Boon Siew Honda unleashes CBR1000RR and Gold Wing

Boon Siew Honda has unveiled two new Honda performance bikes – the CBR1000RR and the 2012 Gold Wing. At the same time, the company announced that it will introduce the CRF250L in June this year.

The CBR1000RR is a super sports machine described as the “ultimate litre-class machine”. It runs on a 999 cc liquid-cooled inline-four engine framed in an all-aluminium twin-spar chassis. The latest CBR features new suspension – 43 mm “Big Piston” fork up front and Unit Pro-Link rears with double-tube shocks. There’s also a new multi-function LCD panel and Combined Anti-Lock Braking System (C-ABS). The CBR1000RR is priced at RM109,900 with C-ABS and RM98,900 for the non-ABS version.

The 2012 Gold Wing is powered by a 1,832 cc liquid-cooled horizontally opposed six-cylinder engine. Its bodywork has been improved by increasing lower body wind protection. This 2012 model gets new seat material, a Pro-Arm Rear Swingarm and iPod connectivity. On the safety front, there’s ABS and Combined Braking System (CBS). The Gold Wing comes in Pearl White or Graphite Black and will set you back RM174,900.

Unveiled at last year’s Tokyo show, the road-going enduro-style Honda CRF250L is designed on the concept of a street-legal dual-sport bike. Powered by a liquid-cooled 4-stroke DOHC single-cylinder with PGM-FI, this engine emphasis is on low-rpm torque. The slim body is supported by a twin-tube oval-pipe steel frame.

The bike has disc brakes with wave-shaped rotors and a skid plate. Other features include an inverted fork front suspension, rear Pro-Link suspension and an aluminium swing arm. This bike is related to the CBR250R. Price to be announced later.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• wanfumy on Feb 23, 2012 at 6:35 pm

Overpriced CBR 1000RR???? thumbs up boon siew

• Victor Lee on Feb 23, 2012 at 7:09 pm

y blame boon siew… ru forgetting our high import duty tax?

• wanfumy on Feb 23, 2012 at 9:34 pm

Yeah so sorry boon siew. My bad.

Only boon siew pays the duty, others are crooks.

• Baba O'Reilly on Feb 24, 2012 at 6:40 am

Such a sad situation. Malaysians are so desperate for affordable 250cc+ bikes that they’ll even risk buying Thai or Singaporean registered bikes! If it were not for Kawasaki’s ER-6n @ around 30k+ there would be nothing for us over here.

• Superman on Feb 24, 2012 at 5:35 pm

Ride Merida / Giant if you not afford any. Complaint so much for what when you know you live in Malaysial.

• Estimosis on Feb 23, 2012 at 6:41 pm

I was hoping the price between 60k to 75k as Boon Siew imported them. If that price range then it not much different from the current importers price. Really sad..Then have to go to NAZA..

• kabal on Feb 23, 2012 at 7:19 pm

Agreed!!

Why wanna buy a cbr1k for almost RM110k when u can get i for RM73-83k at naza? the last time i remembered naza sold a cbr1k abs version + 2bro exhaust + power commander for only rm83k (negotiable some more!).. greedy boon siew!

i know that naza is selling an Recon AP bike, but who cares if u can save up around 20-30k?

• ANAK MALAYSIA on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:56 am

RM 73 -83k at NAZA model tahun berapa punya ma !!!!!!

• tak kisah tahun berapa, tetap Honda CBR 1000cc Rabbit jugak. beza puluhan ribu tu dah boleh buat beli riding gear dan accessory tau….

