a boring life, skeptical and afraid of risk and not creative at all….

i un-friend so many of TnH owner from my FB… they are lame and boring….

but i do respect people who bought cherry tigo…. they got less money, but they have bigger balls

• LauBeh on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:19 am

Massive ball indeed :P

• psychiatrist on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Tell you what, you jealous with them. that is why you feel they are lame and boring. By doing that you think your balls can grow bigger.;

• buskerhatesTnH on Aug 04, 2011 at 10:05 am

y should i be jeles to lame and boring people?

whenever i see them on the road… i get a sudden feeling of disgust.

they do envy my ride, and i know they can buy it if they willing to spent a lil more… but becos they are lame and boring and STEREOTYPE…. they choose to buy TnH…. TnH only for makcik kerani at gomen ofis and young ah beng salesmen selling computer parts….

The real word for them is STEREOTYPE… lame and boring… no nee to be jeles at all:)

• drMpower on Aug 03, 2011 at 1:32 pm

so are u saying those owners of the 200hp CTR are pussies compare to the owners of the tiggo?
          excuse me but ….
          i think thats the opposite of what exactly it is, dont u think so?

u must be friends with a lot of men with bigger balls
          thats…..kinda scary, and if i were u, i will quickly…. run away
          coz u know..big balls+men+too friendly, that isnt a great combination
          unless u are….an ass man?
          no no i am just saying man

just dont forget contraceptive.
          the pills.
          i am just saying man.

• buskerhatesTnH on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:57 am

u must be the victim of incest. DRM got fingered…

u dont have anything to say, and u start to PA people…so 6 year old

incest victim always act that way…

and yes, people who drove CTR are pussies. They have the money, but yet, they bought lame ass car. I rather seen driving an era channa than Honda sibek taik R….

how lame is that car? So farkin lame that Honda Corp ekceli discontinued it’s production…. enuf said… good cars dont get lethal injection…

btw, i’m not referring to CTR, altezza and so on… i just wrote about normal car like CT, Veoh, ahtis and sibik….

the most important part, DRM is a honda owner, and u are a boring person. becos of that, i will not reply to u animore as u r a lame and boring person. people like u deserve to live in papua new guinea.. and die crashing in your 10 year old rusty civic …. :)

• Value4money on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:53 am

U’ll regret in 5 years time. KIA/Hyundai very low 2nd hand value

• kwing on Aug 03, 2011 at 1:35 pm

tell me which car in this segment will have good resale value in 5 years time this age and day?

• gemini on Aug 03, 2011 at 1:58 pm

pls enlightened everyone here, what massed produced vehicle does not depreciate?

• Agreed…and buy a car is not an investment…u buy a car for u to enjoy with it…just my 2 cents..

• of course,coz theres so many ppl like u who got T n H in thier forehead..haha..deyy,resale value bcoz ppl worship honda no matter what,luckily honda that msia got lots of moron who willing to pay lots for less..n 1 of them is certainly u~~hehehehe

• looking-good on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:37 pm

agree.. this is one true example of stepping behind design

• OMG…nothing special. I believed the interior also not much different compared the current model….Hope for upgrade on engine plsssssss….

• kingjoke on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:13 am

What happen to H. They can do better than this!

• hondalover on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:59 am

the front side looks more like honda city to me…what da..?

• PeYn0 Fanz on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:01 am

Huh… Honda Civic 2012 to be compared with ‘Persona R’ 2012 …

Fuh….current Civic better design than this…

• BigFire on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:23 pm

seems like everyone here is fooled by the 2D photos of the new civic, in real the new civic looks ALOT nicer than the photos here, just wait and see for urself.

• KuroKuraKuri on Aug 08, 2011 at 3:56 pm

for me typical user, pix not nice car also not nice le, not time la to go wait see car very close close ahaha, just my opinion

• freeze on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:59 pm

This is the 8th generation Civic. Honda made a mistake and produced the 9th generation 5 years ago instead of the 8.

• drMpower on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:43 pm

this shows it is designed on a shoestring budget to be honest
    at the back, the rear lamps are enlarged version of the previous model city
    and the front face isnt completely a whole new thing at all since it takes cues from the current FD line up
    honda is no longer be able to use the ‘biggest of its class’ tagline for its adverts
    simply because it is 30mm shorter than the outgoing model

• Mr. Biggy on Aug 03, 2011 at 1:55 am

Honda Malaysia, if you’re reading this, I assure you that if you have better luck selling the previous Euro spec Honda Civic than this new Civic here. That is unless you sell this new Civic well below Rm100k, which is impossible seeing your are selling the City at Rm80+k.

