Honda Civic images surface before China launch in April

The new 2012 Civic is set to be introduced by Dongfeng Honda at Auto Shanghai late next month, but shots of the car – presumably taken in-house – have inevitably surfaced, as is usually the case. The leaked photos of the Chinese version of the car reveal minor differences compared to the US version, noticeably at the rear, with the tail lamps extending on to the trunk lid, a similar trick Honda used to differentiate the US and ASEAN Accord.

Based on the shots, there’s plenty more chrome finishing on the Chinese version – the door handles, front grille and fog lamp cover get the shiny bit treatment. The word on the grapevine is that the car will be available in China in 1.8 and 2.0 form, and presumably the Type S badging on the car in the pix makes it the 2.0.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• vince on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:13 pm

the front look no dif…

• sagatron on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:19 pm

seriouly….what is this??its awkward dude!!!!come on la honda…

• VoidDance on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Yes, what with that crease on the rear bumper? Look out of place. I quite like the front design tho.

• Mazda freak on Mar 23, 2011 at 12:33 am

the front looks like altis, the rear look like the 2002-2005 camry

• Selezs on Mar 23, 2011 at 4:46 am

Champion white colour + 17/18 inch white rims + red brembo brake + spoiler + typre r badge = nooooooooo, i can not imagine how this civic type r gonna look like, arghh

• the current FD2r type is the last of its kind…last type R…so i guess Honda (like Mitsu) is moving into family oriented shiets huh!

• alldisc on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:12 am

actually they are heading towards greener cars and contribute to less pollution.

• ThePolygon on Mar 23, 2011 at 8:59 am

I thought the back looks a bit like Persona.
          The front a bit like the 3 generation back Accord.
          Hmm… wonder what happened….

• Mazda freak on Mar 25, 2011 at 12:25 am

when i looked at it again, the rear lamp looks like our beloved proton persona :s

• ALpaccino on Mar 25, 2011 at 9:41 pm

Honda and the Jap’s Ride keep producing the so called Japanese Cutting Edge car by offering much-much expensive price

• huiyoo on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:38 pm

two words – really ugly

• evardo woo on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:43 pm

DAM UGLY

• aarrrrrhhhhhh…….!!!!!!!!!!!!! my eyeeeesssss….!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• bombostic on Mar 22, 2011 at 4:54 pm

i fell from my chair the moment i c the rear bumper LOL….i also suffered from serious vomiting…why kind of bumper design was tat?? beauty in the eyes of beholder? i doubt so so much.

• sagatron on Mar 22, 2011 at 6:22 pm

even proton designers can do better than this…sigh…

• sprat on Mar 24, 2011 at 12:32 am

doesn’t matter if designers sometimes came up with awkward design because they normally come up with lots of different design options for brainstorming purpose but the guy (normally the chief/boss) who picked and approved this rear design is the real retard behind this catastrophe. Civic has just gone from being among the most good looking family sedans to being a car with the ugliest rear end – totally mind blowing. it’s not only horribly ugly but also hard to believe that it has been reviewed, approved, produced, and going on sale. no point these japs are so proud of their quality control if they cannot detect this defect called “awkwardness/ugliness” in every car at the end of their production line ~sigh…

• tikus on Mar 22, 2011 at 10:37 pm

No worry….It will sell like hot cake in bolehland coz local fans sure support no matter how ugly is it.

• ikansepat on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:15 pm

they out of ideas or what????
      know we see the funniest honda civic that we ever had!!

• RadzLee on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:22 pm

the front shaped almost like a City!!! WTF?

• yup.. it more alike the all new city but not all new civic… =P
      quite dissapointed since still hope the asean version will have more changes.
      foe me, tail lamps extending on to the trunk lid is a really bad idea.. it make this car look cheap!!!

• Ahmad Zubair on Mar 22, 2011 at 9:29 pm

I feel the body truly resembles our current City. probably the car is actually a City, but rebadged to Civic for the Chinese market.

• armang on Mar 22, 2011 at 9:41 pm

i just wait and see. sometime, the photo is not the same as the real production. however, based on the photo, what i can say is, not so impressive.

• maybe chinese like proton so much…honda had to copy rear tail of persona..better if honda china just rebadge persona as civic instead

• VoidDance on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:15 pm

This is suppose to be an evolution of the previous model, right? I don’t get it with this design. If it is an evolution, they are going backward.

• Kecoh on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:16 pm

lampu belakang macam proton persona nooohhhhhhh…..

• Nellie on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:13 pm

Then, who will say Honda copies from Proton? No one…

• lampu belakang dari tepi macam city + lampu belakang macam persona + back trunk macam accord + bumper belakang macam camry 6th generation = i have nothing to say….. =_=”

• arcana on Mar 22, 2011 at 6:35 pm

the lampu belakang looks like the previous gen camry to me
      very similar indeed

• civics on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:17 pm

Excellent design, one of the sexiest model in the world generation by generation. This is even better than the new S60 or Passat. Probably will come with douuble VTEC. Cant wait side by side testing with GOLF RS

• better than s60? which part?

• better then s60??? .. r u sure .. and u r talking about the NEW s60 , better then passat?? lucky this guy didnt mentioned about passat cc. anyway dont blame u ..it is common syndrome among honda diehard fan, even sometimes they said civics engine sound like maserati… sigh

• MazdAstina on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:50 pm

Agreed with abu. civic sounding like maserati… hahahahaha

• i think he’s just being sarcastic. that’s all.

don’t be too serious, guys. :D

but if he really meant it, maybe he’s one of those people who have different taste.

beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder, right, neh???