• Estimosis on Feb 24, 2012 at 10:45 am

CBR1000rr 2008-2011 and 2012 don’t have much different in technicalities. 2012 model is just facelift and upgraded model. Still the same powerplant and platform. Tweaking done on suspension and new instrumentation panel. Not like zx10 ’08-10 and zx10 2011. 2011 zx-10 is totally new bike.

http://motoroids.com/news/breaking-2012-honda-cbr100rr-official-pictures-and-details.html

• Bro, in bike world, regardless what year your bike was built and how many cc your bike does have, it doesnt matter. As long as you have enough balls to play a tricks with it, then your are superb. I have seen er6n smoked kawa zx6r at karak highway. Btw, boon siew put the same price tag for this cbr, looks like nothing happend, same price as the other shop. No deduction on price tag, the only thing would be the different is waranty from them, which is good. Malaysian people craving to get a big bike (me too), but way too expensive! Its quite sad only yamaha xj6 diversion and kawa er6n/f was available right now. Phewwwww….

• Estimosis on Feb 24, 2012 at 7:50 pm

You’re right. Very dissapointed with the rabbit price. I was hoping the price is not more than naza’s price as it “imported by Boon Siew”.

• Too expensive, no diff with those bike importer, why dont bring CBR600RR first, sad.

• maybe current 600rr is at end of their life.
      1000rr new launch last year

• Excellence on Feb 24, 2012 at 2:31 pm

CBR1000RR from japan RM61K, Goldwing RM87K, see the difference? all to tax, but the road in klang valley is suck, sini lubang, sana lubang.

• hazeman on Feb 23, 2012 at 7:43 pm

my god…a bike that costs more than 100k. what has the world come to?

• tok-kok on Feb 23, 2012 at 8:03 pm

“2012-spec CBR1000RR ($13,800 base / $14,800 C-ABS MSRP)”
    So cheap over at US!!!!

why tax the rakyat so much????

• MoFaz on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:22 am

gov consider big bikes as luxury items… too bad. i wish the bikes here at the same price as in thai or sgpore… sighhh
      but i’m not willing to see mat rempit racing on those big bikes either.

• XC70XC on Feb 23, 2012 at 8:25 pm

Pretty pricey for superbikes in Malaysia. RM100k for a 1000cc bike! I am just glad that I can get a used BMW sports tourer for few thousands. Pay $10+k and you will get the tasty 1200RR version with the chequered motif. Honda is even cheaper especially the ST1300 version with ABS, EBD etc.

• kabal on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:48 pm

msian superbike price r crazy! 600cc up cheapest is er6n rm33k.. almost same price like saga, kancil… sigh.. malaysia boleh!

• Performance ‘BMW Sport tourer’ / Honda ST 1300 with this high end tech 1 liter superbike ada sama ka ?

• XC70XC on Feb 24, 2012 at 5:50 am

Joey, both the BMW Sports Tourer like the K1200GT and Honda ST1300 are categorised as sports tourer which is similar to the Honda Goldwing. Both bikes have standard paniers and designed to travel (tour) long distances in comfort. Hence their engine is tuned for more torque than high end power. The BMW has 152hp and weighs 249kg. The Honda has 117hp and 289kg. The weight all due to the paniers, comfort equipment like heated handle bars, taller screen and full engine covers.
        A bike closer to the CBR1000RR will be the BMW S1000RR which is now the current top super bike to beat. It has 193hp and weighs just 183kg. Top speed is 305km/h. Similar competition from Yamaha will be the YZF-R1 better known as R1. It has 152hp and 177kg. Top speed is 299km/h. I have owned the original predecessor of the R1 which traced its lineage to FZR-1000 and FZ series with the Genesis engine. My FZ has the world’s first 5 valve motorcycle engine and didn’t know that I have the homologation sports racing model for road use with tuned engine giving 110hp from 750cc. My first superbike then and what a blast! Scary too with so much power.

• Johan on Feb 23, 2012 at 8:52 pm

Lebih baik beli volkswagen polo.. Harga lebih kurang..

• ANAK MALAYSIA on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:58 am

Tak lak luit punye olang cakap lebih baik beli keleta…..Haiya !!!!! not same ma !!!!!

• tehboh on Feb 23, 2012 at 11:00 pm

kalu komplen byk2..lebih baik toksah beli.tgk jer gmbr kt paultan.

