Toyota to launch diesel powered Etios in India next month

Toyota’s decision to make a small saloon for India, and its first hatchback for the country, seems to be paying off. Sales of the Etios is currently above expectations – in the seven months since it was launched, the Etios has found 37,000 new homes, 7,000 above Toyota’s estimates. The Etios Liva hatchback received 1,400 bookings in just four days after its June 27 launch.

The Etios was launched with a 2NR-FE 1.5-litre engine (90 PS/132 Nm), while the Liva is powered by a 1.2L with 80 PS and 104 Nm of torque. While they should be entirely adequate for the compact duo, Toyota will be wheeling out a diesel powered Etios sedan, and the estimated date of arrival is in September, a festive season in India where sales peak.

According to Autocar India, the oil burner in question is a 1,364 cc turbodiesel that also powers India’s Corolla. However, the version in the cheaper Etios will not get the bigger car’s Variable Nozzle Turbo (VNT), and will make do with fixed geometry boost.

The mag speculates a max power figure of 75 hp, 12 horses less than in the Corolla. But we all know that diesels are all about low rpm torque and the D-4D in the six-speed manual Altis makes 205 Nm at 1,800 to 2,800 rpm.

Sounds good, and fuel consumption in the 900-plus kg Etios should be brilliant. While it looks rather bland, the Etios has the same 2,550 mm wheelbase as the Vios (meaning it’s quite roomy) and a huge 595-litre boot.

Do you think something like this will work in Malaysia?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Omg! the aircond vent is so weird…. i think Saga FLX Better!

• scgtimk1 on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:08 pm

I prefer Suzuki over this POS Toyta

• Malingsia on Aug 11, 2011 at 3:18 pm

I prefer Suzuki Kizashi over boxy Toyota Camry sold here.

• Just me on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:12 pm

Super ugly dashboard! especially the air con vent …

• deftones on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:22 pm

agree..why toyota likes so much to design meter console on center..driver is the one to look at the meter..not the passenger..

• PakAbu on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:40 pm

It must be in the middle! Even if the air-con vents have to be moved aside! :mrgreen:

• possible that it could be a vios replacement?

• MoFaz on Aug 10, 2011 at 9:43 pm

this ‘hideous’ as vios? instead od dugong it will be ‘bongong’… please don’t bring it to malaysia. and Proton, please send your Saga there as soon as possible.

• don^don on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:19 pm

lulz at the aircond vent at the dashboard, the front passenger’s right arm sure would be very cold XD

• Hadi75 on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:27 pm

Car looks…. BOOORRIINNNGGGG….

• work? its already in our proton cars lah :-D

• David on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:06 pm

we wont get any good as this…

• I’m biased to Toyota BUT in this case (dashboard design) Toyota really insult the Indians. They can design better dashboard than this since this is the fresh (new) design unless they reuse all over parts from previous Vios-Vitz etc.

Cheap doesn’t mean ugly.

• pacifictuna on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:26 pm

love to see diesel powered small car here in malaysia but not in this guise….

• wolfsburg on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:24 pm

When the mandatory dual airbags law is implemented, Vios J should be phased out and Etios will be a good alternative for UMW to have a model to slot below the Vios… Price it between 65-75k and it will be a hit bcoz it is a Toyota(Think Avanza…)… A lot of Malaysian only want big space and a big badge and Etios have both… And the car is less than 1000kg so it shud have great fuel economy for those who don’t care much about safety…

• this will flood malaysian streets in record time, P1 and P2 won’t allow it to happen.
    both sedan and hatch is nicely “priced”.

• vincent on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:42 pm

900+ kilos of steel? You got to be kidding me… I think Toyota don’t value safety at all. They just want to sell their poor safety junk to 3rd world country. Unfortunately, Malaysia is one of them. We are being pushed with low safety feature japanese car. Go and check with those in kereta potong business, they will tell you between Korean car and Japanese car, which one is safer?