• you sure better than s60 which planet are you from ? :D

• adeh….. why he should be a honda salesman? he might be a honda fan… but doesn’t means he’s a honda salesman… he might be a proton staff, or naza staff, or perodua…or wutever edge in the world that he’s working…

come on guys… pls dunt come with this dissapointing comment anymore :( it sounds unrelevant at all..like u bash proton fans “u r proton salesman” or produa fans “u r perodua salesman”… that u r wut? Sogo salesman?

anyway, this civic not so nice…still think the previous one much more better…looks like their design is going backward? no hardfeeling…just my opinion… it started to look like an uncle’s car instead of a dude’s car…

• rally_fan on Mar 22, 2011 at 5:51 pm

or perhaps sounds like itik serati? :D
          anyway, i can said this design is not impressive at all

• Honda salesman,cofirm

• u must be a Honda salesman

• adeh….. why he should be a honda salesman? he might be a honda fan… but doesn’t means he’s a honda salesman… he might be a proton staff, or naza staff, or perodua…or wutever edge in the world that he’s working…

come on guys… pls dunt come with this dissapointing comment anymore :( it sounds unrelevant at all..like u bash proton fans “u r proton salesman” or produa fans “u r perodua salesman”… than u r wut? Sogo salesman?

anyway, this civic not so nice…still think the previous one much more better…looks like their design is going backward? no hardfeeling…just my opinion… it started to look like an uncle’s car instead of a dude’s car…

• NZA,read the comment properly.the bashing was because of the dumb comparison CIVICS made,not because that guy was a honda fan.if u wanna come to someone’s rescue,i suggest u do it properly.

• kington on Mar 22, 2011 at 7:16 pm

Are you from Mars?

Which part of your education taught you to compare a Civic against the S60 or a Passat?

• Honda salesman cum cybertrooper spotted, well done..

• cloud matrix on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:18 pm

looks like a grown up Honda City.

• agree with you…looks like city + accord…

• nazgul on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:56 pm

couldnt agree more…honda should have kept this design for new city or city fl…i cant imagine anyone would buy a car that look like its sibling from 1 segment below and have to explain all the little diffrences and rationalize the higher price so that he can ‘sedap hati’ with the purchase…sigh…

• Tiadaid on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:38 pm

Agree also. That was my first thought.

• Critique on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:29 pm

Hehe.. they took the City’s design and stretched it ! :P

• Essential Motoring 101 on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Sorry but the rear is hideous :P Maybe better, upclose… :P

• anafanas on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:23 pm

love the front look..but rear?…….

• a bit weird from honda designer…

• mamakman on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:26 pm

front looks like city, back looks ugly!!! BELLY UGLY!!!!!

• jalan54 on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:26 pm

What happen to the designer in Honda? All dead? Come on, look at Hyundai and Kia, this design sucks big time!!!
    Anyway, hope that they surprise me with the Engine, transmission and other features.

• they should hire new designers. honda’s design is getting worse. they should follow kia and hyundai footstep to hire someone who know how to design a car.

• just look at this fugly civic!!! the back looks like a distorted 2003 camry which is already damn fugly!!

this is why the koreans are gonna pwn the japs big time in the coming years. its already happening now….

• So what?? no matter how ugly Toyota car is, still a lot of people buying,and some even praise how beauty it was that time

• TallPan on Mar 22, 2011 at 11:58 pm

hello, Honda and Toyota and Nissan don’t need to pay for designers. Ppl still loyally stick to their cars. Great resale value right? 4 speed gear box. Yeah. 2 air bags. Yeah.

• Samad on Mar 23, 2011 at 10:13 am

Remember, 80s and 90s belong to Ford, Mazda…We can change this type of thinking…Ht&N is overpriced…Who’s buying 2nd hand from this brand will be stupid…City 2003 priced around 50k..what a stupid price

• calvin_ng on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:26 pm

Oooooooo SHEEET!!!!

WHAT IS THIS THIS IS FUGLY!!!!!!

• untouchable on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:33 pm

from rear I thought persona… hahahahahhhahahaha…

• akinablue on Mar 22, 2011 at 4:24 pm

seriously, persona at least look much better than this wired rear look.

• victorleekoonpoh on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:34 pm

lol, macam current city with accord back rear reflector

• andrew on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:39 pm

The back looks weird and out of place, i hope this will not be the final design cause it really sucks big time.

• vertigo on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:37 pm

looks like a magnified city. out of design idea perhaps

• kadok on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:37 pm

design wise…. fugly…
    but diff case with the honda mania.

• nazri on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:43 pm

rear design make car look “kontot”..

• front looks like honda insight, rear proton persona

• J@Ck LIM on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:48 pm

I cant except the rear part…. really cant except… XD

• civicEK on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:48 pm

OMG it’s FUGLY!!!

• Roocarroll on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:49 pm

Another bucket load of negative comments. Thanks for taking time out from your busy schedules driving your Ferraris to post on here.

• VoidDance on Mar 22, 2011 at 5:11 pm

No, I drive a Kancil. I just don’t really like the new Civic look. What is your point actually? And where is my damn Ferrari??!!

• confused on Mar 22, 2011 at 5:16 pm

i only drive polo, come here, just to say,

what a truly ugly looking car!

-drive home-

• exJAVANESE on Mar 22, 2011 at 6:00 pm

I only had my Yamaha ego dude… but i still wanna leave my comment here…

This new Civic design are so pain in the ass.. Wheres is a LOVES in it? i don’t see a LOVES in it….

