Speed limit for state and federal roads reduced for CNY

For safety purposes, the speed limit for state and federal roads will be reduced by 10 km/h for the upcoming Chinese New Year period. Transport Minister Datuk Seri Kong Cho Ha said the speed limit for federal roads will go down from 90 km/h to 80 km/h, while state roads will see a reduction from 80 km/h to 70 km/h. No change for the highway limit.

“Road Transport Department (RTD) will conduct a joint operation starting from Jan 16 until Jan 30 to reduce the number of accidents and deaths during that period. Commercial vehicles will be barred from federal and state roads on Jan 21 and 22 which is two days before the Chinese New Year and on Jan 28 and Jan 29,” he said in a statement yesterday.

Separately, Kong said the RTD would double their road safety campaigns, targeting motorcyclist and pillion riders, drivers, passengers and pedestrians. The campaign would be publicised through a cooperation between the Information Communication and Culture Ministry and media organisations.

Drive safe and beware of roadblocks, you’ve been warned!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• pedobear on Jan 13, 2012 at 10:42 am

why do they need a limit sign when the speed limit always change?

“80 km/h – except festival seasons* lol?

• No need to reduce thespeed limit la, and even if they decided to increase the speed limit pun tak guna..road hogging is part of Malaysian’s standard procedure while driving..damn these peoples!

• As usual the G is addressing the issue via the wrong way.

the roads need to be improved lah. No potholes, sufficient lighting, better drainage, lesser heavy vehicles, more efficient toll plazas, etc,…. this is what we want.

• should install light like that one in karak highway(gombak-genting sempah) like singapore f1 GP..

• … and you think that will change the attitude of Malaysian drivers? Points deduction is the best way to it, like in UK. When you have finished yours you are banned from driving, and need to re-sit a stringent driving test to get a new license. I am sure no one wants to go through that again.

• Thumb UP on Jan 13, 2012 at 5:05 pm

if they made that regulation, then u said G want to make extra money… need to re-test more money to jpj, cronies (driving school)..

• asahiyakuza on Jan 14, 2012 at 9:33 am

Agreed… my friend who study engineering in Germany said that the road quality in Malaysia is bad in wet weather condition… It is significantly smoother than the road in Germany(well.. some part of PLUS it is.. not all) but not good in terms of water drainage… Car easily skidded when raining time… In PLUS, i do notice this at area between the 3 lane highway between Senawang and Ayer Keroh… It is really slippery there during raining time.. always see an accident along the area during raining time… but then again.. maybe budget issue cause the road in Germany cost much more than here…

• Nissan on Jan 13, 2012 at 10:53 am

How many of you follow this regulation? Law enforcement is more important!

Many road that had been damaged in the raining season in Nov/Dec had yet to be repaired, how to drive safely for motorcyclist?

Of topic, If the Gov is so concern about safety, why are they planning to lift the ban on firecracker?

• vincent on Jan 13, 2012 at 1:30 pm

Firecracker ban was lifted to pleased the chinese so they will support the gvt

• kevin lee on Jan 13, 2012 at 10:55 am

people will just die from tiredness and sleepiness. just make all roads in malaysia double lane expressways, then we wouldnt die in trunk roads

• Already think... on Jan 13, 2012 at 10:58 am

Most important thing is drive savely..

• kadajawi on Jan 13, 2012 at 11:07 am

*sigh*

• Kao Lat on Jan 13, 2012 at 11:15 am

huh, 10km difference only, what for….

• Kao Lat on Jan 13, 2012 at 11:19 am

aiyo, reduce 10km for what…speechless

• eims @ gold on Jan 13, 2012 at 11:36 am

so, beware of speedtrap lah ya.. hehehehe

• Black Dog on Jan 13, 2012 at 11:54 am

Bigger net, Bigger pockets! That 10km translate to 20% increase of duit kopi. Beware, going downhill have to apply brakes!

• not all police like that. u think even we change G all this corrupt things dissapear ka?

• paparadzi on Jan 13, 2012 at 12:04 pm

For the “Speed KIll” people, you’re barking at the wrong tree.

It is not the speed that is dangerous, but how you handle it. And sometimes I wonder how speed limit is set; 90 km/h on MEX highway? Same as on some stretch of kampung road.

