New Euro spec Honda Civic hatchback to get better ride comfort, best in class cabin space – torsion beam retained

The sedan version of the ninth generation Honda Civic was unveiled earlier this year, and now it’s time for the European version, which is slated to debut at September’s Frankfurt show. Developed specifically for the European market, this Civic will be offered exclusively as a five-door hatchback, taking on C-segment stalwarts such as the Golf, Focus and Astra. It will go on sale in early 2012.

Often criticised in Europe for its hard ride, Honda has worked on that area. According to the company, the new Civic’s ride and handling has been developed in Europe, and the Japanese team worked closely with European colleagues and external experts. The focus was on improving the ride quality, while retaining the sporty handling of the current model.

“Every time we visited Europe during the development of the car, we achieved significant improvements in the ride and handling, tuning the car for the local demands. The new Civic is not just an evolution. In terms of ride quality, we have taken a major step forwards, equivalent to two generations of development,” said Kazuo Sunaoshi, Development Leader – Chassis.

Honda says that its engineers were conscious that European roads are some of the most varied in the world, where you have smooth, fast highways turning off to poorly surfaced country lanes. Final tuning was done in Europe, as a result.

The segment leaders employ all independent suspension, but Honda will stick with the torsion beam for the new Civic, giving it the largest cabin in the segment. But to improve body control and high speed stability, the wall thickness of the beam and the diameter of the stabiliser bar have been increased. Overall ride comfort and handling will also benefit from the introduction of new fluid-filled compliance bushings to the rear suspension.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• rapidshifter on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:14 am

It will go on sale in early 2012… can’t wait to see the new civic… maybe in 6 months..

• Improving only ride and handling ? I guess they have to work harder to equipped the car with loads of features which include dual clutch transmission, All new engine unit maybe the rumored Advanced V-Tec , NVH, maybe its even better with a turbo unit engine to really keep up with the Euro mobiles. The all new US spec Civic has nothing to shout at , its just a brought forward car from previous generation, with slight improvement only

• Moogen on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:43 pm

A turbo Honda? Which world do you come from, buddy?

• Moogen on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:45 pm

A turbo engine in a production model Honda? Which word do you come from, buddy?

• Paul Tan on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:50 pm

I think he is suggesting Honda needs to go turbo.

They have a turbo 2.3 liter K-Series actually, though installed in an Acura and not a Honda.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honda_K_engine#K23A1

• dondon on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:17 am

hmm niceee

• Expatriate VN on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:28 am

This is so call truely global small car for all market in the world

• rumah plet on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:33 am

Do you think we can get this spec in Malaysia?

• Expatriate VN on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:47 am

You can think until the cow come home ……….! Or if you even can get it, it will cost a bomb (throw by NAP).

• squall_shinoda on Aug 02, 2011 at 12:42 pm

I don’t think so. We have to wait for the Japanese because our Civic models here follows the JDM template.

• Sound interesting…

• Raokata on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:09 am

Hmm..looking at the size n bodyline..teringat kat Persona R

• Carl Wong on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:11 am

I can’t wait for the new Civic to come here next year. I went to Honda yesterday, they’re taking bookings already :]??

Even the normal versions get Eco Assist technology (the green button like Insight) for even higher fuel efficiency, only for hybrids initially, hopefully they’ll bring it here. New hybrid version is upgraded using a 1.5L i-VTEC engine with new Lithium Ion batteries, same EPA ratings for city and highway :)…..!!!

• SIVIK on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:14 am

civic…u are the best lah….many envy at you…but many many many love you

• civicman on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:19 am

look at the c pillar, I thought it is a Kia Forte.

• kawpoaaa on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:22 am

Honda fans is touching their special part right now.

• and for the euro mkt…the most important factors is the all new 1.6 turbodiesel currently being developed for this new civic. Currently honda euro cars appeal are limited wt only a 2.2 turbodiesel being available across the range from accord,crv to civic (euro are all abt diesels…honda current hybrid can’t even beat a diesel in term of co2, FC & power/torque)

• Lim Kopi on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:55 am

Can Honda Malaysia start thinking about giving us their Euro versions rather than the crappy ones we have now??