If u guys put Hyundai Avante and Honda CIVIC side by side, it seem korean had put thier LOVES much more in it, that why we appreciate their LOVES…

• Seriously on Mar 23, 2011 at 12:15 am

wow, FAIL! haha

• Koreans seems to have better design now days..

• HonDie-lah on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:52 pm

This always happen to car industries, when they had the best designed car for that era, the next generation will usually fail big time! So, people… quickly buy the current model before it is discontinued and replaced with this lame model!

• The back looks like a mashup of the city,accord and persona lol. Doesnt really seem to flow with the design of the car too..

• SukaKereta on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:04 pm

versi sekarang much much better la. why introduce this ugly model?

• memek on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:04 pm

oh no!!!! the previous gen civic looks so handsome and the new one so fugly!!!

• ChrisCK on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:04 pm

FUGLY!

• Lor..the rear looks like the old version of Toyota Camry… but overall…it quite nice

• hondasucks on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:09 pm

sooo boooring honda!

• 4agze on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:10 pm

eventho it’s fugly, i bet a lot of people gonna buy it anyway..T & H always win in Malaysia

• exJAVANESE on Mar 22, 2011 at 6:03 pm

ya..ya…we will see dude!! wait till Avante, Persona R and New Focus launch their attack…

• T&H does attract some ppl… but with this rear??? hahaha.. even a Merc with this end ppl will think triple times before buying it..

• 4agze on Mar 23, 2011 at 12:00 pm

believe me..when buying car people always ask about the service and resale value..the korean has yet gain people trust when it comes into these 2 factors…when forte out people asked “can get part eh”, or “sure cannot sell lah after owned it”…t the end of the day, as i told before T&H always wins

• Front – still ok
    Rear – like S.H.I.T.

• Sodfer on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:16 pm

WTF?????? DAMN FUGLY!!!

• current model looks way better.. this one look ugly.. with more choices in this segment, I bet honda will loosing more shares to other competitors specially, NazaKia & Mazda. Perhaps new Focus will also easily eat up this civic…. babai civic!

• exJAVANESE on Mar 22, 2011 at 6:18 pm

hoo…dude! new focus will be super edgy design… really nice! (like fiesta)

• JamesT on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:20 pm

I’m a big fan of Honda and other brands that deliver great value cars like Kia and soon Hyundai. But seriously this car just like…. upsize city. Nothing much to be amazed. even the interior are like 10 years back tech. Big dissapointment here.

• rossi on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:20 pm

rear look like the old gen camry. . .hahahaha

• The designer should just resign and maybe take a refresher course in design at Hyundai. But the bigger question i have is…How did this design get approved by so many eyes and minds at Honda? Come on Honda, you are my favorite brand but it seems like your kicking us(your fans) in the “Behind and telling us “Buy This! Buy This! Its so Modern and Beautiful”. How can so many eyes perceive the same thing its almost a unanimous verdict. In marketing we believe that it is better to sell at a loss than have no sales… Could you recall this model and bring it back to the drawing board then have the design previewed and approved by a few of your loyal fans to see if the car will pass… Please Honda, Pleeeeeaaaaasssseee….

• My guess this is for China only.
    Previous post show different rear design, i.e without the Accord rear reverse light….

• Ultrajo on Mar 25, 2011 at 9:34 am

1st intoduce in China next intoduce to ASEAN countries similar to what NAZA did to Pug 207 Sedan :-(

• civicfans on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:23 pm

seems like they employed a former altis designer for this new gen !!

• Tengokaje.. on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:23 pm

The front view..quite okaylah…the rear view…alamak….adusss….

Salam…

• budin on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:23 pm

At 1st i thought a Honda City facelift..? rupanya2 new generations of honda Civic… lol~!

• Wow, just can’t wait. I’ll book one.

• bombostic on Mar 22, 2011 at 4:58 pm

ROFL…while waiting, can check eyes at tun hussain ong hospital…

• Jason on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:25 pm

Honda is out of idea for design?? Pls look the korean car now is awesome. This civic look totally UGLY!!!!

• RadzLee on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:27 pm

Oh my…. design wise, a dissapointment.
    its ok. ill wait for the test drive review. if it fails to satisfy me, ill switch to the koreans/conti for good…
    bye2 japs cars….

• OMG!~ Feel sick looking at the rear. How come they even come out with this kind of design?

• hondalover on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:30 pm

Really shit – current one much better look no matter which side you see.

• dude07 on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:30 pm

are you kidding me?

• Jason on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:33 pm

Where is Honda designer go? why design civic so UGLY one. Hyundai & KIA car is more pretty than this UGLY civic. So so sad.

• Beh tahan on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:34 pm

This is a good thing for the current generation Civic owners. Better 2nd hand value since the new generation is so ugly. Now, Proton Persona designers can shout in triumph having their design copy by one of the best brand designers. Maybe some the Honda designers have moved to Hyundai/Kia.

• if this was nex gen city i will say nice but civic……no.

• drMpower on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:45 pm

i am looking into adding another or two
    into my own fleet of transportation
    in the nearest future
    one of the them is presumably a sedan to replace my city
    and preferably the new model civic
    another is i am looking to the odyssey

but pretty disappointed by this news
    yes i know china version could be a bit different
    to whatever version we will be getting here
    but overally thats it
    right?
    damn why i didnt buy the fd2

• i think for once, most will agree proton (specifically the lancer/neo r3) is better looking than this car. proton FTW!

• Victor Hoh on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:55 pm

Honda is following a tick-tock cycle for their Civic generations. The 6th gen “big-eye boy” looks fantastic. The 7th gen looks bland. The 8th gen looks so gorgeous. The future 9th gen looks ……….