The only thing is it is much easier to nab a speeder as the value can be easily shown, rather than nabbing a reckless driver. Speed traps are more of revenue-generating exercise rather than safety-related.

And those slow road hoggers, are they safe drivers?

• I feel that gov implement kejara system. More than 12 demerit point, ban 6 month. Sure ‘peace’ on the road. No need 300 fine. Just RM50. Those who think police want to get duit kopi, its all bs. Those who dont want to pay 300 who give duit kopi. These adult need to educate themselves. Shame on you. Give bad example to children. No wonder schoolchildren behave badly

• thunder cats on Jan 13, 2012 at 10:41 pm

speed doesn’t kill but stupid drivers n road hoggers kill,,,sometimes if u drive too slow that also could cause accident for example doing 40 on a road speed limit is 90-110km/h

• asahiyakuza on Jan 14, 2012 at 9:41 am

Agreed bro.. been beside bus driver last time going through the PLUS highway.. those hoggers who always drive slow in the middle lane… make the drive significantly hard especially those who drive big transport like the bus cause you can’t go to the 3rd lane… should be some law for driving slowly on the highway…

• nonsense la…think out the box la G’s..

• mohadmadAlibaba on Jan 13, 2012 at 12:12 pm

why not just force every car to install an electronic speed limiter, like tat tekan minyak also can’t exceed 70km/hr baru effective!! lol

• kienchan on Jan 13, 2012 at 12:27 pm

the speed limit is complicated ..some 50kmh, some 30kmh some 60,70 80 90..
    no fixed speed limit ..why no one only? malaysia memang bodeh?

• kadajawi on Jan 13, 2012 at 9:46 pm

Yeah. If they at least put up road signs telling me how fast to go.

In Germany it’s easy. Highway unlimited unless a sign says something else (and no, compared to other European countries the roads are just as safe despite the lack of a speed limit), in towns 50 (7, 30 or 70 if there are signs saying so, and towns are indicated by a big yellow sign saying the name of the town, when you leave it the same sign appears with the name stroked out). Other roads 100 unless noted. Easy to understand.

• vincent on Jan 13, 2012 at 1:28 pm

Stupid and outdated. Today’s car are more powerful and petrol efficient. 70km/h is actually very dangerous because it makes other drivers easily fall asleep and caused traffic jam too! I think most of us need to apply brakes to maintain such speed.
    Unless they are just seting up an environment so that police can great u Gong Xi Fatt Cai, Ang Pow Gia lai..

• pak hensem on Jan 13, 2012 at 1:42 pm

gambar atas di segamat kan?

• T4VR-Ralph on Jan 13, 2012 at 2:25 pm

Oy, why blame speed causing accident?

“Speed has never killed anyone. Suddenly becoming stationary, that’s what gets you.”
    ? Jeremy so called Clarkson.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 13, 2012 at 3:19 pm

duit kopi reason aje

• DewaSemut on Jan 13, 2012 at 3:57 pm

This G think all people drive Kancil ah?
    Not need to say Merc and Bimmer lah, even Proton Waja also drive too slow easily can get drowsy woo!!!

Bad driving attitude kills, not speed!

• I thought 90 km/h already slow. And now 80 km/h … it just will cause jam on the road., jam rest area, jam at toll etc aaaargh.

• Basikal_Buruk on Jan 13, 2012 at 5:37 pm

Rather than lowering the maximum speed limit, they should implement a minimum speed limit.

• kadajawi on Jan 13, 2012 at 9:53 pm

lol, they should. And raise the speed limit (places with potholes should have get a sign warning of damaged roads until it is fixed).

Actually in Germany the police can summon you when you drive to slow on the Autobahn (but you really have to drive slow to get that).

• Kambing Gurun on Jan 13, 2012 at 8:30 pm

There shouldn’t be any speed limit at all. People can think. Driving along kampung road then just drive carefully, driving along kelapa sawit area then drive faster lah. Then even faster on highways. At any speed, accident can still occur from a combination of various factors, not only the “km/h” alone. Frankly speaking, if you want 0% death from accident then the best speed limit is 0km/h.

