Proton scores double race wins in the MSS

Some winning news about Proton. Over the weekend, Syafiq Ali and Faidzil Alang powered to double race wins in the Malaysian touring car championship at the Sepang International Circuit.

Occupying the top two positions on the grid, the Proton R3 racing team dominated to lead the 10 lap race from start to finish. Pole-sitter Syafiq set a blistering pace in his Gen2 to take the honours, with team mate Faidzil making it a one-two finish in the Satria Neo R3. Finishing third in race 1 and 2 was Siah Wy Pyng, in another Satria Neo R3.

Syafiq and Alang also had a day to remember as they both dominated qualifying and finals in the MTC, ensuring a 1-2 front row as they both posted 24:34:990 and 24:39:300 respectively for the final rounds.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• mnazri.tan on Oct 03, 2011 at 11:41 am

yea…my beloved Gen2 …yea

• race_fan on Oct 03, 2011 at 11:53 am

any Hokkaido APRC news? Proton scores well also there :)

• BadBET on Oct 03, 2011 at 11:55 am

good result and congratulate

• jolly_idiot on Oct 03, 2011 at 11:58 am

I’m curious what is under it’s hood. maCampro CPS 1.6? or maybe other engine?

• samsam on Oct 03, 2011 at 1:05 pm

i like this gen2 more than the neo, your are not the slowest nor fastest, pls put more speed! im your supporter!! keep it up !!

• bobdbilder on Oct 04, 2011 at 1:05 am

Neo is so much better bro. Faidzil won the previous round lah. Next time ok?

• Expatriate VN on Oct 03, 2011 at 2:23 pm

There is no mentioned of others makes in this MSS race, so fairly to say it is all in all jaguh kampong makes in this syiok sendiri race? If this is the case, then they are jaguh calculate from front, 1, 2, 3, …….. also jaguh calculate from back, 1, 2, 3, ………

• MoFaz on Oct 03, 2011 at 3:25 pm

VN immigrant,
      refrain yourself from commenting if you do not have anything positive left in your brain.

• Your IQ level are not mentioned in your comment, so i’m assuming you’re a massive idiot

• mnazri.tan on Oct 03, 2011 at 4:43 pm

not many 1.6 car available nowadays, this series was once dominated by Honda, (unless i am wrong) with Civic but nowadays Civic dont qualify as they have move to bigger engine. Technically, City, Vios, Forte, and even myvi can participate but i am guessing Motorsport did not associate well with that car. …

Cant say Proton the best there is, they suck in many way. But cant say i hate them either. AT the very least how many nation in this world able to produce their very own car. And personally, i rather buy the cheapest and lousiest proton than the Tata Nano…..hehehe…

• bobdbilder on Oct 04, 2011 at 1:19 am

Hello. You guys just slam VN without any evidence. Go lah see http://www.malaysiangp.com.my/story/mss-overview-mss-2011 and download the same regulations as Sepang 1000K.

Two classes a) 1600-1800 and b) Up to 1600cc. Cars must be Produced in Asia since 2006.

Aparah!

• Expatriate VN on Oct 04, 2011 at 10:44 am

Ha, ha,……. regulation for syiok sendiri, car up to 1800 cc? and must made in Asia? Better stipulate Made in Malaysia or CKD only! No wonder other makes not interested to joint, and left this Jaguh Kampong race among their own but different model only!

• MoFaz on Oct 04, 2011 at 1:33 pm

u didn’t know Japan is in Asia? so many team can bring Japanese car like Vios or City in class b (up to 1600cc). or they can bring altis or civic in 1600-1800cc. Even Mitsu Lancer can join… why not?

• shirts on Oct 03, 2011 at 8:59 pm

Expat with horrible english….. Go to night classes to learn how to write properly, rather than irritating others…. Love u long time! Haha

• Another victory for Proton!

Now not even a Japanese or Korean car can over throw us.

Next : FIA Touring Car

• shirts on Oct 03, 2011 at 8:55 pm

Myvi, vios, city, swift, forte can challenge this…
    But must make race car first

• Expatriate VN on Oct 04, 2011 at 10:39 am

They are mass produce makes as low entry level car for buyer. They are not make for race, unless someone mode it.

• Dear VN, why don’t you join the race too? Probably you may bring in other car brand.
    Instead of just talking nonsense, i challenge you to join in. So that the MSS – MTC has more participants and positive competition.

• research on Oct 03, 2011 at 10:40 pm

this vn sucko sucks ‘sllab’ hahahha

• MoFaz on Oct 03, 2011 at 10:42 pm

and carve this into your memory: satria neo already beat subaru wrx and mitsu in many stages in aprc, driven by our jaguh bolehland mr karamjit singh. what happened to your japanese gods?

• taboogen on Oct 04, 2011 at 12:14 pm

dont worry… VN oso conceive and made in malaysia…. how ugly he is.. no choice he is still malaysian… too bad…

• i M STILL WAITING TO SEE PROTON ABLE TO DEVELOP A COMPLETE RANGE OF VEHICLES.FOR PEOPLE IN THIS COUNTRY..wHAT WE DONT HAVE ARE.i KNOW IT IS A BIG CHALLENGE FOR PROTON BUT THIS SHOULD BE DONE IF PROTON WANT TO BE CALLED AUTOMOTIVE COMPANY.

1)PICK UP
    2)SUV
    3)sEDAN EXECUTIVE
    5) MPV EXECUTIVE