*blame teh one who set the tax..blame teh 1 who enjoice teh tax..

• retrospark on Feb 23, 2012 at 11:01 pm

Woahhh…!!! Boon siew betol2 makan banyak… Yang aku tahu tax go men tetapkan only 30%+20%+10%= sum to actual price.. giler mahal la boon siew!!! Shud be around 80k++ only.. baik beli kat naza..

• maabas81 on Feb 23, 2012 at 11:16 pm

Able to used Honda Ex5 only :)

• are the taxes and import duty of foreign motorbikes as high as the one charged on foreign cars in Malaysia?

• Karen on Feb 24, 2012 at 1:15 am

The highest Import duty and tax of foreign bikes is around 90 % for 800 cc and above. Still low compare to foreign cars at around 120 % for 1600 cc and below. 1600 cc and above lagi tinggi tax .

• ANAK MALAYSIA on Feb 24, 2012 at 1:10 am

R1 looks better than CBR…… New model R1 is more expensive than this looking ‘kontot’ big bike. But for handling and performance CBR1000rr is the best among all 1 liter superbikes. But I love my R1.

• Folks,

Before you blame BoonSiew please blame the likes of Welly bikes first. The Honda distributor price similar to Welly’s couple of year ago. Government should be blame for treat us very well; no pun intended.

Please bring affordable Fury 1300CX easy rider. Merely RM40,000 in US, RM49,000 in Japan. When we can stop this treatment? We can get more than two bikes in Singapore for 1Malaysia price.

• kolejeon on Feb 24, 2012 at 8:43 am

Owning a superbike is a necessity especially in KL. Imagine those who have to travel from Seremban to PJ everyday just to earn a living. Please someone make it affordable.

• ER6 and Versys is affordable. Furter, 2nd hand Ninja 250r are pretty cheap nowadays. Seremban-KL is not far anyway, so a 250cc suits you fine. if you must insist on a Honda, there’s CBR 250r.

but if you still wanted a 600cc Honda at Below RM40k, then i suggest you come down to MotoXpo (the event mentioned in article above) and voice your opinion to the BoonSiew Honda people. I did gave them a piece of my mind yesterday night when i was there, encouraging them to bring in CKD CBR600F and price it at sub-RM40k and they’ll conquer the 600cc market for sure.

• had wanted to get a bike.
    but when seeing the prices of then and now, semua cancel.
    nowadays, bigbikes in malaysia are very pricey.
    even a secondhand model are selling way above the original price.
    hopefully, the import duty and tax can be lowered in near future.

• Keep hoping. the biking community and aspiring bikers has been hoping for 30+ years!

• kucing on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:52 am

waiting for local superbike….

• mosar on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:53 am

steep pricing for an official import…rm109k for abs version as oppose to bmw s1000rr abs/tcs/etc for rm115k, not a good value honda!…not to mention 2012 cbr1000 is only an update rather than a fully new model…

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 24, 2012 at 3:27 pm

honda, why you use such lousy models?

• stupid executives on Feb 24, 2012 at 5:23 pm

when are these old executives gonna get it??! launch cars or bikes or new products, let the pretty models do their job! dont get in the way in those pictures la bodoh! u get your money from your paycheck, dont be greedy to get fame as well, its lame and spoil the launch pictures! stupid

• ah seng on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:28 pm

Way too expensive for Honda CBR1000RR, for this price, people would rather top up to buy the latest and greatest offering from Ducati.. the Panigale 1199…

anyway, government think want to suck our money even though buying a motorbike is good for the country.. less traffic jam…

• Sahipul on Jun 06, 2012 at 9:01 am

I suggest Boon Siew brings in the Faze 250 and PCX 125 instead, they have bigger market compare to those high power bikes which only cater small niche market.

• TestRider on Jun 10, 2012 at 3:30 pm

GO GO GO PCX150…!!!

• Alan Tan on Nov 12, 2012 at 10:22 am

This looks cool. To me, a litre will do wonders!