Mazda CX-5 to debut Smart City Brake Support system

Mazda has announced that the upcoming CX-5 SUV arriving this spring will debut a Smart City Brake Support (SCBS) system, which helps a driver to avoid a frontal collision when driving at low speeds in the city or in slow traffic.

The system uses a laser sensor to detect a vehicle or obstacle in front and automatically reduces the extent of the brake rotor travel to quicken braking operation. If the driver fails to perform any operation to avoid a collision, such as applying the brake, SCBC automatically activates the brakes and reduces the engine output at the same time. Not exactly new hat, the tech, but it is for the brand, and the CX-5 will be the first to wear it.

In related tech news, the company has announced the development of a new resin that offers the same rigidity as conventional materials, with the result being that less material is needed to make a part, while offering the same structural integrity.

Jointly developed with Japan Polypropylene Corporation, the new resin thus offers a lighter manufactured part. It’s set to feature as material in the production of front and rear bumpers, where it contributes to a weight reduction of approximately 20%.

Mazda CX-5 to debut Smart City Brake Support systemThe company blended two components found in polypropylene and rubber (the constituents of resin) that have different properties, and succeeded in distributing them in a double-layer structure in line with the required function for the surface and the inside of the base bumper material. The net result is a bumper with an inner section that retains high rigidity and impact absorption, with reduced thickness.

Additionally, the use of the material also offers faster build times. In the production process, the reduced thickness allows for a shorter cooling period for molding, and bumper molding time, previously 60 seconds, will be halved to 30 seconds utilising the resin, leading to major reductions in the amount of energy consumed in the production process. Needless to say, the resin will be used for the CX-5’s bumpers.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Vader on Feb 15, 2012 at 3:06 pm

the concept almost same as volvo..
    however, these are good system for safety purpose.

• But Volvo braking test fail…

anyway i love Mazda :) high quality,good handling,good performance,nice interior of cause exterior too !

• demio121 on Feb 15, 2012 at 3:16 pm

its nice to see a smaller independent car company do all this. Mazda’s Skyactiv, iELOOP and now this. Since breaking free from Ford, Mazda been making own future.

but mazda oso juz announce losses 4 years in a row. not a good sign. I don’t think Mazda can stay as it is in the long run.

i hope Mazda manage to stay it own course.

• Keyboard Warrior on Feb 15, 2012 at 3:33 pm

mmm…
    lame…
    nothing special or funky about the “city auto stop technology” here..
    VOLVO introduced it sometime ago..

• Aha whenever i see this model lining up at the toll i can easily cut in…and it will always give way thanks to the nanny computer!

• pelam on Feb 15, 2012 at 4:35 pm

such a selfish guy here..

• Typical road bully Malaysian driver. Only ppl like you will think of this..You are one of many Malaysians that causes more traffic jams and irresponsible driving in Malaysian roads.

• hope u will die..so less moron driver like u in malaysia

• Alpha on Feb 15, 2012 at 8:02 pm

What??You don’t have SmartTAG??What’s so laju about that??

• Doesn’t think much of you. Grow up and be more refine. Be a better man.

• I thought this technology was introduced by Mercedes with their model W220 which they called it “Distronic” tecnology.

• seancorr on Feb 15, 2012 at 10:31 pm

Good to see tech like this coming down to more affordable models. I guess 5 years down the road most cars would have this and there will be lesser accidents. Keep the tech flowing down to cheaper models folks.

Also I think this SUV has blind spot system too which is an added plus for this price range. The other model which has similar tech is the new Ford Focus.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 17, 2012 at 9:14 pm

volvo sort of pioneered this. but it’s a good thing if everyone copies it. roads will be safer. however hope the driver don’t lose their brain and depend solely on this.