Bufori debuts in China – first showroom to be in Shanghai

Bufori Motor Car has launched the brand in China at the Top Marques Shanghai luxury show, where Bufori MD Gerry Khouri and Chinese superstar Liu Xiaoqing jointly unveiled a La Joya in front of the media and VIPs.

The company also announced the appointment of Bufori China as the exclusive distributor of the marque’s vehicles in the country. The company, which was formed in June this year, is a partnership with Jiaochen Group, which operates numerous automotive dealerships in the Ningbo region.

The first batch of three Buforis – two La Joyas and a MkII – were air-freighted to Shanghai in co-operation with MASkargo two weeks ago, and will be exhibited at the brand’s flagship showroom in Xintiandi, a prestigious district in the centre of pulsating Shanghai, when that opens in December.

Bufori China plans to set up additional dealerships in Beijing, Chengdu and Shenzhen by 2012, and the brand – which expects China to become its biggest market very soon – will also showcase its handmade luxury vehicles at the Beijing International Motor Show in April next year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• mangata on Oct 27, 2011 at 11:08 pm

is bufori a malaysian car?who owns it?how come no1 knows abt it

• nabill on Oct 27, 2011 at 11:17 pm

if u dont know about it it doesnt mean everyone else dont know…plus…in this day and age…thers a cool invention named GOOGLE…..

• mangata on Oct 28, 2011 at 3:04 am

ass wat i meant was ask 10 people in te street and most likely 2 of them will know it
        my question was y it is not famous.how come many of them buying german cars while v make good cars

• mangata,

you means that no one knows including Anthony Lim?

• MoFaz on Oct 28, 2011 at 10:06 am

well, if you ask makcik sweeping on the street, of coz la she don’t know. ask the right question to the right people. I’ve known about Bufori since 1990s. the reason not many people know about it might be because not many people could afford it, and even if you could, you need to wait probably 6 months for your car to finish. they only build after your order is secured.

• rally_fan on Oct 28, 2011 at 6:05 pm

its a small niche car maker.. it doesn’t make sense for them to tell the world when they can only build a tiny amount of cars in a year. besides that..this is no bmw or mercedes competitor.. its the car for people who already own way too many cars, and have a lot of money left over still..

• steam_man on Oct 28, 2011 at 10:53 pm

it looks stunning, seen one before in penang.

so cool!!!!!

• SeriousSam on Oct 27, 2011 at 11:26 pm

this is what we call tangan yang buat kerja bukan mulut; tak macam Lotus PLC.. mulut yang buat kerja.. padah rugi memanjang

LOL

:D

• just because u don’t know, u generalized that no one knows abt it.

• Concern on Oct 27, 2011 at 11:53 pm

BUFORI is a manufacturer of exclusive handcrafted luxury vehicles located in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The operations started over 20 years ago in Sydney, Australia, until the headquarters and production were transfered to Malaysia in 1994. BUFORI is specialised in building cars in the classic design of the 1930’s, incorporating state-of-the-art technology. Each unit leaving our factory is a unique masterpiece, customisation options only being limited by the size of imagination

• Nissan on Oct 28, 2011 at 9:42 am

If these words are not from your hands, please indicate the source. Don’t steal from others.

• HirumaKecil on Oct 28, 2011 at 1:43 am

Lol… Aku tau dari aku sekolah dulu lagi.. camna hang buleh xtau pulak ni…. Haih.. X tengok perbarisan kemerdekaan kot.. Ada ja keta ni masa perbarisan dari dulu lagi…

• China Doll 2 on Oct 28, 2011 at 3:53 pm

Bufori is an Australian car company who has their cars built in Malaysia and names them in Spanish. Confused? S

• this is why..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tFswbdPccmQ

• Bend just a little lower then she would compliment those bulgy headlights nicely :)

• HirumaKecil on Oct 28, 2011 at 1:45 am

Letak Hella kaler kuning best gak ni… Kena pulak letak cover Hella yg mengancam tu.. Pergh….

• drMpower on Oct 28, 2011 at 1:15 am

i think that lady in green dress was excited
    very excited
    that she revealed her cleavage

• Zzz.. on Oct 28, 2011 at 3:42 am

does she even care..??

• Fiction hero on Oct 28, 2011 at 7:19 am

So you so excited lurking at her cleavage? Anyhow this car look classic that it so rare I wonder about engine performance..

• DewaSemut on Oct 28, 2011 at 9:37 am

Well the range topping Bufori Geneva limo is powered by HEMI V8 6.1 litre engine…

I am pretty sure that La Joya ain’t short of power also with its 2.7 litre V6 engine… dunno.. never seen one sprinting on Malaysian highways before

• kerelbort on Oct 28, 2011 at 11:49 am

its a HEMI engine…. :D

• drMpower on Oct 28, 2011 at 7:14 pm

come on
        u have got to be kidding me

• Medusa on Oct 28, 2011 at 9:47 am

That is why the mat salleh is smiling and laughing…free ‘bola kona’ show!

