Hyundai Genesis Coupe facelifted – 3.8 V6, 350 hp, 400 Nm

UPDATE: More images added, including rear shot

Hyundai has given it’s Genesis Coupe a facelift at the Korea Speed Festival 2011 in Yeongam, Korea. These official pics show the refreshed sports flagship in action on Korea’s Formula 1 track, and we can see that it now wears the company’s new face, plus new headlamps as well as the must have LEDs.

Under the hood of the Genesis Coupe is Hyundai’s latest Lambda 3.8-litre GDi engine, capable of 350 hp and 400 Nm of torque. This means that the direct injection V6 is 43 hp and 40 Nm up on the current V6, and the horse count also trumps six-pot rivals from America (Dodge Challenger, Ford Mustang, Chevy Camaro) as well as the 3.7-litre V6 in the Infiniti G Coupe.

Hyundai says that “in order to raise the emotional quality in the Lambda 3.8 GDi model, a sound generator is applied to replace the rough engine sound with a classy and sporty sound.”

The base engine has also been upgraded. Out goes the current car’s 2.0 turbo four that makes 210 hp and 302 Nm, and in comes the Sonata Turbo’s twin-scroll turbo engine with a larger radiator intercooler. The new 2.0L lump churns out 275 hp and 375 Nm, guaranteeing brisk performance.

There’s more good news for the markets that will get this left hand drive car. Both the V6 and inline-4 will be paired to Hyundai’s eight-speed automatic transmission. Previously, the base car made do with a 5-speed auto while the V6 had six speeds. Of course, both can be had with a good old six-speed manual ‘box as well. Yummy!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments mostly express strong opinions on the Hyundai Genesis Coupe facelift, with some viewers appreciating the aggressive design and new features, while others compare it unfavorably to the GTR or criticize the resemblance in the grille. Several comments mention the car’s similarity to other models, suggesting it copies design elements like the GTR’s front, or calling it a "nose job." There’s also discussion about Korean car design improving and surpassing Japanese brands. Off-topic comments about unrelated cars, brands, and personal insults do not relate to the main topic. Overall, the sentiment is mixed, with some positive remarks about the new look and others critical of its aesthetic and originality.

• ntah.. on Nov 14, 2011 at 8:03 pm

I prefer the old look.. this facelift looks too fussy to me :(

• What are you? Blind?

• ntah.. on Nov 15, 2011 at 8:33 am

ya.. it’s not that the car is ugly.. and I actually a huge fan of the genesis coupe.. but the new look kinda disappoint me.. maybe I will get used to it..

• the front looks very very similar to GTR, copy cat again

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 14, 2011 at 8:25 pm

i actually agree with him i don’t think the new facelift is bad. but i too prefer the old facelift. still, new facelift sorta looks like the ft-86

• Yawn~does this thing can beat the GTR?

• hazeman lukman on Nov 14, 2011 at 10:16 pm

well it costs 4 times less than the GTR. it would be mad to compare this car to the GTR. maybe you can compare it to a 370z or the ford mustang?

• WTF is a sound generator? I would call dat an epic fail!

• LFA has somthing of a sound generator designed by yamaha… and that thing sounds sexy!!!!!!!!!!

• Then you can tell BMW that it has “epic fail” too.

Quote “BMW says that will be fixed on certain models, including on an updated Z4 sDrive28i, with the addition of an electronic sound generator.”

Read more: http://www.autoweek.com/article/20110218/CARNEWS/110219868

• LE buruk on Nov 14, 2011 at 8:11 pm

Korean is getting more aggressive in design now days..

• kwing on Nov 15, 2011 at 10:05 am

yep, i guess they figure it will take sometime for them to catch up technology wise, might as well grab market that high on design..

• yes they are aggressive in design…but dont forget they hired a bunch of AUDI Designer few years back… Proton should follow the same step… but if u want mat salleh… u need to pay mat salleh salary… not Malaysian under pay salary!!