• azrai on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:57 pm

As I said before. Those radiation already affected Honda designers. Just look at those freaking Freed and Brio. Now it is Civic time.

• cslee on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:58 pm

Yeah, Honda is going backward. The front looked like Existing H.stream + a bit of city shape. The rear looked like T.camry 2003.

I believed the interior will not much different to the existing Civic.

Say bye bye to the new H.Civic…

• shiftSpank on Mar 22, 2011 at 4:08 pm

Easier to swallow if they said New Honda “City”. Really looks like how a grown up City would look like. But to be fair, we should wait for a side profile image.

• engtaokia on Mar 22, 2011 at 4:12 pm

The chief designer must be affected by Fukushima radiation, hence the ugly exterior and awkward dashboard design.

• Kimpalan Arka Berperisai on Mar 22, 2011 at 4:19 pm

I think we don’t have to blow this out of proportion. From logical design cue, I think it’s best to describe this new design as an evolution of the current FD2. Some may think it’s fugly or what not, but more often than never, camera can’t do justice on a car’s design. Remember the E90 3er? When it came out it had ppl bashing left and right up to a point to sign a petition to remove Bangle (search BangleFuck). But so we see any less 3er on the street? Fret not. Having said all this, I personally think that the new Civic’s design is rather good from all angle except the rear end.

• mr. gun nie nei on Mar 22, 2011 at 4:22 pm

Mr T – wazzup Mr H ,,Welcome to da club!! ,,,,lmao!!!

• exJAVANESE on Mar 22, 2011 at 6:15 pm

Mr H: Your design are so pain in the ass laa dude..
      Mr T: yaa, then how? we also in a same boat rite?
      Mr H:hmmm…its ok, i became like this because i follow u from deep in my heart…
      Mr H:Really?? u’re so sweet and caring…

(then, they walking away…together..with holding hand each other…??)

• blackjkx on Mar 22, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Hoho..ugly rear till dead.
    Gentlemen, dont be sad..live with it.

• teelim on Mar 22, 2011 at 4:23 pm

oh wai… wai the back look like this one?!?

• Darren on Mar 22, 2011 at 4:27 pm

Forte 6 speed is the pick!!!

• seman on Mar 22, 2011 at 4:34 pm

burukk…!!

• i think Honda shud set this car on fire and come up with a new design

• BN=barang naik on Mar 22, 2011 at 4:41 pm

ugly rear..current civic owners wont regret buying it!

• mystvearn on Mar 22, 2011 at 4:43 pm

Suddenly, current Honda civic look like a classic and its used value will hold well against the new version. Bring back round rear accura lights

• zarim on Mar 22, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Lucky me… thought of waiting for the latest model, but I booked the present one few weeks back….ha..ha..ha

• Ordinary Joe on Mar 22, 2011 at 4:46 pm

Rear FAIL!

• Agree, the rear design looks bad… persona’s better

Yet so many -ve comments, many malaysian would buy it coz its Civic, init?

• squall_shinoda on Mar 22, 2011 at 6:21 pm

Not really. Look at the 7th-gen Civic, not many of them are on our roads. And their trade-in price is much lower than its predecessor.

• the rear looks like an old camry

• no wow factor on Mar 22, 2011 at 4:57 pm

proud with proton. even honda copy from them.

• apollo on Mar 22, 2011 at 4:58 pm

it is not the best looking car but definitely nicer than Altis. actually honda does not force anyone to buy the car – u dun like dun buy lor, no nid to be so rude lah!

• pigsy on Mar 22, 2011 at 5:28 pm

wat a silly comment. of course they dont force, but they should work out to have the nicest design, not a design like this.. of course some people will say its nice, but i’m sure most people will say its not as nice as the current model.

• apollo on Mar 22, 2011 at 8:07 pm

why must honda design something that u like? did you pay design fee to honda? you dun like doesnt mean other ppl dun like mah. why u so silly?

• RadzLee on Mar 23, 2011 at 1:13 am

hvnt u heard “the customer is always right?”
          means that honda should listen what majority ppl wants! sure, they can come out with these kind of styling, which i asume >70% ppl in this forum disagree. but prepare for the coming painful consequences…

• Critique on Mar 23, 2011 at 2:33 pm

Dude, do you even realise what you’re saying?

“why must honda design something that u like?”
          ~Cuz if not, Pigsy and the rest who agree with him (u do the math) would NOT purchase the new Civic~

“did you pay design fee to honda?”
          ~Yes ! When customers buy the car, they do rite?~

Based on the comments, not many ppl like the new Civic assuming this is the version that will be sold in MY. So they are voicing out their displeasure.
          Hence If you like it, dosen’t mean others will too.

Btw, “it is not the best looking car but definitely nicer than Altis”
          Dude, the proper benchmark IMHO should be the current Civic instead of the Altis !

• With this design, I will appreciate my 8th Gen Civic more :-P.

• squall_shinoda on Mar 22, 2011 at 5:12 pm

We can expect the Alor Gajah plant will only start to churn out the 9th gen somewhere around end of this year or early next year, so there’s still time to buy the current generation one.

• Honda Fan on Mar 22, 2011 at 5:06 pm

Nice ! Believe the underskin will have quite a bit of new technologies installed for this new Civic. Good work, Honda.

• squall_shinoda on Mar 22, 2011 at 5:08 pm

We just wait till the pics of the JDM Civic have been leaked thru the internet… because the exterior design will be surely different… but still, one bad thing is that the JDM Civic will share the interior as in this one and the USDM Civic.

• really fugly rear!

