Indian market Toyota Etios Liva takes on the Maruti Swift

Toyota has launched its first ever hatchback in India, the Etios Liva. A five-door hatchback version of the earlier Etios compact sedan, the Liva is being branded as a “Q-Class hatch” with the “Q” supposedly standing for “legendary Toyota quality”. Priced from Rs 3.99 lakh, the Liva will have to lure Indian buyers away from the popular Maruti Swift and the Nissan Micra, among other hatchbacks.

There will be four trim levels for the Liva, but all share the same 3NR-FE, four-cylinder 1.2L petrol engine. This DOHC unit makes 80 PS and 104 Nm of torque. It’s not much, but the peak figures are developed at relatively low rpms – 5,600 rpm for power and 3,100 rpm for torque, which is a suitable for a car like this. It’s exclusively paired to a five-speed manual gearbox – no auto option is available.

The suspension is par for the class – front McPherson struts and a rear torsion beam – while the brakes are ventilated discs up front with rear drums. Lower spec versions ride on 14-inch wheels while the costlier ones come with 185/60 R15 rubber.

The Etios Liva is 3,775mm long and 1,695mm wide, which makes its footprint slightly larger (15mm longer, 5mm wider) than the Suzuki Swift. The Toyota’s 2,460mm wheelbase is also longer than the Swift, and by a substantial 70mm, so it wins the space war. Boot volume is 251 litres.

Toyota will be selling four trim variants – J, G, V and VX. The equipment list isn’t very long on the baseline J, which gets air con, body coloured bumpers, digital trip meter, wheelcaps, a cooled glovebox and an engine immobiliser. The G spec adds on electric power steering with tilt, power windows, central locking, intermittent wipers and a 12v power outlet.

One step up is the V, which has niceties such as a tachometer, 2-DIN CD/MP3/USB player, driver seatbelt warning, fabric door cards, rear wiper and washer, rear window defogger, fog lamps and 12-spoke alloys. The Rs 5.99 lakh VX gets the two-tone cabin you see here, leather-wrapped steering wheel with audio controls, chrome door handles, and chrome shift knob. Dual airbags, ABS and EBD are optional on the G but standard on the V and VX.

An inexpensive Toyota hatchback like the Liva is bound to sell well here, but don’t count on it coming for obvious reasons.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• civicEK on Jun 28, 2011 at 5:16 pm

i bet this will be the new face of toyota vios.. fugly..

• lonelyobserve on Jun 28, 2011 at 5:19 pm

If gearbox is only manual, then it’s hard for UMW to sell as most ppl in Boleh Land prefer auto gearbox for the sake of traffic jam.

• klguy on Jun 28, 2011 at 5:27 pm

bring it here. sell it for RM99k, sure will sell like hot cake. toyota ma

• ong chin aun on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:26 am

ha, don`t be too harsh and pessimistic, How can sell at 99k. be more logic. I bet definately not sell like hot cake. Think. be write

• haha nice one bro….hilarious

• ZenZarray on Jun 28, 2011 at 5:43 pm

At 1st glimpse….front view looked like Viva Elite..2nd also the rim..just saying my opinion…dun angry with it…XD

• Savvy88 on Jun 28, 2011 at 6:00 pm

Haha… Toyota will not sell it here.. bcoz they already have Myveeee…

• kamaji on Jun 29, 2011 at 1:15 pm

you got that right bro, bring it here Myvie will die cos the selling price should be lower than the dugong & should sell below 60k…so it ‘ll like father killing the son.Meanwhile, someone was saying that if the price is cheap he would like to hv one….in bolehland no car is cheap especially the ‘selalu’ overpriced T&H.

• Ash Menon on Jun 28, 2011 at 6:34 pm

‘ the Liva is being branded as a “Q-Class hatch” with the “Q” for “legendary Toyota quality”’

Best joke I’ve heard today. Legendary Toyota quality? Did they forget that they’re now legendary for all the wrong reasons? Toyota, I wouldn’t play up the quality card so loudly if I were you. Perhaps you should change the slogan to “Legendary Toyo– look it’s a bird!”

• the only thing legendary about toyota is the massive price tag they charge for a low spec package.

• vansgoh on Jun 28, 2011 at 6:38 pm

i thought it was a suzuki alto…

• Teh-O on Jun 28, 2011 at 6:40 pm

Protectionism ]:

• In India i rather buy the Polo!

• rao2100 on Jun 28, 2011 at 7:11 pm

3.99~4lakhs = 4,00,000 rupees
    4,00,000/14 = ~ RM29k

WOW!

• Mr. E on Jun 28, 2011 at 8:04 pm

Honda Brio is waaaaaaaaaayyy better looking than this! =)

• Mr. E on Jun 28, 2011 at 8:05 pm

Honda Brio is waaaaaaaayyy better lookin than this!

• nothing to shout about, just another ugly crap by japs toyota

• In the sea of very competitively priced cars, this Toyolta is much inferior offering from great name, Toyota. I love T brand BUT not this type of vehicle, Polo, Swift, i20 and other brand look like truer car than this Japindian creation.

• timlin on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:26 pm

Toyota, I like it.

• India market better take Fiesta

• noname on Jun 29, 2011 at 12:45 am

definitely this junk will not enter malaysian market.. protect myvi & viva..

• kokopai on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:18 am

since it runs on petrol, I don’t think it will sell well in India

• Anti turbo on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:47 am

If it is reasonably priced and available in Malaysia….i will consider one..why not???

• ong chin aun on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:29 am

Yes, this is the basic transport car majority wants ! I will buy one if the price is reasonable. GOOD CAR

• Leonardo on Jun 29, 2011 at 8:46 am

Danny, do you know if this model is just for Indian market or meant to be exported to other RHD countries? Will there be a LHD version?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 29, 2011 at 11:47 pm

At present, India is the sole market for the Etios, but we won’t be surprised if Toyota builds the Etios, or a variation of it, in Thailand for ASEAN

• this car is gorgeous lah!
    compared to Mywi!

• timlin on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:05 am

so cute.

• Anita Sharma on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:59 am

What we need is the Diesel version,it will be a bigger hit ! Fuel prices are set to rise further and petrol is out of reach for the common man,let there be any govt.in India.

• Sanjay on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:01 am

I wish it was a diesel one.
    We need is a diesel version,it will be a big hit

• ong chin aun on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:35 am

Well done Toyota !! Cheer, This is the basic good car . Small but complete . 1.2L and Manual, sure provides fuel save efficiency . Bravo . TOYOTA

• Unforgiven on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:23 pm

Wow, bigger than Swift and the price is so cheap.

I think we better do something fast so that we may get those nice cars that priced lower than Proton Saga/Myvi.

• kamaji on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:13 pm

Hahaha….no car cheaper than potong/putu mayong2 will enter our shore……I’m sorry your dream start to early bro.

• tokey insuran on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:51 pm

Etios ~ Eios ~> Vios… Liva~~viva…. haha good combination

• HotSoup on Jun 30, 2011 at 1:18 pm

Myvi sucks compared to this.

• baski on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:55 pm

Proton will lose money coming into this competitive market.
    Who would want to own a Proton when they have more
    reputable brands with better & more efficient engines
    and features. In short motorist are spoilt for choice
    and nobody gives a hood about Proton.

• tintusms on Jul 10, 2011 at 3:13 pm

What we need is the Diesel version,it will be a bigger hit ! Fuel prices are set to rise further and petrol is out of reach for the common man,let there be any govt.in India.