• Masked Ryder on Nov 14, 2011 at 8:13 pm

Compare this to GTR ??

The word lambda remind me the once porpular Mitsubishi Galant Lambda, any relation ?

• twerw on Nov 14, 2011 at 8:35 pm

The word Honda salesman pops out of my mind, any relationship with that?

gtfostfu.jpg

• BeemerFreak on Nov 14, 2011 at 10:40 pm

Nissan has to lower its GTR price. At 72000 pound, with a higher yen, it is no longer that affordable. Bring back the 55000 pound car with the same tech, then that is something.

• droll on Nov 15, 2011 at 12:58 pm

not just that, but maintenance of GTR too. it is affordable to buy compared to super cars that it outruns but the maintenance is like those super cars. tyres alone can cost upwards of RM10k (and that’s the cheaper options) and most owners change these every 6 months! :(

• littlefire on Nov 15, 2011 at 8:40 am

Still remember that Hyundai, Mitsu & Chrysler join for the GEMA engine?!? They all share almost the same technology..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_Engine_Manufacturing_Alliance
      http://www.gemaengine.com/

So ur Hyundai engine now can also share spare part with mitsu & also P.Inspira also.. :)

• smokey on Nov 14, 2011 at 8:14 pm

at first glance i tot was a skyline R35…

• gunigugu on Nov 14, 2011 at 8:17 pm

no rear shots? I have to say, the front looks good

• waterman on Nov 14, 2011 at 8:20 pm

the rear was bad before facelift…
      actually before facelift it looks sucks.. hahaha..
      now much better~

• Rihanna, Talk That Talk! on Nov 14, 2011 at 8:25 pm

OMG this shit is crayyyyyy. I wish my dad was jutawan.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Nov 14, 2011 at 8:43 pm

You should have wished that your dad was a politician.

• hahaha… well say…
        but is true, our politician is even richer than “jutawan”!!! even their cows live in RM9.8 million condominium!!! =P

• Now everywhere is jutawan..You should think for Billionaire..

• still prefer the GTR

• no shit except its x4 more the price!!!!!!! yo!

• you cheapo go buy a cheapo knock off gtr at a quarter of the price, no wonder ppl look down on korean car owner

• Casey Hyun have easiest design work in the world, just copy, cut & paste.
    i10, Verna, Elantra, i45, now even Genesis.
    Remind me of those Sunday Newspaper spot the difference picture game.
    Then again why supprise ? Samsung Galaxy Y, Galaxy R, Galaxy W, Galaxy S Plus, Galaxy S2, Galaxy Mini, Galaxy Nexus… This edition that edition.. Understand what i mean ?

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 14, 2011 at 8:59 pm

i really do not like korean cars but i find your statement offensive. hyundai’s imo have some of the best designed cars around. in some circumstances better than the germans especially volkswagen. and about the phone. well they all (samsung) look different, unlike iphone 4s which is basically the exact thing.

• carlito on Nov 14, 2011 at 9:05 pm

its called corporate identity. btw i find your hatred for koreans rather unhealthy. were you raped by a korean dude?

• BeemerFreak on Nov 14, 2011 at 10:38 pm

in that case his name will be Gigolo, not jolo. LOLS

• not by only “a” korean dude, i think he kena gangbang by a group of koreans. His logic has been retarded because of that event. hahaha

• TurboMan on Nov 15, 2011 at 2:58 am

hahaha

u really made my day!!!!

• Your head only can think or rape? korean wanker.

• 85precinct on Nov 15, 2011 at 12:00 am

I don’t know what kind of personal deficiencies cause you to reason that way, but for your information, Iphone 2G, 3G, 3Gs, 4 and 4S blatantly copied LG prada phone, so if anything, Samsung copied LG. As for Hyundai, you are not knowledgeble enough to make such accusations. For e.g., civc, accord and corolla all stole their design from Audi and vice versa.

• Someone was butt hurt with samsung gadjet…..btw, galaxy note just hit the market!