• Not only ugly BUT full of radioactive. Retarded design

• sad sad honda on Mar 22, 2011 at 5:19 pm

Great news to all Honda Civic fans, bcos thay can save up their money for another 5-7 years time now. WooHoo

• Faisal on Mar 22, 2011 at 5:25 pm

a bigger version of honda city!! not nice at all!!

• Tak suka BN on Mar 22, 2011 at 5:30 pm

Fugly!!!!!! No Sincere body kit manufacturer gonna invest their mould into this 9th Gen Civic. I believe current Mugen body kit can fit this model, coz no change. Those who own 8th gen Civic now is the Winner of modernation and futuristic design.

• Tak suka BN on Mar 22, 2011 at 5:32 pm

This is the key fail model of how Kia and Hyundai gonna take over T&H market starting this year!!! Check the automovie make sales, Kia and Hyundai is increasing and soon bypass T&H!!!

• squawk on Mar 22, 2011 at 5:39 pm

This confirms the ugliness of the desert test car. :-D

It’s a car you want to push off a cliff or beat it to death with a mackerel.

Anyway I thought I misread the ‘Civic’ in the title and that China was launching a facelifted City.

• Mazda Fan on Mar 22, 2011 at 5:40 pm

Mazda 3 is years ahead compared this crappy looking car.wonder if anyone would actually buy it.maybe it will die like the current gen Freed and Jazz.

• maaajeeedaaa on Mar 22, 2011 at 6:07 pm

Ya Tepat sekali!!!! I think even Tuah Concept design can beat this latest civic model!!!

• hero33 on Mar 22, 2011 at 5:46 pm

Is a disaster design…..how can this happen……Civic Gen8 so successful & everybody own it proud to the civic H brand name……but now…..piece of shit……looks like it gonna be tearing apart…..should be the last Civic design for future…….reason: Cannot sell to market….excessive stock piling in 5-10 years….whoahahaha

• hero33 on Mar 22, 2011 at 5:49 pm

since when civic over diet? big fat ass…..like wearing aunty skirt…..

• Maserati on Mar 22, 2011 at 5:51 pm

Even though it doesnt look as good as all those Korean makes,its technology ,refinement and performance is still leaps and bounds ahead of those junk Korean cars like Forte,Forte Koup and Sonata.

Whatever it is, this still gonna sell so well in Malaysia.Suck it up KIA fanboys!

• honda basher on Mar 23, 2011 at 6:41 am

lol wateva helps u sleep at nite la bro.u must be really blind.typical Honda buyer mentality,just buy for the badge

• Hafidz on Mar 22, 2011 at 5:58 pm

*pengsan* .. look at it again… *pengsan* ..tak percaya,look at it again.. *pengsan*..

• city plus accord

• Annoy-nimal on Mar 22, 2011 at 6:09 pm

Looks as if its trying to look like the City but fails completely. Designers on strike?!!!

• Theva on Mar 22, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Honda ?

You must be kidding..!

• Ahh this thing hurts my eyes!i miss old Honda :( pls bring back previous Civic!even Dugong look much better than this Alien~

• Theva on Mar 22, 2011 at 6:15 pm

Honda ?

You must be kidding !!

• OMG what were the designers smoking???

• Annuar Rahman on Mar 22, 2011 at 6:26 pm

Two words: Butt Ugly!

• exJAVANESE on Mar 22, 2011 at 6:28 pm

(Hold on…Before that, read with sarcastic tone yaa guys..)

Honda…you doing a GREAT JOB…EXCELLENT…AWESOME…BRILLIANT!!
    i would like to see you guys keep up a good work… you guys had THE BEST DESIGN in the world…you guys ROCKS!!!

• rodimuslai on Mar 22, 2011 at 6:39 pm

Holy crap!!! Can’t accept it from Honda designed….

• Look like Persona tail lamp…

• l3ryan on Mar 22, 2011 at 6:55 pm

does it have the ground clearance of a land cruiser??? from the pics it looks like it…

• harize on Mar 22, 2011 at 6:57 pm

the rear side look like our proton persona without the reverse light

• must be on Mar 22, 2011 at 6:58 pm

ugliest civic ever

• kaiser on Mar 22, 2011 at 7:05 pm

Beautiful and innovative design….. if they launched it a decade ago!

• DeVil on Mar 22, 2011 at 7:05 pm

WTH!!!Look almost like the City…
    At 1st look i can’t tell it is a civic at all…look like the City facelift.

• rebadge on Mar 22, 2011 at 7:08 pm

honda sould follow proton inspira.

i suggest honda to rebadge kia forte as honda civic.

• I think the pictures didn’t do justice to the Civic. It is more beautiful than what is shown here. Go google for it if you do not believe me.

• nighttrain on Mar 22, 2011 at 7:16 pm

They’re trying so hard not to look european, it just becomes sad… wonder how the euro civic looks like. Maybe Honda malaysia will opt ofr the euro version instead of this one.. Anyway, other than SEA, i think nobody else notices that it’s a streched City because the City is SEA Pacific only car.. to the rest of the world, this is a fresh design. For us, it’s just plain ol’ fugly. Like a retard big brother of an ugly kid… hahah..

• Glad i didnt wait for the Civic and got a Hyundai Tucson instead…haha…although Tucson is slightly more expensive and different segment :-)

• kitman on Mar 22, 2011 at 7:43 pm

wa pui!honda?power of dream?
    is think this new civic come with a new honda slogan-power of ugly!!
    H-is for hyundai now
    hyundai avante roar

• irwan on Mar 22, 2011 at 7:43 pm

The back looks like the stomach of a fat lady wearing skinny shirt.

