Luca di Montezemolo to run for Italian presidency in 2013

Some news about Luca di Montezemolo – reports say that the Ferrari chairman has indicated his intention to be a candidate for the Italian presidency in 2013, the announcement being made in an open-letter to Italiafutura, a think-tank that he formed in 2009.

“The Second Republic has failed. Politics has been losing touch with the everyday problems of Italians and the challenges of a difficult international situation, but is also full of opportunities,” di Montezemolo said in the letter.

“If there is a country that should not be afraid of globalisation, it is Italy. If only we stop thinking defensively and start to invest resources on our core (culture and industry), benefits will not be long in coming,” he added.

The 64-year-old’s campaign is set to focus on creating employment as well as on issues critical to the country’s future, such as taxation and reform of the institutions. “We will promote the adoption of measures, concrete and operational, to respond to many emergencies in the country. We will begin by presenting a proposal for the rapid sale of public assets and lowering debt,” he said. It remains unknown if di Montezemolo will step down from his position at Ferrari.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• looking-good on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:49 pm

ooo…. my neighbour’s dog just had a pee…..

• tokmoh on Dec 22, 2011 at 4:10 pm

That’s like Tony Fernandes bidding to become Msian PM… meh, not gonna happen lol.

• Ferrari taxis anyone? :D

• Visitor on Dec 22, 2011 at 6:20 pm

Italy needs a leader that is sensitive to economic issues these days, more so when the current policy makers in the country struggle to keep the country from going bankrupt.

• The savior of Ferrari…. now bidding to lead his country as being rumored for quite some time. Hope not many ‘back fires’ like the car he produces.

• Kumar san on Dec 27, 2011 at 4:49 pm

Mr.Luca should be able to turn around Italy for the better if he takes office i reckon,he has been widely qouted as the most able leader to take Italy to it’s next level of economic success.

I had the pleasure of personally meeting the man 4 years ago during a business trip to Italy under the arrangement of my close buddy who has since settled down in Italy(my buddy owns several Ferrari dealerships over there).He is a forward thinking visionary i must say and i was very impressed by his composed and determined demanour.If you look at the success of Ferrari under his helm then it should be a no brainer.

Cheers.