• TurboMan on Nov 15, 2011 at 3:30 am

I think the best way to deal with such attention seeker is to ignore him completely.

He obviously gets an orgasm of some sort every time some1 thumbs him down.

Otherwise, how could any1 explains why he keeps writing imbecile comments on every post related to korean cars despite being given that much of thumb downs.

Lets see what would happen if no one were to thumb him up or down or to reply to any of his statement. Ignore him completely.

• all car brands have cars that look the same BMW, MB, toyota, …etc……………

• i phone1, 2, 3, 4, 4S lol

• xavier lert on Nov 14, 2011 at 8:57 pm

twin turbo plz!

• Dulu Lain Sekarang Lain on Nov 14, 2011 at 9:29 pm

wow! i would love to hv one.

• Gavin on Nov 14, 2011 at 9:35 pm

i’m throwing money at my screen but nothing is happening

• Positive citizen. on Nov 14, 2011 at 9:36 pm

when proton will be able to really “produce” this kind of car?… hope syed zainal can see some room for coupe mode.. with affordable price..

• Unforgiven on Nov 15, 2011 at 9:05 am

Do you want to drive the best in Malaysia? Try to give the balls back to P1/P2/Naza and have a fair fight. You will immediately driving cars with minimum 5 stars crash test.

You will be driving brand new Wish/Estima. Recon cars will definitely be must cheaper too (-AP). The AP holder will not feel bad because the heart will be clean.

Proton will definitely improve too, just remove the protectionlism then we see

• Even if proton can make. Malaysians will complain ‘cannot afford’. That’s why they dont even bother to make.

• policeman on Nov 14, 2011 at 9:46 pm

First picture…I thought was Inspira.

He who thumbs down this comment shall be declaring himself as having a small genitalia.

• looking-good on Nov 14, 2011 at 10:58 pm

and u r not far from a thumb axx

• Belancan Midin on Nov 15, 2011 at 12:52 am

Sorry pulis, ur myth is busted.

• your the small one : p and that was male biased

• limaunipis on Nov 15, 2011 at 10:59 am

what a precondition for thumbsdown!

on that basis, we hereby declare to the world that you, Policeman, who made the initial comment; have a tiny genitalia! <—– thumbsup on this comment, people! :)

• drMpower on Nov 14, 2011 at 10:01 pm

This is a nose job. Thats about it. Forget gtr. Even with rohlr driving, stuttgart made didnt have a chance
    and this seoul made really at par with a porsche?
    No chance

• somehow the front face reminds me of mighty cobra

• mirror mirror on Nov 14, 2011 at 10:27 pm

The roadtax is close to RM6k for this one.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 14, 2011 at 10:42 pm

Many company makes LHD only cars like Bugatti and this. Why not some one try a RHD only car, like Maybe proton…..for the americans to buy a RHD car, why should we always follow their wish, whims and fancies.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 15, 2011 at 8:47 am

Because of economics.

Most countries are on LHD. You want to produce cars with the widest market. Its not so simple just to do the plastic bits, a car has to be designed from the get go to be used with both LHD and RHD. Everything from crash characteristics to costs needed to be calculated properly.

I’ve spent many years driving LHD cars but to be honest, I prefer RHD, since I’m right handed and find it better to have my stronger arm at the wheel with the weaker arm on the shifter.

• JeremyNg on Nov 14, 2011 at 11:02 pm

the first pic look abit alike GTR v-spec …. I not said Hyundai copy GTR , tat jz my 1st impression when saw de pic

• Still a piece of twisted metal and depreciation disaster.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 15, 2011 at 2:38 am

350 horses with three legs.

• well toyota ft and subaru brz is kinda screwed… lol 274>200

• Hyundai, Power of dreams :p

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 15, 2011 at 8:33 am

Once again Hyundai has taken the best design elements from other marques and somehow managed to get it working coherently in a unique hyundai design language.

