VIDEO: Petronas Raya Merdeka 2011 TVC

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• awesome petronas adv! selamat hari raya paultan.org

• hyrax on Aug 27, 2011 at 4:35 pm

Use hands only for good things

• statistician on Aug 27, 2011 at 5:12 pm

Nobody can replace Yasmin Ahmad

• Kambing Gurun on Aug 28, 2011 at 2:39 pm

True enough. This is such a nice ads, but somehow IMHO it lacks the connection with the audience. The feeling that Yasmin Ahmad transmitted to us through her Raya ads is just inimitable.

• tokmoh on Aug 29, 2011 at 8:16 am

Same here, my first reaction was like “Sorry, what?”

Yasmin Ahmad would give a story. There is no story here. Hardly anything to reflect either.

Every little factor in Yasmin’s ads would thug our hearts, it’s simply because it’s very easy to relate our own lives with the scenario presented. It’s no surprise even manliest of men would shed tears watching her ads. This, only the piano piece is melancholic.

RIP Yasmin Ahmad. Menjelang hari raya aidilfitri ini, saya memohon maaf kami tidak jumpa lagi pengganti mu yang layak menyambung legasi anda (ala DiGi maaf ads).

• Beautiful… I miss Yasmin ads… :'(

• Rosmah on Aug 27, 2011 at 9:44 pm

Aiyo with 21.7b profit, and all they can come up are these cliched ads raya after raya.

• Rosmah,

You have better creative idea(s), care share it? See how other comments yr ideas

• albag on Aug 28, 2011 at 8:25 am

pretty sophisticated ad… will be nice if it lasts bit longer…

• Ash Menon on Aug 28, 2011 at 4:27 pm

I will agree that they’re not like the ones that Yasmin used to make, but I think this year Petronas has really stepped up on its game, and has delivered something as good as Yasmin’s. I prefer the BM version though. The UK (I think?) accent on the English version doesn’t fit, and the copy isn’t as powerful.

Selamat Hari Raya to all Paultan readers! Drive safe yea, saw 3 accidents last night :(

• FrozenHeart on Aug 29, 2011 at 11:19 pm

No matter you like this ad or not i still wanna say:
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY my dear Malaysia!
    and
    Selamat Hari Raya to all the muslim frens~~

God bless our country~~

• I watch tis touching video feeling both proud n angry.
    Proud of the Hands of the rough n hard working everyday Malaysian tt help build the economy. Malaysian Malays Chinese Indians and all the other fellow malaysians. Angry at the hands tt don a 74 million rinngit ring n hundreds n Thousands ringgit Berkin bags. And that are the obvious hands tt rob.
    . Our forefathers did not gain independence so tt some elite could rape the country blind ! Remember the hard work of the citizens tis merdeka n next election.
    Remember !
    Merdeka ! merdeka! Merdeka !
    Selamat hari ray a to all fellow malaysians

• I watch tis touching video feeling both proud n angry.
    Proud of the Hands of the rough n hard working everyday Malaysian tt help build the economy. Malaysian Malays Chinese Indians and all the other fellow malaysians. Angry at the hands tt don a 74 million rinngit ring n hundreds n Thousands ringgit Berkin bags. And that are the obvious hands tt rob.
    . Our forefathers did not gain independence so tt some elite could rape the country blind ! Remember the hard work of the citizens tis merdeka n next election.
    Remember !
    Merdeka ! merdeka! Merdeka !
    Selamat hari ray a to all fellow malaysians and happy holidays !