VIDEO: Schumacher’s surprise visit to UTP interns at MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS

Check out this episode of motorsports@PETRONAS, Michael Schumacher and Jazeman Jaafar paid a surprise visit to Universiti Technology PETRONAS students who are currently undergoing internship with the MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS. Damn, experiences like these make me long for college days again! :D

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• dodohbirdz on Feb 29, 2012 at 11:17 pm

yeah go utp!

• anti-vios on Feb 29, 2012 at 11:30 pm

cool…

• wow.. i want to have my internship here..

• drMpower on Mar 01, 2012 at 12:30 am

i passed my engineering degrees with combinations of chasing women and drinking.
    since then i cut down the drinks, but pursuing women still at full throttle. hope my doctorate dont kaput.

• dodohbirdz on Mar 01, 2012 at 1:10 am

<– proud utp student here =)

• RedBeanBun on Mar 01, 2012 at 1:17 am

applaud to all the students in the video, you make Msian looks good!!

they can challenge the world, and dont need any so call bumis protection! oh yeah!

• Huhuhu on Mar 01, 2012 at 11:41 am

Most of them in UTP if not bumi protection I seriously doubt they can get in.

• RON97 on Mar 01, 2012 at 12:43 pm

like you..ha? go home boy!!

• akula on Mar 01, 2012 at 1:17 pm

most of Chinese goes to business, if bumi not support their business, I seriously doubt they can succeed.

• mrfush on Mar 01, 2012 at 1:23 pm

how shallow.UTP student ‘sgo though interview to get in, as with scholarship (JPA, MARA) interviews.

If u’re a ex- UTP student, then you’re an idiot if you dont have faith in your own knowledge giving Institution.

If not, no wonder.

Good job to those students in the vid, for making an effort to gain knowledge overseas. Make UTP proud!!

• Obama on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:23 pm

Im not a bumi, still remember last time went to UTP for interviewing, go through writing test, group interview and so on. I was applying for overseas scholarship as im really into F1, and at that time (12 years ago) only Petronas was sponsoring that. Unfortunately, im was not shortlisted, but instead was offering a place to study mechanical engineering at UTP.

I turn it down because I reckoned UTP is not a multi racial Uni as mostly are bumi and it will be a hard time for me.

12 years later…..to be frank, im a bit regret…because O&G is the most sought after job!!USD100 per barrel..LOL

• thunder cats on Mar 01, 2012 at 2:10 am

I’m his big fan,,,sigh when will I have chance to meet him

• akmal on Mar 01, 2012 at 9:39 am

very bright future for them,hope even one of them will be “somebody”,maybe malaysia next astrounaut.

• WUA770 on Mar 01, 2012 at 9:41 am

thumb Up

• Obama on Mar 01, 2012 at 10:40 am

Quite a number of interns are Malay, to my surprise a lot of female as well. Probably, we may see more hot chics in Petronas mercedes cockpit in future.

• so lucky! damnn!

• ae101 on Mar 01, 2012 at 11:48 am

Why so many bumis? UTP is like those local U 90% bumis?

• Obama on Mar 01, 2012 at 2:43 pm

99% bumi to be exact.

• mrfush on Mar 01, 2012 at 6:13 pm

how exact is exact? you happen to be the registrar for UTP?
        if so, your primary school math is 99% awful, nightmarish to be exact.

confirm you’ve never been to UTP before, and spewing out rubbish. UTP houses and imparts knowledge to ppl from pakistan, chad, vietnam, thailand, indonesia, malaysia, and the list goes on and on.

lets stop pointing out the racial issues, and let’s just be proud that malaysians are paving their own way outside, briging back knowledge to our motherland.

• not true at all, huhu
          60% bumi
          30% non bumi
          10% international

*not exact

• No wonder this country cant move forward. Majority still looking at some issues with racial perspective.

Inb4 define some issues

• nope…not many non bumi can beat bumi in engineering division…
      most of them only can score in academic but cannot adapt to working culture…
      so pity…UTP select only the best and most of them are bumi..

• ae101 on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:05 pm

if 99% students are bumi how you expect non bumi to take the role? just like what happened to the look east program last time when i was in polytechnic. i dont agree with your statement non bumi cannot adapt the working culture. what type of culture you expecting? mat salleh? gomen? or chinaman? not everyone scored in good academic are nerd. this is the most valuable solid proof you can tell your first employer you are better than anyone during the interview besides good communication. im not racist to see bumi for this program. but if they’ve choosen because of priviledges then this is failed!

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 01, 2012 at 6:40 pm

bro…what do you expect….petronas…. that is why i use esso….ha ha ha

• RON97 on Mar 02, 2012 at 12:52 pm

ae101, ur IQ well below 5..there’s a place for u = UTAR alright

• amirad on Mar 01, 2012 at 2:11 pm

The good thing about studying engineering in UK, US, German etc., is that there will be prominent engineering figures giving talks to inspire the students. It really does give you a boost. Even after 20 yrs I still remember their talks.

• Ibex7 on Mar 01, 2012 at 3:52 pm

Excellent exposure for UTP students & branding of UTP as a premier engineering university around the globe. Im extremely proud to be ex-UTP graduate & watching my fellow juniors fly high up grabbing their dreams =)

Bravo UTP!!

• ex-mercedes-bmw on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:35 am

Its normal to have malaysian in there..a lot of malaysia students in GERMANY did intern with Mercedes R&D, even Mercedes McLaren those days.

The issue is how on earth these guys gonna help proton? eventually they will end up working in O&G… like me..:))