At least they got it working much better than the current generation Mitsubishi Eclipse.

I once tested the previous 2.0L turbo. Very good car….can imagine this would be much more fun.

• Maserati on Nov 15, 2011 at 10:13 am

Still a korean piece of crap.. Gtr pls!

• ong chin aun on Nov 15, 2011 at 10:19 am

The cars are for the privilege few and rich especially who love driving. However, not so many as in Malaysia market,cos our high way speed limit is 110km/h. Speed Trap is rm300.

• Mr Hukaka on Nov 15, 2011 at 11:18 am

now Korean car getting better then those Japanese car..
    and i believe it will be a market leader soon.

• poorM on Nov 15, 2011 at 1:25 pm

Poor Kfag…don’t allow ppl to express their thoughts on the car and just thumb ppl down and shoot others….such educated poor fag….poor yet telling the whole world ‘I bought the Kia/Hyundai not because I can’t afford other cars but I’ve got good taste’……get a life…..you guys all buy car using bank loan only…..=.=’…..
    Any car has their pros n’ cons….but to you guy any car from Hyundai/Kia is the best no bad stuff….haih….pity you guys…..

• eggman01 on Nov 15, 2011 at 2:02 pm

Looks great..Too bad its not available in Malaysia…LOL!

• NeoBest! on Nov 15, 2011 at 3:03 pm

Ini kereta kimchi boleh menang kereta saya proton Neo turbo tak ? Proton Neo sekarang champion rally ! kalau mampu pun beli Megane Renault Sport 250 Cup kereta kimchi 2 tahun koyak…

• Thumbs me up ! on Nov 16, 2011 at 8:40 am

Neo CPS drivers always think they frigging own the road.. Why? Tnpat no entry msok, one way jadi 2 way, lampu merah jalan, bkan sorng dua, tp every single time nmpak neo CPS, mesti minyak tekan, bwk laju2…n Kalu beramai2 Dlm group, all other cars n drivers really have to look their backs…I always asks myself why,…WHY? It kinda gives me and others bad images to neos..plus, the most accidents happen on highways are NEOS.. Usually terbabas.. A Peugeot 206 has won many rally’s doesn’t mean the naza bestari is the car to get….?

• Kimchi is better than ur cheap and ugly Neo,btw i’m not a fan of Kimchi but Neo is terrible end of story

• NeoBest! on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:58 pm

Proton Neo adalah kereta yang best sekali dari Proton … kau ini look down on Neo because you think Proton makes lousy car in fact Proton gives us kereta yang bagus and changgil ! Rally champion macam mana dapat kalau kereta buruk ? Tolong fikir baik baik…la Kereta kimchi ada menang apa apa tak ?

• Thumbs me up ! on Nov 16, 2011 at 8:33 am

At first glance thought it was proton with the grill and the way the winged logo is designed lol..

Nice, but they should do differently with the hexagon grill for a low riding coupe, it would fit a blocked or right angled cars like Tucson, i10 etc, but not on a streamlined coupe.

• chitchat on Nov 16, 2011 at 9:52 am

Dont make comment that made yourself look like fools, the S2000 just the chassis is Neo. Dude so dream on that your Neo Turbo as APRC champion.

On those who say this car is a copy of GTR front, that is actually Hyundai new company identity same as their Avante.

• Thumbs me up ! on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:16 am

Stop neo-ing, I do not drive a neo CPS and if u wanna say that I cannot afford one, I can so tht why I don’t drive one.. But neo design, okey Lah, like gen 2. But why u need to feel like u own the freeking road huh? Ur neo mindset all the same. U dpt kete power nak menayang power with ur super dark tinted windows n neo owners club numbers… Ugh I hate neos, though I’m not from any sides… I wish cars are all custom made with self made logo n brand.. No bashing, but seriously, neoBAD

• GengProton on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:54 am

Grill copycat with proton.. :)

• Thumbs me up ! on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:06 pm

So many neo drivers. Lolz..kesian.