Marco Simoncelli accident: Official Statement from Datuk Mokhzani Mahathir, Chairman of SIC

The Sepang International Circuit sent out this press release today.

On behalf of Sepang International Circuit (SIC), I wish to extend our deepest sympathies and condolences to Marco Simoncelli’s family members, teammates, fellow riders and the whole MotoGP family. We share the pain and shock of the tragic and heartbreaking loss of Marco Simoncelli on 23 October 2011.

Marco will be remembered as a talented rider and a flamboyant character who never failed to put a smile on the faces of the racing fraternity and his fans with his cheerful demeanour. Above all, he was a great man and a competitor who was destined for even greater things both on and off the track. MotoGP and the racing world is now a lesser place without him.

SIC would like to state that the decision to cancel the race was taken after considering the severity of the accident. The decision was agreed upon by SIC and Dorna Sports SL, the commercial rights holder of MotoGP. SIC made public announcements on the cancellation of the race and Marco’s death as soon as we were authorised to do so, with priority being given to officially inform Marco’s family members first. I hope that fans can understand the situation prevalent at the time.

SIC would like to reiterate that all preparations and precautionary steps were taken to ensure we staged a safe race in accordance with FIM, AAM and Dorna safety requirements. However, the inherently dangerous nature of motorsports does not allow a race organiser or track owner to give a guarantee that nothing untoward will happen during a race.

The Sepang International Circuit is acknowledged as having been designed to be a safe circuit and managed by a team of experienced personnel, on and off track, to handle race events professionally. We work to the highest safety standards and we will continue to ensure these standards are met at every race held at our circuit. At the race on Sunday, circuit personnel acted speedily and professionally to attend to Marco as soon as the accident happened. Despite all that was done, the medical team could not change the outcome of the situation given the severity of his injuries. In the aftermath of this sad tragedy, we will work with FIM and Dorna to see if there is anything else we can do to improve rider safety in races.

We at SIC are honoured to have had Marco gracing our tracks with his dazzling skills and panache all these years. To Marco, may you rest in peace. You will be missed. Addio Super Sic.

Datuk Mokhzani Mahathir

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• So arrogant!
    I want an appology satemement in 3rd para, that you left audiance at the track bewilldering too long, and that your pa system is a shame.

So freak out meh?!
    Why 5th para so long? Who accuse you of any substandard in safety? All noises was about the pa system lar!

• thirtyone on Oct 25, 2011 at 6:30 pm

Joey, which part of the 3rd paragraph do you NOT understand? If you want to comment, please comment constructively and not try to push the blame on anyone. A tragedy has occurred that day, one on the track and the other by the audience at Grand Stand.

There was a major accident on track. The race was red flagged. The race was cancelled. If you cannot add 1 + 1 + 1, you don’t deserve to be at that track! Period. Sorry for being so direct. For God sake, someone has died on a Malaysian track and people like you are so SELFISH to think of your own circumstances.

• some people need to think with brain on Oct 25, 2011 at 6:38 pm

dude. u r an ASSHOLE. no one, i repeat no race in the world would cancel a race for fun. n this is MOTOGP. u think malaysians running the show ka? its all by FIA. by orang putih? u know ka? n if race cancel for sure something bad happened. something very bad.

show some respect to the family la. people like u disgrace to the country,
      he was certified dead after one hour. u think they wanna annoucned to the whole world before to the family?

• jay8393 on Oct 25, 2011 at 7:21 pm

Dude, I think you never read the newspaper. SIC officials have said that they must announce Marco’s passing to his family first before they can make the announcement public.

• fake_ethnic on Oct 25, 2011 at 7:42 pm

screen name like from a certain ethnic group.

write like from a certain ethnic group.

but surely not from that ethnic group – too many giveaways.

• wilson on Oct 25, 2011 at 9:21 pm

What a jerk!Hope u will DIE @ the track 1day

• catdog on Oct 25, 2011 at 10:51 pm

Pentingkan diri, mcm bebudak tak cukup pelajaran moral je…
      Salam takziah buat keluarga Marco

• Malaysia's Biggest Rasuah Minister on Oct 26, 2011 at 8:07 am

im pretty sure you want your family to be happy when you die!

• Joey making baseless statement that I dont see any wrong at all. You just make a pure bashing like a retard person. Sorry for my words but you deserved it.

• KarimSopian on Oct 25, 2011 at 7:36 pm

A great motogp rider passed away but yet you still whine about the PA system and the time that you have to wait at that time? Don’t you see the seriousness of the situation joey?

Who’s arrogant now?

Marco Simoncelli, may you rest in peace.

• slum in bolehland on Oct 25, 2011 at 7:39 pm

In memory of marco simoncelli how about we name the sepang international circuit to marco simoncelli circuit…sound good idea for the idol.

• yuhuu on Oct 25, 2011 at 9:29 pm

slum in bolehland says:
      25/10/2011 at 7:39 pm
      In memory of marco simoncelli how about we name the sepang international circuit to marco simoncelli circuit…sound good idea for the idol.

I think, it is better put his name at turn 11,which is the place where the accident happen.
      Just my opinion.