• elite on Oct 28, 2011 at 6:52 am

this company can actually make a profit unlike proton

• MoFaz on Oct 28, 2011 at 10:19 am

you’re not so elite afterall.. why compare mass production cars to a build-to-order car?

• Beemer on Oct 28, 2011 at 10:38 am

being one of those persons who have the priviledge to evaluate this company few years ago, i would say bufori has the potential to be big but they have limited capacity and funding..the car is custommade according to owner’s specs..interior and exterior of the car are done by hand…their staff are highly skilled and even sought after by ferrari!i did test drive mkII and i would say, im impressed with the car! it just, this car not for ordinary joe la…

• kerelbort on Oct 28, 2011 at 11:52 am

agree with your statement sir.

If you never heard of the company, does not mean that it sucks or non-profitable.

if you were to list all the car company, you might not even know half of it.. :D

• perhiasan dunia yg sementara

• Jaybond on Oct 28, 2011 at 4:16 pm

That’s a good move by Bufori to launch the brand in China , although the classic & lavish styling of the cars could find it difficult to attract the younger customers. Matured customers should have no problems I think. While certainly Bufori still can make profit with their current cars, I think Bufori should try to produce something with a more sporty edge but maintained that classic exterior styling – in the same mould as Caterham, Westfield, Wiesmann, & AC …

• diablo on Oct 28, 2011 at 5:12 pm

They have the flagship Geneva which with the 6.1L V8 is quite a muscular limo and also the CS for the younger sportier crowd. Personally I hope nothing in the vein of Caterham, Westfield etc because they’re dated designs with no refinements/luxuries. Bufori’s I’ve noticed are about modern luxury combined with classic yet original styling

• Keluangman on Oct 28, 2011 at 9:24 pm

This story got me excited for all the wrong reason…(MILF in green)

:D

• Julian Lee on Oct 28, 2011 at 11:02 pm

the headlamp, tail-light, chasis and many parts take from old beetle. even engine is same place. i sense con-man!

buy bmw and u won’t disappointing

• Felix on Oct 31, 2011 at 6:56 pm

Bugatti, Bentley, Lambo, Gumpert, Audi all use items off the VW shelf…
      Aston Martin uses Ford components..
      Proton & Perodua use… oh well..
      All con-men!

I would suggest you have a look at the Bufori factory.

• Superman on Nov 01, 2011 at 9:10 am

Do you have any proof of what you say?

• Superman on Nov 01, 2011 at 12:10 pm

you call our national cars con-men??? you want us to believe that bufori gets all its parts exclusive or made for it? so you have no parts from VW? no Subaru? no Hyundai or others? I remember few years ago bufori was launched in china in same top marques show. what happened to that? tell us the truth la….

• Felix on Nov 02, 2011 at 1:39 am

Dear Superman,

When I say “all con-men”, it is a sarcastic comment referring to the previous poster. If he says that bufori are “con men” based on the fact that some of their components are borrowed, then I can only reply that most manufacturers are “con men”.

Nowadays a lot of cars are made on the same platforms, most powerplants are shared, etc., in that sense all the car manufacturers are a little bit “con men”.

I am therefore not suggesting that Bufori gets all its parts made exclusively for them, that is exactly the point. It is common practice that suppliers offer the same components to many manufacturer.
          What is crucial is that the components work well together and that the car is tested and homologated to an international standard.

And you are asking for proof of things that are commonly known…
          Bugatti Veyron W16 engine is composed of two VW Phaeton W8 engines.
          Lambo uses Audi engines.
          Gumpert uses Audi engine and interior trim parts from Audi.
          Spyker also uses the Audi engine.
          Koenigsegg uses a block from Ford, as well as Aston Martin.
          Did you know that certain Alfa Romeo models are powered by GM engines?
          Speaking of GM, their gearboxes are also used in some BMW models. And some Lotus cars use Toyota engines, mated to a gearbox designed for diesel engines.

The point that I want to make is that there is nothing bad in all of the above. This is just how the industry works. Anything else is an illusion, which you may also call “marketing”. Ask an Aston Martin sales consultant what engine is under the hood, he would never answer “Ford”.
          And small series manufacturer are also part of that industry and share components. But despite their size they are also able to innovate.

Having said all of the above, despite using available components, bufori develops its own platforms, composite bodywork, interior trim, etc.. Unlike Ferrari, Bentley, Rolls-Royce, Maserati etc.., there are no robots at bufori.

No idea what happened to the last top marques show, small manufacturers face a lot of hardships and are not always lucky with finding the right partners.

What leaves me puzzled is your aggressive tone, requesting the “truth” like bufori owes you some sort of personal explanation. Why don’t you just wish them the best of luck? Doesn’t harm, does it?

• Superman on Nov 02, 2011 at 11:42 am

felix, are you working for bufori? i think so..they have a Mat saleh gut called felix haler. i am not car expert but i know enough…

• Superman on Nov 02, 2011 at 11:55 am

any way felix, i wish you good luck only because bufori is also malaysian brand. hope you do well.

• Felix on Nov 02, 2011 at 4:09 pm

Yes and thank you.