Then again, there are still Inspira, Cruze, Forte, Avante, Mazda3 (is the best!) and a lot more to consider…

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:52 am

Euro spec Civic is one size down, more or less equal to our City.

Honda will never sell this below 100k.

And yes, competition is creeping up. Honda would be sweating bullets when the new Elantra shows up given the number of new Sonatas I see on the road (despite the slow delivery schedules). Toyota would just be toyota, but Hyundai/KIA target market is closer to Honda’s demographic and therefore a bigger threat.

Honda’s quality has to improve. the NVH on the Koreans now are as good if not better (not to mention the excellent NVH on the Asian Chevys, which is another Korean of course)

• Khairi on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:51 am

I hope at least this Civic use the 7 speed auto transmission found in the new honda jazz

• Lulzboat on Aug 03, 2011 at 2:06 pm

Still look like USA Civic… Honda should redesign the new Asian Civic again!!!

• 123GO on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:44 pm

The a s s !! looks like old camry …..

• OMG…old CAMRY re-born again…..

• Isn’t she ‘Teana-ish’ enough on the a s s?

• artnanz on Aug 03, 2011 at 1:15 pm

yup, agree…the rear reminiscent the old camry, yucks!!

• Bla bla bla on Aug 03, 2011 at 7:02 pm

The origin of 2012 Honda Civic =

Papa (2003 Toyota Camry) + Mama (2008 Honda City)
      |
      |
      |
      V
      Poof: 2012 Honda civic

• vinnan on Sep 01, 2011 at 2:34 pm

You got it right man. I was trying to figure out where I have seen that rear before.

• elongated city.

• front looks like current city….back looks dated.

is this the best that the japs can do nowdays?

• Agreed.. the extensions of the tail lamp onto the boot lid make it look cheap eventhough is similiar to the current accord’s..

• Its front bears a slight resemblance to the current Insight. All in all, it looks good, albeit appearing less sporty than the current Civic.

• Sparc on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:49 pm

I don’t like. I prefer Hyundai Avante (coming soon)

• A lot ppl will hate to hear this but I saw the new Hyundai Avante fresh in Singapore, it looks a bit out of proportion to me. Profile too curvy.

• loveit on Aug 03, 2011 at 6:30 pm

this kind of words surely gonna get ‘you obviously honda’s saleperson’ response hahahaha

• i see projector headlamps

• farid laa on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:50 pm

paul..does the ride become more uncomfortable due to the reduced wheelbase??

• umpgambang on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:53 pm

Hope the CKD Civic not going to use Continental Tyre!!

• Evoque on Aug 03, 2011 at 7:49 am

They will for sure. Damn, I hate conti tyre. They should offer better tyres.

• what’s wrong with continental tyres?

didn’t they use Michelin tyres for Civic?

• burppp on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:55 pm

did i time travel back to year 2000? looks out dated..

• Anonymous on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:58 pm

It’s bloody fuglish! Prefer the current model. More sportier kinda look.

• transformer on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:04 pm

its just an evolution of current gen(but with shorter wheelbase)
    opting arrow design language from current City….

• tokan on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:04 pm

The rear looks like teana

• hikayat on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:08 pm

I hope they improve the sound insulation not like from the previous2 civic

• haha.. persona elegance rear light wannabe ? run out of idea eh ?

• proton persona elegance rear light eh ? no idea ah ?

• ILike on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:12 pm

anyway i like also….

• nova-lompa on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:14 pm

sunroof…

• civicEK on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:21 pm

OMG its FUGLY!

• Paparazi on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:23 pm

Really Honda Civic….

• no more feelng towards civic anymore ;(

• To all readers here, You all haven’t see the most classic part of this car, THE NEW MULTIPLEX design, like 70’s car,babe. Be frank, Japanese car is now a failure compare to Korean car. Every part, from exterior look, interior, specs, features, almost all.

• and people complain toyota corolla has not evolved enough

• Really? That's it? on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:32 pm

The US version got slammed pretty badly by Consumers Report. The new Honda Civic went from a respectable very good 78 rating a mediocre 61 rating, ratings are base on a scale of 100.

