New MINI Coupe – production car details revealed!

And here’s the 5th member of the MINI family – the production version of the new MINI Coupe. It’s the brand’s first model to adopt a three box body style – the rest have all been different kinds of hatchbacks.

The two-seater measures 3,734 mm (MINI Cooper Coupé: 3,728 mm) in length, 1,683 mm in width and 1,384 mm (MINI Cooper Coupé: 1,378 mm) in height. Its exterior length, width and wheelbase (2,467 mm) match the typical measurements of a MINI, but the MINI Coupé has a significantly lower body height.

A few engine options are available – from a 122 horsepower 160Nm Cooper Coupe to a 184 horsepower 240Nm Cooper S Coupe, up to a 211 horsepower 260Nm MINI JCW Coupe. If you want an oil burner, the Cooper SD Coupe makes 143 horsepower and 305Nm. All models use an Electric Power Steering.

Two different transmissions are available – 6-speed auto or manual. The Cooper S Coupe and Cooper SD Coupe come with a new self-adjusting clutch. Automatic readjustment of the clutch ensures that the pedal feel remains consistent through the life of the clutch.

From the photos and press material, it looks like MINI has taken everything you know about MINIs and put it into a new 2 seater body. Look after the jump for a full gallery and a few videos on the new MINI Coupe.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• rosdi on Aug 30, 2011 at 2:36 am

This is the first MINI design I dont like.

• greatsage on Aug 30, 2011 at 5:44 am

i’m not impressed with the design especially the rear.

• lonelyobserve on Aug 30, 2011 at 7:12 am

Even Britons have the same impression.

However, MINI seems focusing more on manual transmission. The self adjusting clutch makes drivers’ left foot comfortable on disengaging and engaging the gearbox.

More, what is the fuel consumption rate for manual and auto in all available engines?

• Alan Lee on Aug 30, 2011 at 9:09 am

This is the first MINI i like. Nice!

• nabill on Aug 30, 2011 at 9:12 am

how many variants does the MINI have ????

• The race car version of it looked hot, but the stock car is… meh…

• coldplay on Aug 30, 2011 at 10:10 am

too many variant running around. mini suffering from over done.

• Jerry on Aug 30, 2011 at 10:13 am

Oh well, it’s the MINI with a baseball cap backwards. LoL!

• buskerhatesTnH on Aug 30, 2011 at 10:40 am

small horse power but big torque…. my cup of tea……!

• Fish tank on Aug 30, 2011 at 2:21 pm

Seriously I getting bored looking at Mini Coopers are everywhere no improvement on new design. I would rather take Kia rio more beauty in the eyes of holder.

• vw_fan on Aug 30, 2011 at 5:18 pm

The car reminds me of a daihatsu copen.

Whether you like it or not, I’m sure its a nice toy to have. There’s no outright comparison.

Can’t call a Kia Rio a toy can you?

• Citroën ds3 on Aug 31, 2011 at 9:37 am

so we will be paying more for less door? and I dont mean just in Malaysia. I refer to UK as well, according to Top Gear.. oh well.. lets just stick with the Cooper S? maybe this is just BMW stunt/marketing ploy?

• front end on Aug 31, 2011 at 7:14 pm

it’s interesting how the front-end upper bar connects directly to the fr strut housing. On BMW, there are 2 braces which connect the strut housing to the front end. I wonder what this type of path load does to the longit or transverse load propagation… :-?

• Khoikoi on Sep 02, 2011 at 5:05 pm

I like this MINI. Wonder what is the price like..