• blister on Oct 25, 2011 at 7:44 pm

I was ashamed to see a photo in one of the overseas online news portal of fans at Sepang circuit showing such disrespect by throwing rubbish on the track after the race was cancelled. Those type of immature actions should have never taken place(although the pa system or whatever never informed the fans). Once a race is cancelled, it must be due to major safety issues or sadly in this case a loss of a life. I understand SIC’s decision to give priority to the family of the rider regarding the outcome. I hope all those who acted so childish by throwing rubbish on the track will one day grow up and not be so immature and disrespectful. I myself as a Malaysian is ashamed to see such photos posted online for the whole world to see.

• seriusSAM on Oct 25, 2011 at 8:05 pm

some malaysian still so self centered; ignorant and selfish arse

maybe next time if thing like this happens again; SIC should just make announcement to satisfy these bunch of ignorant Malaysian maybe something like this > “hey people; we got a rider dead lying on track so you guys just go home to your mummy because we’ve cancel the race. please come back next year”

• dawja5215 on Oct 25, 2011 at 8:58 pm

When I first knew about the incident, I quickly search for it in the internet just to be ashamed of what my fellow Malaysians did.Throw rubbish on the track as a sign of protest?Come on la…It’s the lowest mentality ever in the racing world.Then I recalled the 2009 Malaysian GP F1 race that has also been cancelled but due to heavy rainfall.Back then,although it’s partly SIC fault adopting late-afternoon start but no one throw act like this.

My condolences to Marco Simoncelli’s family. May you rest in peace Super Sic.You’ll be greatly missed even if it’s just for your cheerful appearance.

• tiadaid on Oct 26, 2011 at 1:16 am

Well, the F1 race starting early in 2009 was actually FIA & Bernie Ecclestone’s fault rather than the SIC, since they’re the ones who forced the track to run the race later.

Anyway, I think you should see the composition of the spectators at the races. Maybe the majority of the spectators are rempits, which is why such unruly behaviour occurs.

• tiadad,

Your second paragraph is a spot-on analysis!

• dawja5215 on Oct 26, 2011 at 11:32 am

Even those rempits are Malaysians and we as a whole took the shame.I’d rather not say it before but now since you’ve said it,looks like we have common thoughts.

• MotoGPfan on Oct 25, 2011 at 9:00 pm

Ironically, the circuit been associated long ago with Marco. His nick is Super SIC and coincidently SIC also his last circuit. Rip Super SIC.

• motogp on Oct 26, 2011 at 1:48 am

dear lord, please give us back marco simoncelli, we will exchange him with tons of mat rempits. amen.

• Motofan on Oct 26, 2011 at 12:04 pm

I do not agree that they professionally attend to Marco. If any of you see the picture showing how they take Marco off the track then you may agree with me. I don’t see any neck support was used, it looks like Marco nearly fallen off the strecther and it looks like the strecther was dragged on the grass (with nobody lifting the back of the strecther). The handling by medical personnel was more shameful than the act by some fans who don’t know what really happened. see here.. http://www.jakartapress.com/channel/index/1/jaknews

• seriusSAM on Oct 26, 2011 at 2:28 pm

accident do happens on or off the track

those marshall trying to do their best to brings super sic to the ambulance
      and one f them do slip and that’s what happens.. it is accident not anyone fault
      even simoncelli father who was near there didn’t put the blame on those marshalls.

But I do agree that SIC should look into the way on how to improve the rescue effort,
      the fastest and safest route for emergency vehicle to reach the rider and more training is needed on first aid for all the marshall that are working on the race weekend

• squawk on Oct 26, 2011 at 2:51 pm

Wow… didn’t see this scene in the local news. I hope this didn’t contribute to his demise.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Oct 28, 2011 at 10:28 am

Motorsport is dangerous. The marshalls are volunteers. Their risks are actually higher than the racers themselves. The racers get all the perks, monies, gals, highlights whereas the marshalls just got a nasi bungkus n RM70 from 6am till 6pm.

Everybody knows the risks. Just dont blame each other, work for the betterment of the sports.

• Ahmad ariff on Oct 26, 2011 at 6:12 pm

Why nobody further investigate the tv footage of the race it looks like he’s already blackout or was having some sort of medical condition, while he’s taking that fatal corner !!. Unlike an experienced motogp rider, he was still holding on to the bike , with no effort to release the bike and looking like mottionless and his body was flat on the track, underneath the the tilting bike, veering to the right across the track before being hit by oncoming rider, as if he’s had a heart attack!. Pls do thorough investigation before putting all the blame at SIC.

• SeriousSam on Oct 26, 2011 at 11:53 pm

If that is the your assumption; to me it is more likely he suffers heat stroke during the race that cause him to pass out and lose control of his bike

• Marco RIP on Oct 28, 2011 at 12:48 am

I hv been riding super bikes for a long time, it’s so sad to see Marco boy going away so soon, no one should die for doing what he likes.

As for the stupid spectators who throw bottles into the track, soon one day you guys will be punished severely by the one up there for being a disgrace to our country and fellowman. You have no respect to Marco simmoncelli!

• SIC should improve the quality of their PA system in the near future. RIP Marco.