To quote them:
    “Compared with its predecessor, the 2012 Civic is less agile and has lower interior quality. It also suffers from a choppy ride, long stopping distances, and pronounced road noise.”

However, I wouldn’t be surprised if it sells like hotcakes in Malaysia.

Remember, one should never overestimate the intelligence of the average car buyers in Malaysia.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:33 am

Not all Civic generations enjoy vast popularity here. Look at what happened to the 7th-gen Honda Civic, the double wishbones were removed and replaced by the more orthodox systems. Plus, the design was also not as sporty as its predecessor. That’s why the trade-in value for the 7-th gen Civic drops a lot.

• Unforgiven on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:08 am

Yup, Altis was the preferred choice during that era…
        1.7 Civic is a big no no…

• Paparazi on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:33 pm

Honda design is dying

• PutraRocker on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:38 pm

so ugly

• more than just a hot cake… it selling like ayam percik during ramadhan heeheeheheh

• exJAVANESE on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:56 am

euwwww..ayam percik at bazar ramadhan way way better taste rather than this metal crap!

• Does it look premium? No, the front looked more like a facelift for our current Honda City. The better looking rear will grow on me though. Still, it is just a Civic by Honda.

• this one looks a lot better than the current civic, wait to see it in real (instead of photos only). the current civic ‘smiles too wide’ for me..

• city_conscious on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:06 am

i agree with you. it does look better than the outgoing civic, especially the front part. hopefully, the real deal looks better than the photo.

• zarim on Aug 05, 2011 at 3:54 pm

ya ka? i thought Mazda’s is wider and looks like Joker in Batman

• evoxi on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:48 pm

even with modulo or mugen bodykit, still it will look ugly, wait till u see the new avante with tuix bodykit!

• Rosmah on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:49 pm

Oh Gosh, the butt is as haphazard as mine!

• palli on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:52 pm

have japanese lost their mojo’s? .. bring on the TYPE R

• say all you want, complain all you want …. when it comes to Malaysia….willstill be best seller …. wanna bet ??

Not too bad lar ….. i would buy if price is resonable …. but then again since when in Malaysia our cars are price resonable no tax to the TAX we pay !!

• kenot on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:58 pm

i feel the current civic is more “good looking” than this 2012 model.but civic has it own legacy. people still trust it. i hope it will better look in real world

• teelim on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:02 am

Alamak, this looks more “uncle” than the 8th Gen Civic. But Honda being Honda, it will still sell.

• People will still buy this ugly car. What is the price?

• This is not Honda Civic but Toyota Camry!!! XD

• donadoni on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:27 am

whatever ppl hate n disgrace abt this one, it gonna sell like cake for sure

• akinablue on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:19 pm

PASTI KE KAWAN? LEBIH2 LAGI BANYAK MODEL LAIN BERADA DI PARASAN..
      KENYATAAN ‘SELL LIKE CAKE’ TERLALU AWAL..ATAU MUNGKIN SELL LIKE KEK BASI, TAK LAKU TERUS..=P]

• squall_shinoda on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:27 am

“Depan macam City, belakang macam Persona”. That’s the conclusion that I can make. Full stop.

If we’re going to criticise the 2012 Civic design, then the main culprits are the collapse of Lehman Brothers and the 2008-2010 world financial crises. The reason is because this Civic was originally planned to be larger than our current Civic. But in the end, the 2012 Civic is shorter that what it is supposed to be.

• ilovecivic on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:32 am

C for yourself! opps i thought it is a mercedes c class seen from rear…

• bells on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:38 am

this is what happen when you let honda city make out with old camry. huh!

• did honda employ great wall to design their cars now? surely looks like a china made car.

this is a chance for SD to eat honda’s share in the c-segment market if only they were to quickly bring in the new avante and price is properly here…

• MoFaz on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:05 am

I’ve seen few Avante on singapore roads, beautiful!. seriously like a little brother of Sonata. i heard SD will bring it soon to Malaysia. if priced in the same range as Forte (70k-100k).. then say sayonara Japanese.

• At least this one look better than the US version.

• Carl Wong on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:59 am

Amazing and very aerodynamic, can’t wait :)…!!!!!

