E-Tukar Hakmilik Sementara could be made compulsory for used car dealers, says Transport Minister

What happens when the car you sold to the used car dealer gets into trouble or collects summonses? It’s their responsibility since you have already sold the car, right? Maybe not. Usually, the car you’ve sold is technically still owned by you, since the used car dealer doesn’t do any transfer of ownership until the car finds a buyer.

Yesterday, Transport Minister Datuk Seri Kong Cho Ha said that JPJ may make it compulsory for all used car dealers to adopt E-Tukar Hakmilik Sementara, run by e-government services provider MyEG since last December. The system seeks to solve disputes from this transitional period when the car is in the used car dealer’s care. He will now be the temporary owner and will be responsible for all summonses.

E-Tukar Hakmilik Sementara will cost second hand car dealers a fee of RM10, and it lasts for six months.

“This was introduced by the Used-Car Association of Malaysia and is a win-win situation to protect the interests of the consumers. It is a win for owners and used-car dealers, and the JPJ too, which used to get the blame,” Kong said. The Transport Minister urged more used car dealers to adopt the system voluntarily, although we think not many would do so when it costs them effort and money.

He added the RTD is currently monitoring the take up rate before deciding if E-Tukar Hakmilik Sementara should be made mandatory.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• i like this, i was thinking about it before, it will make easy for people when decide to change the new car

• It is definitely a great idea for us! But the problem for the used car companies is to pay 10 ringgit per car? for 6 months? the dealers will definitely find it difficult to survive then

• KingBrutal on Feb 17, 2012 at 7:26 am

Hard time will be faced by the dealers. The RM 10 will totally ruined their business… ;)

• wafieot on Feb 17, 2012 at 8:09 am

Why is that difficult ? Or would you suggest RM10 for a year ….

• rm10 per car for 6 months will give a hard time to the dealers? were u whacked in the head?

• Insight kaki on Feb 17, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Cos he must be a dealer too, we all know that whatever the gov charges them will come to the customer at least ten fold

• susah ma mau bukak myeg plug in cable laptop open lid lagi then press start button click browser google myeg key in username password enter plate number chassis engine no that why ten fold… like sugar naik 20sen mamak also naik 20sen percup

• oligopoli on Feb 17, 2012 at 3:16 pm

hahaha… good sarcasm. or are you serious? ;-)

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 17, 2012 at 9:09 pm

do you have any idea how much money the used car dealers. i have heard of cases where they conned nearly rm 100k of a car’s value before.

• driver on Feb 17, 2012 at 2:54 am

Finally..

• Funny the authorities have to monitor before deciding if it shd be made compulsory. Who call the shots here??? Thats the problem – enforcement is not strict!

• In UK it is FREE to change car owner name! Further more we can just doing it post, no need to go to Dept. of Transport. It has been done almost 10 years ago or more.

And yet here we need to pay RM10, and need to go to JPJ, que etc…can you imagine how many used car out there?

• trinitrotoluene on Feb 17, 2012 at 8:01 am

Good….This would protect the consumer..but, what for only 6 months? What will happen after the 6 months period? Does the used car dealer need to re-apply? Will the bank still chasing the owner once the owner has already handed over the car to the dealer?

This E-Hakmilik Sementara needs to protect the consumer both the ownership of the car as well against the bank…

Later on, we will see that used car dealer sure will take your car at a very low price to cover these costs.

• “E-Tukar Hakmilik Sementara will cost second hand car dealers a fee of RM10, and it lasts for six months.”
    “The Transport Minister urged more used car dealers to adopt the system voluntarily, although we think not many would do so when it costs them effort and money.”

Stupid donkey rule!

It should be considered owned by the Crook car dealer for as long it finds the buyer (no time limit!). And must be made mandatory! RM10 until buyers found is peanut for the Crook for god sake!

Govt should push more heat to these Crook car dealers. They are one of the biggest Crook around – rewind used car mileage, cannibalised part as new etc.

Even the Puspakom test must be done and paid by the Crook car dealers upon sales by original seller and purchase by car buyers!