Malaysians love driving too. ;)

• ONEcountry?? on Aug 02, 2011 at 12:34 pm

when is the ninth generation Honda Civic will be launch in Malaysia?

the model of ninth generation HONDA CIVIC in Asia will be same as this??
    http://paultan.org/2011/02/18/all-new-honda-civic-official-images-and-info-released/

can someone tell me? Thanks!

• Kumar san on Aug 02, 2011 at 1:44 pm

Yes,the 9th Gen Civic will look like this.Essentially,our market’s version will be the same as produced in the States.Specifications of our rides will be lower though.The U.S HONDA market caters to a different kind of buyer segment,and it’s not different here.

Alas,the final spec for our shores is yet to be known or seen.

Cheers.

• hunterhead on Aug 02, 2011 at 2:52 pm

act smart…US and japan civic look is diff….and we’re getting the japan look….gosh….talk as you’re working in honda….

• Kumar san on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:21 am

Are you working in Honda?No right?Everyone is entitled to their say,i never bashed the new Civic did i?I said essentially,and also the the specifications will be different.Please learn how to read.

Why don’t you compare the U.S spec Civic and the latest writeup about the so called “JDM” Civic that is destined for our shores,apart from the type of alloy’s at first look and the colour…

Tell me what’s the difference in look mate?I suppose you are smarter than all of us then..chill dude.

• skypirate on Aug 02, 2011 at 1:04 pm

The current generation looks sportier. This one looks like an insight in the first pic.

• Honda has to work hard in Europe. Over here, just redesign the look and still sell well. *sigh*

• Hiiii all…..Malaysian spec is most likely be the US spec model as Malaysian prefer a car with a boot…..euro spec with the low roofline may not appeal to M’sian…..

• Mr Cool on Aug 02, 2011 at 1:42 pm

“The segment leaders employ all independent suspension, but Honda will stick with the torsion beam for the new Civic, giving it the largest cabin in the segment.”

For those who shooting Forte for using Torsion beam!!

• low2215 on Aug 02, 2011 at 1:56 pm

I hope Malaysia dont use US version , looks like not very highly recommended in consumer report

http://autos.yahoo.com/news/consumer-reports-says-redesigned-honda-civic-scores-too-low-to-be-recommended.html

• sporty car?torsion beam?hahahahahaha….those who shooting forte for using torsion beam,take back!hehe..4get bout sporty handling,i guess satria gti,persona will ride better,oh no,even satria 1.6kli will handles better..hahahaa..paying loads of buck for cheap suspension system that u can get in a Myvi~~go on,all hail civic!all hail JDM!hahahhaha..what a moron~

• Littlefire on Aug 02, 2011 at 3:44 pm

Mr. Q, do you know that torsion beam also used in sport cars?!?

http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/suspension/tech_suspension21.htm

Renault Megane 2.0T also using it,

http://www.autocar.co.uk/CarReviews/FirstDrives/Renault-Megane-2.0T-Renaultsport-250/244208/

I think wonder, why still got this kind of dinosour mind thinking that sport cars must use other type of suspension? Each suspension system also got it’s pro’s & con’s just u need to fine tune it to match ur taste.

• BigFire on Aug 02, 2011 at 7:01 pm

Ya littlefire is right, F1 also using Torsion beam now. LeMan also using that. Porsche Ferrari they also tune their own Torsion beam so good to match their own taste.

• squawk on Aug 05, 2011 at 10:44 am

The good handling contis are mostly on torsion beams. Go figure how that is possible. The Japanese are still trying to figure out the same thing.

• Isaac Cheah on Aug 02, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Do you even realise that this civic is not JDM?

• taboogen on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:09 am

wah our saga also have sport car characteristic lah since saga using torsion beam. lucky SAGA owner now they can be proud.. yeahhh

• I hate hatchbacks on Aug 03, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Don’t expect this European Civic hatch come to our Asian shores… But except Japan, where people prefer hatchbacks.

• kenot on Aug 02, 2011 at 3:51 pm

civic-already established brand around the world..but now honda just try hard to make sure the next gen will be better than current model.if not, they will kill by korean brand.

• bchih on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:18 pm

what ? honda rnh?
    even bmw and merc are terrible opponents to proton cars
    lol