• good car, not attractive design..with the korean’s getting better i expected honda to move up a scale..

• from first look at the front..i thought..wow..not bad..but when i look at the rear of the car…WADAFAK..so ugly

• DiskoStick on Aug 03, 2011 at 1:11 am

city at the front, (previous) camry at the back. Kereta Sambung ??

• hmm can persona-r go head to head with this civic?? i think in terms of exterior (if the prototype is close to the actual product) persona-r has the advantage.

• alexlee on Aug 03, 2011 at 2:07 am

trust me, once this model launch, the demand on Honda Civic share sure drop….

• question is what will all the potential civic buyers do? go for the altis / sylphy?

• Sayonara on Aug 06, 2011 at 2:52 pm

I used to wait for this model, but I guess I’ve made a wise decision to own a Cruze

• Carl Wong on Aug 03, 2011 at 2:43 am

I don’t care it is still the one of the hottest car from now until the next few years and one of the best compact car…!!!

• geejun2 on Aug 03, 2011 at 4:35 am

ugly!

• SoMeOnE on Aug 03, 2011 at 5:15 am

its seems like most of the jap car makers are ‘softening’ the look of thier offerings in this segment….nissan got the ball rolling with the slyphy….toyota always had the soft look….subaru will soon join them with the new impreza and so has honda….it remains to be seen if mazda and mitsubishi follow suit with the next 3 and lancer….i would only put my bet on mazda to do it thier own way like they always have :)…..i dunno why its happening…but its really sad..and the asian and american markets seem to be getting the dull versions….market demographics perhaps??.common sense does dictate that the younger crowd buys into this segment….

or its maybe the koreans (and some of the europeans) have got so bold of late with thier designs (and even power train combos) that what might have seemed right at the planning stage is just downright dull to our eyes and hearts..oh well…..

• Mega/Liverpool on Aug 03, 2011 at 5:38 am

Honda are getting BLASTED in America over this car, not only is it not anywhere near as good as its new comp From Ford/Chevy/Hyundai etc, but its not as good as the OLD model !!!!!

Mike/Liverpool Uk

• desmond on Aug 03, 2011 at 6:04 am

Acura, better do something to differentiate Acura CSX from This Civic. Then the Japanese will opt for your design not this European Accord-style back Civic.

• hasyimi on Aug 03, 2011 at 6:14 am

look like honda city in the front and saga at the back…is it japan design? like back dated to 10 years ago. i used honda city before and i admit it still quite ok. after dat i changed to mazda 6 2.5 and it was superb! watever honda… still assemble in malaysia and sumtimes gives a problem. n u still need to pay tax a lot…

• Ash Menon on Aug 03, 2011 at 6:48 am

In the US and European markets, there is no City, so the Civic takes the place as the budget family sedan (I haven’t checked the facts properly yet, so I could be wrong here, please correct me if yes), so it’s fine for Honda to try and redefine the Civic as family-friendly and efficient.

But here in Asian markets, the holy trinity of Honda has always been luxury (Accord), performance (Civic), and economy (City). This Civic has been redefined essentially as a slightly bigger slightly more expensive City. I fear that market cannibalism is about to ensue.

• shawal on Aug 03, 2011 at 6:59 am

They dont expect us to cough up money for this do they..?
    A forte is cheaper and better equipped…

• onda onda on Aug 03, 2011 at 7:22 am

the design cycle is arrived….while the 8th generation appeared so futuristic compared to 7th generation..this coming 8th generation..is so so design…looks too 90’s

• azrai on Aug 03, 2011 at 7:38 am

Using Persona tailgate. Honda Inspiration.

• As a CRV owner, I feel ashamed with Honda progress…too much power of dreams (i.e. sleeping designers)

• TallPan on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:30 pm

fully agreed. fugly car… a step backwards, i think those sleeping designers should be shot. getting more and more disgusted with jap sedans latest designs…

sorry off topic a bit -> hey but hav u seen the latest 2012 CRV shots?? now THAT looks damn enticing (eventhough concept)!

• Toyota designer work for Honda issit ?

• Civic_RS on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:16 am

this allow VW to regenerate their name in Asia

• not really impress me, the only thing that i found good will be the sun roof, but… come on, with the civic price, i can get whole bloody sun roof top from other brand, Honda just offer the small pierce… in add, CKD honda sux..