• toyota altis looks waaaay better now…. : )

• paseymah on Mar 22, 2011 at 7:54 pm

I think honda has redirect their vision towards all those ‘green’ thing.. No more sport and racing spirit.

• persona lagi cantik kalo ini macam

• Najib Abdul Razak on Mar 22, 2011 at 8:06 pm

I don’t know if it can get any uglier than this. Ugly baboon. Want to imitate toyota ke honda ni? Uglier by the day.

• redboy on Mar 22, 2011 at 8:14 pm

based on current price, who will buy the Civic 2.0 where u pay RM10K u get the “IN” Sonata!!

• nolan on Mar 22, 2011 at 8:16 pm

OMG….mana mau sorok muka ?

so damn ugly…..kasi malu Honda owner saja….

• sad sad honda on Mar 22, 2011 at 8:33 pm

Where got malu? Honda Civic owner should be proud bcos what they have now are better than this. Yet, the 8th gen civic will have better 2nd value.

• zerouzer on Mar 22, 2011 at 8:28 pm

oh my eyes! its burning

• Coming soon hyundai avante will beat this crap flat.

• Darren on Mar 22, 2011 at 8:35 pm

I think this car develop by Dongfeng Honda using the City platform with longer wheelbase and larger engine cc.You can see the front and the back side door is similar with City. Also the B pilar is same design as City.

• Inspira or Kia Forte looks a lot better than this…..

• Peng Ken on Mar 22, 2011 at 8:37 pm

How come Honda do this to my favourite Civic, the 8th generation looks a lot more better than this. This “new” concept looks like a City.

• dilip on Mar 22, 2011 at 8:38 pm

damm ugly design……

• Peng Ken on Mar 22, 2011 at 8:42 pm

I certainly will miss the 8th generation looks.

• quattro on Mar 22, 2011 at 8:46 pm

honda jgn juaal version nie kat mesia..buruk sgt nampak……..cari design lain laaa..

• I tot latest Toyota is ugly but this is betui betui ugly

• SoMeOnE on Mar 22, 2011 at 9:12 pm

yep…it does look like a pre facelift second generation city that in the back with enlarged elements…its freaky but true..omg honda..wat have u done..the rest of us have to suffer looking at this on our malaysians roads coz they are a number of people awaiting it…i predict this civic will suffer like the current altis did b4 it got the better engines etc…there just isnt enough progress…..

• firebond on Mar 22, 2011 at 9:15 pm

FUGLY.

• seancorr on Mar 22, 2011 at 9:20 pm

With bodykit fitted onto it we will be seeing loads of these on our roads once again.

• pk yew on Mar 22, 2011 at 9:21 pm

ugly betul

• you all here at this blog can say whatever you want …. ugly etc etc bla bla

By the time it is launched in Malaysia, will still sell like cup cakes, I mean hot cakes … haha

watch my word for it !

It’s not too bad looking, all newer models will have to be better, well probably need some getting used to that’s all.

• modesto_hann on Mar 22, 2011 at 9:33 pm

honda also got this day

• pocoyo on Mar 22, 2011 at 9:38 pm

better dont change ah!. really disapointed front look no different at all. back tail lamp design looks most copy Accord style.
    current models still can be lasting another 5 years at least upgrade high spec feature like 6 speed, push start button, 2 din LCD screen c/w revrese camera, bluetooth, GPS and etc.

• Freed looks a lot better after seeing the new Civic!

• Nieto on Mar 22, 2011 at 9:40 pm

china mistaken it??? it should be city replacement, not civic.. haha

• Sparc on Mar 22, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Sorry to say that, quite disappointing. I don’t like it

• accord on Mar 22, 2011 at 9:55 pm

Haiiyaaa….

Now days, honda really lost of idea.. Maybe after they hv been affected by radiation then the better idea will be back on track..

• hantuhonda on Mar 22, 2011 at 10:00 pm

aiyaaa now the JAP’s know how to copy ka? at least from behind look very identical to MERC. LOL

• kobealex on Mar 22, 2011 at 10:04 pm

looks like a 3 current Hondas (city, civic, accord) fusion to it…

• mkhee on Mar 22, 2011 at 10:17 pm

After looking at these pics, I love my FD more now. I think I’m gonna keep it for another 5 yrs!

• makhfi on Mar 22, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Teruknya rupa civic kali ini.

• I’d rather buy Honda Insight instead of this ‘grown-up City’.

• that looked like a overgrown city with previous gen camry’s tail light.not good…..not good at all

• salesman on Mar 22, 2011 at 10:56 pm

shit so many ppl hates new civic. time to move on to the other grass!

• helmi on Mar 22, 2011 at 10:59 pm

Maybe in photo looks ugly, but when on the road looks the opposite.

• shawal on Mar 22, 2011 at 11:06 pm

Honda has gone the Hollywood way and created a ‘Prequel’ to the current Civic…

• rulered on Mar 22, 2011 at 11:09 pm

It’s not that the 9th generation Civic looks bad, it’s just that the 8th generation Civic was designed well, so well that the successor is having trouble keeping up with it’s predecessor (sound familiar?) in terms of design that is. It quite common not only in Honda Civic, but in any well known brand all over the world ie BMW, Mercedes even Ferrari. That is why I think we should not be brand loyal, instead, spend your money wisely on well selected cars which match to your own expectation and practicality. If you still want to practice style over substance than it’s up to you.

• Aiyo might as well stick back to the old design la……

• hazamiey on Mar 22, 2011 at 11:22 pm

Guys, don’t u all notice that there are 2 or 3 or at least 1 thumbs down for every comment posted. haha. wondering who is that pathetic honda supporter..

