Porsche picks Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 for 911

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 tyre has been picked by Porsche as the OE tyre for the its newly launched 911. Goodyear’s ultra high performance (UHP) segment contender will be used for the popular 19-inch wheel fitment on the Carrera 2. Sizes are 235/40 up front and fat 285/35 donuts at the back. As many would know, Porsche and Bibendum are close buddies, so this is quite a coup for Goodyear.

The iconic 911 has a unique rear engined, RWD configuration, and those rear Goodyears will have to put down 350 hp and 380 Nm of torque from Zuffenhausen’s 3.4-litre six-pot boxer engine. Even sports cars like the 911 cannot ignore fuel consumption and emissions figures, and the new Carrera 2 uses 1.6 litres less fuel per 100 km than its predecessor.

The Eagle F1 A2 comes with Goodyear’s FuelSaving Technology. This tech is driven by reduced tyre weight and a new ‘high surface’ silica grade that contributes to reduced heat generation, lowering rolling resistance as a result. The A2 also features the latest ActiveBraking Technology using innovative 3D block design within the tyre tread.

The Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 was officially launched in Asia three months ago in Hua Hin, Thailand. We were at the Kaengkrachan Circuit near the seaside town to sample the tyre. Click here to read the full story.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• PumaFreak on Jan 03, 2012 at 5:17 pm

my two Puma sneakers with Goodyear and Porsche design perfect for this car!

• I have clocked 3000k on my A2, tested it fully during the raining seasons from Nov to Dec 2011. So far I am very satisfied with the performance.

Congrats, Goodyear.

• Tippers on Jan 03, 2012 at 5:29 pm

Nice post @Danny. Porsche and Goodyear both together. sounds great. Goodyear’s fuel saving technology will be more productive for Porsche. Thanks for this post. Happy New Year.

• Porsche dire Fan on Jan 04, 2012 at 10:17 am

I have had so much hassle and problems trying to buy a used or recon Porsche 911 (997) lately that I have given up hope in buying a Porsche.

It is a sad fact that virtually every Porsche brought in by our recond/imported dealers have their odometer altered to such a low figure and they refuse to give the service booklet from the UK counterpart to show the service history of the car. Infact, according to Porsche Glenmarie, they have seen countless of recond or grey imported Porsches brought in and after plugging in their proprietory diagnostic machine, it shows a complete different mileage. They have had cars showing 5000 miles but when plugged into the machine it shows 40,000 miles.

I hope buyers reading this are not fooled by our imports/recond dealers. When you see a 2007 C2S or a C4S and it shows only 5000 miles, that is a big lie and fraud. It is impossible for a 5 year old car to only do 5000 miles. Common sense will dictate. Most of the time, the car is sent to the Car Saloon or AutoSpa and transformed into “brand new” condition.

Unfortunately 90% of the dealers selling recond Porsche are doing this. They are altering the odometer. The disadvantage would be this, a 5000 mile car would not have as much wear and tear compared with a Porsche that has done 40,000 miles. For you to replace the worn out parts of a 40,000 mile Porsche car can even work out to over RM100,000. Also, you most probably got en ex-rental car, for example by Avis or Herts. As you know, rental cars are trashed heavily and also have clocked very high mileages.

I hope our government do something about the cheating and lies that go on in the recond/imported or used car industry and make it easier for us consumers to buy genuine mileage cars.

• Buy new, or just simply ask at Porsche show house. There are some owners that do want to trade their old Porsche for new. There you can get your used Porsche (check the service manual, service center normally records this in computers and they are not so easy to be modified, etc etc).

• Paul Tan on Jan 04, 2012 at 3:45 pm

Pre-owned Porsches: http://www.porsche.com/pap/_malaysia_/approvedused/usedcarlocator/

• Abdul khalid on Jan 05, 2012 at 9:03 am

Paul Tan, are you joking? there is ONLY one car. What choice is this?. Only Porsche Approved in the world that has only one car available.

• Paul Tan on Jan 05, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Not sure how you used the search tool but I found a total of 13 cars.

• Abdul khalid on Jan 05, 2012 at 9:30 am

Double whammy. Malaysians get very high prices because of the AP system to enrich the Bumiputeras and at the same time Malaysians get cheated with tampered speedometer.

• armandd on Jan 03, 2012 at 8:59 pm

The Michelin man should be worried..

• michelin need to buck up….it no longer is worth paying premium over others when they deliver the same performance

• ignoramus on Jan 04, 2012 at 1:34 am

Not sure if the ‘Bibendum’ and Porsche were exclusive ‘close buddies’ but at one time Porsche had Pirelli, Michelin and Continental as OE suppliers simultaneously for the 911

• Pirate on Jan 04, 2012 at 8:09 am

Hi Danny,
    Is the new A2 N-spec rated? The last A1 were used on my last Boxster, they were simply great! But when I upgraded to a 997 I dared not shod A1s on the (much) rear heavy 911. Please clarify. Tq.

Regards

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 04, 2012 at 3:00 pm

I’m not sure if the A2 is N spec rated. Best to check with Porsche or Goodyear :)

• adiia3 on Jan 04, 2012 at 10:04 am

yea, i’m using ps3, i think next i wanna try F1 A2, but not sure if its any cheaper.

• blackbox on Jan 04, 2012 at 4:01 pm

F1 A2 should be more expensive than PS3, the price will be on par with PS2.

• confused on Jan 04, 2012 at 10:31 am

kinda related:

Goodyear NCT 5 vs Michelin XM2 vs Continental CC5

Which one is better? Many tanx.

• vincent on Jan 04, 2012 at 1:39 pm

NCT5 tak boleh pakai la, get either cc5 or XM2

• I’m using Continental CC5 and I’d say the tires are quite good. Quieter and saves fuel too. However, the handling and the grip are not so sharp as the tires tend to lose control when cruising in high speed, and at cornering.

Goodyear NCT 5 is quite famous right now. But don’t have any experience from it, neither Michelin XM2.

• NCT5 has horrible ride and noise, get any of the other two.