• albag on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:33 am

meaning that the current gen civic is still up-to-date! bravo to those who purchase it years back and keep driving it till right now…

• Bertzz on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:35 am

looks like Hyundai.. wondering how the interior looks like

• odi862 on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:37 am

This one doesn’t has the “WOW” factor compare to the previous model.

• breaL on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:43 am

Its a safe design..it wont top the last model..but its marketable to bigger crowds..young and old…thus its a safe bet for Honda…for better value..get the Koreans

• Jeremy Chia on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:55 am

Designer 1: How to design new Civic?
    Designer 2: Just use City template mah… zoom 20%

• Haha good one!

Designer 3: After zoom 20%, modify a bit the butt to look like Merc’s C-class, so it can look a bit “high class”

• I like its interior. Exterior not so impressive. So so only.

• fugly design,outdated looks,shorter than previous model and best thing,remove double wishbone n exchnge it with myvi suspension system(torssion beam)…anyone?wanna order?email me…hahahahaha

• Man no choice to choose the very good looking Korean cars nowdays even the boring VW Jetta look so much better than this Civic so pls bring them into M’sia and drop the price to fight with very ugly Altis and Civic!

• CAr desing has become lacking in imagination. Play safe design and just rely on the brand power. actually i like the new Saab 9-5 design, unfortunately it did not supported by the car engineering prowess like Merc, Bimmer, or Audi. But it brings a new approach. But Civic did not manage to come up with fresh idea. Too bad.

Another issue is shorter wheelbase?? What??? Which mean they they new model possibly could not have better legroom. They should have maintain it. The plus is to the current civic owner, where the new design is not really a new departure from what they are currently owning. Used car demand for the current model will spur as the previous generation is not much different from the new model and some buyers be able to opt for the previous model.

• Uncle Honda on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:33 am

Really upset with this new model. I would expect more daring design from Honda.

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:37 am

We hope the actual dimension civic wont be that odd and so dislike. otherwise might boost the current 8th gen Civic market for greater 2nd value. Personally i dont like this design, it seem that this new 9th gen Civic suppose should be 8th gen, and the current 8th gen should be 9th gen!!!Really dont like this civic.

• _xXx_ on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:58 am

alamak kacukan City dan C-class ke ni? Hello! Korea…

• The power of Honda dream to our nightmare (especially when mostly Malaysians worship this brand like nobody business).

It should be cheaper than 8th gen.

• Firman on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:17 am

Proton Persona and Kia Forte design looks more better than this ugly civic…previous Civic still the best..

• That’s why bro, quite a number of people here use a conclusion “FUGLY”

• blue-traveler on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:21 am

Honda Malaysia people that are reading this, please take an advise, ……BRING IN THE CR-Z!!!!!!!!! Quickly to off set any/all fall out from this soon coming civic. Bet you 5 to 1 that the current young people driving civic will go for CR-Z than the coming civic. Small families and older drivers, I think will go for other cars. Why i know? 2 of my aunts and my mom drive the current civic. love it. When i show them the next civic, 1 says will keep the current one and not upgrade, another will go for other cars. And mom?, says to me, if this year business good, change the new c class for her or a VW passat C+C. If not, keep the current or to the Nissan show room.

• you can say what you want but i am happy with my honda accord which i bought brand new in 2008 and i will buy another honda. koreans are good as well but i happy with the honda resale value, image, afer sales, driving feel…bla,,blah. i had a toyota altis before..its good as well except for bouncy ride on highways. if i were to go for korean…my pick is sonata or sorento..peace!

• insperut on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:23 am

“Lagi Tak Best”

• Say hello to korean. the all new hyundai avante is coming. is much better than this

• U.R.AN.S.O.B on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:29 am

Disappointed :(

• cybermaster98 on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:59 am

Well, despite being a Toyota supporter, i must say im beginning to be swayed by the Koreans. I just saw pics of the upcoming Toyota Camry Hybrid and if we’re getting something similar, then i must say the Japs have really gone to the dumps. If the new Camry looks that ugly, it would be the start of Toyota’s decline since the Camry is a flagship model.

• nighttrain on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:01 am

Why would Honda downgrade such a hot selling car until it’s customer satisfaction drop so low like that?

Is Honda doing this on purpose? Is there something to gain from all this? Is Will Farrell coming out with a new movie?