• my current gen civic definitely looks much better than this “so called” new gen civic.H and T have been going downwards in design and also quality of cars. the koreans surely have the best design these days. maybe its time for malaysians to start buying good cars irrespective of brand names.its going to be interesting with makers like mazda.kia.hyundai and peugeot coming up with an excellent range of value for money cars..

• gracke on Mar 23, 2011 at 12:04 am

Honda this time hopeless!!!

• harry on Mar 23, 2011 at 12:17 am

This is more like a Downgrade then a Upgrade! ~ is like honda being so lazy or its designers are out of creativity?

Its more like a City Front copy paste and then back looks soo year 2000 and late! looks so Persona booty! even persona Rear looks so much cleaner in design then this.

Overall seems more like Toyota Altis.

Current Civic looks soooo SOOOO SOO MUCH BETTER!!! and more FUTURISTIC!

• Seriously on Mar 23, 2011 at 12:21 am

It’s time to kick out your designers Honda! And fast!

• Wow… can’t wait to jump up the ride for a spin… i don’t care how terrible the looks… i don’t care you bad comments… as long as i can enjoy the sweet I-vtec sounds… Hmm…. Great!~~

• Thought of waiting for the new CRV. Think I rather not wait for another ugly design..

• mohdjiman on Mar 23, 2011 at 1:39 am

oh my…not so nice rear end!!

• No matter how bad it is.. i think in the end it will be swarming the street in no time.. Plus i wouldnt say anything since i oni manage to see it in pics for now..

who nows it’d look nicer in reality huhuhu

ps : not a big fan of Honda but a big fan of good resale value

• Ash Menon on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:19 am

I don’t know why people are giving thumbs down to this guy. What did he say that was wrong or didn’t make sense?

• never mind them..i learned it a hard way..they are not the one that pays my bills.. i still remember 1992 years ago..on MHI in which in introducing Kancil..People said look like ‘katak pisang’ and years later ‘katak puru’.. then guess what? Who’s on the top meh? thats one way to look at it..

another way to look at it..guess how many auction for proton and how many auction for honda? if honda eh..below 2 years u can let go that car and can break even with the bank.. Proton? probably 3 years.. Plus proton sometime no down payment ma.. For me security ma.. most people spend almost 50% of their income for their cars..if anything happen? (this for middle class situation eh..for the rich different story..

• HONDA- the power of dream. Ya, they are still dreaming to sell this car with such a design..

• Sparc on Mar 23, 2011 at 2:08 am

Again…..Similar segment……I think

1. Kia Forte
    2. Hyundai Avante / Elantra latest model
    3. Proton Tuah ( Espire )

The above option will be better choice. Especially item 2.

• This 2012 Civic is dull, I suspect Honda is running out of creativity and ideas. It’s going the Altis route of becoming lamer and lamer, no more excitement. What a let down from this ‘upgrade’ expecially the rear.
    Maybe Civic has grown up to be an executive car and City takes over its spot as being sport compact. Maybe.

• walle on Mar 23, 2011 at 3:22 am

Enlarge honda city ??!! duh !!!

• Crazee on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:43 am

Look from far might be nice..but it’s actually far from nice..as Mr Clarkson will always say..”Utterly Rubbish”.

But then again was hoping that this is only for the China market not throughout Asean..pretty please!

• mitsuColt on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:48 am

Body: Honda Civic (thank god!)
    Front Grill and Headlamp: Honda City
    Rearlamp: Honda Jazz
    Trunk: Honda Accord
    Is this cut and paste design/model?

• genuine honda fans, please look elsewhere now :D

Also, better save money for the EV technology cars coming very very soon to ASEAN, most probably M’sia will get them first on the road, considering our (relatively) cheap electricity rates

• m.colT on Mar 23, 2011 at 8:25 am

Headlamp and Front Grill: Honda City
    Rear Boot: Honda Accord
    Rear Lamp: Honda Jazz
    Body: Honda Civic (Thank God!)
    wat is this? Cut and paste Model? Come on Honda…u can design better!

• Azroy on Mar 23, 2011 at 8:40 am

butt ugly :p

• freeze_sr on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:00 am

Honda appears to have taken the same route as it did with the 7th gen Civic.

• that is china version. malaysia version might different, so brag about what here? they design for some particular market. might well accepted at china wut. you all expecting honda to come up with a single design?

u all started to point finger to honda designers and even someone written that they might get infected by radiation? show some respect pls..

i admit the design is not look that good, but afterall its for china market, might well accepted by china consumers.

• farghmee on Mar 23, 2011 at 10:33 am

agree.
      this 1 is for china market (as per article above)

if this same car will be on sale here, i believe the current fd2 looks matured than this younger brother.

• honestly o, that hyundai new avante is way much better than the crap honda…so whats so good bout honda nowadays? even the new accord still lacks features.
      gone are the era of the EG6.

CRV is also priced sky high even though CKD in malacca?
      How come ASX same price but CBU from japan?

Think….

• But are you dare to buy a Hyundai make or not?
        don’t talk empty but end up go to buy japs car also(not dare to lose in resale)

• OMG..tell me this is isn’t true!!! hahaha Honda, are u out of ur mind??

• hexagon on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:51 am

hahahha macam lampu persona je kat belakang… even lampu persona lagi cantik kut..hahaha

• Dear Honda fans,

Honda has let you down. Admit it and move on.

Its high time for you guys to open up to other C-segment offerings.

For example, the upcoming Ford Focus is really not bad you know..

Regards,

A Ford Fan

• lvl_lvl on Mar 23, 2011 at 10:16 am

You guys talked about Avante and i found this website.