• LULIAN JEE on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:47 pm

Even the Vios is so much lighter than the City, although both cars are the same size, where do you think Toyota has been cutting corners?

• E FULL on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:53 pm

whatever..as long as it name as TOYOTA…if u want a good looking and performance just spare a lot of money to get u at least a MARK X

• jalan54 on Aug 10, 2011 at 7:04 pm

plastic interior…

• zaff1984 on Aug 10, 2011 at 7:50 pm

the double up and down air cond vent looks ugly… eewww…

• Tenku Troll on Aug 10, 2011 at 8:33 pm

more crappy toyota’s? fuck off man

• jtiongwl78 on Aug 10, 2011 at 8:39 pm

I think, it shall be launch in Malaysia, at least create a challenge to Local National Car Producer, Stupid and Mouse.

I believe that, Taxi operator ( those who own the car ) will love it.

• I would LOVE a turbo diesel Toyota sedan… :D

• i really believe that this will be the next generation vios.

• Jimmy on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:31 pm

Toyota is so confident, everywhere in the world. I wish them all the best …….

• Mulyadir Fitri on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:38 pm

I couldn’t care less about how it looks. I would buy it solely because of the turbodiesel burner inside. Fuel sippers~

• and torque laden…love diesel’s grunt…..D4D is waayy better than any VVTi in my book

• squawk on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:20 pm

If you get a big sized guy as the front passenger, the rear passengers will be dying of heat stroke. :-)

• transformer on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:23 pm

styling wise, this Etios looks a generation older than our current vios(Belta)…
    the new vios interior should has 2012 Yaris dashboard which relocates speedo to driver side rather than current cheaply(except mini) middle…. just hate that thong-styled center dashoard of current Vios(Belta)…

• effectz on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:50 pm

so that the production for left-driver country and right-driver country are the same, no need to reproduce left or right side..

cost saving ma.. cheap car furthermore..

• Gimme Toyota diesel in Camry guise or Estima or Alphard or Altis but not this crap.

• OMG.. how can anyone ever think this to be the future gen Vios? For one, this car looks rather hideous..even the first gen Vios looks more futuristic than the Etios.. Secondly, the engines; note that the power figures are not on par with modern engines of today.. How often do you find a 1.5 litre engine that produces only 90hp? Even the 1.3Litre Saga has about 90hp already..and don’t let me get started on the torque figures..rubbish..

• I hope it is, and gives a waking call to all Toyota diehard fans…

• Simon Sez on Aug 11, 2011 at 2:50 am

This car will not work in Malaysia. Its like another VIOS. It could work if its a hatchback since Toyota Malaysia has no hatchbacks in their range.

• designer:boss , where to put the centre air cond vents?
    boss : put it on the left side, vertically
    designer: what? it’d be so fugly
    boss: just put it there, no one would care as long as this is a toyota…

5 years later…

tadaaaa new etios (recycled 5 years design car)

• You know what… The T sold cars like kuih at pasar ramadhan. If seller just put there stones with some dressings, people still would buy it.
      Of course not all Ts are bad, but it seems that people took all!

• blackcipan on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:35 am

595 litres of boot space? That’s more than what Honda City could musters! Enough to swallow whole loads of family raya shopping!

Anyway, if Toyota introducing this car is not politically-correct, maybe P2 can beg to rebadge this car. Then apply come cosmetic enhancement like current Myvi (100x better than Japs Passo/Boon) maybe there is a chance to look good.

I wonder why Japs are so laggard in introducing their diesel engine here. If the next CRV grow bigger, I don’t think current 2.0L is enough anymore. So is 2.0L Accord.
    For now diesel fans have to “settled” with BMW only. I saw one new,nice,gorgeous F10 520d on highway on the other day, and I’m happily following really close to admire the beauty, until the driver floor the pedal to speed away, releasing a very visible diesel smoke!

• kamaji on Aug 11, 2011 at 3:27 pm

WTF, outdated waja dashboard also look better.