• hahaha…horrible looking..

• Ryan14106 on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:21 am

Nothing special if compared to New Hyundai Avante / Elantra.

• xavier lert on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:22 am

fail! i wanna see the type R….n i guess FD resale value will not drop.

• LauBeh on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:22 am

The front look like City bigger sibling. The back look like the bastard child of the current Accord mating with the older Camry.
    True Japanese Hybrids Bastard child (Car)????? :P

• abijam on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:23 am

Aiyaa guys. Be realistic. City design was adopt from Euro civic. Thus it is not wrong right to retain the design.
    Hopefully, Honda direction is to minimize exterior upgrading but focussing more on the comfort and improve NVH, while installed with more gadgets. Dreaming……

• Expatriate VN on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:00 pm

This new model, to me the external aesthetic is “conservative”.

There are many dumbass bashers out there with a mindset that as far as it is look “sporty” or”fluidy design”, then it is nice design or good looking car.

No wonder P1 & P2 @ Saga and MyVi/Viva can come out with so call so many “limited edition”, “special edition”, “High Line” or any imaginable “editions”, normally with add accessories like twin ekzos pipe, skirting, sporty bumper, etc than there are idiots out there wiling to fork out extra monies to buy it simply because it is “look better”!

• Lih Jin on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:12 pm

Go for Korean la, now Honda bad service already, I complaint but nobody care me, only say it’s normal, setting normal, hey can u believe it, Honda civic is not balance, left is higher than right, c from behind the car is not balance at all…. It’s already 8 gen, 8 x 5 every generation, 40 years still make car like that…. Now Honda remind me about Malay Proxxx, you wan complaint u need shake the table….hard

• tycoon88 on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:23 pm

why every1 juz blast x3 and never think out of the box?

Honda Malaysia can give free Modulo Sports Kit to “cosmetic” up the beauty of this 9th G Civic.

Honda…pls read this. Free Modulo Kits for first 1000 confirmed bookings! this strategy might juz do the trick!

i feel ashamed if Honda Malaysia lost to Corolla Altis again juz like during the era of 7th G civic design failure!

• HONDA on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:48 pm

Civic, your time is over…its the Korean car to rules…

• uncle chong on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:50 pm

woww!!!! nice car & nice design….i like….
    go civic go….
    I will trade in my stupid forte for this car anytime….

• uncle chong on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:52 pm

this car should come with gt wing…sure can sell like hot cake….confirm, guaranteed 100%

• dannyl77 on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:59 pm

Yup , CITY Front , CAMRY / PERSONA Rear….

however , I think will Still Sells very well , cos its a HONDA……….
    a lot of HONDA supporters Out there…

But for me , most likely will go for the New AVANTE / ELANTRA ….

• maserati on Aug 03, 2011 at 1:01 pm

Hahaha.. u guys saying avante is good? Go youtube honda city vs avante. Check out the review, it cant even beat a honda city in terms of performance .

Nice design so what? This honda civic might not be that super good looking but i will take this anytime over the nice designed but cannot perform avante.

And guess what, this civic is so gonna blast the koreans to back to korea.

• bro,not all ppl buy car for speed la bro..cvic can go what?0-100 in 3sec?300kmph topspeed? no ait?so? at the end of the day,ppl who bought this hideous thing mainly come from KL,penang,johor..citizen,who live in packed,traffic jam..can u drive this hideous thing 220kmph in jalan tun razak?sure not larr…comfort,design,quality,fc..thats the main part la nowdays..what a moron~

• ppl like you around are the reason why the jap manufacturers don’t progress!!!

they give u rubbish but u still praise like they are God.

i’ll just sit back n watch the demise of the japs!!!

• Cheng on Aug 03, 2011 at 1:08 pm

majority hates this car? let me check how long is the waiting period.

• for sure its gonna be loooooonnggg…coz so many morooonnnnnn~~hehehehe

• kamaji on Aug 03, 2011 at 1:10 pm

This car not from Honda lah…maybe from China Horn-Ta motor maybe.

• Lim Kopi on Aug 03, 2011 at 1:34 pm

Honda is in deep shit if they keep making ugly cars like this ….

This Civic looks more like a facelift rather than all new, what are they doing in Japan??

When u get Peter Schreyer working for KIA … u really need to step up the efforts …. not like this one ….