I took sometime to read a message from the website “The compact car other compact car makers don’t want you to see”

so lan si and confident about their H latest products.

Now so confusing about the character “H” because will think about hyundai first.

If Civic dare to power of dream about this car in Malaysia exactly the same design wish them all the best.

HAS A LOOK!!!
    http://www.hyundaiusa.com/elantra/

• Unforgiven on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:04 am

And it’s only $247 per month to own this car, for 60 months. Based on the payment calculator at the website.

• Unforgiven on Mar 23, 2011 at 10:32 am

If the car is with good quality, good engine, good safety features, good gas mileage, do you think it’ll sell?

Not forgetting we are in M’sia where there’s no fair fight and with limited choices.
    Most of us is still comparing with Proton.

Unless we are able to get a VW with the same price as Honda? Similar in the US?

• nicksuneo on Mar 23, 2011 at 10:42 am

The current civic is nicer. The 2012 model is totally frustrated! Come on la Honda!

• If you really want to buy Civic, better go for current one. 2012 Civic really sucks!

• bluetravler on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:34 am

the rear looks horrible

• neutral on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:46 am

Damn funny seeing these pics expecially the rear one LOL~

And Honda also keen with Tiru & Tampal (copy and paste) nowadays XD

• 4x4lovers! on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:52 am

so eeeuuww the rear design..with accord rear lamp elements..looks like the old gen of city with big protruding bumper..and accord lamp design..what is this!

• idho5307 on Mar 23, 2011 at 12:08 pm

Come on…you can do better than this Honda!

• It lacks the steady and generous look of the 8th gen civic and adds on a more feminine curves as well as the big rear. IMHO. Not appealing to me. Hope Asian model is more handsome looking.

• driver87 on Mar 23, 2011 at 12:22 pm

fugly… said all about the car…

• 1underground on Mar 23, 2011 at 12:22 pm

wow…new honda city !

• pentium 4 on Mar 23, 2011 at 5:06 pm

It is CIVIC laaa…

• 1underground on Mar 24, 2011 at 1:13 am

I know…laaa just being sarcastic, anyway it is much better if it is the new City ! This Civic dont quite cut it…wait for the new Elantra much better !

• i hope this car doesn’t swarm the streets and cause pain to my eyes…

• Hey guys, perhaps you should go to youtube and look for 2012 Honda Civic Sedan. There are 2 designs which I think is not really that bad. But I must admit this one from China sucks. Hopefully Honda Malaysia is not selling the one from China.

• Accord on Mar 23, 2011 at 1:15 pm

This is the ugliest super edition car for the rear end that human had ever design..
    Looks like tapir

• civic_conscious on Mar 23, 2011 at 1:55 pm

bloody hell…buruknya rear design

• Kereta sorong on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:18 pm

Could it be that honda is releasing fake photos of the new civic and then suddenly during launching of the new civic, the REAL deal appears??!!! Hahahahahaha that would be the most audacious marketing move ever!

• civiclution jujujujujuuuuuu on Mar 23, 2011 at 8:05 pm

ohhhhhh myyyyyyy godddddDDDDddDDD!!!! wh wh whattt is that? queen latifah buttttttt? erk erk erk… *faint*

• civiclution jujujujujuuuuuu on Mar 23, 2011 at 8:08 pm

ahh this sheet again *faint*

• kitman on Mar 24, 2011 at 9:55 am

proton:mr h u steal my plan
    honda:mr p what plan that i steal
    proton:last time i use gen2 mody to persona,now u use city mody to civic
    honda:haha my h logo are diff,u mody ppl say u car like shit,i mody ppl say my car like sport car

• supertram on Mar 24, 2011 at 1:31 pm

from the backside pic i notice a really over exposure on both of side of the car especially the rearlight area. this also contributing to the fuglyness of the rear. check em out! it turn the side rear arch completely white n blend with the background.

• edmund on Mar 24, 2011 at 5:00 pm

is this honda city facelift???

• rexxx on Mar 24, 2011 at 6:15 pm

the current Civic is the best looking ever ! gonna miss it. This one is so ugly & it looks like City.

• mamai on Mar 24, 2011 at 7:06 pm

what is this….sure this car will fail in the market

• ashraff on Mar 25, 2011 at 12:00 am

i love the current one..8 generation..more sporty n sharper look..

• Yucks .. . this car is bloody ugly .
    The rear looks like 5th generation Toyota Camry with huge TUMMY !!

• Marco on Mar 25, 2011 at 9:13 pm

Another ugly look. As bad as City.

• Wht and why you guys bother about? If you guys don’t like the design, go and buy Korean crap car or local crap made P1, and I believe 99% people from here don’t even own a jap make or whatever they think is fabulous… Shame on those people making fun bout radiotion affecting the Japanese, showing how rude and uncivilised people here… Shame on you guys…

• carwise on Mar 27, 2011 at 3:51 am

DISAPPOINTED:( i’m Honda Civic 8th gen fan but not with this new Civic.

• Prefer Forte Coup rather than this new civic….now…its time to grab Kia

• back view of the car like old Honda City, front view like new Honda City

• Honda car owner on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:16 am

hmm … ok lo the look, nice also but doesnt have the visual impact the current model gave when it was first launched. I think it kinda look like an elongated Honda City but more refined design. I think Honda is applying the 1 look for all models to its cars. Sort of like wat VW is doing. No bad thing if u ask me.

• FAHMI on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:50 pm

Honda -Dream on with ugly looking car

• FAHMI on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:54 pm

UGLY UGLY UGLY UGLY UGLY