Crooks must be punished and squeezed, not the car buyers!

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 17, 2012 at 8:53 am

You see, I still prefer the canadian system where the car’s number plate follows the owner.

When you sell your car, you get the buyer to sign the transfer form (which you have 1 copy) and then you take your plates with you, either to use for your next car or return it to MOT. After that, you just call your insurance and cancel or transfer the policy. No issues here is tickets and automated toll gate charging since they are based on your plates.

There is no cost to the seller to sell, just that the new owner would have to pay the “road tax” of about $75 per year regardless of the engine size. Some provinces with mandatory emissions testing will require the new owner to have proof of an e-test cert before registering – which some sellers will provide along as its not expensive unless you need repairs.

Malaysia has a way to make an easy way of doing things complicated. I can understand there are some plate snobs which would love to have new plates, but i would go for a simpler system.

besides, how are they going to enforce this anyway…….just testing out another cash cow I suppose. There are millions of used cars…and at $10 per car for 6 months, that’s a lot of money for MyEG or whomever stands to benefit from this.

• sdfok on Feb 17, 2012 at 11:15 am

In Malaysia, everything they like to do in un-simple way.
      Look at our transportation fare system, other countries like Japan, S. Korea, Singapore, they practise one ticket system.

• jolly_idiot on Feb 17, 2012 at 11:22 am

We change ah jip gor then mabbe will have such practise.

• In AU, we just sign on the registration card of the car to declare that the car is sold on X date. In order for the buyer to register the car, we will then log on to the RTA (JPJ) and lodge a vehicle disposal declaration which takes 2 minutes.

When an inspection of the car is required, most mechanics are certified by the RTA to inspect the car like what Puspakom does. AU35 and 10 mins is all that is needed.

The whole process for legally transferring a car is done in less than 5 minutes if inspection is not required and internet access is available.

I agree it’s just making a simple process incredibly and unnecessarily complicated.

• Leonardo on Feb 17, 2012 at 10:06 am

Good idea. Anyway dealers will include the RM 10 into the buying/selling price.

• good move…the bank will chase the previous owner anymore…about time for the dealer to take responsibility.

• good move…the bank will not chase the previous owner anymore…about time for the dealer to take responsibility.

• Thinker on Feb 17, 2012 at 10:55 am

anyone have link to that e tukar milik sementara… already open myeg nothing

• ezracopters on Feb 17, 2012 at 12:57 pm

guys.. there are starts for everything.. they’re heading for a better eventually. give em’ a break.This is Malaysia, not Canada..not UK not anywhere else. everyone have they’re own rules, pro & con. although i’ve been to here & there..home still the best..

p/s : someone might wanna run as MP @ someone important or at least being an active member of certain outo NGOs. then your brilliant views can be considered viable & responsible. Blogs view are fun to read.. but lack credibility.. even my comment here..

• Yoshi on Feb 17, 2012 at 3:40 pm

Beg to differ – it is because Malaysia is not strict with enforcement and always came out with complicated and non straight forward processes that causes us to be where we are today. Had we been a little strict with simple to follow rules, you reckon we won’t be the Automotive Powerhouse of the East? And if we continue to be in the current state of affair, not only it affects us, but the next (few) generation(s) too! Go figure!

• hway de Cruz on Feb 18, 2012 at 8:52 am

the bigger picture is consumers get protection, but why JPJ wan to monitor this first? it shud b done ASAP, how th gomen handle the paper work etc, well… sort it out, that’s wat u guys r hired for. RM10 for e-transfer 6 months? RM10 is not much, but why 6 months? Dun put restrictions here n there lah. Guess there is not much collaboration between the departments within the ministry, why can’t u guys sort out everything first before implementing something? some of those ppl hv to think out of the box… we r afterall in the 21st century. Wan to serve the rakyat? well, sort things out before implementing this n that….

• bagero on Feb 18, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Good Idea from current Govt.. Pls keep it coming.. :))

• i prefer if previous owner pay rm10-rm50 and no longer tied to their sold car at all..forever.