• Cheng on Aug 03, 2011 at 1:35 pm

how come no one complain when BMW and Merz new model look like the previous models?

• Cheng on Aug 03, 2011 at 1:42 pm

http://img838.imageshack.us/img838/5210/siderear.jpg

http://img687.imageshack.us/img687/730/sider.jpg

http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/4740/sidefronty.jpg

if you look at the comparisons, the two honda civic looks similar, the new model’s body is more “muscular”. I wonder why ppl say the old one is nice but new one is ugly? actually they look 90% the same.

• PakAbu on Aug 03, 2011 at 3:30 pm

People are so used to the “cute alien eyes” at the rear of the current Civic. The new one’s rear looks a bit “uncle”-ish… designed for people like me… :mrgreen:

Most people here, on paultan.org are young people. They don’t like “safe” design. Must look futuristic. Not jurassic. :mrgreen:

• Cheng on Aug 05, 2011 at 12:20 pm

most young ppl cannot afford this car la, that’s why honda no layan them liao.

• The new 2012 Honda Civic has been lamblasted by Consumer Report in the US. Long a top favourite amongst the small car category, the fall from the top is spectacular. The 2007 model was even top pick by CR. Read the article below and see if you agree.

http://techland.time.com/2011/08/02/new-honda-civic-wont-get-consumer-reports-thumbs-up/

Guess cost cutting has its price – pun intended.

• VOLVO LOVER on Aug 03, 2011 at 2:55 pm

even proton also better

• twinklestar on Aug 03, 2011 at 2:57 pm

The Elantra is not great.This new Civic is just an improved and smaller version of the old FD Civic..Many people will still buy this lovely car!

• hahaha…another moron with T n H in his forehead..hehehe…deyy,wake up la~~this is no longer 90’s nor 00’s…this is new world..n japanese cannot sleep tigh anymore,korean r coming..dont be surprised next 10years, china automakers r coming through~

• twinklestar on Aug 03, 2011 at 7:42 pm

Your the moron..Korean gas engines aren’t as fuel efficient.The Elantra is all about style but its engines and its headroom are awful!

• Hyundai avante own a best class leading fuel comsumption & best class headroom among C segment, highway average 40mpg lol ;p

• bro,ur living in dark ages,it is fueal efficient lah bro,the one sold in our country is not GDI engine,its old engine bcoz of our fuel quality…read a lot laa…of 4got,u r one of those moron~~hahahahahaa

• tattoo sleeve on Aug 03, 2011 at 3:46 pm

i prefer the old civic.. this one looks biasa biasa sahaja..

• treblecase on Aug 03, 2011 at 4:00 pm

The legacy has to stop somewhere. Perhaps the time for T & H is up. Honda was a legend in F1 supplying championship winning engines to the likes of McLaren & the legendary Ayrton Senna. The works team was rubbish though but the financial crisis hit them hard and both Honda & Toyota has to pull out of F1 completely. It’s really not surprising that this translate to the slide in passenger cars department too. Coupled with the recent disaster in Japan, it will take years for them before they regain their top status.

• civic kaki on Aug 03, 2011 at 4:16 pm

look ugly, why copy city design? current model better

• civic kaki on Aug 03, 2011 at 4:20 pm

ugly. current model still the best looking

• Pro-Nissan on Aug 03, 2011 at 4:47 pm

Honda just doing a bad job in providing better sound insulation~~the honda accord sucks~~believed this new civic would having same problem too

• Pro-Nissan on Aug 03, 2011 at 4:49 pm

Honda was doing a bad job in providing better sound insulation~~Honda accord a failure ord….this new civic will be the next???!!!! SHAME ON HONDA!!!!

• rulered on Aug 03, 2011 at 5:14 pm

Last time people who chose Honda over Toyota because they said Honda have more passion over Toyota, now its the same, both no passion, pure Japs trying to milk out money from ‘lower’ spec Asian countries.

• Unforgiven on Aug 03, 2011 at 7:10 pm

The Asian did that to themselves.

Not forgetting Honda Civic is one of the cheapest sedan in the US.

What is below usd 20k car to them?

• Unforgiven on Aug 04, 2011 at 10:29 am

Do you think the pure Japs are earning more per car when they sell it in US as compare to M’sia?