• thunder cats on Jan 13, 2012 at 10:37 pm

want to prevent accident then repair the roads full with pot holes,,,pay high road tax but still have third world quality roads,,,do a survey n see how many accidents are caused by pot holes n also how much have been spent every year to repair the rims n change damaged tyres,,,,,,,roads are bumpy n pot holes are everywhere,,,,fix this

• keep blaming on authorities dudes! yeah! i do agree with all ur statements like potholes, blabla but the nasty things is that very few blaming themselves like reckless driving, lack of vehicle maintenance, etc.

the nasty part is where they bribing the traffic police, then they go to themalaysianinsider, freemalaysiatoday, commenting how bad our traffic police by receiving bribe! haha i’ve no other words to say for these kind of people.

• Everbody pakai basikal saja la… haiz

• kamaji on Jan 14, 2012 at 10:38 am

No differance at all for the 10km reduction….better tell the rakyat only bicycles are allowed during festive season lah.

• tokmoh on Jan 14, 2012 at 8:24 pm

It’s all about the money la.

If it’s really about safety, they would’ve shown proofs that reducing speed limit works. So datuk seri, since implementing this, can answer how much accidents reduced? Problem?

• Cowabunga! on Jan 15, 2012 at 8:52 am

everyone that response here seems to know “exactly” what to do, yet… accident do occur.
    i do agree the gov is approaching this the wrong way….AS ALWAYS.
    Goes to show how bad the authorities and gov are in going about doing other things the right way, which they have none.

if speed limiter is the right approach, why not put just 50km/h, that surely avoids all fatal accidents. Can’t go wrong with that, unless lightning or some godly thing struck the driver.

• Malaysian on Jan 15, 2012 at 6:28 pm

Enforcement shall always be the last resort. The important part that the G is lacking is educating the drivers on the road safety. This is not only the G responsibility but all. Right from the primary school and parents shall play their role too.

Something is not right with our people when they are behind the wheel. It’s unbelievable to figure out that the amount of people die in our road exceed those people die in any war torn country per year in the world!

• In Malaysia. SPEED is always misinterpreted as the main killer. SPEED should be collaborated with other factors before it is labelled as a number one killer in Malaysians road. Let us list down OTHER factors too;

1) Drowsiness/sleepy/not enough rest – motorist should stop somewhere and rest!

2) Egoistic drivers monopolizing the right lane while driving very-very slow and always braking abruptly without any good reasons (especially Aunties,Grandma with big cars and “P” license holders).

3) Small CC displacement cars such as Kancil, Vivalution, MyVilution, Sagalution, Juaralution (Peyno’s car) and the likes of it, thinking they can outrun a Mercedes Brabus or a BMW on a right lane. To make things worst, all of them are not equipped with ABS braking system.

4) Lorries/Heavy Vehicles going out on the right lane thinking like above (refer to line no. 3). To make matters worst, they drive during the morning/evening rush hour too. Silly drivers!

5) Lack of enforcement from the police, other than speed-traping people along the PLUS stretch (which is their number one favorite activity), why don’t commit some of their forces to control the traffic at the worst god-forsaken traffic jam area? It is very annoying to see arrogant drivers cutting queues, not lining up, stopped in yellow-box and etc.)

6) There is NO LOVE, NO GIVE AND TAKE between motorists. Its all about Kiasu-Kiasu-Kiasu (me me me!).

7) Terrible road condition – some highways have terrible potholes, rubber pieces (from blown off lorry tires), even a small drop (ground settlement) will cause a car or a motorcycle to lose its balance all of the sudden. Heck we pay good money for our tolls, we deserve better and safer roads.

8) There are a lot of idiots lately that never ever (perhaps in LIFE) switch on their signal lights BEFORE making a turn. JPJ needs to make “signal test” a PASS/FAILURE criteria in their exams.

9) Handheld phone users – please use your speaker or microphone to communicate, and switch to slow lane immediately. Don’t answer your phone on the right lane, while speeding 180km/hr on the right lane, with one hand holding the phone, the other on the steering and your girlfriend’s hand unzipping your pants.

10) “SPEED kills” is the final outcome due to the abovementioned problems.

• speed never kills, stupidity does… it doesnt matter how fast youre going, its a matter of putting sense in your head… how you behave when driving… tell you what Malaysian do have split personality, always been aggressive when behind the wheels totally different when not…