An Australian team has been crowned as the 2011 F1 In Schools World Champions. Pentagliders, from Brooks High School, Tasmania, took home the Bernie Ecclestone World Champions trophy in the finals, which was held in KL on Sept 19-21.

The Pentagliders team, comprising 18-year-olds Tristan Mcarthy, Amy Winter and Nathan Clark and Jack Ball, 17, beat 22 teams from around the world to take the title as well as bag coveted Automotive and Motorsport Engineering degree scholarships at City University London.

The Australians also won the Fastest Car Award, recording a time of 1.084 seconds, as well as the Best Engineered Car Award on route to becoming champions.

Runner-up to the victorious Australian team was German national champions BETAGREEN, from Grootmoor Gymnasium, Hamburg. The all-boys team also won the Best Research and Development Award, with judges noting the quality of the R&D programme it used for the development of the whole car, especially the front wing.

Last year’s title holders, the American team UNITUS Racing from South East High School, Florida as well as James Madison Middle School, Virginia, took third place on the podium.

The host nation, Malaysia, featured in two awards, with Velospeed SIC, from Sekolah Menengah Sains Hulu Selangor, taking the Team Portfolio Award and Axis, a collaboration team from Dubai College, UAE and Aminudin Baki Secondary School collecting the Team Identity Award.

Canada took the knock-out racing glory in the finals of the highly competitive head-to-head racing secion, with the Golden Geckos from Crocus Plains Regional Secondary School, Brandon lifting the Knock-out Racing Award.

Cyber Express F1 Team from Gymnázium J.K.Tyla, Czech Republic, was presented with the Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, which it won for the fair play it showed when distractions put off its opposition in the knock-out competition and the Czech team allowed a re-run. As for Dynamic, from St. John Payne Catholic School, UK, it set a new record with back-to-back Verbal Presentation Awards, adding this year’s title to the one it won last year.

Elsewhere, Welsh team Fflam took the Best Sponsorship and Marketing Award, with Best Newcomer Award being presented to Dresser Racing from Kongsberg High School, Norway and the Collaboration Team trophy went to Trident Racing, a joint initiative from Sebastopol College, Australia and Raffles Girls’ School, Singapore. Ireland, meanwhile, collected two trophies, with Octane Racing from Dundalk Grammar School collecting the Best Team Website Award and the Best Pit Display Award.

The Innovative Thinking Award was presented to Team RedShift from Dubai College, UAE, with the judges commending the team on their superb rear wing design which showed the depth of thought put into developing the team’s car design.