Their earning per car may be almost the same.

As in why Civic is so expensive in M’sia? You may have to think why it is treated that way in M’sia.

Where is all the money gone? Your 9 yrs loan gone?

• ONEcountry?? on Aug 03, 2011 at 5:33 pm

great!!

• loveit on Aug 03, 2011 at 6:22 pm

malaysian will still buy…resale value tinggi meh..

• carlito on Aug 03, 2011 at 7:21 pm

WTF Honda!? Is this the best you can do!? 1 word, disappointing.

• i think persona-R is much better than this one, elantra is also better
    what happen to japs designers?

• Nissan better lah!!!

• Supertram on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:54 pm

Really Honda? Seriously? Have u guys in R&D seen what the Korean came out with?!

Smaller and less “attractive” then current model. Disappointing.

• moderate on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:13 pm

H and T out of idea to designing an attrctive car. Frankly people will first get attrcted by the car’s design and apperance. Then only it’s ‘content’…
    But H and T nowadays way too conservative in designing new car, pity,,,

• Carl Wong on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:52 pm

Do you think the Naza Kia Forte will look like that without the Honda Civic?
    Do you think designing cars today is easy?
    Design your own cars then.
    TO EACH THEIR OWN.

• Type F on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:39 pm

X de kesedaran civic cm nie..

• Carl Wong on Aug 04, 2011 at 4:31 am

And as usual the Asian version looks slightly different and better than the US version as usual LOL..!!

• boring + ugly.

• Hahahaha….my EK price will increase indeed!!

• Now you see, m’sia H&T fans. . . it’s clearly show that you guys should move away from these two brands and try other some new, much better….

We’d plenty choices now and why away stick with these brands? so boring looking at m’sia road flooding H&T hence others are doing much better than them!

Good luck to NEW civic

• When can start booking? I want book now! ^^

• masteroushi on Aug 04, 2011 at 1:55 pm

looks good. just that the rear is abit plain. Lets see how the interior is.

• now finally civic can match the altis’s uglyness and boringness!!!

• Zaifman on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:03 pm

Is this for the China market? I think it’s likely as China receives the 7th gen USDM Civic, not JDM.

I think we’ll get the JDM Civic. Just wait and see…

inb4imahondasalesman

• squawk on Aug 05, 2011 at 9:54 am

LOL! You people really go all out to bash Honda. Please lah, Honda’s just trying to emulate the BMW’s corporate look – City is the 1 series, Civic, 3 series and Accord, 5 series. Same same but different. :-)

• Carl Wong on Aug 05, 2011 at 11:59 pm

Ya what’s wrong with similarities for the cars in the same Brand/family, the front looks great and similar to Insight, City, FCX Clarity, so what?? It’s their own cars. At least they don’t copy/steal from others. For BMW their cars look similar for different series, same family, different class & size, it’s like siblings. And no one said anything about those.

• Crazy Sky on Aug 05, 2011 at 2:07 pm

last time I bought Forte, all people around me thought I am crazy…. Same price can go for H. City…

And I still went for my Forte. When I drove Forte and fetch my friends, after the ride all of them said luckily I did not choose H. City… Forte is as big as Civic and yet more gadgets than it, what more to compare with City…. wakakakaka

Quality wise, so far no complain… low resell value, who knows the current model guarantee great depreciation. And car isn’t an investment, what we need to do is ENJOY while driving…

• ah_lock on Aug 05, 2011 at 4:11 pm

the “bontot’ of this car remind me of the old camry.. hmm… common honda, i know you can design much more better than this one.. haha

• artie0525 on Oct 29, 2011 at 3:39 am

US have stopped 8th gen civic and began the sale of 9th gen civic for the past 6-7 months..but here in Malaysia the 8th gen civic still on top sales..Congratulations Malaysian for your concern on current auto news!! Enjoy a high drop in sales value for your 8th gen civic wen the 9th gen is released next year!!!

• elaine on Dec 28, 2011 at 11:43 pm

guys and girls out there, if you are waiting for this 9th generation Civic all these while, my advice is you get the the 8 generation now while stock last!! trust me!! the 9th generation Civic is not worth to be wait!!

• aman_marshal on May 31, 2012 at 8:21 am

i think the 9th gen of honda civic become less sporty compared with the previous one, it’s not like civic style anymore, look like accord style…